DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 31, 44 and 47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 31 recites “receive, from a base station, an indication of a degree of UE loading for at least one of a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station”. The limitation of “that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station” do not further limit the structure or functionality of the UE apparatus disclosed in the preamble, accordingly do not limit the claim. Similar objection applies to claims 1, 44 and 47.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving”, “means for selecting” and “means for transmitting” in claim 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 31-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the UE”. It is unclear as to which UE it is being referred to as there are two UEs disclosed earlier in the claim (e.g., UE in the preamble and UE loading), rendering the claim indefinite. Similar rejection applies to claims 31, 44 and 47.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, 31, 41, 44 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rao et al. (US 2023/0337269 A1, hereinafter “Rao”).
As to claim 1:
Rao discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (WTRU method; see [0203]-[0218]), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, an indication of a degree of UE loading for at least one of a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211] “a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface)”; [0215] ; [0203]-[0204] note 1: resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator = degree of UE loading, note 2: connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]);
selecting a reconfigurable reflective surface of the plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces for use in the communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may select a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface) as a candidate”; [0215] “the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]-[0204] note: connectivity option = reconfigurable reflective surface, connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) based at least in part on the degree of UE loading of the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“The WTRU may determine the candidate connectivity options, when the criteria for triggering the sensing of the candidate connectivity options are satisfied, based on following sensing techniques… The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211]); and
transmitting a signal to the base station via the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“WTRU Sends Information on Selected Connectivity Options for Ensuring Path Continuity to Serving gNB”; [0218]).
As to claim 11:
Rao further discloses wherein receiving the indication of the degree of UE loading further comprises: receiving a message comprising the indication of the degree of UE loading, the message being a downlink control information message, a radio resource control message, or a medium access control control element message (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0211] “The WTRU may be configured with non-RF signals/resources by the network (e.g. via dedicated RRC signaling, broadcast SIB, MAC CE) for performing data communications and/or positioning/sensing, for example”; [0126]).
As to claim 31:
Rao discloses a user equipment (UE) (WTRU; see [0203]-[0218]), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (“computer-readable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium”; [0376]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (“computer-readable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium. The computer-readable instructions may be executed by a processor of a mobile unit”; see Fig. 1b; [0376]):
receive, from a base station, an indication of a degree of UE loading for at least one of a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211] “a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface)”; [0215] ; [0203]-[0204] note 1: resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator = degree of UE loading, note 2: connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]);
select a reconfigurable reflective surface of the plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces for use in the communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may select a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface) as a candidate”; [0215] “the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]-[0204] note: connectivity option = reconfigurable reflective surface, connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) based at least in part on the degree of UE loading of the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“The WTRU may determine the candidate connectivity options, when the criteria for triggering the sensing of the candidate connectivity options are satisfied, based on following sensing techniques… The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211]); and
transmit a signal to the base station via the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“WTRU Sends Information on Selected Connectivity Options for Ensuring Path Continuity to Serving gNB”; [0218]).
As to claim 41:
Rao further discloses wherein, to receive the indication of the degree of UE loading, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (“computer-readable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium. The computer-readable instructions may be executed by a processor of a mobile unit”; see Fig. 1b; [0376]):
receive a message comprising the indication of the degree of UE loading, the message being a downlink control information message, a radio resource control message, or a medium access control control element message (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0211] “The WTRU may be configured with non-RF signals/resources by the network (e.g. via dedicated RRC signaling, broadcast SIB, MAC CE) for performing data communications and/or positioning/sensing, for example”; [0126]).
As to claim 44:
Rao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to (“computer-readable instructions stored on a computer-readable medium. The computer-readable instructions may be executed by a processor of a mobile unit”; [0376]):
receive, from a base station, an indication of a degree of user equipment (UE) loading for at least one of a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211] “a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface)”; [0215] ; [0203]-[0204] note 1: resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator = degree of UE loading, note 2: connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]);
select a reconfigurable reflective surface of the plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces for use in the communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may select a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface) as a candidate”; [0215] “the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]-[0204] note: connectivity option = reconfigurable reflective surface, connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) based at least in part on the degree of UE loading of the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“The WTRU may determine the candidate connectivity options, when the criteria for triggering the sensing of the candidate connectivity options are satisfied, based on following sensing techniques… The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211]); and
transmit a signal to the base station via the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“WTRU Sends Information on Selected Connectivity Options for Ensuring Path Continuity to Serving gNB”; [0218]).
As to claim 47:
Rao discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (WTRU; see [0203]-[0218]), comprising:
means for receiving (“a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122”; Fig. 1B [0031]), from a base station, an indication of a degree of UE loading for at least one of a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces (“The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211] “a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface)”; [0215] ; [0203]-[0204] note 1: resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator = degree of UE loading, note 2: connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) that are configured to assist in communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]);
means for selecting (“processor 118”; Fig. 1B [0031]) a reconfigurable reflective surface of the plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces for use in the communications between the UE and the base station (“the WTRU may select a connectivity option (e.g. reflective surface) as a candidate”; [0215] “the WTRU may perform XR related sensing to determine one or more alternative connectivity options for either extending the existing connectivity to the serving cell (e.g. serving gNB) or establishing new connectivity to a target cell (e.g. target gNB). The alternative connectivity options that may be determined by the WTRU may include alternative beams, cells, relay nodes, TRPs, sidelink relay WTRUs and intelligent reflective surfaces, for example”; [0203]-[0204] note: connectivity option = reconfigurable reflective surface, connectivity options = reconfigurable reflective surfaces) based at least in part on the degree of UE loading of the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“The WTRU may determine the candidate connectivity options, when the criteria for triggering the sensing of the candidate connectivity options are satisfied, based on following sensing techniques… The WTRU may receive the resources for sending probing transmissions and other configuration parameters on accessing connectivity options (e.g. number of probing transmissions, amount of resources for sending reference signals, periodicity configured for sending reference signals, Tx power, RACH occasions, beam indicator) from the serving cell during configuration of the criteria for triggering the sensing, for example”; [0210]-[0211]); and
means for transmitting (“a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122”; Fig. 1B [0031]) a signal to the base station via the selected reconfigurable reflective surface (“WTRU Sends Information on Selected Connectivity Options for Ensuring Path Continuity to Serving gNB”; [0218]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 12-13, 32-40, 42-43 and 45-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476