DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/29/2025. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11, 13-15, 18, 21-22, 24, 26-30, 32-36, 38 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment filed 10/29/25, the objection to claim 33 is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, the cited references, taken alone or in combination fail to disclose or teach all limitations of claim 1 for the following reasons. First, Weng fails to disclose "configuring, by a network device, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI)" recited in claim 1. Weng records: [then applicant has reproduced paragraphs of Weng reference, and argues] … As can be seen from the above content of Weng, the paragraph [271] of Weng at most involves: performing blind detection based on a common search space, but Weng is silent about: configuring, by a network device, a common search space set which is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI). (Remarks pages 15-17).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the prior art of record discloses all the elements of claims. The Weng references paragraphs presented in the arguments by applicant with added emphasis fails to prove that the broad claim elements are no disclosed by the prior art. Rather the arguments are general allegations that the art is not teachings the claims. First, it is to be seen that the claims broadly recite, configuring a first resource set, without any further details or requirements about the configuration, second, the first resource set is used to carry PEI, and then, first resource set includes one of the cited options; the Weng refence discloses all the elements of the claim(s). Weng discloses configuring, by a network device, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI) (see para 271,286; see figures; para 301,329-331,341,344,345,346); certain paragraphs of Weng are reproduced below with added emphasis, for convenience:
{[0270] On a per subframe basis, UEs in the RRC_CONNECTED state generally need to check only the UE-specific DCIs. The location of a UE-specific DCI may be determined by the assigned RNTI, although a UE-specific DCI may also be located in the common search space of the PDCCH. However, the location also depends on the number of control channel elements (CCE) used by the eNB. A CCE can be regarded as a group of resource elements for the control channel transmission. Several CCEs can be aggregated together to carry one DCI. The number of aggregation levels is from a finite set {1, 2, 4, 8} but the aggregation level used for a particular DCI transmission is unknown to UEs. As a result, each UE needs to search the possible locations for a possible PDCCH detection and use the CRC check as a pass flag to determine if the detection attempt is successful.
[0286] An Early Paging Indicator (EPI) occasion is an opportunity to transmit an EPI. For each existing paging occasion, the EPI occasion is ahead of the existing paging occasion. For the purpose of this description, the configuration parameter "timeOffsetEpi", measured in subframes, defines how far the EPI occasion is ahead of the existing paging occasion. Here, the configuration parameter "timeOffsetEpi" is configured by eNB and broadcast to UEs (one "timeOffsetEpi" per cell). The setting of timeOffsetEpi mainly depends on the UE demodulation time of the EPI, which may vary from less than one ms to several ms, and this is determined by the physical structure of the EPI to be described in the next subsection.
[0301] In this alternative approach (i.e. a positive EPI indicates the absence of a paging message), certain downlink transmission resources (e.g. one or more physical resource blocks that would otherwise be used for PDSCH transmissions) can be allocated for EPI transmissions. In the event that the cell suddenly becomes heavily loaded, some or all of those EPI resources can then be immediately taken back to be used for data transmission (on the PDSCH). UEs which normally receive an EPI signal on those re-designated resources would essentially see what appears to be random noise (rather than a phase-continuous tone signal, more detailed examples will be described herein later). This would result in a negative EPI indication, which would consequently cause the UEs to fall back to the existing method of paging reception. After the downlink traffic loading in the cell decreases, the eNB can restore the normal EPI transmissions on the designated EPI resources, and the EPI-enabled UEs will automatically go back to receiving the EPI indicator in the usual fashion. Note that this temporary auto-reconfiguration will occur automatically at the UEs and does not require any over-the-air signalling, but still results in robust paging operation for the UEs. It also allows the eNB to switch downlink resources between EPI signalling and data traffic transmission in a very flexible manner that allows for rapid adaptation to the current traffic load. In fact, this approach can allow the eNB to allocate even more downlink resources for EPI signalling than would otherwise be used in a fixed EPI configuration, since these resources can be easily re-allocated for data transmission as required. It also allows for some, rather than all, resources to be reallocated for data transmission and then to recover those resources after the network load decreases.}
As clearly seen from the emphasized portions of Weng above, the configuration of transmission resources as allocated and taken back based on the load, and the resources are used to carry EPI or PEI. The claimed first resource set configuration is clearly taught by the Weng reference.
Applicant argues that, Second, Weng fails to disclose "wherein the first resource set includes at least one of the following: …" recited in claim 1 … In claim 1, a first common control resource set or a first subset of a common search space set included in the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI). Although Weng mentions about common search space of the PDCCH and that some PDCCH subcarriers are "stolen" for the EPI transmission, Weng does not provide any teaching or suggestion about that some PDCCH subcarriers in the common search space of the PDCCH are "stolen" for the EPI transmission. (Remarks pages 18-19)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior art also discloses the optional claim language. Firstly, this is noted that the argument, ‘In claim 1, a first common control resource set or a first subset of a common search space set included in the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI)’ is a misdirected statement. Claim(s) do not recite ‘a first subset of a common search space set included in the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI)’ rather claims recite, ‘the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI)’, and the first resource set includes one of the recited options. Secondly, the arguments that ‘Weng does not provide any teaching or suggestion about that some PDCCH subcarriers in the common search space of the PDCCH are "stolen" for the EPI transmission’ is misrepresentation of the prior art teachings, as cited to read on and in view of the claim language. Claim language requires, first resource set includes at least one of, a first common control resource set or a first subset of a common search space set. Weng reference discloses first resource set includes at least one of, a first common control resource set or a first subset of a common search space set [see para 243,270,271,328-329], reproduced below: [0243] PDCCH detection: Paging messages can be identified by searching within the common search space of the PDCCH for DCI 1C and 1A allocations whose CRCs have been scrambled with the P-RNTI (Table 7.1-2 of TS36.213 [4]).
[0270]… DCI may also be located in the common search space of the PDCCH… [0271]… a total of 6 possible PDCCH candidate locations need to be checked in the common search space.. [0329]… PDCCH resource elements (subcarriers) are "stolen" for the EPI transmission…
From the above discussion it is clear that the prior art reasonably discloses all the broad claim elements. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,14,27,33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al. (US 2012/0122495).
Regarding claim 1:
Weng discloses a resource configuring method and system (abstract; figures), comprising:
configuring, by a network device, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI) (see para 271,286; para 301 partially reproduced herein below {physical resource blocks that would otherwise be used for PDSCH transmissions) can be allocated for EPI transmissions… reconfiguration will occur automatically at the UEs…}; para 329-331; see figures; para 341,344,345,346);
wherein the first resource set includes at least one of the following:
a first control resource set zero; a first common control resource set; a first search space set zero; a first common search space set; a first subset of a control resource set zero; a first subset of a common control resource set; a first subset of a search space set zero; or a first subset of a common search space set ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 243; para 271,328-329 [common search space for the PDCCH from which REs/subcarriers are stolen for EPI transmission]).
Regarding claim 14:
Weng discloses a resource obtaining method and system (abstract; figures), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI) (see figures; para 271,286; para 301 partially reproduced herein below {physical resource blocks that would otherwise be used for PDSCH transmissions) can be allocated for EPI transmissions… reconfiguration will occur automatically at the UEs…}; para 329-331; see figures; para 341,344,345,346);
wherein the first resource set includes at least one of the following:
a first control resource set zero; a first common control resource set; a first search space set zero; a first common search space set; a first subset of a control resource set zero; a first subset of a common control resource set; a first subset of a search space set zero; or a first subset of a common search space set ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 243; para 271,328-329 [common search space for the PDCCH from which REs/subcarriers are stolen for EPI transmission]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 27:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claim 1 and further discloses a resource configuring device for performing the method according to claim 1, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is used to store a computer program; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor; the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory and perform the (figs 2-3,14,15; para 85; para 131-135 [memory, transmitter/receiver, processor]; para 155-162; and throughout disclosure); thus subject matter of claim 27 is rejected with similar rationale under the teachings of the prior art as above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 33:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above for claims 1,14 and further discloses a resource obtaining device, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor (figs 2-3,14,15; para 85; para 131-135 [memory, transmitter/receiver, processor]; para 155-162; and throughout disclosure); thus the subject matter of claim 33 is rejected with similar rationale under the teachings of the prior art as above for claim 1,14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,5,8,13,15,18,21,26,28,29,34,35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al. (US 2012/0122495) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0209464).
Regarding claim 2,15:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that transmitting, by the network device, the PEI according to the first resource set; or, configuring, by the network device, a second resource set, and transmitting a paging message according to the second resource set.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication where transmitting, by the network device, the PEI according to the first resource set; or, configuring, by the network device, a second resource set, and transmitting a paging message according to the second resource set (para 140 {PEI) is a cell-specific signaling. The monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or associated control resource set) may be a common monitoring occasion (e.g., common search space and/or common resource control set}; figures; para 141, 155,233; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 5,18,28,34:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the configuring the first resource set, includes: according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB), configuring the first resource set;
or, according to reference information, configuring the first resource set; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; or, a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource; wherein the reference signal includes at least one of the following: a paging message; a synchronization signal; a tracking reference signal (TRS); or, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS);wherein the reference resource includes: a second resource set, wherein the second resource set is a resource set for transmitting a paging message.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the configuring the first resource set, includes: according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB), configuring the first resource set;
or, according to reference information, configuring the first resource set; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; or, a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource; wherein the reference signal includes at least one of the following: a paging message; a synchronization signal; a tracking reference signal (TRS); or, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS);wherein the reference resource includes: a second resource set, wherein the second resource set is a resource set for transmitting a paging message ([note: optional claim language]; see para 51 [MIB, SIB]; para 63,73; and see throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 8,21,29,35:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein according to reference information, configuring the first resource set, includes: configuring at least one of time-domain location information and frequency-domain location information of the first resource set, by using a preset mapping function, according to the reference information; wherein the time-domain location information includes at least one of a time-domain location of a time-domain resource unit, and offset information of the time-domain location of the time-domain resource unit relative to a time-domain location of the reference information; and the time-domain resource unit includes at least one of a radio frame, a subframe, a slot and a symbol; wherein the frequency-domain location information includes at least one of a frequency- domain location of a frequency-domain resource unit, and offset information of the frequency- domain location of the frequency-domain resource unit relative to a frequency-domain location of the reference information; and the frequency-domain resource unit includes at least one of a resource block group, a resource block, a resource unit group, and a frequency-domain location of a resource unit; or, according to association relationship between beam information of the reference information and beam information of the first resource set, configuring a time-domain resource of a beam of the first resource set by using a preset mapping function.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein according to reference information, configuring the first resource set, includes: configuring at least one of time-domain location information and frequency-domain location information of the first resource set, by using a preset mapping function, according to the reference information; wherein the time-domain location information includes at least one of a time-domain location of a time-domain resource unit, and offset information of the time-domain location of the time-domain resource unit relative to a time-domain location of the reference information; and the time-domain resource unit includes at least one of a radio frame, a subframe, a slot and a symbol; wherein the frequency-domain location information includes at least one of a frequency- domain location of a frequency-domain resource unit, and offset information of the frequency- domain location of the frequency-domain resource unit relative to a frequency-domain location of the reference information; and the frequency-domain resource unit includes at least one of a resource block group, a resource block, a resource unit group, and a frequency-domain location of a resource unit; or, according to association relationship between beam information of the reference information and beam information of the first resource set, configuring a time-domain resource of a beam of the first resource set by using a preset mapping function (para 94-95; figs; para 167 {… time location/offset for starting to monitor the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI)}; and see throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 13,26:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first resource set overlaps with a third resource set, or, the first resource set is a subset of the third resource set; the third resource set includes at least one of the following: a paging search space set; a random access search space set; a search space set zero; or, a system message search space set.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the first resource set overlaps with a third resource set, or, the first resource set is a subset of the third resource set; the third resource set includes at least one of the following: a paging search space set; a random access search space set; a search space set zero; or, a system message search space set (para 112 [POs for CN-initiated paging may overlap with POs for RAN-initiated]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,11,22,24,30,32,36,38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631