DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Office Action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 7/14/2023.
Claims 5-7, 9-10, and 19 have been amended.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomoe et al. (JP 2017186586; IDS).
In claim 1, Tomoe discloses (Fig. 1-3B) a core block (1) for a motor, the core block (1) comprising stacked electromagnetic steel sheets ([0028]), wherein the core block (1) is achieved by performing edge formation machining (annealing; [0034]) using electrical energy or optical energy to form some or an entire perimeter of an edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1), and performing punching using press machining ([0028-0031]) on the electromagnetic steel sheets before or after the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy ([0068]).
In claim 2, Tomoe discloses wherein the core block (1) is achieved by performing punching using the press machining to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1) at a portion in the electromagnetic steel sheets where the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is not performed ([0031-0032]).
In claim 3, Tomoe discloses wherein the core block (1) is achieved by performing, on a portion in the electromagnetic steel sheets where punching using the press machining has been performed, the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1; [annealing; [0032-0034]).
In claim 4, Tomoe discloses wherein the core block (1) is achieved by, in a state where a plurality of the electromagnetic steel sheets that have been subjected to punching using the press machining are stacked and secured, performing the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1; step (3); [0068]).
In claim 8, Tomoe discloses wherein the electromagnetic steel sheets have holes that are used when the electromagnetic steel sheets are secured in a stacked state at a time of the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy (1; step (3); [0068]).
In claim 11, Tomoe discloses (Fig. 1-3B) a core block (1) for a motor, the core block (1) comprising stacked electromagnetic steel sheets ([0028]), wherein the electromagnetic steel sheets are provided with, at some or an entire perimeter of an edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets, an edge formation machining mark section formed by edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy (annealing; [0034]), and a punching mark section formed by the electromagnetic steel sheets being punched using press machining ([0028-0031; [0068]).
In claim 12, Tomoe discloses wherein the edge formation machining mark section (radial direction) and the punching mark section (axial direction) are not adjacent in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets extends and a thickness direction of the electromagnetic steel sheets ([0028-0031; [0068]).
In claim 15, Tomoe discloses a method for producing a (Fig. 1-3B) core block (1) that is for a motor and includes stacked electromagnetic steel sheets, the method comprising: edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy (annealing; [0034]) to form some or an entire perimeter of an edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block; and punching using press machining on the electromagnetic steel sheets before or after the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy ([0028-0031; [0068]).
In claim 16, Tomoe discloses wherein, the punching is performed using the using the press machining to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1) at a portion in the electromagnetic steel sheets where the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is not performed ([0031-0032]).
In claim 17, Tomoe discloses wherein, the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is performed, the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1; [annealing; [0032-0034]).
In claim 18, Tomoe discloses wherein, the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is, in a state where a plurality of the electromagnetic steel sheets where punching using the press machining has been performed are stacked and secured, performed to form some or the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (1; step (3); [0068]).
In claim 19, Tomoe discloses wherein the press machining (shearing; [0028-0031]) is performed by providing a machining allowance corresponding to a portion to be removed when the core block (1) is subjected to the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy ([0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomoe et al. (JP 2017186586; IDS) in view of Ogino et al. (US 2018/0269731).
In claim 5, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 1, with the exception of wherein a site in the motor where the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edges on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block is an inner peripheral surface or an outer peripheral surface of a circular site to which a mating member is fitted.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) wherein a site in the motor (100) where the edge formation machining using optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edges on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (3) is an inner peripheral surface or an outer peripheral surface of a circular site to which a mating member (21, 22, 43, 44) is fitted ([0040; 0055-0056]).
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0055]).
In claim 6, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 1, with the exception wherein a site in the motor where the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block is an outer peripheral surface on a rotor core that is to be a gap section in the motor, or tooth tips in a stator core that are to be a gap section in the motor.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) wherein a site in the motor where the edge formation machining using optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (3) are tooth tips (30b1, 30b2) in a stator core (1) to be a gap section in the motor.
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0055]).
In claim 7, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 1, with the exception of wherein a site in the motor where the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block is an edge on a tooth in a stator core.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) wherein a site in the motor where the edge formation machining using optical energy is performed to form the entire perimeter of the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets in the core block (3) is an edge on a tooth (30b1, 30b2) in a stator core (1).
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0055]).
In claim 9, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the press machining is punching machining using a die.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) wherein the block is press machined by punching machining using a die ([0110]).
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for offset welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0121]).
In claim 10, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 1, with the exception of wherein the edge formation machining using electrical energy or optical energy is electrical discharge machining or laser processing.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) wherein the edge formation machining using optical energy is laser processing (welding; [0110]).
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for offset welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0121]).
In claim 13, Tomoe teaches the core block of claim 11, with the exception of wherein the edge formation machining mark section and the punching mark section are adjacent in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets extends and a thickness direction of the electromagnetic steel sheets.
However, Ogino teaches (Fig. 1-13) a core block (3) punching mark section [0110]) are adjacent in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the edge on the electromagnetic steel sheets extends and a thickness direction of the electromagnetic steel sheets.
Therefore in view of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have arrived at the claimed invention, in order to provide a structure for offset welding such that cogging torque is reduced (Ogino; [0121]).
In claim 14, Tomoe as modified teaches the core block of claim 13; furthermore Tomoe teaches wherein the edge formation machining mark section is formed on the electromagnetic steel sheets in a state where a plurality of the electromagnetic steel sheets are stacked and secured (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ushida et al. (US 2019/0372440) teaches a rotary electric machine member manufacturing method includes: a step of providing a motor core by stacking a plurality of electromagnetic steel sheets; and a step of welding the motor core by keyhole welding while pressurizing the motor core in a stacking direction with a welding pressure lower than that at which the thickness of the motor core in the stacking direction levels off.
Ikuta et al. (US 2019/0312473) teaches a rotor of rotary electric machines including a rotor core which include first and second core blocks.
RASHAD H. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/RASHAD H JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834