DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/9/2025. Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 14-16, 18, 27-29, 32, and 33 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-8, 14-16, 18, 27-29, 32, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edge et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0037338)
Referring to Claim 1, Edge et al. disclose a reporting method of a terminal location capability, applied to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (par 62, AMF), and comprising: sending, in a case that the terminal location capability of a target terminal is stored in the AMF entity, the terminal location capability of the target terminal to a location management function (LMF) entity after a location service for the target terminal arrives (par 62, location session, services protocol, Capabilities message to LMF), wherein the LMF entity sets a location method for the target terminal according to the terminal location capability (par 62, suitable position method); wherein the LMF entity is an LMF entity selected by the AMF entity for the target terminal (par 61, request from AMF to LMF).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein the terminal location capability of the terminal is acquired and stored by: acquiring and storing the terminal location capability of the terminal from the terminal; or acquiring and storing the terminal location capability of the terminal from the LMF entity; or acquiring and storing the terminal location capability of the terminal from a serving base station of the terminal (pars 61 and 62, from UE, gNB).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 2 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein the acquiring and storing the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the LMF entity comprises: an operation 1 and an operation 2; or an operation 2;wherein the operation 1 comprises at least one of an operation 11, an operation 12, or an operation 13;the operation 11 comprises: sending, in a case that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity after the location service for the target terminal arrives, a location request to the LMF entity, wherein the location request carries indication information to indicate that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; the operation 12 comprises: notifying, in a case that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity, the LMF entity to establish a location service session and then sending a first indication message to the LMF entity to indicate that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; the operation 13 comprises: sending a first capability request response message to the LMF entity in a case that the AMF entity receives a first capability request message sent by the LMF entity and the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; wherein the first capability request message indicates acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal, and the first capability request response message indicates that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; and the operation 2 comprises: receiving a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal sent by the LMF entity, and storing the container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal in a terminal context of the terminal (pars 61 and 62, capability received and sent to LMF; may have been obtained from UE).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 1 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein the sending the terminal location capability of the target terminal to the LMF entity comprises: sending a location request for the target terminal to the LMF entity, wherein the location request carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal; or sending a second indication message to the LMF entity after notifying the LMF entity to establish a location service session, wherein the second indication message carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal (par 62, Capabilities message to LMF).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 1 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein before sending the terminal location capability of the target terminal to the LMF entity, the method further comprises: receiving a first capability request message sent by the LMF entity, wherein the first capability request message indicates acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal; wherein the sending the terminal location capability of the target terminal to the LMF entity comprises: sending a second capability request response message carrying a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal to the LMF entity according to the first capability request message (par 62, Request from LMF, Capabilities message to LMF).
Referring to Claim 14, Edge et al. disclose a reporting method of a terminal location capability, applied to a location management function (LMF) entity (par 62, LMF), and comprising: acquiring the terminal location capability of a target terminal from an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity (par 62, location session, services protocol, Capabilities message from AMF); or acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the target terminal and/or a serving base station of the target terminal, and transferring the acquired terminal location capability of the target terminal to the AMF entity (pars 61 and 62, from UE, gNB, capability); and setting a location method for the target terminal according to the terminal location capability (par 62, suitable position method).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein the acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the AMF entity comprises: receiving, after a location service for the target terminal arrives, a location request for the target terminal sent by the AMF entity, wherein the location request carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal (par 62, location session, services protocol); or receiving, after a location service session is established, a second indication message sent by the AMF entity, wherein the second indication message carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal (par 62, Capabilities message to LMF).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 14 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein before acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the AMF entity, the method further comprises: sending a first capability request message to the AMF entity, wherein the first capability request message indicates acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal; wherein the acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the AMF entity comprises: receiving a second capability request response message carrying a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal sent by the AMF entity; or, wherein before acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the target terminal and/or the serving base station of the target terminal, the method further comprises: receiving a location request sent by the AMF entity, wherein the location request carries indication information for indicating that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; or receiving a first indication message sent by the AMF entity after the AMF entity notifies the LMF entity to establish a location service session, wherein the first indication message indicates that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity; or receiving a first capability request response message sent by the AMF entity, wherein the first capability request response message is a response message of the AMF entity for the first capability request message sent by the LMF entity, the first capability request message indicates acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal, and the first capability request response message indicates that the terminal location capability of the target terminal is not stored in the AMF entity (pars 61 and 62, Request from LMF, Capabilities message to LMF; Also, may have been obtained from UE).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 14 above, Edge et al. disclose the method, wherein the acquiring the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the target terminal, comprises: sending a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) request message to the target terminal, and receiving the terminal location capability sent by the target terminal (pars 61 and 62, LPP, from UE).
Referring to Claim 27, Edge et al. disclose an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions; the transceiver is configured to receive and send data under control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read a computer program in the memory and execute the method of claim 1 (par 62, AMF).
Referring to Claim 28 as applied to Claim 27 above, Edge et al. disclose the AMF entity, wherein the processor is specifically configured to: acquire and store the terminal location capability of the terminal from the terminal; or acquire and store the terminal location capability of the target terminal from the LMF entity; or acquire and store the terminal location capability of the target terminal from a serving base station of the target terminal (pars 61 and 62, from UE, gNB).
Referring to Claim 29 as applied to Claim 27 above, Edge et al. disclose the AMF entity, wherein the processor is specifically configured to: send a location request for the target terminal to the LMF entity, wherein the location request carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal; or send, after notifying the LMF entity to establish a location service session, a second indication message to the LMF entity, wherein the second indication message carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal (pars 61 and 62, location session, Capabilities message to LMF).
Referring to Claim 32, Edge et al. disclose a location management function (LMF) entity, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer instructions; the transceiver is configured to receive and send data under control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read a computer program in the memory and execute the method of claim 14 (par 62, LMF).
Referring to Claim 33 as applied to Claim 32 above, Edge et al. disclose the LMF entity, wherein the processor is specifically configured to: receive, after a location service for the target terminal arrives, a location request for the target terminal sent by the AMF entity, wherein the location request carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal; or receive, after a location service session is established, a second indication message sent by the AMF entity, wherein the second indication message carries a container containing the terminal location capability of the target terminal (par 62, location session, services protocol, Capabilities message to LMF).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 of the Remarks that Edge fails to disclose reporting the terminal location capability without interacting with the UE. It is noted that this feature upon which applicant relies is not recited in the rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Rather, claim 1 states AMF sending the terminal location capability of the target terminal to a location management function (LMF) entity after a location service for the target terminal arrives, which Edge et al. disclose in pars 61 and 62 (AMF, location session, services protocol, Capabilities message to LMF).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642