Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,8,12,15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,5,9,13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Gao et al. (US20200154485A1) in view of Islam et al. (US20170290056A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Gao teaches, A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
identifying a first sequence having a length of L and a second sequence having a length of K, wherein the second sequence is divided into K sequence parts, each of the K sequence parts having a same length and a different value for each of K symbols; [75]- In an embodiment of the present disclosure, for a PRACH transmission for initial access and/or uplink synchronization, there may be M (M>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ. For PRACH transmission for other cases such as beam failure recovery request, or on demand SI request, and etc., there may be N (N>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ_B
generating a main signal to be mapped to the K symbols based on multiplication of the first sequence having the length of the L and a corresponding value of the K sequence parts for each of the K
symbols, wherein the main signal has a length of K x L; [87]- additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix
generating a preamble signal including the main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[12]- FIGS. 1C illustrates the structures of the PRACH preamble format 3, from which it is clear that for format 3, it includes a CP, four PRACH symbols with a short length, and a guard time.
Gao does not teach, transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal
Islam teaches, transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and [51]- UE 115 may transmit a random access message to a wireless node (e.g., a base station 105) .The weighted random access signals may be spread over multiple symbols and transmitted to the wireless node as the random access message (e.g., as part of a random access preamble)
receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal[56]- A random access message transmission may be based on synchronization signals 205 received from base station 105-a.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao, transmitting, to a base station, the preamble signal; and receiving, from the base station, a random-access response for a transmission of the preamble signal as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 5, Gao teaches, A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a preamble signal including a main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[77]- the length of CP (cyclic prefix) may be denoted as TCP, and the length of guard time and/or guard period may be denoted as TGT, the number of PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s) may be denoted as M.
generating a random access response for the received the preamble signal;
and transmitting, to the UE, the random access response,[96]- resource remaining due to differences between the transmitted physical random access channel and the random access channel for initial access, in step 402, it may be used for transmit transmission,
wherein the main signal mapped on K symbols is generated based on multiplication of a first sequence having a length of L and a corresponding value of K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, and [87]- SI request, and etc., additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix, where NS,j may denote the length of j-th OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol,
wherein the K sequence parts are obtained by dividing a second sequence having a length of K, the main signal having a length of K x L[77]- n another embodiment of the present disclosure, for different subcarrier spacing for the transmission, the number K may be different. For example, the number may be K1 for subcarrier spacing Δf1 and the number may be Ki for subcarrier spacing Δfi.
Regarding Claim 9, Gao teaches, A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: identify a first sequence having a length of L and a second sequence having a length of K, wherein the second sequence is divided into K sequence parts, each of the K sequence parts having a same length and a different value for each of K symbols; [75]- In an embodiment of the present disclosure, for a PRACH transmission for initial access and/or uplink synchronization, there may be M (M>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ. For PRACH transmission for other cases such as beam failure recovery request, or on demand SI request, and etc., there may be N (N>=1 integer) sequences, e.g. in PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s), and the length may be TSEQ_B
generate a main signal to be mapped to the K symbols based on multiplication of the first sequence having the length of the L and a corresponding value of the K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, wherein the main signal has a length of K x L,; [87]- additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix
generate a preamble signal including the main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP);[12]- FIGS. 1C illustrates the structures of the PRACH preamble format 3, from which it is clear that for format 3, it includes a CP, four PRACH symbols with a short length, and a guard time.
Gao does not teach, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the generated preamble signal, and control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, a random access response for a transmission of the preamble signal,
Islam teaches, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the generated preamble signal,; and [51]- UE 115 may transmit a random access message to a wireless node (e.g., a base station 105) .The weighted random access signals may be spread over multiple symbols and transmitted to the wireless node as the random access message (e.g., as part of a random access preamble)
control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, a random access response for a transmission of the preamble signal [56]- A random access message transmission may be based on synchronization signals 205 received from base station 105-a.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station, the generated preamble signal, and control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, a random access response for a transmission of the preamble signal as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 13, Gao teaches, A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from a UE, a preamble signal including a main signal and a cyclic prefix (CP)[77]- the length of CP (cyclic prefix) may be denoted as TCP, and the length of guard time and/or guard period may be denoted as TGT, the number of PRACH symbol(s)/sequence(s)/preamble(s) may be denoted as M.
generate a random access response for a reception of the received preamble signal, and control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, the random access response,[96]- resource remaining due to differences between the transmitted physical random access channel and the random access channel for initial access, in step 402, it may be used for transmit transmission,
wherein the main signal mapped on K symbols is generated based on multiplication of a first sequence having a length of L and a corresponding value of K sequence parts for each of the K symbols, and [87]- SI request, and etc., additional time duration with length Tres may be reserved to subject the total length of TCP_B+TSEQ_B_+Tres being equal to integer number of time durations, TCP_B+TSEQ_B+Tres=Σj=1:L(NCP,j+NS,j) where each time duration may be duration of OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol with cyclic prefix, where NS,j may denote the length of j-th OFDM/SC-FDMA symbol,
wherein the K sequence parts are obtained by dividing a second sequence having a length of K, the main signal having a length of K x L[77]- n another embodiment of the present disclosure, for different subcarrier spacing for the transmission, the number K may be different. For example, the number may be K1 for subcarrier spacing Δf1 and the number may be Ki for subcarrier spacing Δfi.
Claims 3,7,11,14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Gao et al. (US20200154485A1) in view of Islam et al. (US20170290056A1)
In further view of Javi et al. (US20220210844A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Gao teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, information on a root index value of the first sequence;
selecting the first sequence from a set of the first sequence generated based on the root index value; [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index,
determining selecting a masking sequence set of the second sequence based on the among a plurality of preconfigured number masking sequence sets based on a value of the K; and Fig 4 step 401 [61]- This means that the PRACH for beam recovery request may have a different structure from that for the initial access for example in parameters, in structure or in both.
selecting the second sequence from the masking sequence set of the second sequence, [122]- the method may further comprise transmitting a time advance value in a response to the received physical random access channel in step 403.
Gao in view of Islam does not teach, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB).
Javi teaches, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB). [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao in view of Islam, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB)as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 7, Gao teaches, wherein a masking sequence set is selected among a plurality of preconfigured masking sequence sets based on a value of the K[106]- FIG. 9B, there are N CS configurations of PRACH for the initial access and/or uplink synchronization and additional L CS configuration of PRACH for beam recover request. The additional L CS configurations can be numbered from 1 to L or some N+1 to N+L.
Gao in view of Islam does not teach, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB)
Javi teaches, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao in view of Islam, The method of claim 5, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 11, Gao teaches, The UE of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, information on a root index value of the first sequence; select the first sequence from a set of the first sequence generated based on the root index value; [67]- The configurations can comprise at least one of PRACH format, root of sequence, sequence index,
determine select a masking sequence set of the second sequence based on the among a plurality of preconfigured number masking sequence sets based on a value of the K; and Fig 4 step 401 [61]- This means that the PRACH for beam recovery request may have a different structure from that for the initial access for example in parameters, in structure or in both.
select the second sequence from the masking sequence set of the second sequences [122]- the method may further comprise transmitting a time advance value in a response to the received physical random access channel in step 403.
Gao in view of Islam does not teach, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB).
Javi teaches, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB). [116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao in view of Islam, wherein the information on the root index value is received via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB) as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Regarding Claim 14, Gao teaches, The base station of claim 13,wherein a masking sequence set is selected among a plurality of preconfigured masking sequence sets based on a value of the K [106]- FIG. 9B, there are N CS configurations of PRACH for the initial access and/or uplink synchronization and additional L CS configuration of PRACH for beam recover request. The additional L CS configurations can be numbered from 1 to L or some N+1 to N+L.
Gao in view of Islam does not teach, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),
Javi teaches, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB),
[116]- For example, the UE can be provided by a SIB with a set of new cyclic shifts or root sequences for the PRACH preamble, separate from a baseline cyclic shift or root sequence configured for PRACH sequence generation.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Gao in view of Islam, The base station of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, information on a root index value of the first sequence, wherein a set of the first sequence for selecting the first sequence is generated based on the root index value, the information on the root index value being transmitted via one of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) a master information block (MIB) or a system information block (SIB), as taught by Islam to use preconfigured sequences to add flexibility to preamble transmission.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478