DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received on 02/29/2024. Claims 1-4, 7, 20-21, 30-33, 35, 37-40 and 43-46 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The FIGs. 1-12 are objected to.
37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."”
In the current case, the view numbers for FIGs. 1-12 are preceded by the word "Figure" instead of the abbreviation "FIG.".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 35, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “…the AAV1” in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 35, the term “a reference method” is not defined in the claims and the limitation “in which the culture of a) does not comprises [sic] dextran sulfate” is open to multiple interpretations as “a)” is not a defined component of “a reference method” in the claims, nor in the specification. Furthermore, it is not clear what other component(s) might be included in the “reference method” other than “…does not comprises [sic] dextran sulfate”. On pages 36-38 of the specification, ¶[00100] and ¶[00101] refer to the “reference method” multiple times, but the details regarding the components therein remain unexplained. In other sections of the specification, ¶[0066] and ¶[00194] recite a “control method” and ¶[002030] recites a “control production culture” with similar description regarding dextran sulfate such as “in the absence of dextran sulfate” or “…that does not comprise dextran sulfate”, without clarifying what other components are included. The phrase “reference method” renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 38 contains the trademark/trade name “PerC6”, which refers to the PER.C6® cell line trademark, used for vaccine and protein production, belongs to Janssen Vaccines & Prevention B.V. (formerly Crucell Holland B.V.), a Johnson & Johnson company, and is licensed for use in biotech and pharma, notably in adenovirus vector technologies for gene therapy and vaccines. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe Immortalized human embryonic retinal cells used for vaccines, recombinant proteins and viral vector/particle production and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Those claims identified in the statement of rejection but not explicitly referenced in the rejection are also rejected for depending from a rejected claim but failing to remedy the indefiniteness therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 20-21, 35, 37-39 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Scalable production of adeno-associated virus type 2 vectors via suspension transfection. Biotechnol Bioeng. 2006 Jun 20;94(3):416-30; Cited on IDS submitted on 07/14/2023; Hereinafter, Park) in view of Gribble et al. (WO 2020/219897 A1, published on 10/29/2020; Cited on IDS submitted on 07/14/2023; Hereinafter, Gribble).
Park (2006) teaches a method of producing a recombinant virus particle, i.e. a rAAV particle, which inherently incorporates a method of transiently transfecting cells suitable for producing recombinant virus particles and a method of producing a recombinant polypeptide, i.e. the capsid protein, in a suspension cell culture system comprising one or more necessary polynucleotides and a transfection reagent that is a polymer (page, 416, Abstract, left column, first paragraph; Page 417, Material and Methods, left column, 4th & 5th ¶, right column, 1st and 2nd ¶; Page 418, left column, 3rd ¶).
Park does not teach using dextran sulfate in the cell culture medium to enhance the production of recombinant products (peptides and/or virus particles).
However, Gribble (2020) teaches a method of using dextran sulfate to boost the production of recombinant virus particles, i.e. a rHSV particle. Gribble teaches that providing dextran sulfate at a dose range of 0.5mg/L-50mg/L (Page 2, ¶[007]), which covers the range of “between about 1mg/L and about 3mg/L…” claimed by the instant application, dose-dependently improves the transfection of rHSV producing cells resulting in higher quantity and potency in rHSV virus particle production in a bimodal fashion (Figure 2), similar to the instant application. Furthermore, the rHSV particles produced at the presence of dextran sulfate encode essential genes required for the packaging of rAAV particles, and they further improve the rAAV production over rHSV particles produced in the absence of dextran sulfate (Figure. 3).
Gribble does not teach directly providing dextran sulfate at the claimed concentration ranges to the rAAV production cell culture medium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known elements taught by Park and Gribble to yield predictable results because the benefits of Park’s disclosure can be further enhanced by combining the element of using dextran sulfate to boost the production of a recombinant virus particle in Gribble’s disclosure. Adding the element of dextran sulfate at the predicted concentrations to the element of suspension-based transfection culture medium in the presence of a polymer-based transfection reagent would have been predicted to provide the same function as they do individually, i.e. promote transfection/infection, enhance the production of recombinant polypeptide, and improve the production of recombinant viral particles. Routine optimization of the dextran sulfate would have allowed persons with ordinary skill in the art to identify the narrow range of effective concentration from the broad range of concentration taught by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.05 II.A, Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation: “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”.
Regarding claim 2, Park further teaches the inherent method of recombinant polypeptide production in the form of rAAV capsid proteins.
Regarding claim 4, 7, 20-21, the rationale of simple combination of known elements with predictable results continue to apply.
Regarding claim 35, Gribble further teaches that the inclusion of dextran sulfate, at the claimed concentration range in the recombinant product culture medium, significantly increased the production of recombinant viral particles to at least 1.1 times or more over the control culture medium in the absence of dextran sulfate (Figure 3), although for clarity, the graph shows the increase in rAAV productivity, which it is a direct reflection of the impact of dextran sulfate on the production of rHSVs that were produced with or without dextran sulfate in the culture medium.
Regarding claim 37, Park further teaches suspension adapted cells (Page 417, left column, the last ¶ under Adaptation of HEK 293 Cells to Suspension Culture).
Regarding claim 38-39, Park further teaches HEK293 cells (Page 417, left column, 4th ¶ under Cell Cultures and Viruses).
Regarding claims 43-44, Park further teaches that the polymer-based transfection reagent is a linear polyethylenimine (PEI; page, 416, Abstract, left column, first paragraph).
Claims 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Gribble as applied to claims 1 & 2 above, and further in view of Agilent (Agilent AAV Helper-Free System manual; Published 2015 on Agilent product website).
Park further teaches the method of producing a recombinant virus particle comprising one or more polynucleotides such as pAAV-hrGFP, pAAV-LacZ, pAAV-RC, and pHelper obtained from Stratagene (Page 417, right column, under Plasmids, first ¶), which is now part of Agilent Technologies.
Park does not teach that these plasmids encode a) an rAAV genome to be packaged, b) adenovirus helper functions necessary for packaging, c) an AAV rep protein sufficient for packaging, and d) an AAV cap proteins sufficient for packaging.
However, Agilent teaches that the Agilent AAV Helper Free system does incorporate all of the above claimed elements (manual attached in PTO-892; Page 4-5 under Introduction; Page 8, FIGURE 1).
Regarding claim 32, Agilent further teaches that the aforementioned pHelper plasmid contains an adenovirus E2A gene, E4 gene, and adeno VA gene (Page 17, pHelper plasmid map).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known elements taught by Park and Gribble in view of the reagent kit reagents and user manual from Agilent to yield predictable results taught by the current disclosure because all essential components and optimized workflow of the recombinant rAAV packaging system are provided by these prior arts, which serve as highly reproducible, tried and true, standard operation procedures to guide persons of ordinary skill in the art to predictable success.
Claims 3 & 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Gribble as applied to claims 1 & 2 above, and further in view of Hyoung et al. (The molecular weight and concentration of dextran sulfate affect cell growth and antibody production in CHO cell cultures. Biotechnol Prog. 2016 Sep;32(5):1113-1122; Hereinafter, Hyoung; Cited in IDS submitted on 07/14/2023).
The teachings of Park and Gribble are discussed above.
Neither Park nor Gribble discloses the production of recombinant antibody or antigen- binding fragment thereof, bispecific antibody, enzyme, fusion protein or Fc fusion protein.
However, Hyoung teaches that recombinant monoclonal antibody (mAB) production using a suspension-adapted CHO cell culture medium can be boosted by dextran sulfate.
Regarding claim 40, Neither Park nor Gribble discloses the production of recombinant peptides or virus particles using CHO cells.
Hyoung further teaches using CHO cells (Page 1113, Abstract, lines 4-5; Introduction, left column, first ¶; Page 1114, left column, third ¶ under Cell line and culture maintenance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known elements disclosed by Park, Gribble, and apply the techniques and expand the recombinant applications disclosed by Hyoung to arrive at the same invention as a predictable result using suspension CHO cell cultures to produce immunology related recombinant polypeptides for antibody related applications
Claims 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Gribble as applied to claims 1 & 2 above, and further in view of Merten et al. (Virus Production Under Suspension Conditions" In: "Industrial Scale Suspension Culture of Living Cells, Wiley- VCH Verlag GmbH & Co. KGaA, June 18, 2014, pages 503-554.; Hereinafter, Merten).
The teachings of Park and Gribble are discussed above.
Neither Park nor Gribble discloses the production of recombinant virus particles in cell culture with a volume of between about 50 liters and about 20,000 liters, or between about 50 liters and about 5,000 liters.
However, Merten teaches “However, the real technological breakthrough is the use of suspension cells for virus production, which allows production scales beyond several 10 000s of liters.” (Page, 503, Abstract, lines 7-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known elements disclosed by Park, Gribble, and adopt the visions and guidance of Merten to arrive at the same scaled up invention as a predictable result with reasonable expectation of success in achieving scalable volume production of recombinant virus particles suitable for different scales of demands from mid-range volume bench research or early stage clinical testing to large scale industrial productions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DELPHINUS DOU YI YU/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636