DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-2-2025 have been fully considered. As they are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welle, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0184430, published June 29, 2017.
As per claim 1, Welle discloses a stationary system (01) for measuring the surface velocity of a fluid (7) flowing in a river, an open channel or an underground pipe, the system (01) comprising:
a microwave radar device (02) measuring the surface velocity of the fluid (7), a wind speed and direction measuring device (03) to validate the measurements taken by the microwave radar device (02) in order to take into account the effect of the wind on the surface velocity of the fluid (Welle, ¶46-48).
Welle fails to disclose the wind sensor being remote.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate the devices, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See also MPEP § 2144.04: In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Examiner submits that applicant’s specification and drawings also provide for the wind sensor attached to the measuring device and separation is a suggestion “if required”.
As per claim 2, Welle further discloses the stationary system (01) according to claim 1wherein the wind speed and direction measuring device (03) is configured to correct the measurements taken by the microwave radar device (02) in order to take into account the effect of the wind on the surface velocity of the fluid (Welle, ¶54).
As per claims 3 and 4, Welle further discloses the stationary system of claim 1 wherein wind speed and direction is measured along 2 and 3 axes (¶19 and 63).
As per claim 5, Welle discloses the system of claim 1 including antennas but fails to specify patch or horn antennas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a patch or horn in order to gain the benefit of using very common and well-known antenna types.
As per claim 6, Welle further discloses the stationary system of claim 1 wherein it is free of drones (Welle, Fig. 1).
As per claim 9, Welle further discloses a stationary system (10) for calculating a flow rate of the fluid (7), comprising the stationary system (01) for measuring the surface velocity of the fluid (7) according to claim 1,and a microwave radar fluid level measuring device (Welle, ¶46).
As per claim 10, Welle further discloses a method for measuring the surface velocity of a fluid (7) flowing in a river, an open channel or an underground pipe using the stationary system (01) according to claim 1, said method consisting in comprising measuring the wind speed and direction to validate the measurements carried out by the microwave radar device (Welle, ¶54).
As per claim 11, Welle further discloses the method for measuring the surface velocity of a fluid (7) flowing in a river, an open channel or an underground pipe according to claim 10, said method consisting in comprising measuring the wind speed and direction to validate and also to correct the measurements carried out by the microwave radar device (Welle, ¶54).
As per claim 12, Welle further discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the wind direction is used to calculate the axial component of the wind speed which is parallel to the fluid flow direction (Welle, ¶7).
As per claims 15 and 16, Welle further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the fluid surface velocity is corrected based on an algorithm or mathematical model, said algorithm or mathematical model being theoretical or empirical and taken on site (Welle, Fig. 1 and ¶54 where it is understood that a correction based on measurements would be done mathematically).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welle in view of Russmeier, et. al., “Ocean Surface Water Currents by Large-Scale Particle Image Velocimetry Technique”, IEEE Xplore, published June 2017.
As per claims 13 and 14, Welle disclose the system of claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose invalidating measurements of flow during a wind gust.
Russmeier teaches removal of invalid velocity data (section III, d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to not use a temporary wind gust as a correction to fluid flow in order to gain the benefit of not adding errors to the data. It is understood by a person in the art that a gust of increased wind does not permanently increase the fluid velocity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646