DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/2/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 14, 18, 19, 24, and 32 have been amended.
Claims 2-4, 7, 15-17, and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 34-40 have been added.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19, 24, 28, 32, and 34-40 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 11, 13-20, 24, 28, and 32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 11, 13, 14, 18, 19, 24, 28, 32, and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0016312 A1), hereinafter referred to as Li, and further in view of Seok et al. (US 2023/0247680 A1), hereinafter “Seok”.
Re. Claim 1, Li teaches:
A method for indicating repetition of a random access message, applicable to a base station, (Abstract: Methods and apparatus are provided for a User Equipment (UE) and a base station in communication with each other to determine parameters for a Random Access (RA) process. The base station informs the UE through a System Information Block (SIB) of a number of resource sets for RA preamble transmission by the UE. Each resource set is associated with a number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission [i.e. the method indicates repetitions of a random access message] & ¶0046 This disclosure relates to a random access process for DL or UL coverage limited User Equipments (UEs). A wireless communication network includes a DownLink (DL) that conveys signals from transmission points, such as base stations or enhanced NodeBs (eNBs), to UEs.)
comprising: sending first indication information to a terminal, (¶0135 Part of the information in Table 2 can be broadcasted by the eNB 102 in a SIB [i.e. the SIB contains the indication information which is sent from a base station] a first eNB 102 can include an indication of number R.sub.1 using a value of `00` in a SIB, a second eNB 103 can include an indication of R, using a value of `01` in a SIB. If R.sub.2 is included in a SIB, it can either imply that both R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 are supported or that only R.sub.2 is supported. UE 114 that receives an indication for a number of PRACH repetitions [i.e. indication information].)
Yet, Li doesn’t explicitly teach: wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a configuration for the repetition of the random access message, wherein the first indication information comprises index information, the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2.
However, in the analogous art, Seok teaches such limitations:
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a configuration for the repetition of the random access message. (¶0198-¶0199 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)] will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg3 PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. A bit value of one field among fields of an uplink grant may be configured to indicate a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. first information indicates count of a Msg3 PUSCH (configuration for the repetition of the random access message)] That is, a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields.)
wherein the first indication information comprises index information, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . } The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. [i.e. N1 thru N4 represent indexes for candidate count values contained at that particular index, in the example above N4 would index to 8 repetitions] & ¶0198-¶0200 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)]. a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields. a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, [i.e. FDRA field is part of first information] and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value indicated by FDRA field N1 thru N4 (first information), considered as indexes of a repetitive transmission count (a list) configured by the base station].)
the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (configuration) points to N1 thru N4 (index of list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (number of times of repetitions)])
the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, (¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. Msg3 PUSCH (random access message) is the third message])
the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, (¶0165 in a random access process, a terminal may transmit a Msg3 PUSCH by using an uplink grant (UL grant) included in a random access response (RAR or Msg2). & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 [i.e. index information] & ¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. [i.e. a random access response (random access Msg2) comprising TDRA fields used for index information])
the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (indication of a configuration in first information) points to N1 thru N4 (indexes of a list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (specific configuration for the repetition of the random access message)])
the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2. (¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. The terminal may re-interpret a bit value of one or multiple fields to perform repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. Hereinafter, a detailed method of interpreting a bit value of a field will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. [i.e. re-interpreted bits of the one or more multiple fields (first information) are considered multiplexed within an existing field related to the list {N1, N2, N3, N4} pertaining to repetitive transmission of a Msg3])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of information for indicating a configuration for the repetition of a random access message, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a particular number of bits in FDRA field as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192)
Re. Claim 5, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 1.
Seok further teaches:
wherein the list is pre-determined or indicated to the terminal by system information. (¶0013 the SIB1 includes information on a repetitive transmission count candidate set including values of one or more repetitive transmission counts for repetitive transmission of the PUSCH, & ¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. [i.e. the transmission count candidates (list) is configured (pre-determined) by the base station and included in a SIB1 (system information broadcast)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of the list being pre-determined through system information broadcast, because it would allow the terminal to receive a pre-determined list for configuration of repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH from the base station. (see Seok ¶0012)
Re. Claim 6, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 1.
Seok further teaches:
wherein the list is an existing list, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. [i.e. repetitive transmission count (the list)] The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0211 A TDRA table including a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH may be configured for a terminal by a base station. Each entry in the TDRA table may include time domain resource information of a Msg3 PUSCH and information on a repetitive transmission count. In addition, each entry may include the same repetitive transmission count or different repetitive transmission counts. The terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH with reference to the TDRA table. [i.e. the repetitive transmission count can be determined from a TDRA table, which is an existing field, therefore an existing list] For example, in a case where the terminal is configured to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may repeatedly transmit the Msg3 PUSCH with reference to the TDRA table. On the other hand, in a case where the terminal is configured not to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may transmit the Msg3 PUSCH with reference to a conventional TDRA table. The conventional TDRA table may indicate a table not including a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH.)
and the existing list is a time domain resource allocation list or a default table. (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. The terminal may repeatedly transmit the Msg3 PUSCH according to the configured repetitive transmission count. The base station may configure multiple repetitive transmission count candidates for the terminal before indicating the repetitive transmission count. The repetitive transmission count candidates may be predetermined values, may be configured by broadcasting information, or may be configured in a higher layer. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. [i.e. the list is configured as predetermined values (a default table) which is also considered an existing list] The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. ¶0211 A TDRA table including a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH may be configured for a terminal by a base station. Each entry in the TDRA table may include time domain resource information of a Msg3 PUSCH and information on a repetitive transmission count. [i.e. repetitive transmission count candidates (the list) is configured as a TDRA table (time domain resource allocation list)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of the list being a default table, because it would allow the terminal to receive a pre-determined list for configuration of repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH from the base station. (see Seok ¶0012)
Re. Claim 11, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 1.
Seok further teaches:
further comprising: sending second indication information to the terminal, (¶0189 The base station may configure, for the terminal, a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH by using a field of DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scheduling the Msg3 PUSCH or DCI that is DCI format 1_0 scheduling a random access response (Msg2). For example, the terminal may interpret, as bits indicating a repetitive transmission count of an Msg3 PUSCH, a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 1_0 scrambled by an RA-RNTI and scheduling a random access response, and may perform repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. a DCI is sent from base station, the number of bits in this DCI used for indicating repetitive transmission of a Msg3 is second indication information])
wherein the second indication information is used to indicate the configuration in the list for repetition of random access message re-transmission. (¶0187-¶0189 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. The terminal may repeatedly transmit the Msg3 PUSCH according to the configured repetitive transmission count. The base station may configure multiple repetitive transmission count candidates for the terminal before indicating the repetitive transmission count. The repetitive transmission count candidates may be predetermined values, may be configured by broadcasting information, or may be configured in a higher layer. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. A repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH may be configured for the terminal from a higher layer. [i.e. repetitive transmission count, list of candidate counts configured for the terminal] For example, if an integer value of n is configured for the terminal from a higher layer as a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may repeat transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH n times. the terminal may interpret, as bits indicating a repetitive transmission count of an Msg3 PUSCH, a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI and scheduling retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH, and may perform repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH. & ¶0191 A field including a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI according to ii) described above may be new data indicator (NDI), HARQ process number (HPN), CSI request, FDRA, and TPC fields. The NDI, HPN, and CSI request fields may not be used for transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. Therefore, a terminal may interpret a value of the NDI, HPN, and CSI request fields as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. field of DCI - HARQ process number HPN (second indication information) that indicates the configuration of repetitive transmission of Msg3 PUSCH (random access message re-transmission)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of performing repetition on the random access message based on second indication information, because it would allow the terminal to decide whether repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH are configured based on bits within the HPN field indicating to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0191)
Re. Claim 13, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 1.
Seok further teaches:
further comprising: sending third indication information to the terminal, (¶0169 Whether repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH is possible may be explicitly indicated or may be inferred from different information included in SIB1. [i.e. third indication information included in SIB1])
wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the terminal whether to perform repetition on the random access message. (¶0169 if SIB1 includes parameters for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may determine that repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible, without a separate configuration (indication) for whether repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible. On the contrary, if SIB1 does not include parameters for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may determine that repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is not possible, without a separate configuration (indication) for whether repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible. [i.e. parameters for repetitive transmission of Msg3 being included in the SIB are used for determining whether the terminal is to perform repetition of the Msg3 PUSCH (random access message)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of performing repetition on the random access message based on TDRA information, because it would allow the terminal to decide whether repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH are configured based on system information broadcast message indicating to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, or not repeatedly transmit not indicated. (see Seok ¶0169)
Re. Claim 14, Li teaches:
A method for repetition of a random access message, applicable to a terminal, (Abstract: Methods and apparatus are provided for a User Equipment (UE) [i.e. terminal] and a base station in communication with each other to determine parameters for a Random Access (RA) process. The base station informs the UE through a System Information Block (SIB) of a number of resource sets for RA preamble transmission by the UE. Each resource set is associated with a number of repetitions for a RA preamble transmission [i.e. the method indicates repetitions of a random access message] & ¶0046 This disclosure relates to a random access process for DL or UL coverage limited User Equipments (UEs). A wireless communication network includes a DownLink (DL) that conveys signals from transmission points, such as base stations or enhanced NodeBs (eNBs), to UEs.)
comprising: receiving first indication information sent by a base station; (¶0135 Part of the information in Table 2 can be broadcasted by the eNB 102 in a SIB [i.e. the SIB contains the indication information which is sent from a base station]… a first eNB 102 can include an indication of number R.sub.1 using a value of `00` in a SIB, a second eNB 103 can include an indication of R, using a value of `01` in a SIB. If R.sub.2 is included in a SIB, it can either imply that both R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 are supported or that only R.sub.2 is supported. UE 114 that receives an indication for a number of PRACH repetitions [i.e. indication information].)
Yet, Li doesn’t explicitly teach: and determining a configuration for the repetition of the random access message based on the first indication information, wherein the first indication information comprises index information, the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2.
However, in the analogous art, Seok teaches such limitations:
and determining a configuration for the repetition of the random access message based on the first indication information, (¶0198-¶0199 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)] will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg3 PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. A bit value of one field among fields of an uplink grant may be configured to indicate a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. first information indicates count of a Msg3 PUSCH (configuration for the repetition of the random access message)] That is, a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields.)
wherein the first indication information comprises index information, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . } The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. [i.e. N1 thru N4 represent indexes for candidate count values contained at that particular index, in the example above N4 would index to 8 repetitions] & ¶0198-¶0200 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)]. a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields. a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, [i.e. FDRA field is part of first information] and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value indicated by FDRA field N1 thru N4 (first information), considered as indexes of a repetitive transmission count (a list) configured by the base station].)
the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (configuration) points to N1 thru N4 (index of list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (number of times of repetitions)])
the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, (¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. Msg3 PUSCH (random access message) is the third message])
the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, (¶0165 in a random access process, a terminal may transmit a Msg3 PUSCH by using an uplink grant (UL grant) included in a random access response (RAR or Msg2). & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 [i.e. index information] & ¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. [i.e. a random access response (random access Msg2) comprising TDRA fields used for index information])
the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (indication of a configuration in first information) points to N1 thru N4 (indexes of a list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (specific configuration for the repetition of the random access message)])
the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2. (¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. The terminal may re-interpret a bit value of one or multiple fields to perform repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. Hereinafter, a detailed method of interpreting a bit value of a field will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. [i.e. re-interpreted bits of the one or more multiple fields (first information) are considered multiplexed within an existing field related to the list {N1, N2, N3, N4} pertaining to repetitive transmission of a Msg3])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of information for indicating a configuration for the repetition of a random access message, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a particular number of bits in FDRA field as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192)
Claims 18-19 recite similar limitations to those of claims 5-6. Therefore, the rejections for claims 18-19 are similar to those put forth in claims 5-6.
Re. Claim 24, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 14.
Seok further teaches:
further comprising: receiving second indication information sent by the base station; (¶0189 The base station may configure, for the terminal, a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH by using a field of DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scheduling the Msg3 PUSCH or DCI that is DCI format 1_0 scheduling a random access response (Msg2). For example, the terminal may interpret, as bits indicating a repetitive transmission count of an Msg3 PUSCH, a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 1_0 scrambled by an RA-RNTI and scheduling a random access response, and may perform repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. a DCI is sent from base station, the number of bits in this DCI used for indicating repetitive transmission of a Msg3 is second indication information])
and determining whether to perform repetition again on the random access message based on the second indication information. (¶0187-¶0189 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. The terminal may repeatedly transmit the Msg3 PUSCH according to the configured repetitive transmission count. The base station may configure multiple repetitive transmission count candidates for the terminal before indicating the repetitive transmission count. The repetitive transmission count candidates may be predetermined values, may be configured by broadcasting information, or may be configured in a higher layer. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. A repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH may be configured for the terminal from a higher layer. [i.e. repetitive transmission count, list of candidate counts configured for the terminal] For example, if an integer value of n is configured for the terminal from a higher layer as a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may repeat transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH n times. the terminal may interpret, as bits indicating a repetitive transmission count of an Msg3 PUSCH, a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI and scheduling retransmission of the Msg3 PUSCH, and may perform repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH. & ¶0191 A field including a particular number of bits in DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI according to ii) described above may be new data indicator (NDI), HARQ process number (HPN), CSI request, FDRA, and TPC fields. The NDI, HPN, and CSI request fields may not be used for transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. Therefore, a terminal may interpret a value of the NDI, HPN, and CSI request fields as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. field of DCI - HARQ process number HPN (second indication information) that indicates the configuration of repetitive transmission of Msg3 PUSCH (random access message re-transmission)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of performing repetition on the random access message based on second indication information, because it would allow the terminal to decide whether repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH are configured based on bits within the HPN field indicating to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0191)
Re. Claim 28, Li combined with Seok teaches the method of claim 14.
Seok further teaches:
further comprising: receiving third indication information sent by the base station; (¶0169 Whether repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH is possible may be explicitly indicated or may be inferred from different information included in SIB1. [i.e. third indication information included in SIB1])
and determining whether to perform repetition on the random access message based on the third indication information. (¶0169 if SIB1 includes parameters for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may determine that repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible, without a separate configuration (indication) for whether repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible. On the contrary, if SIB1 does not include parameters for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, the terminal may determine that repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is not possible, without a separate configuration (indication) for whether repetitive transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is possible. [i.e. parameters for repetitive transmission of Msg3 being included in the SIB are used for determining whether the terminal is to perform repetition of the Msg3 PUSCH (random access message)])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of performing repetition on the random access message based on TDRA information, because it would allow the terminal to decide whether repeated transmissions of a Msg3 PUSCH are configured based on system information broadcast message indicating to repeatedly transmit a Msg3 PUSCH, or not repeatedly transmit not indicated. (see Seok ¶0169)
Re. Claim 32, Li teaches:
A base station, (¶0064 FIG. 3 illustrates an example eNB 102 according to this disclosure.)
comprising: a processor; (¶0065 The eNB 102 also includes a controller/processor 325)
and a memory, configured to store instructions executable by the processor, (¶0065 The eNB 102 also includes a controller/processor 325, a memory 330 & ¶0069 The controller/processor 325 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 330)
wherein the processor is configured to: send first indication information to a terminal, (¶0135 Part of the information in Table 2 can be broadcasted by the eNB 102 in a SIB [i.e. the SIB contains the indication information which is sent from a base station]… a first eNB 102 can include an indication of number R.sub.1 using a value of `00` in a SIB, a second eNB 103 can include an indication of R, using a value of `01` in a SIB. If R.sub.2 is included in a SIB, it can either imply that both R.sub.1 and R.sub.2 are supported or that only R.sub.2 is supported. UE 114 that receives an indication for a number of PRACH repetitions [i.e. indication information].)
Yet, Li doesn’t explicitly teach: wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a configuration for the repetition of the random access message, wherein the first indication information comprises index information, the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2.
However, in the analogous art, Seok teaches such limitations:
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a configuration for the repetition of the random access message. (¶0198-¶0199 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)] will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg3 PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. A bit value of one field among fields of an uplink grant may be configured to indicate a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. first information indicates count of a Msg3 PUSCH (configuration for the repetition of the random access message)] That is, a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields.)
wherein the first indication information comprises index information, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . } The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. [i.e. N1 thru N4 represent indexes for candidate count values contained at that particular index, in the example above N4 would index to 8 repetitions] & ¶0198-¶0200 a method of interpreting a particular number of bits in an uplink grant of a random access response [i.e. a particular number of bits of random access response (first indication information)]. a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields. a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, [i.e. FDRA field is part of first information] and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value indicated by FDRA field N1 thru N4 (first information), considered as indexes of a repetitive transmission count (a list) configured by the base station].)
the configuration comprises a number of times of repetitions, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (configuration) points to N1 thru N4 (index of list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (number of times of repetitions)])
the random access message is a third message in random access Msg3, (¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. [i.e. Msg3 PUSCH (random access message) is the third message])
the index information is located in a second message in random access Msg2, (¶0165 in a random access process, a terminal may transmit a Msg3 PUSCH by using an uplink grant (UL grant) included in a random access response (RAR or Msg2). & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 [i.e. index information] & ¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. [i.e. a random access response (random access Msg2) comprising TDRA fields used for index information])
the index information is configured to indicate the configuration for the repetition of the random access message in a list, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station. & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 and if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2. If the FDRA field is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if the FDRA field is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4” [i.e. bit value of FDRA field (indication of a configuration in first information) points to N1 thru N4 (indexes of a list) which contains the candidate repetitive transmission counts (specific configuration for the repetition of the random access message)])
the first indication information is multiplexed in an existing field related to the list in the Msg2. (¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. The terminal may re-interpret a bit value of one or multiple fields to perform repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. Hereinafter, a detailed method of interpreting a bit value of a field will be additionally described. Repetitive transmission count candidates of a Msg PUSCH configured for a terminal may be {N1, N2, N3, N4}. [i.e. re-interpreted bits of the one or more multiple fields (first information) are considered multiplexed within an existing field related to the list {N1, N2, N3, N4} pertaining to repetitive transmission of a Msg3])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of information for indicating a configuration for the repetition of a random access message, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a particular number of bits in FDRA field as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192)
Re. Claim 34, Li combined with Seok teaches claim 6.
Seok further teaches:
wherein the index information is located in a target field related to the existing list in the Msg2. (¶0165 in a random access process, a terminal may transmit a Msg3 PUSCH by using an uplink grant (UL grant) included in a random access response (RAR or Msg2). & ¶0200 a base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of an FDRA field as a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four (N1, N2, N3, and N4) [i.e. existing list related to index information in TDRA] repetitive transmission counts by using the X (e.g., 2) bits. If a bit value of the FDRA field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1 [i.e. index information] & ¶0205 In addition to the above embodiments, a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH in an uplink grant of a random access response or DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC-RNTI may be at least one of TDRA, FDRA, MCS, and TPC fields. [i.e. TDRA comprises index information and the TDRA field is a target field, where Applicant’s specification at ¶0068 is evidence for this equivalence])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of index information being located in a target field, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a particular number of bits in a target field such as FDRA as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192)
Re. Claim 35, Li combined with Seok teaches claim 34.
wherein the index information is (¶0195 The terminal may interpret a combination of bit values of two different fields among fields of DCI that is DCI format 0_0 scrambled by a TC RNTI as a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH. That is, the terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, X bits of one field among NDI, HPN, CSI request, FDRA, and TPC fields, and Y bits of one field, which is not the field including the X bits, among the NDI, HPN, CSI request, FDRA, and TPC fields. [i.e. the index information can include bits from FDRA and TPC (transmission power control) fields] For example, the terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a combination of X (e.g., 1) bits of an NDI field and Y (e.g., 1) bits of an HPN field, the combination being two bits. & ¶0233 The terminal may determine a transmission power command value, based on a remaining bit(s) remaining after excluding X bits for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. The number of the remaining bit(s) is 3-X, and thus the remaining bit(s) may be one bit or two bits.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of index information also being located in a transmission power control field, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a combination of bit values among two different fields for indication of repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192 & ¶0195)
Re. Claim 36, Li combined with Seok teaches claim 1.
wherein the list is a newly added list, (¶0187 A terminal may determine a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH according to a repetitive transmission count configured by a base station. For example, the repetitive transmission count candidates may be configured such as {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. The repetitive transmission count candidates {N1, N2, N3, N4 . . . }. are natural numbers equal to or greater than 1, and may be powers of 2. For example, the multiple repetitive transmission count candidates may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. [i.e. the list {1, 2, 4, 8} is considered a newly added list, which is not a default list] The terminal may repeat transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH as many times as one value among 1, 2, 4, and 8 indicated by the base station)
and the index information is (¶0199 A bit value of one field among fields of an uplink grant may be configured to indicate a repetitive transmission count of a Msg3 PUSCH. That is, a terminal may interpret, as a field value for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, a value of X bits of a particular field among CSI request, FDRA, TPC, and MCS fields. & ¶0201 the base station may configure X (e.g., 2) bits of a TPC field as bits of a field for repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH, and the base station may indicate one of four repetitive transmission counts by using the two bits of the TPC field. If a bit value of the TPC field is “00”, the terminal may determine N1, if same is “01”, the terminal may determine N2, if same is “10”, the terminal may determine N3, and if same is “11”, the terminal may determine “N4”. X bits of the TPC field may be determined by X=ceil(log 2(M)) when the number of repetitive transmission count candidates configured in a higher layer is M. The X bits may be the most significant X bits (MSB) or the least significant X bits (LSB) in the TPC field having a 3-bit size.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s invention of a method and apparatus for coverage enhancement for a random access process to include Seok’s teaching of index information also being located in a transmission power control field, because in the case of a terminal lacking coverage and a PUSCH using high transmission power as a result, it would allow the terminal to interpret a value of a combination of bit values among two different fields for indication of repetitive transmission of a Msg3 PUSCH. (see Seok ¶0192 & ¶0195)
Claims 37-39 recite similar limitations to those of claims 34-36. Therefore, the rejections for claims 37-39 are similar to those put forth in claims 34-36.
Re. Claim 40, Li combined with Seok teaches claim 14.
Li further teaches:
A terminal, (¶0054 FIG. 2 illustrates an example UE 114 according to this disclosure.)
comprising: a processor; (¶0055 As shown in FIG. 2, the UE 114 includes an antenna 205, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 210, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 215, a microphone 220, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 225. The UE 114 also includes a speaker 230, a main processor 240,)
and a memory, (¶0055 As shown in FIG. 2, the UE 114 includes an antenna 205, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 210, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 215, a microphone 220, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 225. The UE 114 also includes a speaker 230, a main processor 240, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 245, a keypad 250, a display 255, and a memory 260.)
configured to store instructions executable by the processor, (¶0055 The memory 260 includes a basic operating system (OS) program 261 and one or more applications 262. & ¶0058 The main processor 240 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and can execute the basic OS program 261 stored in the memory 260 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 114.)
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 14. (¶0058 The main processor 240 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and can execute the basic OS program 261 stored in the memory 260 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 114.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417