DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the RCE filed 4/27/26 with corresponding claims filed on 4/1/2026. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 11, 13-15, 18, 21-22, 24, 26-27, 29-30, 32-33, 35-36, 38 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection as set forth below in this office communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,14,27,33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al. (US 2012/0122495) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2023/0300789).
Regarding claim 1:
Weng discloses a resource configuring method and system (abstract; figures), comprising:
configuring, by a network device, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI) (see para 271,286; para 301 partially reproduced herein below {physical resource blocks that would otherwise be used for PDSCH transmissions) can be allocated for EPI transmissions… reconfiguration will occur automatically at the UEs…}; para 329-331; see figures; para 341,344,345,346);
wherein the first resource set includes at least one of the following:
a first control resource set zero; a first common control resource set; a first search space set zero; a first common search space set; a first subset of a control resource set zero; a first subset of a common control resource set; a first subset of a search space set zero; or a first subset of a common search space set ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 243; para 271,328-329 [common search space for the PDCCH from which REs/subcarriers are stolen for EPI transmission]).
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the configuring the first resource set, includes:
according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB), configuring the first resource set; or,
according to reference information, configuring the first resource set; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; or, a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource.
However, Hwang in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the configuring the first resource set, includes:
according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB), configuring the first resource set; or,
according to reference information, configuring the first resource set; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; or, a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 80 {resource set (CORESET) configuration to a UE (S502). A CORESET is defined as a resource element group (REG) set having a given numerology …A CORESET may be configured by system information (e.g., a master information block (MIB)) .. configuration information about a specific common CORESET (e.g., CORESET #0) may be transmitted in the MIB. For example, a PDSCH carrying system information block 1 (SIB1) may be scheduled by a specific PDCCH}; para 213 {..SIB and may be included as a lower element in configuration information related to the PEI}; figs 5,9-12; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Hwang in Weng in order to advantageously providing scheduling flexibility for cross-slot scheduling [5-19] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 14:
Weng discloses a resource obtaining method and system (abstract; figures), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal, a first resource set, wherein the first resource set is used to carry a paging early indication (PEI) (see figures; para 271,286; para 301 partially reproduced herein below {physical resource blocks that would otherwise be used for PDSCH transmissions) can be allocated for EPI transmissions… reconfiguration will occur automatically at the UEs…}; para 329-331; see figures; para 341,344,345,346);
wherein the first resource set includes at least one of the following:
a first control resource set zero; a first common control resource set; a first search space set zero; a first common search space set; a first subset of a control resource set zero; a first subset of a common control resource set; a first subset of a search space set zero; or a first subset of a common search space set ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 243; para 271,328-329 [common search space for the PDCCH from which REs/subcarriers are stolen for EPI transmission]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the obtaining the first resource set, includes:
obtaining the first resource set according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB); or,
obtaining the first resource set according to reference information; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource.
However, Hwang in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the obtaining the first resource set, includes:
obtaining the first resource set according to a master information block (MIB) or system information block (SIB); or,
obtaining the first resource set according to reference information; wherein the reference information includes at least one of the following: resource information of a reference signal; resource information of a reference resource; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference signal; a parameter for determining resource information of a reference resource ([Note: the optional claim language requires one of the elements]; see para 80 {resource set (CORESET) configuration to a UE (S502). A CORESET is defined as a resource element group (REG) set having a given numerology …A CORESET may be configured by system information (e.g., a master information block (MIB)) .. configuration information about a specific common CORESET (e.g., CORESET #0) may be transmitted in the MIB. For example, a PDSCH carrying system information block 1 (SIB1) may be scheduled by a specific PDCCH}; para 213 {..SIB and may be included as a lower element in configuration information related to the PEI}; figs 5,9-12; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Hwang in Weng in order to advantageously providing scheduling flexibility for cross-slot scheduling [5-19] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 27:
Weng et al disclose all of the subject matter as described above in claim 1 and further discloses a resource configuring device for performing the method according to claim 1, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor; wherein the memory is used to store a computer program; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor; the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory and perform the (figs 2-3,14,15; para 85; para 131-135 [memory, transmitter/receiver, processor]; para 155-162; and throughout disclosure); thus subject matter of claim 27 is rejected with similar rationale under the combined teachings of the prior art as above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 33:
Weng et al disclose all of the subject matter as described above in claims 1,14 and further discloses a resource obtaining device, comprising: a memory, a transceiver and a processor (figs 2-3,14,15; para 85; para 131-135 [memory, transmitter/receiver, processor]; para 155-162; and throughout disclosure); thus the subject matter of claim 33 is rejected with similar rationale under combined teachings of the prior art as above for claim 1,14.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8-9, 11, 13,15, 18, 21-22, 24, 26, 29-30, 32, 35-36, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weng et al. (US 2012/0122495) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2023/0300789) as above and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0209464).
Regarding claim 2,15:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that transmitting, by the network device, the PEI according to the first resource set; or, configuring, by the network device, a second resource set, and transmitting a paging message according to the second resource set.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication where transmitting, by the network device, the PEI according to the first resource set; or, configuring, by the network device, a second resource set, and transmitting a paging message according to the second resource set (para 140 {PEI) is a cell-specific signaling. The monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or associated control resource set) may be a common monitoring occasion (e.g., common search space and/or common resource control set}; figures; para 141, 155,233; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 5,18:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that
wherein the reference signal includes at least one of the following [Note: the element ‘reference signal’ is relating to the optional element in independent claim, that is not required and considered for rejection, thus this claim elements are optional and not positively recited, thus not required for rejection]: a paging message; a synchronization signal; a tracking reference signal (TRS); or, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS);wherein the reference resource includes: a second resource set, wherein the second resource set is a resource set for transmitting a paging message.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the reference signal includes at least one of the following: a paging message; a synchronization signal; a tracking reference signal (TRS); or, a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS);wherein the reference resource includes: a second resource set, wherein the second resource set is a resource set for transmitting a paging message ([note: optional claim language]; see para 77-80 [paging message]; para 152,192 [CSI-RS]; and see throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claim 8,21,29,35:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein according to reference information, configuring the first resource set, includes [Note: the element ‘reference information’ is relating to the optional element in independent claim, that is not required and considered for rejection, thus this claim elements are optional and not positively recited, thus not required for rejection]: configuring at least one of time-domain location information and frequency-domain location information of the first resource set, by using a preset mapping function, according to the reference information; wherein the time-domain location information includes at least one of a time-domain location of a time-domain resource unit, and offset information of the time-domain location of the time-domain resource unit relative to a time-domain location of the reference information; and the time-domain resource unit includes at least one of a radio frame, a subframe, a slot and a symbol; wherein the frequency-domain location information includes at least one of a frequency- domain location of a frequency-domain resource unit, and offset information of the frequency- domain location of the frequency-domain resource unit relative to a frequency-domain location of the reference information; and the frequency-domain resource unit includes at least one of a resource block group, a resource block, a resource unit group, and a frequency-domain location of a resource unit; or, according to association relationship between beam information of the reference information and beam information of the first resource set, configuring a time-domain resource of a beam of the first resource set by using a preset mapping function.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein according to reference information, configuring the first resource set, includes: configuring at least one of time-domain location information and frequency-domain location information of the first resource set, by using a preset mapping function, according to the reference information; wherein the time-domain location information includes at least one of a time-domain location of a time-domain resource unit, and offset information of the time-domain location of the time-domain resource unit relative to a time-domain location of the reference information; and the time-domain resource unit includes at least one of a radio frame, a subframe, a slot and a symbol; wherein the frequency-domain location information includes at least one of a frequency- domain location of a frequency-domain resource unit, and offset information of the frequency- domain location of the frequency-domain resource unit relative to a frequency-domain location of the reference information; and the frequency-domain resource unit includes at least one of a resource block group, a resource block, a resource unit group, and a frequency-domain location of a resource unit; or, according to association relationship between beam information of the reference information and beam information of the first resource set, configuring a time-domain resource of a beam of the first resource set by using a preset mapping function (para 94-95; figs; para 167 {… time location/offset for starting to monitor the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI)}; and see throughout disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Regarding claims 9,22,30,36:
Weng et al discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein in case [contingent limitation] of configuring at least one of time-domain location information and frequency-domain location information of the first resource set, by using a preset mapping function, according to the reference information, the preset mapping function includes at least one of the following [Note: the element ‘reference information’ and further limitations is/are relating to the optional element in independent claim, that is not required and considered for rejection, thus this claim elements are optional and not positively recited, thus not required for rejection]: a first mapping function, a second mapping function, or a third mapping function; wherein the first mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a radio frame corresponding to the reference information and a radio frame of the first resource set; wherein the second mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a slot of the first resource set and at least one of a radio frame, a subframe and a slot corresponding to the reference information; wherein the third mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a symbol of the first resource set and at least one of a radio frame, a subframe, a slot and a symbol corresponding to the reference information (Hwang para 76-77; Tsai para 167; and throughout).
Regarding claims 11,24,32,38:
Weng et al discloses all of the subject matter as described above wherein in case [contingent limitation] of according to association relationship between beam information of the reference information and beam information of the first resource set, configuring a time-domain resource of a beam of the first resource set by using a preset mapping function, the preset mapping function includes at least one of the following [Note: the element ‘reference information’ and further limitations is/are relating to the optional element in independent claim, that is not required and considered for rejection, thus this claim elements are optional and not positively recited, thus not required for rejection]: a fourth mapping function, a fifth mapping function, a sixth mapping function, a seventh mapping function and/or an eighth mapping function; the fourth mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a radio frame corresponding to a beam of the reference information and a radio frame of a beam of the first resource set; the fifth mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a slot of a beam of the first resource set and at least one of a slot and subframe corresponding to a beam of the reference information; the sixth mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a first time-domain location corresponding to a beam of the reference information and a time-domain location of a beam of the first resource set; wherein the first time-domain location is a time- domain location of an i-th valid monitoring opportunity corresponding to the reference information, where i is greater than or equal to 1; the seventh mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a first parameter and a radio frame of a beam of the first resource set; the first parameter is a parameter for determining a radio frame corresponding to a beam of a reference signal or a reference resource; the eighth mapping function is used to indicate a mapping relationship between a second parameter and a slot of a beam of the first resource set; the second parameter is a parameter for determining at least one of a slot or subframe corresponding to a beam of a reference signal or a reference resource (Hwang para 135; Tsai para 116; and throughout).
Regarding claim 13,26:
Weng discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that wherein the first resource set overlaps with a third resource set, or, the first resource set is a subset of the third resource set; the third resource set includes at least one of the following: a paging search space set; a random access search space set; a search space set zero; or, a system message search space set.
However, Tsai in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein the first resource set overlaps with a third resource set, or, the first resource set is a subset of the third resource set; the third resource set includes at least one of the following: a paging search space set; a random access search space set; a search space set zero; or, a system message search space set (para 112 [POs for CN-initiated paging may overlap with POs for RAN-initiated]; and see throughout the disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Tsai in Weng in order to provide power saving operation with the configuration indicating search space and determining to monitor PO [5,6] (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Conclusion
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631