DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claim rejections based on prior art
Claim rejections based on prior art
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/25/2025 with respect to claims 1-5, 7-14, 17, 20-23 and 26-27 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new interpretation of the cited reference based on the most recent amendments.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-13, 17, 20-23, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bjorling et al. (US pub. # 2022/0050599), hereinafter, “Bjorling”.
At the outset, Applicant is reminded that claims subject to examination will be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023,1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). With this in mind, the discussion will focus on how the terms and relationships between the terms in the claims are met by the references.
2. As per claims 1 and 12, Bjorling discloses a data processing system (storage system 100 of fig. 1) comprising: a processing unit (see paragraph 0030, which teaches host device 104 comprising a computer, which comprises a CPU); a codec (controller 108) operable to compress and decompress data (see paragraphs 0060 and 0072); and a communications bus over which bus transactions to access memory can be performed (see paragraphs 0060 and 0072); wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, direct bus transactions that comprise the processing unit accessing the memory via the communications bus (note, this limitation is being interpreted to recite the processing unit is accessing the memory via the communications bus; therefore, see paragraph 0068, which discloses “FIG. 8 illustrates a method 800 for writing data to a location in the non-volatile memory, according to one embodiment. At block 802, the controller, such as the controller 108 of FIG. 1, of the storage device, such as the data storage device 106 of FIG. 1, receives one or more commands from the host, such as the host 104 of FIG. 1, to write data to a first zone of a plurality of zones. At block 804, the compression engine, such as the compression engine 120 of FIG. 1, utilizes the maximum compression ratio to compress the data associated with the write command from a first chunk including a first number of logical blocks or grains to a first compressed chunk including a second number of logical blocks of a plurality of grains. The first number of logical blocks or grains may be equal to or greater than the second number of logical blocks or grains”); wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, codec bus transactions that comprise the codec accessing the memory via the communications bus (see paragraph 0068); wherein the processing unit initiating a codec bus transaction comprises the processing unit issuing over the communications bus, a signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory (see paragraph 0068, which discloses “FIG. 8 illustrates a method 800 for writing data to a location in the non-volatile memory, according to one embodiment. At block 802, the controller, such as the controller 108 of FIG. 1, of the storage device, such as the data storage device 106 of FIG. 1, receives one or more commands from the host, such as the host 104 of FIG. 1, to write data to a first zone of a plurality of zones. At block 804, the compression engine, such as the compression engine 120 of FIG. 1, utilizes the maximum compression ratio to compress the data associated with the write command from a first chunk including a first number of logical blocks or grains to a first compressed chunk including a second number of logical blocks of a plurality of grains. The first number of logical blocks or grains may be equal to or greater than the second number of logical blocks or grains”); and wherein the codec is operable to, in response to receiving over the communications bus the signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory, access the memory via the communications bus (see paragraph 0070, which discloses “At block 806, the compressed data is written to a first zone. In one embodiment, a header may be written before the compressed data. The header may include pointers that point to the grains that correspond to the start of each compressed chunk. Each grain written to the first zone corresponds with a media LBA, where the media LBA represents the location of the grain in the media. At block 808, the information concerning the compressed data, such as the location of each grain, is reported to the host”).
3. As per claim 3, Bjorling discloses wherein compressed data is stored in the memory in one or more memory space regions, with each memory space region being divided into one or more memory space sub-regions; wherein the processing unit is operable to issue over the communications bus, a signal that indicates a memory address for one of the memory space regions and an index indicating one of the memory space sub-regions of that memory space region; and the codec is operable to, in response to receiving the signal that indicates a memory address and an index, determine a memory address for the memory space sub-region indicated by the index based on the memory address and index indicated by the signal, and access the determined memory address (see paragraph 0067).
4. As per claim 4, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to issue over the communications bus, a signal that indicates a memory address of a header associated with compressed data; and the codec is operable to: in response to receiving a memory address indicating signal that indicates a memory address of a header associated with compressed data to be read, determine a memory address for the compressed data based on the indicated memory address of the header, and memory address offset information in the header that indicates a memory address offset relative to the memory address of the header for the compressed data; and in response to receiving a memory address indicating signal that indicates a memory address of a header associated with compressed data to be written, write memory address offset information in the header that indicates a memory address offset relative to the memory address of the header for the compressed data (see paragraph 0066).
5. As per claim 5, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction that comprises; the codec compressing data provided by the processing unit to produce compressed data; and/or the codec decompressing compressed data to produce decompressed data, and providing the decompressed data to the processing unit (see paragraph 0072).
6. As per claim 7, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction that comprises the codec: receiving, from the processing unit via the communications bus, information indicative of encoding parameters and/or properties to be used when compressing or decompressing data; and compressing or decompressing data in accordance with the encoding parameters and/or properties indicated by the information (see paragraph 0067).
7. As per claim 8, Bjorling discloses wherein the codec comprises an encoder and decoder circuit configured to compress and decompress data, and the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction that comprises: the processing unit issuing over the communications bus, a signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory and information indicative of encoding parameters and/or properties to be used when compressing or decompressing data; and the codec is operable to, in response to receiving the signal over the communications bus, configure the encoder and decoder circuit to compress or decompress data in accordance with the encoding parameters and/or properties indicated by the information (see paragraphs 0060 and 0072).
8. As per claims 9 and 21, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction that comprises the codec reading metadata associated with compressed data from the memory without reading the compressed data, and returning the read metadata to the processing unit (see paragraphs 0070 and 0075).
9. As per claim 10, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction that comprises the codec receiving a signature (NLB, as discloses in paragraph 0056) representative of associated compressed data from, or providing a signature representative of associated compressed data to, the processing unit via the communications bus (see paragraph 0056).
10. As per claims 11 and 23, Bjorling discloses wherein the codec comprises: a bus transaction initiating circuit configured to initiate over the communications bus, bus transactions to access the memory; and the codec is operable to access the memory by the bus transaction initiating circuit of the codec initiating over the communications bus, a bus transaction to access the memory (see paragraph 0068).
11. As per claim 13, Bjorling discloses a method of operating a data processing system(storage system 100 of fig. 1) that comprises: a processing unit (see paragraph 0030, which teaches host device 104 comprising a computer, which comprises a CPU); a codec (controller 108) operable to compress and decompress data (see paragraphs 0060 and 0072); and a communications bus over which bus transactions to access memory can be performed (see paragraphs 0060 and 0072); wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, direct bus transactions that comprise the processing unit accessing the memory via the communications bus (note, this limitation is being interpreted to recite the processing unit is accessing the memory via the communications bus; therefore, see paragraph 0068, which discloses “FIG. 8 illustrates a method 800 for writing data to a location in the non-volatile memory, according to one embodiment. At block 802, the controller, such as the controller 108 of FIG. 1, of the storage device, such as the data storage device 106 of FIG. 1, receives one or more commands from the host, such as the host 104 of FIG. 1, to write data to a first zone of a plurality of zones. At block 804, the compression engine, such as the compression engine 120 of FIG. 1, utilizes the maximum compression ratio to compress the data associated with the write command from a first chunk including a first number of logical blocks or grains to a first compressed chunk including a second number of logical blocks of a plurality of grains. The first number of logical blocks or grains may be equal to or greater than the second number of logical blocks or grains”); wherein the processing unit is operable to initiate over the communications bus, codec bus transactions that comprise the codec accessing the memory via the communications bus (see paragraph 0068); wherein the processing unit initiating a codec bus transaction comprises the processing unit issuing over the communications bus, a signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory (see paragraph 0068, which discloses “FIG. 8 illustrates a method 800 for writing data to a location in the non-volatile memory, according to one embodiment. At block 802, the controller, such as the controller 108 of FIG. 1, of the storage device, such as the data storage device 106 of FIG. 1, receives one or more commands from the host, such as the host 104 of FIG. 1, to write data to a first zone of a plurality of zones. At block 804, the compression engine, such as the compression engine 120 of FIG. 1, utilizes the maximum compression ratio to compress the data associated with the write command from a first chunk including a first number of logical blocks or grains to a first compressed chunk including a second number of logical blocks of a plurality of grains. The first number of logical blocks or grains may be equal to or greater than the second number of logical blocks or grains”); and wherein the codec is operable to, in response to receiving over the communications bus the signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory, access the memory via the communications bus (see paragraph 0070, which discloses “At block 806, the compressed data is written to a first zone. In one embodiment, a header may be written before the compressed data. The header may include pointers that point to the grains that correspond to the start of each compressed chunk. Each grain written to the first zone corresponds with a media LBA, where the media LBA represents the location of the grain in the media. At block 808, the information concerning the compressed data, such as the location of each grain, is reported to the host”); the method comprising: the processing unit initiating over the communications bus, a codec bus transaction in which the codec is to access the memory, by issuing over the communications bus, a signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory (see paragraph 0068); and the codec in response to receiving over the communications bus the signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory, accessing the memory via the communications bus (see paragraph 0070).
12. As per claim 17, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit initiating the bus transaction comprises the processing unit initiating a bus transaction in which the codec is to compress data provided by the processing unit to produce compressed data; and the method comprises: the codec, in response to the processing unit initiating the bus transaction: compressing data provided by the processing unit to produce compressed data; or wherein the processing unit initiating the bus transaction comprises the processing unit initiating a bus transaction in which the codec is to decompress compressed data to produce decompressed data, and provide the decompressed data to the processing unit; and the method comprises: the codec, in response to the processing unit initiating the bus transaction: decompressing compressed data to produce decompressed data; and providing the decompressed data to the processing unit (see paragraph 0072).
13. As per claim 20, Bjorling discloses wherein the codec comprises an encoder and decoder circuit configured to compress and decompress data, and the method comprises: the processing unit issuing over the communications bus, a signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory and information indicative of encoding parameters and/or properties to be used when compressing or decompressing data; and the codec, in response to receiving the signal over the communications bus, configuring the encoder and decoder circuit to compress or decompress data in accordance with the encoding parameters and/or properties indicated by the information (see paragraphs 0067 and 0072).
14. As per claim 22, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit initiating the codec bus transaction comprises the processing unit initiating a bus codec transaction in which the codec is to receive a signature representative of associated compressed data from, or provide a signature representative of associated compressed data to, the processing unit via the communications bus; and the method comprises: the codec, in response to the processing unit initiating the codec bus transaction: receiving a signature representative of associated compressed data from, or providing a signature representative of associated compressed data to, the processing unit via the communications bus (see paragraph 0056).
15. As per claims 26 and 27, Bjorling discloses wherein the processing unit is a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a video processor, a sound processor, an image signal processor (ISP), a digital signal processor (DSP), a neutral network processor or a display controller (see paragraph 0030, which teaches host device 104 comprising a computer, which comprises a CPU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bjorling et al. (US pub. # 2022/0050599), hereinafter, “Bjorling”, in view of Itoh et al. (US pub. # 2018/0267746), hereinafter, “Itoh”.
18. As per claims 2 and 14, Bjorling discloses “The system of claim 1” [See rejection to claim 1 above], but fails to expressly discloses wherein the communications bus comprises a set of channels including a control channel for conveying control data and an address channel for conveying address data, and the processing unit is operable to issue the signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory on the control channel or on the address channel.
Itoh discloses wherein the communications bus comprises a set of channels including a control channel for conveying control data and an address channel for conveying address data, and the processing unit is operable to issue the signal that indicates that the codec should access the memory on the control channel or on the address channel (see paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Itoh’s teaching of a readout control device including a memory and one or more processors configured to function as a converter, a reader and an analyzer, into Bjorling’s teaching of a data storage device such a solid state drive that includes a controller that includes a compression/de-compression engine, for the benefit of a reducing a delay time of readout at a time of random access of a memory.
CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the
application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a (1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-5, 7-14, 17, 20-23 and 26-27 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
Examiner should be directed to Ernest Unelus whose telephone number is (571) 272-
8596. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.
IMPORTANT NOTE
If attempts to reach the above noted Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Mr. Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached at the following telephone number: Area Code (571) 270-1023.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PMR system, see her//pair-direct.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217- 91 97 (toll-free).
/Ernest Unelus/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181