DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-32 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 6/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-32 are currently pending.
Claims 15-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitation "the one or more additional adjuvant” in the body of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Note: for examination, liposomes comprising QS21 and/or MPLA adjuvants will be treated as satisfying the limitations of claim 8 and liposomes comprising a MPLA adjuvant or a synthetic variant thereof will be treated as satisfying claim 9.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the QS21 and PHAD” in the body of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) in view of Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record).
Lovell teaches on the subject of metalloporphyrin-comprising nanostructures, wherein the metalloporphyrin moieties are comprised within a bilayer and associate with His-tag polypeptides embedded within the bilayer (Lovell, Abstract)
(Lovell, Abstract)
Lovell teaches that one of the challenges associated with functionalized nanoparticles is to easily and reliably attach peptides and proteins to larger scaffolds, with most bioconjugations to nanoparticles suffering from one or more of the following limitations: 1) low conjugated yields and necessitated purification steps, 2) incompatibility with biological buffers making conjugation impossible, 3) variable labeling sites and conjugated polypeptide conformation leading to inhomogeneous particle populations and 4) necessity for complex and exogenous chemical approaches (Lovell, ¶ 0004). Regarding the structural limitations exclusive of the MHCI peptide recited in claims 1-3, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell comprise a liposome comprising a phospholipid bilayer with cobalt metalloporphyrin moieties within the interstitial layer of the bilayer that form noncovalent associations with polyhistidine anchored within the interstitial layer of the bilayer (Lovell, ¶ 0007-0010). Lovell teaches that the metalloporphyrin bilayers of the nanostructures of Lovell are functionalized with his-tagged polypeptides as a platform for presentation of such polypeptides to immune cells to foment an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides (Lovell, ¶ 0034-35). Regarding claim 6, Lovell teaches that the his-tags of Lovell comprise 6-10 histidines (Lovell, ¶ 0038). Regarding claims 7-9, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell further comprise an adjuvant that is MPLA (Lovell, ¶ 0059). Regarding claim 13, Lovell teaches administration of the nanostructures of Lovell to humans (Lovell, claim 18). Regarding claim 14, Lovell teaches multiple administrations of the nanostructures of Lovell (Lovell, ¶ 0075). Lovell teaches that the ratio of lipid to any cargo agent is from 10:1 to 5:1 (Lovell, ¶ 0070)
Lovell does not teach that the his-tagged polypeptide of Lovell is a 9 AA MHCI tumor-associated peptide. Lovell does not teach that the ratio of his-tag peptide to adjuvant is 1:1.
Lovell does not teach a method of reducing the growth of a tumor, said method comprising administering the co-metalloporphyrin-his-tagged antigenic peptide sequence liposome delivery system of Lovell with MHC I tumor associated peptide sequences as the his-tagged antigenic peptide to a patient having a tumor, wherein an immune response is elicited against a tumor antigen.
Mahr teaches immunotherapeutics for cancer comprising tumor-associated T cell peptide epitopes (Mahr, Abstract), with SEQ ID NOs:1-3 of Mahr being 9 AA peptides binding MHC I of the HLA-A*02:01 allele (Mahr, ¶ 0415-0417).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of Lovell and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of Lovell and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen because: 1) Lovell teaches that the co-metalloporphyrin nanostructures of Lovell are antigen-presentation systems intended to elicit an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides, 2) Mahr teaches that each of the MHC I peptides of Mahr is a T cell epitope associated with at least one tumor type and 3) it is within the purview of one of skill in the art to realize that when tumor-associated antigenic peptides are loaded onto an antigen presentation system that the result will be a T cell response being induced against that specific tumor antigen and, as such, will be likely to reduce growth of the associated tumor.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to start with a ratio of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arrive at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:adjuvant by routine experimentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to balance the beneficial immunostimulatory effect caused by adjuvant + peptide while minimizing deleterious off-target effects of adjuvant alone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success starting with ratios of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arriving at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:adjuvant by routine experimentation because routine experimentation is within the purview of one of skill in the art. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (See MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) in view of Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record) as applied to claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 above and in further view of Eldridge (Eldridge, et al., US 2016/0220666A1; Published 8/4/2016).
The teachings of Lovell and Mahr are discussed above.
Lovell and Mahr do not teach that the adjuvant present in the his-tagged MHC-I tumor peptide-co metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system collectively taught by Lovell and Mahr is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (“PHAD”).
Eldridge teaches on the subject of novel vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, Abstract). Eldridge teaches that the adjuvant of Eldridge is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (PHAD) (Eldridge, ¶ 0042), with the PHAD of Eldridge having the advantages of a controlled manufacturing supply and stability when compared to MPL vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, ¶ 0018).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by Lovell and Mahr. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to have a vaccine adjuvant that is stable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by Lovell and Mahr because Lovell teaches that MPL adjuvants are suitable for use in the metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system of Lovell and Eldridge teaches that PHAD adjuvants have the advantage of stability compared to MPL adjuvants.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,859 B2
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,421 B2
and claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,272,160 B2
all in view of Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) and Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record).
All of the reference patents above recite liposomal antigen delivery systems with the following properties: 1) a liposomal bilayer comprising co-metalloporphyrin phospholipids, 2) embedded his-tagged comprising 6 to 10 histidines linked to antigenic peptide sequences and 3) an adjuvant that is MPLA.
The reference patents do not teach that the his-tagged antigenic peptide sequence in the co-metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen delivery system of the reference patents is a 9 AA MHCI tumor associated peptide. The reference patents do not teach that the ratio of his-tag peptide to adjuvant is 1:1. The reference patents do not teach a method of reducing the growth of a tumor, said method comprising administering the co-metalloporphyrin-his-tagged antigenic peptide sequence liposome delivery system of the reference patents with MHC I tumor associated peptide sequences as the his-tagged antigenic peptide to a patient having a tumor, wherein an immune response is elicited against a tumor antigen.
Lovell teaches on the subject of metalloporphyrin-comprising nanostructures, wherein the metalloporphyrin moieties are comprised within a bilayer and associate with His-tag polypeptides embedded within the bilayer (Lovell, Abstract)
(Lovell, Abstract)
Lovell teaches that one of the challenges associated with functionalized nanoparticles is to easily and reliably attach peptides and proteins to larger scaffolds, with most bioconjugations to nanoparticles suffering from one or more of the following limitations: 1) low conjugated yields and necessitated purification steps, 2) incompatibility with biological buffers making conjugation impossible, 3) variable labeling sites and conjugated polypeptide conformation leading to inhomogeneous particle populations and 4) necessity for complex and exogenous chemical approaches (Lovell, ¶ 0004). Regarding the structural limitations exclusive of the MHCI peptide recited in claims 1-3, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell comprise a liposome comprising a phospholipid bilayer with cobalt metalloporphyrin moieties within the interstitial layer of the bilayer that form noncovalent associations with polyhistidine anchored within the interstitial layer of the bilayer (Lovell, ¶ 0007-0010). Lovell teaches that the metalloporphyrin bilayers of the nanostructures of Lovell are functionalized with his-tagged polypeptides as a platform for presentation of such polypeptides to immune cells to foment an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides (Lovell, ¶ 0034-35). Regarding claim 6, Lovell teaches that the his-tags of Lovell comprise 6-10 histidines (Lovell, ¶ 0038). Regarding claims 7-9, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell further comprise an adjuvant that is MPLA (Lovell, ¶ 0059). Regarding claim 13, Lovell teaches administration of the nanostructures of Lovell to humans (Lovell, claim 18). Regarding claim 14, Lovell teaches multiple administrations of the nanostructures of Lovell (Lovell, ¶ 0075). Lovell teaches that the ratio of lipid to any cargo agent is from 10:1 to 5:1 (Lovell, ¶ 0070)
Mahr teaches immunotherapeutics for cancer comprising tumor-associated T cell peptide epitopes (Mahr, Abstract), with SEQ ID NOs:1-3 of Mahr being 9 AA peptides binding MHC I of the HLA-A*02:01 allele (Mahr, ¶ 0415-0417).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of the reference patents and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen in view of the teachings of Lovell. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of the reference patents and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen in view of Lovell because: 1) Lovell teaches that the co-metalloporphyrin nanostructures of the reference patents are antigen-presentation systems intended to elicit an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides, 2) Mahr teaches that each of the MHC I peptides of Mahr is a T cell epitope associated with at least one tumor type and 3) it is within the purview of one of skill in the art to realize that when tumor-associated antigenic peptides are loaded onto an antigen presentation system that the result will be a T cell response being induced against that specific tumor antigen and, as such, will be likely to reduce growth of the associated tumor.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to start with a ratio of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arrive at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:adjuvant ratio in the liposomal delivery systems of the reference patents by routine experimentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to balance the beneficial immunostimulatory effect caused by adjuvant + peptide while minimizing deleterious off-target effects of adjuvant alone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success starting with ratios of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arriving at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:aduvant in the liposomal delivery systems of the reference patents by routine experimentation because routine experimentation is within the purview of one of skill in the art. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (See MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 1-11 and 13-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,527,859 B2
claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,207,421 B2
and claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,272,160 B2
all in view of Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) and Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record) as applied to claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 above and in further view of Eldridge (Eldridge, et al., US 2016/0220666A1; Published 8/4/2016).
The combined teachings of the reference patents, Lovell and Mahr are discussed above.
The reference patents, Lovell and Mahr do not teach that the adjuvant present in the his-tagged MHC-I tumor peptide-co metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system collectively taught by the reference patents, Lovell and Mahr is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (“PHAD”).
Eldridge teaches on the subject of novel vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, Abstract). Eldridge teaches that the adjuvant of Eldridge is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (PHAD) (Eldridge, ¶ 0042), with the PHAD of Eldridge having the advantages of a controlled manufacturing supply and stability when compared to MPL vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, ¶ 0018).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by the reference patents, Lovell and Mahr. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to have a vaccine adjuvant that is stable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by the reference patents, Lovell and Mahr because Lovell teaches that MPL adjuvants are suitable for use in the metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system of the reference patents and Eldridge teaches that PHAD adjuvants have the advantage of stability compared to MPL adjuvants.
Claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/495,475
claims 1-41 of copending Application No. 18/247,235
all in view of Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) and Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record).
all of the reference applications above recite liposomal antigen delivery systems with the following properties: 1) a liposomal bilayer comprising co-metalloporphyrin phospholipids, 2) embedded his-tagged comprising 6 to 10 histidines linked to antigenic peptide sequences and 3) an adjuvant that is MPLA.
The reference applications do not teach that the his-tagged antigenic peptide sequence in the co-metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen delivery system of the reference applications is a 9 AA MHCI tumor associated peptide. The reference applications do not teach that the ratio of his-tag peptide to adjuvant is 1:1. The reference applications do not teach a method of reducing the growth of a tumor, said method comprising administering the co-metalloporphyrin-his-tagged antigenic peptide sequence liposome delivery system of the reference applications with MHC I tumor associated peptide sequences as the his-tagged antigenic peptide to a patient having a tumor, wherein an immune response is elicited against a tumor antigen.
Lovell teaches on the subject of metalloporphyrin-comprising nanostructures, wherein the metalloporphyrin moieties are comprised within a bilayer and associate with His-tag polypeptides embedded within the bilayer (Lovell, Abstract)
(Lovell, Abstract)
Lovell teaches that one of the challenges associated with functionalized nanoparticles is to easily and reliably attach peptides and proteins to larger scaffolds, with most bioconjugations to nanoparticles suffering from one or more of the following limitations: 1) low conjugated yields and necessitated purification steps, 2) incompatibility with biological buffers making conjugation impossible, 3) variable labeling sites and conjugated polypeptide conformation leading to inhomogeneous particle populations and 4) necessity for complex and exogenous chemical approaches (Lovell, ¶ 0004). Regarding the structural limitations exclusive of the MHCI peptide recited in claims 1-3, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell comprise a liposome comprising a phospholipid bilayer with cobalt metalloporphyrin moieties within the interstitial layer of the bilayer that form noncovalent associations with polyhistidine anchored within the interstitial layer of the bilayer (Lovell, ¶ 0007-0010). Lovell teaches that the metalloporphyrin bilayers of the nanostructures of Lovell are functionalized with his-tagged polypeptides as a platform for presentation of such polypeptides to immune cells to foment an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides (Lovell, ¶ 0034-35). Regarding claim 6, Lovell teaches that the his-tags of Lovell comprise 6-10 histidines (Lovell, ¶ 0038). Regarding claims 7-9, Lovell teaches that the nanostructures of Lovell further comprise an adjuvant that is MPLA (Lovell, ¶ 0059). Regarding claim 13, Lovell teaches administration of the nanostructures of Lovell to humans (Lovell, claim 18). Regarding claim 14, Lovell teaches multiple administrations of the nanostructures of Lovell (Lovell, ¶ 0075). Lovell teaches that the ratio of lipid to any cargo agent is from 10:1 to 5:1 (Lovell, ¶ 0070)
Mahr teaches immunotherapeutics for cancer comprising tumor-associated T cell peptide epitopes (Mahr, Abstract), with SEQ ID NOs:1-3 of Mahr being 9 AA peptides binding MHC I of the HLA-A*02:01 allele (Mahr, ¶ 0415-0417).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of the reference applications and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen in view of the teachings of Lovell. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to better treat cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the MHC I-binding tumor-associated peptide epitopes of 9 AAs of Mahr as the polypeptide for the his-tagged polypeptides present in the cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation nanostructures of the reference applications and administer the resultant his-tagged MHC-I tumor T cell epitope peptide-cobalt metalloporphyrin liposomal antigen presentation system in methods of reducing the growth of the tumors associated with the tumor T cell epitope of Mahr, wherein an immune response is generated against a tumor antigen in view of Lovell because: 1) Lovell teaches that the co-metalloporphyrin nanostructures of the reference applications are antigen-presentation systems intended to elicit an immune response against the his-tagged polypeptides, 2) Mahr teaches that each of the MHC I peptides of Mahr is a T cell epitope associated with at least one tumor type and 3) it is within the purview of one of skill in the art to realize that when tumor-associated antigenic peptides are loaded onto an antigen presentation system that the result will be a T cell response being induced against that specific tumor antigen and, as such, will be likely to reduce growth of the associated tumor.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to start with a ratio of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arrive at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:adjuvant ratio in the liposomal delivery systems of the reference applications by routine experimentation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this in order to balance the beneficial immunostimulatory effect caused by adjuvant + peptide while minimizing deleterious off-target effects of adjuvant alone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success starting with ratios of lipid:agent of 10:1-5:1 for both peptide and adjuvant cargo agents taught by Lovell and arriving at a ratio of 1:1 peptide:aduvant in the liposomal delivery systems of the reference applications by routine experimentation because routine experimentation is within the purview of one of skill in the art. Additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (See MPEP 2144.05).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/495,475
claims 1-41 of copending Application No. 18/247,235
all in view of Lovell (Lovell, et al., US2018/0085473A1; Published 3/29/2018) and Mahr (Mahr, et al., US 2017/0342125A1; Published 11/30/2017, of record) as applied to claims 1-9, 11 and 13-14 above and in further view of Eldridge (Eldridge, et al., US 2016/0220666A1; Published 8/4/2016).
The combined teachings of the reference applications, Lovell and Mahr are discussed above.
The reference applications, Lovell and Mahr do not teach that the adjuvant present in the his-tagged MHC-I tumor peptide-co metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system collectively taught by the reference applications, Lovell and Mahr is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (“PHAD”).
Eldridge teaches on the subject of novel vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, Abstract). Eldridge teaches that the adjuvant of Eldridge is phosphorylated hexaacyl disaccharide (PHAD) (Eldridge, ¶ 0042), with the PHAD of Eldridge having the advantages of a controlled manufacturing supply and stability when compared to MPL vaccine adjuvants (Eldridge, ¶ 0018).
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by the reference applications, Lovell and Mahr. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do this to have a vaccine adjuvant that is stable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success choosing the PHAD of Eldridge as the specific adjuvant in the his-tagged MHC-I peptide-co metalloporphyrin vaccine system taught by the reference applications, Lovell and Mahr because Lovell teaches that MPL adjuvants are suitable for use in the metalloporphyrin liposome antigen presentation system of the reference applications and Eldridge teaches that PHAD adjuvants have the advantage of stability compared to MPL adjuvants.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/SYDNEY VAN DRUFF/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643