DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4-9-2026 have been fully considered. As the arguments are directed towards the claims as amended, please see below.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welle, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0184430, published June 29, 2017 in view of Ehsani, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0354402, published December 10, 2015.
As per claim 10, Welle discloses a method for measuring a surface velocity of a fluid flowing in a river, an open channel or an underground pipe using a stationary system comprising: a microwave radar device measuring the surface velocity of the fluid, a wind speed and direction measuring device to validate measurements taken by the microwave radar device in order to take into account effect of wind on the surface velocity of the fluid (Welle, ¶46-48 and ¶53 where it is noted that velocity is affected by wind speed);
said method comprising measuring the wind speed and direction to validate the measurements carried out by the microwave radar device, wherein the wind direction is used to calculate an axial component of the wind speed which is parallel to the fluid flow direction (Welle, ¶23 and 58).
Welle fails to expressly disclose invalidating a measurement when certain criteria of wind direction and speed are met.
Ehsani teaches ignoring measurement data based on wind speed measurements (¶48).
As Welle is already aware of the effect air flow above the water can have on measurements (¶58), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the existing wind measurements to determine if certain data should be ignored. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the speed and direction thresholds disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 11, Welle as modified by Ehsani discloses the method for measuring the surface velocity of a fluid flowing in a river, an open channel or an underground pipe according to claim 10, said method comprising measuring the wind speed and direction to validate and also to correct the measurements conducted by the microwave radar device (Welle, ¶54).
As per claims 15 and 16, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the fluid surface velocity is corrected based on an algorithm or mathematical model, said algorithm or mathematical model being theoretical or empirical and taken on site (Welle, Fig. 1 and ¶54 where it is understood that a correction based on measurements would be done mathematically).
As per claims 17 and 18, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the wind speed and direction measuring device is a device measuring the direction of the wind along 2 and 3axes (Welle, ¶19 and 63).
As per claim 19, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the microwave radar device is a patch antenna or horn antenna generating microwave signals that are transmitted towards the fluid surface, said fluid surface reflecting microwave signals with a Doppler frequency shift that is captured by the patch antenna or horn antenna (Welle, ¶16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a patch or horn in order to gain the benefit of using very common and well-known antenna types.
As per claim 20, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein said stationary system is free of drones (Welle, Fig. 1).
As per claim 21, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the wind speed and direction measuring device is attached above, below, or laterally from the microwave radar device (Welle, ¶54 and 62).
As per claim 22, Welle as modified by Ehsani further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the wind speed and direction measuring device is mounted remotely from the microwave radar device (Welle, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate the devices, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See also MPEP § 2144.04: In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Examiner submits that applicant’s specification and drawings also provide for the wind sensor attached to the measuring device and separation is a suggestion “if required”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646