DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 4, line 6 and line 11 each recite “thermosetting resin composition”, which should be “melamine-based thermosetting composition”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 4 recites “the modifiers”, which should be “the one or more modifiers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 13 recites “Caprolactam”, which should be “caprolactam”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3, line 1 and line 2 each recite “thermosetting resin composition”, which should be “melamine-based thermosetting composition”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 recites “thermosetting resin composition”, which should be “melamine-based thermosetting composition. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the melamine-based resin" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection affects all the dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinkoetz et al. (US 2020/0095453 A1 cited in IDS) in view of White et al. (3,827,995).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 9, Weinkoetz et al. disclose a liquid composition (melamine-based resin composition) comprising etherified melamine formaldeyde resin and solvent (see paragraphs 0128-0129). There is no disclosure of external modifiers in the liquid composition. That is, external modifier amount is 0 wt% (free from external modifier).
Weinkoetz et al. do not disclose internal modifier as presently claimed.
White et al. disclose a thermosetting liquid resin composition comprising a blend of about 25 to about 55 wt% of a melamine-formaldehyde copolymer (melamine-based resin) and about 45 to about 75 wt% of urea-formaldehyde copolymer (urea or internal modifier) (see col. 1, lines 16-24). The blend has good stability (see col. 3, lines 44-45).
In light of motivation for using about 45 to about 75 wt% of urea-formaldehyde copolymer (urea) disclosed by White et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use about 45 to about 75 wt% of urea-formaldehyde copolymer (urea) in the liquid composition of Weinkoetz et al. in order to provide good stability, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Given that the liquid composition of Weinholtz et al. in view of White et al. is identical to that presently claimed, the liquid composition is a melamine-based thermosetting resin composition.
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meunier et al. (4,183,832).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 9, Meunier et al. disclose an aqueous solution (melamine-based resin composition) comprising an etherified melamine-formaldehyde resin (see Abstract and page 20, claim 33). There is no disclosure of external modifiers in the aqueous solution. That is, external modifier amount is 0 wt% (free from external modifier).
Further, a free formaldehyde content in the aqueous solution is less than 6% (see page 20, claim 34). The free formaldehyde emits vapors that irritate eyes and respiratory systems (see col. 7, lines 23-25). The content of free formaldehyde is adjusted by reacting it with urea, i.e. internal modifier (see Abstract).
Meunier et al. do not disclose amount of urea (internal modifier). However, Meunier et al. disclose the content of free formaldehyde is adjusted by reacting it with urea as noted above.
Therefore, as taught by Meunier et al., it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use amount of urea including that presently claimed in order to adjust content of free formaldehyde and reduce its vapors that irritate eyes and respiratory systems, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Given that the aqueous solution (melamine-based resin composition) of Meunier et al. is identical to that presently claimed, the aqueous solution is a melamine-based thermosetting resin composition.
Claims 1, 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heger (4,454,277) in view of Meunier et al. (4,183,832).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 9, Heger discloses an aqueous solution (melamine-based resin composition) comprising a melamine-formaldehyde resin and urea (internal modifier) in amount of 1 to 10 wt% (see Abstract and col. 2, lines 21-27). There is no disclosure of external modifiers in the aqueous solution. That is, external modifier amount is 0 wt% (free from external modifier).
Heger does not disclose the melamine-formaldehyde resin comprises etherified melamine.
Meunier et al. disclose an etherified melamine-formaldehyde resin having prolonged shelf life and low free formaldehyde content (see Abstract).
In light of motivation for using an etherified melamine-formaldehyde resin disclosed by Meunier et al. as described above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an etherified melamine-formaldehyde resin of Meunier et al. as the melamine-formaldehyde resin in Heger in order to provide prolonged shelf life and low free formaldehyde content, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Given that the aqueous solution of Heger in view of Meunier et al. is identical to that presently claimed, the aqueous solution is a melamine-based thermosetting resin composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026 have been fully considered. In light of amendments, new grounds of rejections are set forth above. All arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
/KRUPA SHUKLA/Examiner, Art Unit 1787