Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/21/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments and associated applicant arguments/ remarks filed on 6/24/2026 were received and considered.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, especially on page 2-3 of the Remarks:
Chenlei's database does not associate a nose characteristic with a "shape relating to a facial skeleton." … As is described in the above-noted passage, Chenlei discloses clustering noses for gender and ethnicity classification. Nowhere in the document does Chenlei teach or suggest a database associating a nose characteristic with a shape relating to a facial skeleton. Even assuming that gender or ethnicity may statistically correlate with certain skeletal characteristics, Chenlei neither stores, retrieves, estimates, nor outputs any shape relating to a facial skeleton.
Respectfully, examiner disagrees. As mentioned in the office action filed on 3/31/2026, page 5, Yin is the reference that teaches estimating a shape relating to a facial skeleton of the user based on the determined nose characteristic, (“The feature area is represented by a high value while the background area is represented by value zero, as shown in Figure 2 (col 2). The size of the detected feature organs is determined by the pixels of the leftmost, right-most, top and bottom of the feature region. By using local region growing, feature areas with clear boundaries can be obtained, as shown in Figure 2 (col 3).” Yin, p. 1478) and figure 2.
Chenlei teaches estimating a shape, (examiner’s note: not mentioning skeleton part because that part was already taught by the previous references) using (b) a database associating the nose characteristic with the shape relating to the facial skeleton (“Using the nose similarity measurement method, we can construct a nose similarity matrix from a facial database. Based on the nose similarity matrix, we propose the 3D nose shape net (3DNSN). The 3DNSN represents an organized framework of 3D noses. Different noses in 3DNSN are divided into different classes by the nose similarity measure matrix. The 3DNSN includes nose similarity information with different shapes. To build a gender and ethnicity classifier, we propose an estimation function based on the 3DNSN. In the following paragraphs” Chenlei, p. 54, 5. 3D nose shape net construction)
Chenlei also teaches (“The first step in our method is to achieve high quality 3D nose shape representation with certain facial landmarks. Therefore, we propose pre-processing of 3D noses from 3D facial data. The process includes facial surface reconstruction from the raw data, facial landmarks detection and nose shape construction.” Chenlei, p. 53, 3. Pre-processing for 3D nose)
Fig. 1 below also shows the process of 3D nose shape construction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (“NOSE SHAPE ESTIMATION AND TRACKING FOR MODEL-BASED CODING” by Yin et al.) referred to as Yin hereinafter and further in view of Kilic et al. (US 20240252104 A1) referred to as Kilic hereinafter and (“3D Nose shape net for human gender and ethnicity classification” by Chenlei et al.) referred to as Chenlei hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Yin teaches An estimating method, (“facial feature regions and shapes on various organs are estimated,” Yin, p. 1480) comprising: acquiring an image including a nose of a user; (“Figure 5 shows some sample frames with the detected nostrils and nose sides.” Yin, p. 1480) and figure 2.
extracting a nose region from the acquired image; (“the feature shape of a nose can be extracted in the limited feature regions using pre-defined deformable templates.” Yin, p. 1477, 1. Introduction)
calculating, for the extracted nose region, one or more nose features based on pixel values of the extracted nose region; (“From the detection of the nose regions in the previous section using color-based region growing, the initial width of the nostril can be determined by calculating the distance between the left-most pixel and the right-most pixel in the nostril region.” Yin, p. 1479)
determining a nose characteristic of the user based on the one or more nose features; and (“The nostril on the right side and the left side of a nose can be represented by the up-right curve and the up-left curve, respective1y.Parameter ꭤ is the width of a nostril. Parameter s controls the shape of the curve, which can take a real value in the range [1,10]. The smaller the s value, the thicker the leaf-shape appears.
Yin, p. 1479)
estimating a shape relating to a facial skeleton of the user based on the determined nose characteristic, (“The feature area is represented by a high value while the background area is represented by value zero, as shown in Figure 2 (col 2). The size of the detected feature organs is determined by the pixels of the leftmost, right-most, top and bottom of the feature region. By using local region growing, feature areas with clear boundaries can be obtained, as shown in Figure 2 (col 3).” Yin, p. 1478) and figure 2.
wherein the one or more nose features are selected from:(i) an average pixel value,
(ii) a count of pixels lower than or equal to a predetermined value or higher than or equal to the predetermined value, (“The image is partitioned based on the checker-board distance in region growing, the distance D between seed pixel (ys, us,, vs) and the growing pixel (yi, ui, vi) is defined in Formula 1. Larger variations are allowed in the luminance component of a region than in the chrominance component, in order to ignore small changes in luminance caused by shading. Therefore weights (1/4,1,1) are used for YUV. Regions smaller than a certain number of pixels are not taken into consideration, and are removed.
Yin, p. 1477-1478)
(iii) cumulative pixel values,(iv) a pixel-value change quantity, and(v) a pattern of average pixel values
However, Yin does not teach A skeleton estimating model.
Kilic teaches skeletal estimating model, (“classify the skeleton syndromes of the person in accordance with the deviation of the surface area of jaw area and maxillary area from the predetermined threshold values.” Kilic, para. [0024])
Yin and Kilic are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin in light of Kilic’s skeleton estimating model. One would have been motivated to do so because it can enable to diagnose skeleton class III malocclusions with increased accuracy. (Kilic, para. [0011])
However, the combination of Yin and Kilic does not teach estimating a shape, using (a) either a trained model generated by machine learning using training data in which input data includes the nose characteristic and output data includes the shape relating to the facial skeleton, or (b) a database associating the nose characteristic with the shape relating to the facial skeleton,
Chenlei teaches estimating a shape, using (b) a database associating the nose characteristic with the shape relating to the facial skeleton, (“Using the nose similarity measurement method, we can construct a nose similarity matrix from a facial database. Based on the nose similarity matrix, we propose the 3D nose shape net (3DNSN). The 3DNSN represents an organized framework of 3D noses. Different noses in 3DNSN are divided into different classes by the nose similarity measure matrix. The 3DNSN includes nose similarity information with different shapes. To build a gender and ethnicity classifier, we propose an estimation function based on the 3DNSN. In the following paragraphs” Chenlei, p. 54, 5. 3D nose shape net construction) and (“The first step in our method is to achieve high quality 3D nose shape representation with certain facial landmarks. Therefore, we propose pre-processing of 3D noses from 3D facial data. The process includes facial surface reconstruction from the raw data, facial landmarks detection and nose shape construction.” Chenlei, p. 53, 3. Pre-processing for 3D nose)
Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin and Kilic in light of Chenlei’s database associating the database with nose characteristic. One would have been motivated to do so because it can result in an accurate geometric analysis models. (Chenlei, p. 56, 6.3 Comparison and summary)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yin and Kilic does not teach wherein the estimating includes sorting the shape relating to the facial skeleton of the user.
However, Chenlei teaches wherein the estimating includes sorting the shape relating to the facial skeleton of the user. (“In Tables 3 and 4 , we show comparisons of classification results from different groups in FRGC2.0.” Chenlei, p. 56, 6.2. Data sensitive estimation and Table 3)
Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin and Kilic in light of Chenlei’s sorting the shape. One would have been motivated to do so because it can result in an accurate geometric analysis models. (Chenlei, p. 56, 6.3 Comparison and summary)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yin and Kilic does not teach wherein the estimating includes determining, based on the estimated shape relating to the facial skeleton, a face type corresponding to a face of the user among a plurality of predefined face types.
However, Chenlei teaches wherein the estimating includes determining, based on the estimated shape relating to the facial skeleton, a face type corresponding to a face of the user among a plurality of predefined face types. (“In summary, the gender and ethnicity classification process based on nose shape analysis is feasible. The method can achieve similar classification rates to other methods which are based on global facial data. Our method classification results will vary depending on the nose similarity measurements available in a dataset.” Chenlei, p. 56, 6.2. Data sensitive estimation and Table 4)
Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin and Kilic in light of Chenlei’s determining a face type. One would have been motivated to do so because it can result in an accurate geometric analysis models. (Chenlei, p. 56, 6.3 Comparison and summary)
Regarding claim 8, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Kilic teaches A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor coupled to a memory, cause the processor to (“Said processing unit (110) is associated with a memory unit (120) so that it can read and write data. The memory unit (120) further comprises both software consisting of command lines executed by the processing unit (110) and the machine learning models. When executed by the processing unit (110) said software ensures the process steps enabling the system of the invention to identify to be performed.” Kilic, para. [0028])
Regarding rest of claim 9, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Yin teaches a nose region extracted from an image including a nose of the user; (“The region growing is performed by selecting the central point of the head area as a seed pixel. The size of grown region must be examined to ensure that it is a reasonable face region; if it exceeds a predefined range, a new seed is selected from the neighboring pixels, or the threshold is adjusted, to generate a new region. This process is iterated until a skin region is found. After the skin region growing, a number of regions (blobs) are obtained. In order to extract the facial organ blobs (e.g., eyes, mouth, nose, etc.), the top blobs and the bottom blobs (e.g., hair, collar, cloth, etc.) are removed.” Yin, p. 1478, 2.1 Feature center location by global region growing)
Regarding rest of claim 11, refer to the explanation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, refer to the explanation of claims 1 and 11.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei as mentioned above and further in view of Imai (US 9330298 B2).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei does not teach wherein the shape relating to the facial skeleton of the user includes a shape of the facial skeleton of the user, a shape of a face of the user influenced by the facial skeleton of the user, or both of the shape of the facial skeleton of the user and the shape of the face of the user influenced by the facial skeleton.
Imai teaches wherein the shape relating to the facial skeleton of the user includes a shape of the facial skeleton of the user, a shape of a face of the user influenced by the facial skeleton of the user, or both of the shape of the facial skeleton of the user and the shape of the face of the user influenced by the facial skeleton. (“the face impression determining unit 60 refers to the tendency information storage unit 74, and acquires, from the tendency information PI (see FIG. 5), the plus 1σ value for each of the dimensions of the bases associated with the patterns of part or all of the impression tendencies selected by the subject. The face impression determining unit 60 uses the plus 1σ value and the weighting factors calculated in step S44 to determine the degrees of the impression tendencies of the facial shape of the subject, as in the first method (FIG. 7: step S42). In the aesthetic information output step S50, the patterns of the impression tendencies of the facial shape of the subject determined as described above, and the degrees of the patterns are transmitted from the aesthetic information transmitting unit 82 to the subject's terminal 110.” Imai, col. 19, lines 47-61)
Yin, Kilic, Chenlei, and Imai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei in light of Imai’s shape of a face influenced by a facial skeleton. One would have been motivated to do so because it can help accurately measure the three-dimensional coordinates on the surface of the head. (Imai, col. 11, lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei does not teach wherein the nose feature is at least one selected from the group consisting of a nasal root, a nasal bridge, a nasal apex, and nasal wings.
Imai teaches wherein the nose feature is at least one selected from the group consisting of a nasal root, a nasal bridge, a nasal apex, and nasal wings. (“The anatomical feature points include, for example, the orbitale, the center of a supraorbital margin, the point located in the inner margin of an orbit, the portion, the nasal root point, and the zygion” Imai, col. 11, lines 27-30)
Yin, Kilic, Chenlei, and Imai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, image processing.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yin, Kilic, and Chenlei in light of Imai’s selecting a nose feature. One would have been motivated to do so because it can help accurately measure the three-dimensional coordinates on the surface of the head. (Imai, col. 11, lines 1-2)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARDIS SOHRABY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2664
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664