Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed 6/8/2026 have been considered and a new rejection provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,4,5,8,9,12,13,15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Gao et al. (US20200154485A1) in view of Axnas et al. (US20200092871A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Gao teaches, A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a first sequence having a length of L and a second sequence having a length of K, wherein the second sequence is divided into K sequence parts, each of the K sequence parts having a same length and a different value for each of K symbols; [75]- In an embodiment of the present disclosure, for a PRACH transmission for initial access and/or uplink synchronization, there may be M (M>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ. For PRACH transmission for other cases such as beam failure recovery request, or on demand SI request, and etc., there may be N (N>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ_B
generating a main signal to be mapped to the K symbols based on multiplication of the first sequence having the length of the L and a corresponding value of the K sequence parts for each of the K
symbols, wherein the main signal has a length of K x L; [87]- additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix
generating a preamble signal including the main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[12]- FIGS. 1C illustrates the structures of the PRACH preamble format 3, from which it is clear that for format 3, it includes a CP, four PRACH symbols with a short length, and a guard time.
Gao does not teach, transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal and transmitting, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station
Axnas teaches,transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and fig 14 [156]- At block 1401, the UE transmits the preamble to a radio network node, the transmitting including changing a transmission characteristic part way through the transmission of the preamble to split the preamble into two portions.
receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal fig 15 step 1501 [165]- At block 1501, the radio network node detects a change in a transmission characteristic of a preamble received from a user equipment (UE) part way through receiving the preamble,
and transmitting, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.[153]- For example, the UE can use the timing advance to adjust the timing of a future transmission to the radio network node. The radio network node can transmit the timing advance to the UE for use by the UE.[151]-( =based on RTD)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao , transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal transmitting, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 4, Gao teaches, wherein a delay value within one symbol is obtained based on a first cyclic correlation between a first correlation signal and the preamble signal, the first correlation signal having a length identical to the length of the main signal,[87]- length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, [77]- the length for PRACH symbol(s) and/or PRACH sequence(s) and/or PRACH preamble(s) may be denoted as TSEQ .
wherein a second correlation signal is obtained based on the delay value and multiplication of the preamble signal and complex conjugate elements for the first correlation signal, and [61] and [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index, number of cyclic shift values, value of cyclic shift, sequence length, value of subcarrier spacing, number of repetitions, length of CP. The detection by correlating with all the candidate sequences is the standard exhaustive correlation detection approach. When the base station knows the masking sequence set( shared between Ue and BS), correlating with all the candidates is the natural way to identify which maskin sequence was used and estimate fine timing. This is equivalent to a bank of matched filters.
Gao does not teach, wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set
Axnas teaches, wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set.[62]- typical correlation-based detector scanning a receive window within the preamble would be able to accurately determine Tfrac
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao, wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 5, Gao teaches, A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a preamble signal including a main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[77]- the length of CP (cyclic prefix) may be denoted as TCP, and the length of guard time and/or guard period may be denoted as TGT, the number of PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s) may be denoted as M.
generating a random access response for the received the preamble signal;
and transmitting, to the UE, the random access response,[96]- resource remaining due to differences between the transmitted physical random access channel and the random access channel for initial access, in step 402, it may be used for transmit transmission,
wherein the main signal mapped on K symbols is generated based on multiplication of a first sequence having a length of L and a corresponding value of K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, and [87]- SI request, and etc., additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix, where NS,j may denote the length of j-th OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol,
wherein the K sequence parts are obtained by dividing a second sequence having a length of K, the main signal having a length of K x L[77]- n another embodiment of the present disclosure, for different subcarrier spacing for the transmission, the number K may be different. For example, the number may be K1 for subcarrier spacing Δf1 and the number may be Ki for subcarrier spacing Δfi.
Gao does not teach, receiving, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station
Axnas teaches, receiving, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response [153]- For example, the UE can use the timing advance to adjust the timing of a future transmission to the radio network node. The radio network node can transmit the timing advance to the UE for use by the UE.[151]-( =based on RTD)
wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.[154]- the radio network nodes uses at least one of an early-arrival detector and a late-arrival detector to process at least one short sequence of the plurality of short sequences as part of calculating a propagation delay between the UE and the radio network node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao , receiving, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 8, Gao teaches, The method of claim 7, further comprising: identifying a delay value within one symbol based on a first cyclic correlation between a first correlation signal and the received preamble signal, the first correlation signal having a length identical to the length of the main signal; [87]- length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, [77]- the length for PRACH symbol(s) and/or PRACH sequence(s) and/or PRACH preamble(s) may be denoted as TSEQ .
generating a second correlation signal based on the delay value and multiplication of the received preamble signal and complex conjugate elements for the first correlation signal;, and [61] and [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index, number of cyclic shift values, value of cyclic shift, sequence length, value of subcarrier spacing, number of repetitions, length of CP. The detection by correlating with all the candidate sequences is the standard exhaustive correlation detection approach. When the base station knows the masking sequence set( shared between Ue and BS), correlating with all the candidates is the natural way to identify which maskin sequence was used and estimate fine timing. This is equivalent to a bank of matched filters.
Gao does not teach, obtaining the a round trip delay RTD based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set, wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlation
Axnas teaches, obtaining the a round trip delay RTD based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set, wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlation.[62]- typical correlation-based detector scanning a receive window within the preamble would be able to accurately determine Tfrac
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao, obtaining the a round trip delay RTD based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set, wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlation as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 9, Gao teaches, A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: identify a first sequence having a length of L and a second sequence having a length of K, wherein the second sequence is divided into K sequence parts, each of the K sequence parts having a same length and a different value for each of K symbols; [75]- In an embodiment of the present disclosure, for a PRACH transmission for initial access and/or uplink synchronization, there may be M (M>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ. For PRACH transmission for other cases such as beam failure recovery request, or on demand SI request, and etc., there may be N (N>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ_B
generate a main signal to be mapped to the K symbols based on multiplication of the first sequence having the length of the L and a corresponding value of the K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, wherein the main signal has a length of K x L,; [87]- additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix
generate a preamble signal including the main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[12]- FIGS. 1C illustrates the structures of the PRACH preamble format 3, from which it is clear that for format 3, it includes a CP, four PRACH symbols with a short length, and a guard time.
Gao does not teach, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the generated preamble signal, and control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, a random access response for a transmission of the preamble signal, and control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.
Axnas teaches, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the generated preamble signal,; and Fig 14 [156]- At block 1401, the UE transmits the preamble to a radio network node, the transmitting including changing a transmission characteristic part way through the transmission of the preamble to split the preamble into two portions.
control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, a random access response for a transmission of the preamble signal [165] At block 1501, the radio network node detects a change in a transmission characteristic of a preamble received from a user equipment (UE) part way through receiving the preamble
control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station..[153]- For example, the UE can use the timing advance to adjust the timing of a future transmission to the radio network node. The radio network node can transmit the timing advance to the UE for use by the UE.[151]-( =based on RTD)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao , and control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 12, Gao teaches, wherein a delay value within one symbol is obtained based on a first cyclic correlation between a first correlation signal and the preamble signal, the first correlation signal having a length identical to the length of the main signal,[87]- length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, [77]- the length for PRACH symbol(s) and/or PRACH sequence(s) and/or PRACH preamble(s) may be denoted as TSEQ .
wherein a second correlation signal is obtained based on the delay value and multiplication of the preamble signal and complex conjugate elements for the first correlation signal, and [61] and [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index, number of cyclic shift values, value of cyclic shift, sequence length, value of subcarrier spacing, number of repetitions, length of CP. The detection by correlating with all the candidate sequences is the standard exhaustive correlation detection approach. When the base station knows the masking sequence set( shared between Ue and BS), correlating with all the candidates is the natural way to identify which maskin sequence was used and estimate fine timing. This is equivalent to a bank of matched filters.
Gao does not teach, wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set.
Axnas teaches, wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set..[62]- typical correlation-based detector scanning a receive window within the preamble would be able to accurately determine Tfrac
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao , wherein the RTD is obtained based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and all sequences in the masking sequence set. as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 13, Gao teaches, A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from a UE, a preamble signal including a main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP)[77]- the length of CP (cyclic prefix) may be denoted as TCP, and the length of guard time and/or guard period may be denoted as TGT, the number of PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s) may be denoted as M.
generate a random access response for a reception of the received preamble signal, and control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, the random access response,[96]- resource remaining due to differences between the transmitted physical random access channel and the random access channel for initial access, in step 402, it may be used for transmit transmission,
wherein the main signal mapped on K symbols is generated based on multiplication of a first sequence having a length of L and a corresponding value of K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, and [87]- SI request, and etc., additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix, where NS,j may denote the length of j-th OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol,
wherein the K sequence parts are obtained by dividing a second sequence having a length of K, the main signal having a length of K x L[77]- n another embodiment of the present disclosure, for different subcarrier spacing for the transmission, the number K may be different. For example, the number may be K1 for subcarrier spacing Δf1 and the number may be Ki for subcarrier spacing Δfi.
Gao does not teach, and control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response,
wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.
Axnas teaches, and control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response, [153]- For example, the UE can use the timing advance to adjust the timing of a future transmission to the radio network node. The radio network node can transmit the timing advance to the UE for use by the UE.[151]-( =based on RTD)
wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station.[154]- the radio network nodes uses at least one of an early-arrival detector and a late-arrival detector to process at least one short sequence of the plurality of short sequences as part of calculating a propagation delay between the UE and the radio network node.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao , control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a message for random access, based on timing advance information included in the random access response,wherein the timing advance information is determined based on a round-trip delay (RTD) between the UE and the base station as taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 15, Gao teaches, The base station of The base station of wherein the controller is further configured to:
identify a delay value within one symbol based on a first cyclic correlation between a first correlation signal and the received preamble signal, the first correlation signal having a length identical to the length of the main signal; [87]- length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, [77]- the length for PRACH symbol(s) and/or PRACH sequence(s) and/or PRACH preamble(s) may be denoted as TSEQ .
generate a second correlation signal based on the delay value and multiplication of the received preamble signal and complex conjugate elements for the first correlation signal; and obtain the RTD based on a second cyclic correlation between a second correlation signal and [61] and [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index, number of cyclic shift values, value of cyclic shift, sequence length, value of subcarrier spacing, number of repetitions, length of CP. The detection by correlating with all the candidate sequences is the standard exhaustive correlation detection approach. When the base station knows the masking sequence set( shared between Ue and BS), correlating with all the candidates is the natural way to identify which maskin sequence was used and estimate fine timing. This is equivalent to a bank of matched filters.
Gao does not teach, all sequences in the masking sequence set, and wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlation.
Axnas teaches, all sequences in the masking sequence set, and wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlation.[62]- typical correlation-based detector scanning a receive window within the preamble would be able to accurately determine Tfrac
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao and , all sequences in the masking sequence set, and wherein an index of the second sequence is identified from the masking sequence based on the second cyclic correlationas taught by Axnas to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Claims 3,7,11,14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Gao et al. (US20200154485A1) in view of Axnas et al. (US20200092871A1) In further view of Javi et al. (US20220210844A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Gao teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, information on a root index value of the first sequence;
selecting the first sequence from a set of the first sequence generated based on the root index value; [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index,
determining selecting a masking sequence set of the second sequence based on the among a plurality of preconfigured number masking sequence sets based on a value of the K; and Fig 4 step 401 [61]- This means that the PRACH for beam recovery request may have a different structure from that for the initial access for example in parameters, in structure or in both.
selecting the second sequence from the masking sequence set of the second sequence, [122]- the method may further comprise transmitting a time advance value in a response to the received physical random access channel in step 403.
Gao and Axnas does not teach, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB).
Javi teaches, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB). [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao and Axnas, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB)as taught by Javi to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 7, Gao teaches, wherein a masking sequence set is selected among a plurality of preconfigured masking sequence sets based on a value of the K[106]- FIG. 9B, there are N CS configurations of PRACH for the initial access and/or uplink synchronization and additional L CS configuration of PRACH for beam recover request. The additional L CS configurations can be numbered from 1 to L or some N+1 to N+L.
Gao and Axnas does not teach, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB)
Javi teaches, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao and Axnas, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),as taught by Javi to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 11, Gao teaches, The UE of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, information on a root index value of the first sequence; select the first sequence from a set of the first sequence generated based on the root index value; [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index,
determine select a masking sequence set of the second sequence based on the among a plurality of preconfigured number masking sequence sets based on a value of the K; and Fig 4 step 401 [61]- This means that the PRACH for beam recovery request may have a different structure from that for the initial access for example in parameters, in structure or in both.
select the second sequence from the masking sequence set of the second sequences [122]- the method may further comprise transmitting a time advance value in a response to the received physical random access channel in step 403.
Gao and Axnas does not teach, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB).
Javi teaches, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB). [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao and Axnas, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) as taught by Javi to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 14, Gao teaches, The base station of claim 13,wherein a masking sequence set is selected among a plurality of preconfigured masking sequence sets based on a value of the K [106]- FIG. 9B, there are N CS configurations of PRACH for the initial access and/or uplink synchronization and additional L CS configuration of PRACH for beam recover request. The additional L CS configurations can be numbered from 1 to L or some N+1 to N+L.
Gao and Axnas does not teach, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),
Javi teaches, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),
[116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao and Axnas, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB), as taught by Javi to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478