DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-57 are pending. Of these, claims 39-57 are withdrawn as directed to a nonelected invention. Therefore, claims 1-38 are under consideration on the merits.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-38, is acknowledged. Since Applicant did not point to any alleged deficiencies in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as having been made without traverse, and the restriction requirement is made FINAL.
Applicant’s election of mannitol as the inert substrate, polyvinylpyrrolidone-vinyl acetate copolymer as the binder, and sodium lauryl sulfate as the surfactant, is acknowledged. Since Applicant did not point to any alleged deficiencies in the election of species requirement, the election has been treated as having been made without traverse, and the election of species requirement is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/14/23, 8/9/24, and 11/20/25 was filed prior to the mailing date of a first Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Correction is required.
Claim 17 recites “PCS” without defining this term. The first appearance of an abbreviation in the claims should be accompanied by the fully spelled out term. Correction is required.
Claim 20 recites “lactose SD” and “mannitol DC” without defining “SD” or “DC.” The first appearance of an abbreviation in the claims should be accompanied by the fully spelled out term. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 10-13, 16-17, 20-24, 26-27, 30, and 32-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-8, 10-13, 16-17, 20, 24, 26-27, 30, and 32-38 each recite “preferably,” while claims 6 and 10 also recite “most preferably,” and claim 11 also recites “more preferably.” These limitations render the metes and bonds of the claims unclear because it is unknown whether the species following the term “preferably” is a required component of the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(d). Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination in view of the prior art, the claim has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation which is that the species is not a required component.
Claim 13 recites a surfactant followed by “e.g.” and “sodium lauryl sulfate,” which renders the metes and bonds of the claim unclear because it is unknown whether the species following “e.g.” is a required component of the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(d). Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination in view of the prior art, the claim has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation which is that the species is not a required component.
Claim 20 recites “lactose” followed by “e.g.” and “lactose SD,” which renders the metes and bonds of the claim unclear because it is unknown whether the species following “e.g.” is a required component of the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(d). Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination in view of the prior art, the claim has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation which is that the species is not a required component.
Claim 37 recites a broad dosage range and then twice recites “e.g.” followed by a narrower dosage range, which renders the metes and bonds of the claim unclear because it is unknown whether the species following “e.g.” is a required component of the composition. See MPEP 2173.05(d). Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination in view of the prior art, the claim has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation which is that the narrower ranges are not a required component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0004262) in view of Bhattacharya et al. (WO 2020/234781; of record in IDS).
As to claims 1-38, Shaw teaches that it is very difficult to formulate dosage forms for drugs having low aqueous solubility, and discloses a solution for this problem in the form of nanoparticulate formulations of drugs having an aqueous solubility of less than 1 mg/ml at a pH of about 7.4, and which have enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties to optimize between pharmacodynamic effects and side effect profiles (paragraphs 2-3). The nanoparticulate formulation comprises particles of the drug having a surface stabilizer adsorbed on its surface such as sodium lauryl sulfate (the elected species of surfactant of claims 3-5, 8-9, and 13) or a copolymer of polyvinylpyyrolidone and vinyl acetate (the elected species of “binder” of claims 1, 7, and 8-9)(paragraphs 112, 198, 225). The surface stabilizer is present in the amount of 3-70 wt% (paragraph 24), which is viewed as reading on the “about 0.1 to about 2.5%” range recited by claim 36 due to the use of the term “about” and the closeness of 2.5 wt% and 3 wt% such that the use of either amount would be expected to result in no significant change in the properties of the composition. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Shaw further teaches that the nanoparticulates may be layered onto inert beads (“inert substrate” of claims 1, 4-5) using a spray granulation method (claim 5)(paragraphs 181, 183), wherein the inert substrate may be the elected species, i.e., mannitol (claim 6)(paragraph 211). The binder is present in the amount of 20-70%, which overlaps the range of claim 34 (paragraphs 204-205). The composition may be in the form of granules (paragraph 187).
As to claims 14-17, the particles have a median diameter of 50-500 nm, which overlaps the recited ranges (paragraph 12).
As to claims 19-23, 31, and 35, the composition further may comprise additional excipients so as to form an external phase relative to the inert beads (claim 18) such as fillers/diluents such as calcium carbonate, lactose, or calcium phosphate, or sodium phosphate (“fillers” of claims 19-20) or mannitol or cellulose (“fillers” of claim 23)(paragraphs 195-196), disintegrants such as corn starch or alginic acid (claims 19 and 21)(paragraph 202), and lubricating agents such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc (claims 19 and 22-23)(paragraph 206). Shaw also discloses embodiments comprising silicified microcrystalline cellulose filler in the amount of 37 wt% which is within the range of claim 31 and magnesium stearate lubricant in the amount of 0.5 wt% which is within the range of claim 35 (Example 29).
Regarding claims 25-29, the final dosage form comprising the composition may be a tablet or a capsule (paragraph 314).
As to claim 32, the disintegrating agent may be used in the amount of 1-11 wt%, which encompasses the claimed range (paragraph 201).
As to claims 37-38, the drug may be present in the amount of, for example, 100-500mg, which encompasses amounts recited by these claims (paragraph 216).
As to claims 1-38, Shaw does not further expressly disclose that the drug is N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claims 1-2) and which is present in amounts within the weight percent range of claim 30, and in the weight ratio with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) or of the inert substrate (claim 33). Nor does Shaw teach the use of cellulose and sodium carbonate (claim 23).
Bhattacharya discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide as the active ingredient in free form (claim 2)(page 3, 1st paragraph). The composition further may comprise surfactants and binders (page 8, 2nd full paragraph), and may be in the form of granules (page 19, 1st full paragraph). The composition further may comprise additional excipients (claim 18) such as diluents such as mannitol, cellulose, and sodium carbonate, disintegrants such as corn starch or alginic acid), and lubricating agents such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc (page 19, 1st full paragraph). The final dosage form comprising the composition may be a tablet or a capsule such as a soft capsule (page 19, 1st full paragraph). Regarding claims 37-38, the active compound may be dosed in amounts within the recited ranges such as 10-200mg, such as 10 mg (page 22).
As to claims 1-38, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Shaw composition by selecting the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claim 2) and which is present in amounts within the ranges of claims 37-38 as the drug as taught by Bhattacharya for incorporation into the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation because the skilled artisan would recognize that N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide is a nonpolar drug with virtually no solubility in water and Shaw teaches that it is very difficult to formulate dosage forms for drugs having low aqueous solubility, but that the nanoparticulate formulations disclosed therein can successfully be used to formulate poorly water soluble drug, and result in a dosage form having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation could be used to successfully formulate a dosage form comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties.
As to claims 10-13 and 24, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select a weight ratio of the active with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight percent of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) with a reasonable expectation of success, because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the binder, surfactant, active, as well as amounts of the ingredients in the external phase (i.e., filler, disintegrating agent, and lubricating agent) that read on the ranges for these ingredients as recited by the claims as discussed above, such that the presently claimed weight ratios are encompassed by the ranges taught for these ingredients by the cited references. Differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, there is no evidence of record of any unexpected criticality of the claimed weight ratios.
As to claim 33, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the inert substrate that is within the recited range with a reasonable expectation of success because the purpose of the inert substrate is the same in Shaw as in the present invention (i.e., to serve as a carrier), and because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the other ingredients in the composition that are within the presently claimed ranges as discussed above, such that the composition of Shaw and Bhattacharya as combined supra reasonably would be expected to require an amount of the inert substrate carrier that is similar to the amount of carrier required by the claimed invention. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 23, it further would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate mannitol, cellulose, and sodium carbonate as excipients for the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide, because Bhattacharya expressly teaches these compounds as excipients that are suitable for use in a pharmaceutical formulation comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide as the active.
As to claim 30, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select a weight % amount of the active that is within the recited range with a reasonable expectation of success because the amount of an active is a result effective variable that will affect the therapeutic efficacy of the composition, and because Bhattacharya teaches amounts of the active in terms of milligrams that are within the ranges recited by present claims 37-38 and further teaches the use of the active to treat the same disorder recited by the claims (i.e., Bhattacharya teaches the use of the active to treat Sjogren’s syndrome (see Title and Abstract) and the present disclosure also teaches the use of the active to treat this disorder (see, e.g., withdrawn claim 57). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0004262) in view of Angst et al. (US Pat. No. 9,512,084).
The teachings of Shaw are relied upon as discussed above.
As to claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38, Shaw does not further expressly disclose that the drug is N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claim 2).
Angst discloses a compound that is the active recited by present claim 1, i.e., free form N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide (see claim 11 of Angst). The compound may be formulated as a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a tablet or capsule (column 14, lines 4-11) that comprises a binder (claim 1), diluents such as lactose or mannitol (claim 20), lubricants such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc (claim 22), and disintegrating agents such as alginic acid (claim 21)(column 13, line 34 through column 14, line 2).
As to claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Shaw composition by selecting the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claim 2) and which is present in amounts within the ranges of claims 37-38 as the drug as taught by Angst for incorporation into the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation because the skilled artisan would recognize that N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide is a nonpolar drug with virtually no solubility in water and Shaw teaches that it is very difficult to formulate dosage forms for drugs having low aqueous solubility, but that the nanoparticulate formulations disclosed therein can successfully be used to formulate poorly water soluble drug, and result in a dosage form having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation could be used to successfully formulate a dosage form comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties.
Claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Shaw et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0004262) in view of Angst et al. (US Pat. No. 10,457,647).
The teachings of Shaw are relied upon as discussed above.
As to claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38, Shaw does not further expressly disclose that the drug is N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claim 2).
Angst discloses a compound that is the active recited by present claim 1, i.e., free form N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide (see claim 8 of Angst). The compound may be formulated as a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a tablet or capsule (column 13, lines 29-31) that comprises a binder (claim 1), diluents such as lactose or mannitol (claim 20), lubricants such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc (claim 22), and disintegrating agents such as alginic acid (claim 21)(column 13, line 39 through column 14, line 8).
As to claims 1-9, 14-17, 19-22, 25-29, 31-32, and 34-38, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Shaw composition by selecting the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide that is in its free form (claim 2) and which is present in amounts within the ranges of claims 37-38 as the drug as taught by Angst for incorporation into the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation because the skilled artisan would recognize that N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide is a nonpolar drug with virtually no solubility in water and Shaw teaches that it is very difficult to formulate dosage forms for drugs having low aqueous solubility, but that the nanoparticulate formulations disclosed therein can successfully be used to formulate poorly water soluble drug, and result in a dosage form having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that the Shaw nanoparticulate formulation could be used to successfully formulate a dosage form comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide having enhanced stability and pharmacokinetic properties.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-15 of Angst (US Pat. No. 9,512,084) and in view of Shaw et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0004262) and/or Bhattacharya et al. (WO 2020/234781) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
Reference claim 2 is drawn to a compound that may be the active recited by present claim 1, i.e., N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide.
Although the reference claim does not recite a pharmaceutical composition for oral administration comprising a granule particle comprising the active, a binder that is a copolymer of polyvinylpyyrolidone and vinyl acetate, and an inert substrate comprising mannitol and a surfactant that is sodium lauryl sulfate layered onto the inert substrate and an external phase comprising mannitol as filler, a disintegrating agent such as corn starch or alginic acid and lubricating agents such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc and wherein these ingredients are present in the claimed amounts, it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the active into a dosage form comprising these ingredients because Shaw teaches that a nanoparticulate formulation comprising these ingredients in such amounts is useful for formulating a poorly water soluble drug and the skilled artisan would recognize that N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide is a poorly water soluble drug.
Although the reference claims do not recite the particle size of the drug particles or that the composition is in the form of a tablet or capsule, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select such sizes because Shaw teaches particle sizes within the claimed ranges as suitable for use in its nanoparticulate formulations and to formulate as a tablet or capsule because Bhattacharya teaches that such forms are suitable for N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide.
The reference claim does not recite that the active is present in amounts within the ranges of claims 30 and 37-38, and in the weight ratio with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) or of the inert substrate (claim 33).
It would have been prima facie obvious, however, to select a weight ratio of the active with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight percent of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) with a reasonable expectation of success, because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the binder, surfactant, active, as well as amounts of the ingredients in the external phase (i.e., filler, disintegrating agent, and lubricating agent) that read on the ranges for these ingredients as recited by the claims as discussed above, such that the presently claimed weight ratios are encompassed by the ranges taught for these ingredients by the cited references. Differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, there is no evidence of record of any unexpected criticality of the claimed weight ratios.
As to claim 33, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the inert substrate that is within the recited range with a reasonable expectation of success because the purpose of the inert substrate is the same in Shaw as in the present invention (i.e., to serve as a carrier), and because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the other ingredients in the composition that are within the presently claimed ranges as discussed above, such that the composition of Shaw and Bhattacharya as combined supra reasonably would be expected to require an amount of the inert substrate carrier that is similar to the amount of carrier required by the claimed invention. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 23, it further would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate mannitol, cellulose, and sodium carbonate as excipients for the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide, because Bhattacharya teaches that these compounds as conventional excipients that are suitable for use in a pharmaceutical formulation comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide as the active.
The claims are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from the claims of the copending application. Specifically, see above.
The USPTO may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application of common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). The copending application, discussed above, would be prior art to the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) if the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the Examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case.
Claims 1-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over claims 1-13 of Angst (US Pat. No. 11,180,460) and in view of Shaw et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0004262) and/or Bhattacharya et al. (WO 2020/234781) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
Reference claim 8 is drawn to a compound that may be the active recited by present claim 1, i.e., N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide.
Although the reference claim does not recite a pharmaceutical composition for oral administration comprising a granule particle comprising the active, a binder that is a copolymer of polyvinylpyyrolidone and vinyl acetate, and an inert substrate comprising mannitol and a surfactant that is sodium lauryl sulfate layered onto the inert substrate and an external phase comprising mannitol as filler, a disintegrating agent such as corn starch or alginic acid and lubricating agents such as magnesium stearate, stearic acid, or talc and wherein these ingredients are present in the claimed amounts, it would have been prima facie obvious to formulate the active into a dosage form comprising these ingredients because Shaw teaches that a nanoparticulate formulation comprising these ingredients in such amounts is useful for formulating a poorly water soluble drug and the skilled artisan would recognize that N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide is a poorly water soluble drug.
Although the reference claims do not recite the particle size of the drug particles or that the composition is in the form of a tablet or capsule, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select such sizes because Shaw teaches particle sizes within the claimed ranges as suitable for use in its nanoparticulate formulations and to formulate as a tablet or capsule because Bhattacharya teaches that such forms are suitable for N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide.
The reference claim does not recite that the active is present in amounts within the ranges of claims 30 and 37-38, and in the weight ratio with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) or of the inert substrate (claim 33).
It would have been prima facie obvious, however, to select a weight ratio of the active with respect to the binder as recited by claim 10 or with respect to the binder and surfactant (claim 11) or the weight percent of the binder with respect to the active (claim 12), or the weight percent of the surfactant with respect to that of the active (claim 13) or the weight percent of the external phase (claim 24) with a reasonable expectation of success, because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the binder, surfactant, active, as well as amounts of the ingredients in the external phase (i.e., filler, disintegrating agent, and lubricating agent) that read on the ranges for these ingredients as recited by the claims as discussed above, such that the presently claimed weight ratios are encompassed by the ranges taught for these ingredients by the cited references. Differences in concentration generally will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, there is no evidence of record of any unexpected criticality of the claimed weight ratios.
As to claim 33, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the inert substrate that is within the recited range with a reasonable expectation of success because the purpose of the inert substrate is the same in Shaw as in the present invention (i.e., to serve as a carrier), and because Shaw and Bhattacharya teach amounts of the other ingredients in the composition that are within the presently claimed ranges as discussed above, such that the composition of Shaw and Bhattacharya as combined supra reasonably would be expected to require an amount of the inert substrate carrier that is similar to the amount of carrier required by the claimed invention. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 23, it further would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate mannitol, cellulose, and sodium carbonate as excipients for the N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide, because Bhattacharya teaches that these compounds as conventional excipients that are suitable for use in a pharmaceutical formulation comprising N-(3-(6-Amino-5-(2-(N-methylacrylamido)ethoxy)pyrimidin-4-yl)-5-fluoro-2-methylphenyl)-4-cyclopropyl-2-fluorobenzamide as the active.
The claims are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from the claims of the copending application. Specifically, see above.
The USPTO may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application of common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). The copending application, discussed above, would be prior art to the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) if the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the Examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned as of the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case.
Conclusion
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/ Primary Examine, Art Unit 1600