DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/29/2026 in which claims 1-20 and 22-31 are pending. Claims 21 was canceled.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 07/29/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-20 and 22-31 are pending.
Claims 21 was canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that “In He, “the UE transmitting the PSCCH/PSSCH” is the UE-A 802. He nowhere discloses or suggests that the SCI format of the PSCCH of He indicates a third UE as a transmitter of the PSSCH of He”.
Based on the amendment to the claim, further consideration and search were conducted and the newly found prior art of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” was found to disclose the amended feature as discussed below in the Office Action.
Therefore, based on the new grounds of rejection, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 10, 29 and 30 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus are rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-11, 17-20 and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang”.
As to claim 1, Gulati teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0054], [0064], Fig. 10, [0106], a relay UE scheduling resources to a remote UE), the method comprising:
determining scheduling information that is associated with a sidelink communication associated with a second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the relay UE assigns sidelink resources to the remote UE. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay determines a resource grant that schedules resources to the remote UE), the second UE distinct from the first UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the remote UE is distinct that the relay UE); and
transmitting, via a sidelink control channel, a sidelink control information (SCI) message to the second UE indicating:
the scheduling information for use in connection with the sidelink communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including the resource grant and an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE);
a third UE associated with the sidelink communication (Gulati, [0071]-[0073], [0080], [0094], the relay UE transmits to the remote UE the SCI with resource allocation information including bulk allocation of resources for one or more remote UEs including the remote UE. The allocation is for sidelink resources), the third UE distinct from the first UE and second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0062], [0072], [0094], one of the remote UEs is distinct that the relay UE and the remote UE).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication.
However, Yang teaches an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
As to claim 6, Gulati teaches wherein the first UE transmits the SCI message using resources included in a dedicated resource pool for SCI communication between the first UE and the second UE (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. [0068], a subset of 6 PRB sub-pool is used for the transmission of resource scheduled for sidelink. Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the SCI is transmitted in the resources of the sidelink channel, where the SCI includes the scheduling information to the remote UE).
As to claim 7, Gulati teaches wherein the first UE is associated with a first supported communication bandwidth (Gulati, [0036], [0068], the relay UE uses a corresponding channel bandwidth), wherein the second UE is associated with a second supported communication bandwidth less than the first supported communication bandwidth (Gulati, [0068], the remote UE uses a limited bandwidth, such as 6 PRB sub-pool, within the channel bandwidth), and wherein frequency resources of the dedicated resource pool are based on the second supported communication bandwidth (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. [0068], the subset of 6 PRB sub-pool is used for the transmission of resource scheduling for sidelink. Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the SCI is transmitted in the resources of the sidelink channel, where the SCI includes the scheduling information to the remote UE).
As to claim 8, Gulati teaches further comprising receiving, from a base station, one or more configuration messages indicating the dedicated resource pool (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. Fig. 7, [0091], “At block 702, the method may receive, on a downlink channel from a network entity, at least one indication including resource allocation information for at least one of the relay UE or a remote UE. For example, as described herein, the relay UE 464 and/or the relay component 410 may execute the resource allocation component 414 to receive, on a downlink channel from a network entity (e.g., base station 462), at least one indication including resource allocation information for at least one of the relay UE 464 or a remote UE 466”).
As to claim 9, Gulati teaches further comprising determining, by the first UE, the dedicated resource pool based at least in part on one or more of a supported communication bandwidth associated with the second UE (Gulati, [0068], the subset of 6 PRB sub-pool is used for the transmission of resource scheduling for sidelink. The remote UE uses a limited bandwidth, such as 6 PRB sub-pool, within the channel bandwidth. The relay UE uses the limited bandwidth of the remote UE to transmit the SCI with scheduling information. Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the SCI is transmitted in the resources of the sidelink channel, where the SCI includes the scheduling information to the remote UE) or a common resource pool configuration message received from a base station (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. Fig. 7, [0091], “At block 702, the method may receive, on a downlink channel from a network entity, at least one indication including resource allocation information for at least one of the relay UE or a remote UE. For example, as described herein, the relay UE 464 and/or the relay component 410 may execute the resource allocation component 414 to receive, on a downlink channel from a network entity (e.g., base station 462), at least one indication including resource allocation information for at least one of the relay UE 464 or a remote UE 466”).
As to claim 10, Gulati teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0054], [0064], Fig. 10, [0106], Fig. 12, a relay UE scheduling resources to a remote UE), the apparatus comprising:
a memory (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 12, [0111], the relay UE includes a memory); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 12, [0111]-[0112], the relay UE includes a processor connected to the memory to perform the functions of the relay UE) determine, at a first user equipment (UE), scheduling information that is associated with a sidelink communication associated with a second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the relay UE assigns sidelink resources to the remote UE. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay determines a resource grant that schedules resources to the remote UE), the second UE distinct from the first UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the remote UE is distinct that the relay UE), and to initiate transmission, via a sidelink control channel, of a sidelink control information (SCI) message to the second UE indicating:
the scheduling information for use in connection with the sidelink communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including the resource grant and an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE);
a third UE associated with the sidelink communication (Gulati, [0071]-[0073], [0080], [0094], the relay UE transmits to the remote UE the SCI with resource allocation information including bulk allocation of resources for one or more remote UEs including the remote UE. The allocation is for sidelink resources), the third UE distinct from the first UE and second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0062], [0072], [0094], one of the remote UEs is distinct that the relay UE and the remote UE).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication.
However, Yang teaches an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
As to claim 11, Gulati teaches wherein the processor is configured to receive, from a base station, one or more configuration messages indicating that the first UE is associated with the second UE (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. Fig. 7, [0091], the relay UE receives from the eNB an indication of resource allocation information in order to communicate via sidelink with the remote UE. Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the SCI is transmitted in the resources of the sidelink channel, where the SCI includes the scheduling information to the remote UE), wherein the first UE transmits the SCI message based on receiving the one or more configuration messages (Gulati, [0066], “the eNB may set aside resource pools to be used for sidelink communication and the UE may autonomously (e.g., randomly and/or based on distributed sensing based MAC) select the resources within the pool for transmissions”. Fig. 7, [0091], the relay UE receives from the eNB an indication of resource allocation information in order to communicate via sidelink with the remote UE. Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the SCI is transmitted in the resources of the sidelink channel, where the SCI includes the scheduling information to the remote UE).
As to claim 17, Gulati teaches wherein the scheduling information indicates one or more of a discontinuous reception (DRX) parameter associated with the second UE, a wakeup parameter associated with the second UE, a bandwidth part (BWP) switching parameter associated with the second UE, transmission scheduling information associated with the second UE, or reception scheduling information associated with the second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE. [0090], the grant provides resources for bi-directional communication (transmission and reception) on the sidelink channel. See also [0100] for transmission on the sidelink by the remote UE based on the resource allocated).
As to claim 18, Gulati teaches wherein the processor is further configured to (Gulati, Fig. 12, [0112], the relay UE includes a transceiver and reception component to receive signals) receive, from the second UE, a scheduling request for resources associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the first UE transmits the SCI message based on receiving the scheduling request (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE (steps 1004-1006) based on receiving a scheduling request from the remote UE (step 1002). The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE).
As to claim 19, Gulati teaches wherein the processor is further configured to receive, from a base station in connection with a mode one sidelink resource allocation operation, one or more configuration messages indicating resources associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling information indicates the resources (Gulati, [0067], “the base station 462 may assign the resources for the remote UE 466 via the sidelink relay connection”, [0080], “For a mode 1 UE, the remote UE 466 may rely on the eNB to allocate PC5 sidelink resource dynamically”, [0071], Fig. 7, [0091], the relay UE receives from the base station an indication including resource allocation (sidelink resources) information for the remote UE).
As to claim 20, Gulati teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform a resource reservation operation that includes sensing one or more wireless communication channels in connection with a mode two sidelink resource allocation operation (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0066], in the UE autonomous mode of resource allocation for sidelink communication, the relay UE performs sensing to select resources within a resource pool. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay UE determines the resource grant for the remote UE. [0037], the sensing and CCA is performed to determine available resources in the channel) and to determine, based on a result of the resource reservation operation, availability of resources for the sidelink communication, and wherein the scheduling information indicates the resources (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0066], in the UE autonomous mode of resource allocation for sidelink communication, the relay UE performs sensing to select resources within a resource pool. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay UE determines the resource grant for the remote UE. [0104], the resource grant includes the allocation of resources by the relay UE on the sidelink channel).
As to claim 26, Gulati teaches wherein the SCI message indicates that the sidelink communication is to include transmitting data by one of the first UE and the second UE to the other of the first UE and the second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE from the relay UE).
As to claim 27, Gulati teaches wherein the SCI message indicates that the sidelink communication is to include relaying downlink data from a base station to the second UE and by relaying uplink data from the second UE to the base station (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0056]-[0057], [0061], the RNTI is used for D2D relaying, which includes bi-directional relaying where both uplink traffic from and downlink traffic to the remote UE may be relayed by the relay UE to/from the base station. [0073], the DCI is sent as the SCI, Fig. 5, [0085], Fig. 6, [0089]-[0090], [0093], the RNTI is relayed by the relay UE to the remote UE via the SCI).
As to claim 28, Gulati teaches wherein the SCI message indicates that the sidelink communication is to include relaying uplink data from the second UE to a base station, and wherein the second UE receives downlink data directly from the base station (Gulati, [0057], “D2D relaying may include uni-directional relaying and/or bi-directional relaying. Uni-directional relaying may be used to relay only uplink traffic from the remote UE 466 to the base station 462 via the relay UE 464, while downlink traffic to the remote UE 466 may be transmitted directly to the remote UE 466”. Fig. 8, [0099]-[0100], the transmission of sidelink by the remote UE to the relay UE (uplink) is based on the resource allocation previously received (i.e. SCI) in step 802).
As to claim 29, Gulati teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executable by a processor to initiate, perform, or control operations, the operations comprising (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0111]-[0112], a memory in the relay UE which includes software executed by a processor to perform the functions of the relay UE):
determining, by a first user equipment (UE), scheduling information that is associated with a sidelink communication associated with a second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the relay UE assigns sidelink resources to the remote UE. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay determines a resource grant that schedules resources to the remote UE), the second UE distinct from the first UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the remote UE is distinct that the relay UE); and
transmitting, via a sidelink control channel, a sidelink control information (SCI) message to the second UE indicating:
the scheduling information for use in connection with the sidelink communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including the resource grant and an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE);
a third UE associated with the sidelink communication (Gulati, [0071]-[0073], [0080], [0094], the relay UE transmits to the remote UE the SCI with resource allocation information including bulk allocation of resources for one or more remote UEs including the remote UE. The allocation is for sidelink resources), the third UE distinct from the first UE and second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0062], [0072], [0094], one of the remote UEs is distinct that the relay UE and the remote UE).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 29, an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication.
However, Yang teaches an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
As to claim 30, Gulati teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0054], [0064], Fig. 10, [0106], a relay UE scheduling resources to a remote UE), the apparatus comprising:
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as processors, electronic devices, hardware device, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Figs. 2-3 and 10, and [0054], [0138]) (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0111]-[0112], the relay UE includes a processor to perform the functions of the relay UE. The relay UE also includes hardware components, such as resource allocation component and scheduling determination component) determining, at a first user equipment (UE), scheduling information that is associated with a sidelink communication associated with a second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the relay UE assigns sidelink resources to the remote UE. Fig. 10, [0106], the relay determines a resource grant that schedules resources to the remote UE), the second UE distinct from the first UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0080], the remote UE is distinct that the relay UE); and
means for (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as processors, electronic devices, hardware device, etc. as indicated in Applicant’s PGPUB Figs. 2-3 and 10, and [0054], [0138]) (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0111]-[0112], the relay UE includes a transceiver to receive and transmit signals) transmitting, via a sidelink control channel, a sidelink control information (SCI) message to the second UE indicating:
the scheduling information for use in connection with the sidelink communication (Gulati, Fig. 4, Fig. 10, [0106], [0108], the relay UE transmits, on the sidelink channel, the scheduling indication including the resource grant to the remote UE. The transmission of the scheduling indication includes transmitting SCI including the resource grant and an indication of an upcoming scheduling indication transmission to the remote UE);
a third UE associated with the sidelink communication (Gulati, [0071]-[0073], [0080], [0094], the relay UE transmits to the remote UE the SCI with resource allocation information including bulk allocation of resources for one or more remote UEs including the remote UE. The allocation is for sidelink resources), the third UE distinct from the first UE and second UE (Gulati, Fig. 4, [0062], [0072], [0094], one of the remote UEs is distinct that the relay UE and the remote UE).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication.
However, Yang teaches an identification of one of the second UE or the third UE as a transmitter associated with the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
As to claim 31, Gulati teaches wherein the first UE receives the one or more configuration messages from the base station in accordance with the base station detecting that the first UE, the second UE, and the third UE are within a particular communication range of one another (Gulati, Fig. 1, [0036], the base station 102 communicates with UEs 104 is its respective geographic coverage area 110. As shown in Fig. 1, there are multiple (i.e. 3) UEs in the coverage area of the base station. [0063], sidelink grant allocation is performed by the base station to remote UEs. Thus, there is a relay UE (first UE) and remote UEs (second and third UE). [0066], the eNB allocates resources to the UE. See also [0072]-[0073], [0093]-[0094], and Fig. 7, the resource allocation is received from the network entity for one or more remote UEs).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Freda et al. (US 2023/0063472), hereinafter “Freda”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 2, further comprising transmitting a wakeup signal indicating that the second UE is to transition from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation to monitor for the SCI message during an active portion of a SCI transmission schedule.
As to claim 2, Freda teaches further comprising transmitting a wakeup signal indicating that the second UE is to transition from a first mode of operation to a second mode of operation to monitor for the SCI message during an active portion of a SCI transmission schedule (Freda, [0145], [0157], [0160], the WTRU modifies its activity behavior based on receiving a sidelink wake-up signal (S-WUS), where the WTRU monitors a PSCCH in a certain time window associated with the S-WUS. [0188], [0207]-[0208], the PSCCH includes the SCI within an active time. [0211], “the WTRU may monitor PSCCH in a slot which is active slot”. [0256], the TX WTRU transmits the SCI to the RX WTRU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Freda in order to save power in sidelink by performing discontinuous reception (Freda, [0122]).
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, wherein the first UE transmits the wakeup signal prior to the active portion to indicate whether the second UE is to monitor for the SCI message during the active portion.
As to claim 3, Freda teaches wherein the first UE transmits the wakeup signal prior to the active portion to indicate whether the second UE is to monitor for the SCI message during the active portion (Freda, [0145], [0157], [0160], the WTRU modifies its activity behavior based on receiving a sidelink wake-up signal (S-WUS), where the WTRU monitors a PSCCH in a certain time window associated with the S-WUS. [0211], “the WTRU may monitor PSCCH in a slot which is active slot”. [0256], the TX WTRU transmits the SCI to the RX WTRU. Fig. 3, [0830], Fig. 4, [0832], the TX WTRU transmits the transmission 301 (SCI/S-WUS) before the period 1 where the RX WTRU performs monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Freda in order to save power in sidelink by performing discontinuous reception (Freda, [0122]).
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first UE transmits the wakeup signal during the active portion, and wherein the wakeup signal indicates whether the second UE is to monitor for the SCI message during one or more particular slots of the active portion.
As to claim 4, Freda teaches wherein the first UE transmits the wakeup signal during the active portion, and wherein the wakeup signal indicates whether the second UE is to monitor for the SCI message during one or more particular slots of the active portion (Freda, [0145], [0157], [0160], the WTRU modifies its activity behavior based on receiving a sidelink wake-up signal (S-WUS), where the WTRU monitors a PSCCH in a certain time window associated with the S-WUS. [0211], “the WTRU may monitor PSCCH in a slot which is active slot”. [0256], the TX WTRU transmits the SCI to the RX WTRU. Fig. 3, [0830], Fig. 4, [0832], the TX WTRU transmits the transmission 303 (SCI/S-WUS) during the period 3 where the RX WTRU performs monitoring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Freda in order to save power in sidelink by performing discontinuous reception (Freda, [0122]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0168814), hereinafter “Chen”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the SCI message indicates whether the second UE is to perform a bandwidth part (BWP) switching operation from a first BWP to a second BWP for the sidelink communication.
As to claim 5, Chen teaches wherein the SCI message indicates whether the second UE is to perform a bandwidth part (BWP) switching operation from a first BWP to a second BWP for the sidelink communication (Chen, [0080], “Switching of a Sidelink BWP”, [0082] “For activation and switching of an SL BWP, the switching manners described below may be considered”, [0087], “Over the PC5 interface, the UE may carry the index of the activated SL BWP in SCI. The peer UE is instructed to switch to a new SL reception BWP”, [0089], “During the switching of an SL BWP, for example, when the UE switches from SL BWP1 to SL BWP2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Chen in order to perform the sidelink data transmission according to the configuration information about the sidelink BWP/resource pool, thus achieving the communication of Internet of vehicles based on a 5G sidelink (Chen, [0012]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Faurie et al. (US 2016/0338095), hereinafter “Faurie”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to detect the second UE using a relay selection process or a relay reselection process and to initiate the transmission of the SCI message based on detecting the second UE using the relay selection process or the relay reselection process.
As to claim 12, Faurie teaches wherein the processor is further configured to detect the second UE using a relay selection process or a relay reselection process and to initiate the transmission of the SCI message based on detecting the second UE using the relay selection process or the relay reselection process (Faurie, [0049], “the description of the pool of resources may be included in the resource allocation configuration at block 204. In one example, the description may be transmitted to the second UE as part of relay information or relay status over a Sidelink Discovery CHannel (SL-DCH), a Physical Sidelink Downlink Discovery CHannel (PSDCH) or another sidelink channel during a relay discovery or the relay selection procedure”. The resource allocation is transmitted during a relay discovery or relay selection procedure. Fig. 8, [0090], the first UE performs a relay discovery/selection for direct communication with the second UE, where the first UE detects signals from the second UE (i.e. step 3) and transmits a resource allocation grant to the second UE (step 3). [0024], [0127], the SCI is used to indicate the scheduling of sidelink resources (grant). See also, Fig. 15, [0136]-[0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Faurie in order to schedule resources for a remote UE and select the resources that may minimize collisions with other resources (Faurie, [0031]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of He et al. (US 2020/0336253), hereinafter “He”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to broadcast the SCI message to indicate presence of the first UE to one or more UEs within communication range of the first UE.
As to claim 13, He teaches wherein the processor is further configured to broadcast the SCI message to indicate presence of the first UE to one or more UEs within communication range of the first UE (He, [0220], the first stage SCI is broadcasted by the transmitter UE to the UEs within the range of the transmitter UE. The first stage SCI is used by the other UEs to determine whether or not to exclude from transmission resources that are reserved by the UE that transmits the PSCCH with the first stage SCI format).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by He in order to perform sensing and reservation of sidelink resources for subsequent PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions (He, [0235]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0306824), hereinafter “Li”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to initiate the transmission of the SCI message during an SCI monitoring occasion that is associated with the first UE and the second UE, and wherein the SCI monitoring occasion is associated with time resources and frequency resources that are dedicated to the first UE and the second UE.
As to claim 14, Li teaches wherein the processor is further configured to initiate the transmission of the SCI message during an SCI monitoring occasion that is associated with the first UE and the second UE (Li, [0076]-[0077], the transmitting UE and receiving UE use a broadcast occasion (BO) with time, frequency and space resources. Fig. 2, [0055]-[0056], the BO2 in SF s1 includes symbols and BWP resources, where the SCI is transmitted by the transmitting UE and received by the receiver UE. Also, Fig. 8A-8B, [0154]-[0156], the transmitter UE transmits the SCI1 and the receiver UE receives the SCI1 during an occasion (UO1)), and wherein the SCI monitoring occasion is associated with time resources and frequency resources that are dedicated to the first UE and the second UE (Li, [0076]-[0077], the transmitting UE and receiving UE use a broadcast occasion (BO) with time, frequency and space resources. Fig. 2, [0055]-[0056], the BO2 in SF s1 includes symbols and BWP resources, where the SCI is transmitted by the transmitting UE and received by the receiver UE. Also, Fig. 8A-8B, [0154]-[0156], the UO1 is used by the transmitter UE and the receiver UE, the UO1 includes time resources. [0145], [0167], the UO includes time, frequency and space resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Li in order to reduce the signaling overhead and reduce the latency on sidelink, such as transmitter initiated and controlled transmission (Li, [0152]).
As to claim 15, Gulati teaches wherein the second UE is associated with a supported communication bandwidth (Gulati, [0068], the remote UE uses a limited bandwidth, such as 6 PRB sub-pool, within the channel bandwidth), and wherein a frequency hopping pattern associated with the frequency resources is associated with a frequency range (Gulati, [0068], [0075], the resource pool for the remote UE has a hop in frequency using a predetermined pattern).
Gulati and Yang teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 15, wherein a frequency hopping pattern associated with the frequency resources is associated with a frequency range that exceeds the supported communication bandwidth.
However, Li teaches wherein a frequency hopping pattern associated with the frequency resources is associated with a frequency range that exceeds the supported communication bandwidth (Li, Fig. 2, [0063], [0135], [0145], the broadcast and unicast occasions have a frequency hopping pattern, where the sidelink operational band of the BOs and UOs exceeds the BWP of the SCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Li in order to reduce the signaling overhead and reduce the latency on sidelink, such as transmitter initiated and controlled transmission (Li, [0152]).
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the time resources correspond to a subset of a dedicated resource pool for communication between the first UE and the second UE.
As to claim 16, Li teaches wherein the time resources correspond to a subset of a dedicated resource pool for communication between the first UE and the second UE (Li, Fig. 14D, [0212]-[0213], the time resources used for the SCI is a subset of the dedicated resource pools. [0154]-[0156], the transmitter UE transmits the SCI and the receiver UE receives the SCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Li in order to reduce the signaling overhead and reduce the latency on sidelink, such as transmitter initiated and controlled transmission (Li, [0152]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2021/0400762), hereinafter “Jeong”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the processor is further configured to initiate the transmission of the SCI message via the sidelink control channel based on an SCI transmission schedule and to transmit an indication of the SCI transmission schedule to the second UE via a sidelink data channel, wherein the SCI transmission schedule indicates a first plurality of slots during which the second UE is to monitor the sidelink control channel for SCI messages including the SCI message, and wherein the SCI transmission schedule further indicates a second plurality of slots during which the second UE is to avoid monitoring the sidelink control channel for the SCI messages.
As to claim 22, Jeong teaches wherein the processor is further configured to initiate the transmission of the SCI message via the sidelink control channel based on an SCI transmission schedule (Jeong, Fig. 8, [0089]-[0090], SL DRX configuration is exchanged between the SL TX UE and the SL RX UE. The configuration includes timing information, SL DRX on-duration, DRX cycle length, retransmission timers, etc. [0093], the SL TX UE #1 transmits the SL control information (PSCCH) based on the timing information, such as offset, retransmission timer, DRX cycle length, etc.) and to transmit an indication of the SCI transmission schedule to the second UE via a sidelink data channel (Jeong, Fig. 8, [0104], “SL TX UE #1's next initial transmission timing can be included in the physical control information in PSCCH/PSSCH or MAC CE/HD (Header), this timing can be used to set SL DRX cycle length (e.g., time duration between the previous initial transmission and the next initial transmission)”. The transmission timing of the next transmission is indicated in the PSSCH), wherein the SCI transmission schedule indicates a first plurality of slots during which the second UE is to monitor the sidelink control channel for SCI messages including the SCI message (Jeong, Fig. 8, [0089]-[0090], SL DRX configuration is exchanged between the SL TX UE and the SL RX UE. The configuration includes timing information, SL DRX on-duration, DRX cycle length, retransmission timers, etc. [0093], the SL RX UE #3 receives the SL control information (PSCCH) based on the timing information, such as offset (the first time slot that meets a defined equation using SL DRX start offset), retransmission timer, DRX cycle length, etc.), and wherein the SCI transmission schedule further indicates a second plurality of slots during which the second UE is to avoid monitoring the sidelink control channel for the SCI messages (Jeong, Fig. 8, Fig. 8, [0089]-[0090], the SL DRX inactivity timer, [0093], the SL DRX offset (e.g. the first incoming time slot that meets a defined equation using SL DRX start offset). This indicates that the offset provides for slots that not available for the PSCCH/PSSCH transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Jeong in order to provide an efficient UE power saving procedure and reduction of DL and SL collision/interference (Jeong, [0101]).
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2022/0346081), hereinafter “Luo”.
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein the SCI message indicates that the sidelink communication is to include transmitting data by one of the second UE and the third UE to the other of the second UE and the third UE.
As to claim 23, Luo teaches wherein the SCI message indicates that the sidelink communication is to include transmitting data by one of the second UE and the third UE to the other of the second UE and the third UE (Luo, [0034], UE1 represents a sidelink data transmitter and UE2 represents a corresponding sidelink data receiver. Figs. 5-6, [0074], the PS-SCI 611 is equivalent to the configuration 511 in Fig. 5. [0067]-[0068], Table 5, the wakeup control resource configuration (511) includes the ID of each of the group members for sidelink communication. [0064], wakeup signal and sidelink data are transmitted from the UE1 to the UE2 based on the wakeup control resource configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Luo in order to perform power-saving in sidelink communication between communication terminals (Luo, [0003]).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 25, wherein the SCI message corresponds to a first SCI message that identifies the second UE as the transmitter of the sidelink communication, and wherein the processor is further configured to initiate transmission of a second SCI message that includes a wakeup signal to the third UE prior to performing the sidelink communication.
As to claim 25, Yang teaches wherein the SCI message corresponds to a first SCI message that identifies the second UE as the transmitter of the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
Gulati and Yang teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati and Yang do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 25, and wherein the processor is further configured to initiate transmission of a second SCI message that includes a wakeup signal to the third UE prior to performing the sidelink communication.
However, Luo teaches and wherein the processor is further configured to initiate transmission of a second SCI message that includes a wakeup signal to the third UE prior to performing the sidelink communication (Luo, Figs. 5-6, [0064], [0067]-[0068], [0074], the UE3 (Head) transmits the PS-SCI resource configuration/Wakeup control resource configuration to the UE2 (step 610) prior to the sidelink data transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati and Yang to have the features, as taught by Luo in order to perform power-saving in sidelink communication between communication terminals (Luo, [0003]).
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 2018/0324882) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Gulati” in view of Yang et al. (WO 2019/028847), hereinafter “Yang” and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2022/0346081), hereinafter “Luo” and further in view of He et al. (US 2020/0336253), hereinafter “He”.
As to claim 24, Gulati teaches wherein the processor is further configured to initiate the transmission of the SCI message to the second UE and to the third UE (Gulati, [0072], “The DCI may be scrambled with a remote-RNTI being monitored by the relay UE 464 for the purpose of relaying to either the remote UE 466, or a group of remote UEs associated with the relay UE 464”, [0073], “the DCI may be sent as sidelink control information (SCI)”).
Gulati teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, and wherein the SCI message identifies the second UE as the transmitter of the sidelink communication and further identifies the third UE as a receiver of the sidelink communication.
However, Yang teaches and wherein the SCI message identifies the second UE as the transmitter of the sidelink communication (Yang, Fig. 8, [0058], the SCI contains the UE ID of the UE to which the current SCI belongs. [0059], the UE ID is the remote ID and the SCI indicates the sidelink resource assignment for remote UE transmitting. [0060], the remote UE sends sidelink data on the indicated PSSCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati to have the features, as taught by Yang in order to use sidelink resources more efficiently, and also to reduce the network side burden, reduce system signaling overhead, improve system resource utilization, and meet a variety of UE business needs (Yang, [0029]).
Gulati, Yang and Luo teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Gulati, Yang and Luo do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, and further identifies the third UE as a receiver of the sidelink communication.
However, He teaches and further identifies the third UE as a receiver of the sidelink communication (He, [0113], “A UE can transmit a PSCCH providing a SCI format that schedules one or more PSSCH receptions to one or more other UEs. The SCI format can include one or more of the following information elements (fields):”, [0114], “A destination ID to identify a UE or a group of UEs for a corresponding PSSCH reception”. A UE transmits a SCI indicating the destination ID of a UE or a group of UEs as receivers of the PSSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gulati, Yang and Luo to have the features, as taught by He in order to perform sensing and reservation of sidelink resources for subsequent PSCCH/PSSCH transmissions (He, [0235]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473