DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 10, 14, 17, 19 and 25, the cancellation of claim 11, 15, 18 and 23 and the addition of claims 26-29.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10: The claim states in line 8 of the claim “wherein the second wall defines a second arc-shaped bearing surface” should state “wherein the second wall defines the second arc-shaped bearing surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 16, 24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iaccarino et al. (US 2012/0124840 A1), hereafter known as Iaccarino.
Regarding claim 1, Iaccarino discloses a razor head (Iaccarino, Fig. 1-7, 5), comprising:
a frame (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 55a and 55b) having a skin-contacting side (Iaccarino, Fig. 1 and 3-7, 51) and a back side (Iaccarino, Fig. 1 and 3-7, 52) opposite the skin-contacting side, wherein a coupling section (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 4, 80, and 81) is arranged on the back side, wherein the coupling section is configured to couple the razor head to a razor handle (Iaccarino, Fig. 1 and 4, 2, P. 0043),
wherein the coupling section comprises a first bearing mechanism including a pair of arch-shaped bearing sections (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53, 54, 83 and 86) and a second bearing mechanism including a pair of bearing cavities (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 82), and a pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) which are arc-shaped, wherein the pair of bearing cavities are formed between the back side and the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 52-54 and 82), at least a portion of the cavities of Iaccarino is formed between the back side and the pair of first walls, wherein the pair of bearing cavities comprise a second arc-shaped bearing surface opposite a first arc-shaped bearing surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) below), wherein, with respect to a shaving plane (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, P), when viewing the coupling section from a side view, the first arc-shaped bearing surface has a convex shape (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) below), the first arc-shaped bearing surface of Iaccarino has the same shape as the first arc-shaped bearing surface of the instant invention, and wherein the second arc-shaped bearing surface has a concave shape (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Iaccarino) below), wherein the first bearing mechanism and the second bearing mechanism are functionally different, the first and second bearing mechanisms of Iaccarino are functionally different as the first bearing mechanism of Iaccarino provides surfaces for the connector to slide along (Iaccarino, P. 0043) while the second bearing mechanism of Iaccarino provides a cavity that captures the ends of the connector (Iaccarino, P. 0047).
Regarding claim 2, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first bearing mechanism or the second bearing mechanism is a pivoting mechanism (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53, 54, 83 and 86, P. 0037.
Regarding claim 4, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 1, wherein the razor head comprises a shaving direction (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) below), a perpendicular direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 1 and 3-4, X) which is perpendicular to the shaving direction, and a vertical direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, C) which is perpendicular to the shaving direction and the perpendicular direction, wherein the pair of first walls are separated (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) and/or aligned to each other with respect to the perpendicular direction.
Regarding claim 5, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, wherein the pair of arc-shaped bearing sections and/or the pair of bearing cavities extend parallel to the perpendicular direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, X, 53, 54, 82, 83, and 86), and wherein the pair of arc-shaped bearing sections and/or the pair of bearing cavities are oriented towards a geometric center of the razor head in the perpendicular direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 3-4, 53, 54, 82, 83 and 86), respectively, both the bearing sections and bearing cavities of Iaccarino face inward toward the center of the frame.
Regarding claim 6, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, wherein each first wall in the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) each comprise a first arc-shaped bearing surface that is oriented towards the pair of bearing cavities (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 82).
Regarding claim 8, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, wherein each wall in the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) comprises a first arc-shaped bearing surface (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54), the surfaces of the first walls of Iaccarino are bearing surfaces, that is oriented in the vertical direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, C), respectively
Regarding claim 9, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 8, wherein the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) comprises a stopper wall (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 58 and 59) that extends from the first arc-shaped bearing surface (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) at a position proximate to a geometric center of the razor head towards a trailing edge of the razor head (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above) and the back side (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 52).
Regarding claim 10, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, wherein the coupling section (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 4, 80, and 81) comprises two protrusions (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 83 and 86) extending from the back side (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 52) in the vertical direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, C), wherein the two protrusions are separated and/or aligned to each other with respect to the perpendicular direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, X, 83, and 86), wherein the pair of first walls are arranged adjacent and between the two protrusions (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53, 54, 83, and 86), respectively, and where each of the two protrusions comprises a second wall extending proximal an end of each respective protrusions (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 83 and 86) in the perpendicular direction (y) towards a geometric center of the razor head (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above), wherein the second wall defines the second arc-shaped bearing surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above).
Regarding claim 12, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, further comprising a pair of second walls (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above), wherein the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) each comprise a first length and wherein the pair of second walls (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) each comprise a second length measured parallel to the perpendicular direction, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino both the first and second walls of Iaccarino have a length in the perpendicular direction, wherein the first length is larger than the second length, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino the length of the first wall is larger than the length of the second wall.
Regarding claim 13, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 12, wherein the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) each comprise a first wall portion, as best understood from the disclosure of the instant invention the first wall portion is the same portion of the pair of first walls as the first length which covers the same structure, having the first length and a second wall portion (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 83 and 86) having a third length, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino the second wall portions or rather the protrusions have a length in the perpendicular direction, and wherein the first length is larger than the third length, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino the first length of Iaccarino is larger than the third length of Iaccarino.
Regarding claim 16, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 1, wherein the coupling section (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 4, 80, and 81) comprises a camming section (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 24, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 13, further comprising a shoulder (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 58 and 59) formed between the first wall portion (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) and the second wall portion (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, 83 and 86), wherein the shoulder extends along the perpendicular direction (Iaccarino, Fig. 3, X), and further wherein the shoulder functions as a stop for an adapter shoulder (Iaccarino, P. 0051).
Regarding claim 26, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 1, wherein each first wall of the pair of first walls (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53 and 54) comprises a third arc-shaped bearing surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) that is oriented towards a respective bearing cavity of the pair of bearing cavities (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above).
Regarding claim 27, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 26, wherein each bearing cavity of the pair of bearing cavities comprises a fourth arc-shaped bearing surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) opposite the third arc-shaped bearing surface (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iaccarino (US 2012/0124840 A1) in view of Bozikis et al. (US 2017/0106549 A1), hereafter known as Bozikis.
Regarding claim 14, Iaccarino discloses the razor head according to claim 4, wherein the frame (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 55a and 55b) further comprises a leading longitudinal member (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 56) defining a leading edge (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above) and a trailing longitudinal member (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 57) defining a trailing edge (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above), wherein a shaving plane (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, P) is defined on the skin-contacting side (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, 51) of the frame,
wherein each bearing cavity comprises a bottom wall (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) extending from a position proximate to a leading edge of the razor head towards a geometric center of the razor head under an angle, measured between the bottom wall and the shaving plane, and wherein the bottom wall extends in the perpendicular direction towards the geometric center of the razor head, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino the bottom wall of the bearing cavity extends between the leading and trailing edge of the razor head toward the geometric center of the device and also extends in the perpendicular direction toward the geometric center.
Iaccarino does not teach wherein the trailing longitudinal member comprises a trimming assembly provided on the trailing edge.
Bozikis teaches a razor head (Bozikis, Fig. 2-13, 1) with a trailing longitudinal member (Bozikis, Fig. 3a, 57) comprising a trimming assembly (Bozikis, Fig. 3a, 73) provided on a trailing edge (Bozikis, Fig. 3a, 15). Such features allow for better shaving of areas adjacent protruding facial features (Bozikis, P. 0004).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the trailing longitudinal member of the razor head of Iaccarino to feature a trimming assembly on a trailing edge as taught by Bozikis as including such trimming assemblies allows for better shaving of areas adjacent protruding facial features.
Claims 17-19, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iaccarino (US 2012/0124840 A1) in view of TUCKER et al. (US 2020/0223080 A1), hereafter known as Tucker.
Regarding claim 17, Iaccarino teaches the razor head according to claim 1.
Iaccarino does not teach a connecting adapter, wherein the coupling section is releasably coupled to the connecting adapter via a pivotable or non-pivotable coupling, more specifically via the first bearing mechanism and/or the second bearing mechanism, wherein the connecting adapter comprises a body portion having a first connecting portion arranged at a first end of the body portion.
Tucker teaches a razor head (Tucker, Fig. 1-10, 14) comprising a connecting adapter (Tucker, Fig. 1-8A, 18) comprising a body portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Tucker) below) having a first connecting portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Tucker) below) arranged at a first end of the body portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Tucker) below), wherein the coupling section (Tucker, Fig. 2-2A, 26A and 26B) is releasably coupled to the connecting adapter via a pivotable coupling (Tucker, Fig. 1-8A, 18, 26A, and 26B, P. 0003). Such structures provide detachable pivotal coupling for the razor head and detachable coupling to a handle (Tucker, P. 0008) and to allow the entire assembly to be replaced to prevent fouling due to soap, debris or wear (Tucker, P. 0049).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the razor head of Iaccarino to include a connecting adapter like the connecting adapter taught by Tucker as doing so provides a detachable connector between the handle and the razor head that allows for a pivotal connection with the razor head while also allowing for the entire assembly to be replaced to prevent fouling.
Regarding claim 19, Iaccarino in view of Tucker teaches the razor head according to claim 18, wherein the first connecting portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Tucker) above) comprises a pair of bearing pins (Tucker, Fig. 1-8A, 29) configured to be inserted into a pair of bearing cavities (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 82), and wherein the first connecting portion (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 4 (Tucker) above) further comprises a pair of arc-shaped bearings (Tucker, Fig. 1-8A, 29) configured to be inserted into the pair of arc-shaped bearing sections (Iaccarino, Fig. 3 and 5-6, 53, 54, 83 and 86).
Regarding claim 25, Iaccarino teaches the razor head according to claim 24, wherein the frame (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 55a and 55b) further comprises a leading longitudinal member (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 56) defining a leading edge (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above) and a trailing longitudinal member (Iaccarino, Fig. 4-5, 57) defining a trailing edge (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above), wherein a shaving plane (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, P) is defined on the skin-contacting side (Iaccarino, Fig. 5, 51) of the frame,
wherein each bearing cavity comprises a bottom wall (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) extending from a position proximate to a leading edge of the razor head towards a geometric center of the razor head under an angle, measured between the bottom wall and the shaving plane, wherein the bottom wall extends in the perpendicular direction towards the geometric center of the razor head, as can be seen in Fig. 3 of Iaccarino the bottom wall of the bearing cavity extends between the leading and trailing edge of the razor head toward the geometric center of the device and also extends in the perpendicular direction toward the geometric center, and
wherein the bottom wall, the second arc-shaped bearing surface, and a side wall define a pivoting range (Iaccarino, P. 0005 and 0018).
Iaccarino does not teach wherein the pivoting range is approximately 75 degrees. While Iaccarino teaches the cartridge pivoting about an axis would indicate a pivoting range Iaccarino does not teach any specific range of angles.
Tucker teaches a pivoting range of about 20 degrees to 70 degrees (Tucker, P. 0051). About 70 degrees is approximately 75 degrees. Doing so helps limit the rotation of the cartridge when a shaving load is applied (Tucker, P. 0051).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the device such that the pivoting range taught by Iaccarino such that the pivoting range was approximately 75 degrees as taught by Tucker as doing so helps to limit the rotation of the cartridge when a shaving load is applied.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iaccarino (US 2012/0124840 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Iaccarino teaches the razor head according to claim 27, wherein, with respect to the shaving plane (SP) (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above), the third arc-shaped bearing surface is flat (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) and the fourth arc-shaped bearing surface has a convex shape (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above)
Iaccarino does not teach wherein the third arc-shaped bearing surface has a convex shape.
However, Iaccarino does teach that it is well known in the art to have arc-shaped surfaces and for them to have a concave or convex shape (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) similar to those of the instant invention. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the shape of the fourth arc-shaped bearing surface taught by Iaccarino to be convex or concave or any desirable arc shape as it is well known in the art to shape such a surface to provide an arc (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) and MPEP 2144.05(III)(A)).
Regarding claim 29, Iaccarino teaches the razor head according to claim 28, wherein each bearing cavity comprises a bottom wall (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) extending from a position proximate the leading edge (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 5 (Iaccarino) above) towards a geometric center of the razor head (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above), wherein the bottom wall extends under an angle (δ) measured between the bottom wall and the shaving plane (SP), an angle is formed between the bottom wall and the shaving plane as the wall is parallel with the shaving plane, and wherein each bearing cavity comprises a side wall (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above) extending from the bottom wall at a position proximate the geometric center of the razor head substantially in the vertical direction (z) (see annotated image 1 of Fig. 3 (Iaccarino) above).
Response to Arguments
The applicant asserts that claims 14 and 25 have been amended such that the claims overcome the objection of record. The Examiner agrees and withdraws the claim objections of record.
The applicant asserts that the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) anticipation type prior art rejection of record of claim 1 is improper as the prior art of record does not teach all the claimed subject matter, specifically “wherein the pair of bearing cavities are formed between the back side and the pair of first walls” and “the first arc-shaped bearing surface has a convex shape, and wherein the second arc-shaped bearing surface has a concave shape”. The Examiner disagrees.
First, regarding the pair of bearing cavities, the limitation as claimed is broad as the limitation only requires that the cavities be “formed between” the back side and pair of first walls. The Examiner has applied the plain meaning to this limitation which just requires that the cavities be in an area bounded by the back side and the pair of first walls. The applicant’s assertion draws from the specification and relies on relationships between structures not currently claimed in claim 1. As it is improper for the Examiner to import limitations from the specification (see MPEP 2111.01(II)) the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Second, regarding the shape of the arc-shaped bearing surfaces, the applicant asserts that the Examiner referring to a slot where one of the arc-shaped bearing surfaces is located in the prior art is proof that the surface the Examiner identified is not an arc-shaped bearing surface. The Examiner disagrees, the applicant has not claimed a function for the surfaces and the surface need only be capable of being a “bearing surface” which any surface would be capable of. As such, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive and the rejection of record is maintained.
The applicant asserts that the 35 U.S.C. 103 obviousness type prior art rejections of record for claims 15, 17-19, 23, and 25 are improper as Bozikis and Tucker do not cure the deficiencies of Iaccarino. The Examiner disagrees, as discussed above the limitations the applicant asserts are not taught by Iaccarino are broader than the applicant considers and allows for the prior art of Iaccarino to read of the limitations as claimed. As such, the applicant’s assertion is unpersuasive.
Examiner’s Note
To expedite prosecution the Examiner would suggest amending claim 1 to include limitations for the third and fourth arc-shaped bearing surfaces and limitations drawn to how these surfaces allows for the connection of different connecting adaptors drawn from the specification and drawings to avoid any potential new matter issues. Such an amendment would, at least, overcome the prior art rejection of record for claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724