DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed 7/31/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-22, and 24-31 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in a reply filed 7/31/2026 have been considered and they are persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10, 15, 17-20, 26, 29, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. “Random Shifting Intelligent Reflecting Surface for OTP Encrypted Data Transmission” (hereinafter “Ji”) and in view of Zhou et al. US 20230318177 (hereinafter “Zhou”) and in further view of Bengtsson et al. US 20220216909 (hereinafter “Bengtsson”)
As to claim 1 and 30 (claim 1 is the method claim for the apparatus in claim 30):
Ji discloses:
A method of wireless communications by a first wireless node, (“Our proposed system model consists of a single-antenna base station (Alice) and a single-antenna user (Bob)”, Ji [section 2, Line 1])
comprising:
transmitting one or more second RSs to the second wireless node for generating a first
key at the second wireless node, (“Alice and Bob exchange pilots durig the first 2Q time slots, assisted by Rose which simply reflects the transmission with a random set of phase shifts in each uplink and downlink round”, Ji [Section 3]) (“Based on (5), Alice and Bob can determine relevant parameters and generate keys”, Ji [Section 3]) (“We note that since the keys have been shared between Alice and Bob, this encrypted data transmission stage can be either uplink or downlink”, Ji [Section 3]) (Examiner’s Note: this limitation was interpreted as a UE transmitting reference signal to a base station or “second wireless node” for generating encryption keys. This limitation is taught by Ji because Alice/base station and Bob/UE exchange pilots or reference signals to “determine relevant parameters and generate keys” and Ji further mentions that the keys are shared between Alice/base station and Bob/UE for both uplink and downlink transmission)
generating a second key based at least in part on a quantization of the one or more first
RSs; and communicating, based on the second key, with the second wireless node. (”Based on (5), Alice and Bob can determine relevant parameters and generate keys. We note that standard key generation processing such as equally likely quantization, reconciliation and privacy amplification should be considered as in [7].”, Ji [section 3, paragraph 2]) (After key generation, the data to be transmitted is encrypted by XORing with the generated keys using the OTP approach, and then we consider that the ciphertext is transmitted at the maximum rate for the IRS-assisted system using maximum rate transmission (MRT) as considered in [1]. We note that since the keys have been shared between Alice and Bob, this encrypted data transmission stage can be either uplink or downlink.”, Ji [section 3, paragraph 3])
Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
receiving one or more first reference signals (RSs) as reflections off a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) from a second wireless node based on a first precoding applied at the RIS
However, Zhou further teaches receiving reference signals based on a precoding which includes:
receiving one or more first reference signals (RSs) as reflections off a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) from a second wireless node based on a first precoding applied at the RIS (“calculate a first precoding matrix based on channel estimations of the multiple integrated sub-channels obtained by the electronic device according to the first aspect; and calculate the reflection parameters of the intelligent reflecting surface and a second precoding matrix of the first communication device based on the first precoding matrix, so that an equivalent precoding matrix generated based on the calculated reflection parameters and the second precoding matrix is similar to the first precoding matrix.”, Zhou [0011]) (“the second communication device is for acquiring one piece of channel information based on a received reference signal transmitted from the first communication device and a reflection signal sent by an intelligent reflecting surface between the first communication device and the second communication device reflecting the reference signal based on a set of reflection parameters; and determining, by jointly processing multiple sets of reflection parameters utilized in the multiple channel measurements and the multiple pieces of acquired channel information, channel estimation of multiple integrated sub-channels that characterize the equivalent channel together with reflection parameters of the intelligent reflecting surface.”, Zhou [0013])
Ji and Zhou are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving reference signals based on a precoding as described in Zhou into Ji. By modifying the method to include receiving reference signals based on a precoding as taught by Zhou, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013] and Ji [section 1, line 4]) are achieved.
The combination of Ji and Zhou as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more first RSs are received as reflections off the RIS using a subset of reflection elements at the RIS, and wherein the one or more second RSs are transmitted to the second wireless node as reflections off the RIS using the subset of reflection elements at the RIS;
However, Bengtsson further reflecting signals using the same subset of reflection elements in both directions which includes:
wherein the one or more first RSs are received as reflections off the RIS using a subset of reflection elements at the RIS, and wherein the one or more second RSs are transmitted to the second wireless node as reflections off the RIS using the subset of reflection elements at the RIS; (FIG. 6E shows the same subset of reflection elements being used by D1 and D2/D3 to communicate, Bengtsson)(“An example is shown in the perspective view of FIG. 6E, in which four panel devices in a respective subset 1B, 1C are coherently operated to reflect RF signals between D1 and D2, and between D1 and D3, respectively. The panel devices may assign themselves to a group based on current values of the above-mentioned signal quality parameters for incoming RF signals from different communication devices. For example, the panel devices in subset 1B may have a larger current value for RF signals from D1 and D2 than for RF signals from D1 and D3, whereas the opposite is true for the panel devices in subset 1C”, Bengtsson [0060]) (FIG. 9 shows reference signals being reflected between slave devices using a reflective panel, Bengtsson)
Ji, Bengtsson, and Zhou are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reflecting signals using the same subset of reflection elements in both directions as described in Bengtsson into Ji as modified by Zhou. By modifying the method to include reflecting signals using the same subset of reflection elements in both directions as taught by Bengtsson, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013] and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting the one or more second RSs based on a second precoding applied at the RIS.
However, Zhou further teaches receiving reference signals based on a precoding which includes:
further comprising transmitting the one or more second RSs based on a second precoding applied at the RIS. (“FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating an equivalent channel in a wireless communication system assisted by an intelligent reflecting surface. The wireless communication system shown in FIG. 3 includes a first communication device BS, a second communication device UE, and an intelligent reflecting surface IRS arranged on a building between the BS and the UE. The intelligent reflecting surface IRS may include M reflection units (where M is a natural number greater than 1). Under the control of a control circuit (not shown) of the IRS, these reflection units receive control information about reflection parameters from the BS, for example, via a control link shown in dashed line, and modify an amplitude and/or a phase of a signal sent by the BS based on M reflection parameters respectively, so as to transmit a reflection signal receivable by the UE. Here, although the first communication device is shown as a base station, the first communication device may also be any network-side device such as a TRP.”, Zhou [0101])
Ji and Zhou are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving reference signals based on a precoding as described in Zhou into Ji. By modifying the method to include receiving reference signals based on a precoding as taught by Zhou, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013] and Ji [section 1, line 4]) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first precoding or the second precoding is selected by a controller associated with the RIS.
However, Zhou further teaches selecting a precoding associated with the RIS which includes:
The method of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first precoding or the second precoding is selected by a controller associated with the RIS. (“calculate a first precoding matrix based on channel estimations of the multiple integrated sub-channels obtained by the electronic device according to the first aspect; and calculate the reflection parameters of the intelligent reflecting surface and a second precoding matrix of the first communication device based on the first precoding matrix, so that an equivalent precoding matrix generated based on the calculated reflection parameters and the second precoding matrix is similar to the first precoding matrix.”, Zhou [0011]) (“In addition, the reflection parameter determining module 421 may also adopt a Hadamard matrix design for the training matrix Σ, for example. For example, values of the M reflection parameters utilized in each reflection may be selected from M matrix elements except a first row among matrix elements of an L-order Hadamard matrix.”, Zhou [0160])
Ji and Zhou are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting a precoding associated with the RIS as described in Zhou into Ji. By modifying the method to include selecting a precoding associated with the RIS as taught by Zhou, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013] and Ji [section 1, line 4]) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of the first precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting the one or more first RSs or a second precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting the one or more second RSs.
However, Zhou further teaches indication of selecting a precoding associated with the RIS which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of the first precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting the one or more first RSs or a second precoding to use at the RIS for reflecting the one or more second RSs. (“FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram illustrating an equivalent channel in a wireless communication system assisted by an intelligent reflecting surface. The wireless communication system shown in FIG. 3 includes a first communication device BS, a second communication device UE, and an intelligent reflecting surface IRS arranged on a building between the BS and the UE. The intelligent reflecting surface IRS may include M reflection units (where M is a natural number greater than 1). Under the control of a control circuit (not shown) of the IRS, these reflection units receive control information about reflection parameters from the BS, for example, via a control link shown in dashed line, and modify an amplitude and/or a phase of a signal sent by the BS based on M reflection parameters respectively, so as to transmit a reflection signal receivable by the UE. Here, although the first communication device is shown as a base station, the first communication device may also be any network-side device such as a TRP.”, Zhou [0101])
Ji and Zhou are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of selecting a precoding associated with the RIS as described in Zhou into Ji. By modifying the method to include indication of selecting a precoding associated with the RIS as taught by Zhou, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013] and Ji [section 1, line 4]) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Ji discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein, the RIS comprises a plurality of RISs; and receiving the one or more first RSs comprises receiving the one or more first RSs as the reflections reflected off the plurality of RISs; (“By adaptively adjusting phase shifts of large-scale passive reflecting elements, IRS can reconfigure the electromagnetic propagation environment of wireless devices, thereby improving their communication performance [3]”, Ji [section 1, line 4])
As to claim 17:
Ji discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the second key comprises generating the second key with a random number generator, and a seed for the random number generator includes the quantization. (“Let Θ(q) = diag(ej θ1,q , ej θ2,q , . . . , ej θN,q ) denote the diagonal IRS phase shifting matrix in the qth round of channel training, where q = 1, 2, . . . ,Q. θn,q denotes the discrete phase shift introduced by the nth reflecting element, which is generated based on an independent random variable (RV) uniformly distributed in a set of discrete values {0, 2π 2B , . . . , (2B−1)2π 2B}, where B is the number of quantization bits for phase shifts.”, Ji [section 3, paragraph 1])
As to claim 18:
Ji discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein, at least one of: communicating with the second wireless node comprises encrypting one or more first messages with the second key and outputting, for transmission to the second wireless node, the encrypted one or more first messages;
communicating with the second wireless node comprises obtaining, from the second wireless node, one or more second messages and decrypting the one or more second messages with the second key or a third key associated with the second key;
or the one or more first or second messages include at least one of downlink control information, uplink control information, or sidelink control information. (Fig. 1. Time slot allocation for the IRS-assisted secret key generation phase and the OTP encrypted data transmission phase, Ji)
As to claim 19:
Ji discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein communicating with the second wireless node comprises encrypting at least one of a downlink channel, an uplink channel, or a sidelink channel with the second key. (FIG. 1 shows encrypting uplink and downlink channel, Ji)
As to claim 20:
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network entity.
As to claim 26:
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 10 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 29:
Claim 29 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 15 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 31:
Ji discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first key generated at the second wireless node matches the second key generated at the first wireless node. (“Assume that cr2 = cr2 = cr2 = cr2 and g(,i) = g(,i) are the reciprocal combined channels for Alice and Bob to generate shared keys.”, Ji [Section 3]) (Examiner’s Note: the specification of the instant application mentions that “channel reciprocity” allows the BS to derive the key generated at the UE – this is taught by Ji)
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11, 12, 21, 22, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Zhou and Bengtsson, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Haghighat et al. US 20240178883 (hereinafter “Haghighat”)
As to claim 3:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of the subset of the reflection elements at the RIS to use for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs.
However, Haghighat further teaches indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals which includes:
The method of claim 2, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of the subset of the reflection elements at the RIS to use for reflecting at least one of the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. (“the Tx unit selects the best unit cell candidates by transmitting information representative of unit cell selection (e.g., a bitmap, a list of indices of selected unit cells) to the NP-RIS controller via a dedicated control link.”, Haghighat [0115]) (“FIG. 23 is a flow chart of a method implemented in a wireless transmit-receive unit (WTRU), according to an embodiment. In 2301, first and second configuration information is received. The first configuration information indicates a configuration of reference signals. The first configuration may be in the form of a single configuration for multiple reference signals, or in the form of multiple first configuration information per reference signal. The second configuration information indicates configuration of reference information (e.g., matrices) associated with a set of unit-cells of a configurable reflective surface (RIS). In 2302, the reference signals are received according to the first configuration information. In 2303, a sub-set of unit-cells of the configurable reflective surface is selected from the reference information, the selection being based on measurements performed by the WTRU on the received reference signals. In 2304, a reporting message is transmitted (a report is transmitted), the reporting message (the report) comprising information related to the selected sub-set of unit-cells of the configurable reflective surface.”, Haghighat [0227])
Ji, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Haghighat are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as described in Haghighat into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as taught by Haghighat, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Haghighat [0227], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 3, wherein the indication further indicates to use the subset of the reflection elements at the RIS with one or more channels.
However, Haghighat further teaches indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals which includes:
The method of claim 3, wherein the indication further indicates to use the subset of the reflection elements at the RIS with one or more channels.(“According to a further embodiment compatible with the previously described method for improvement of reception of radio signals in a targeted area, the Rx unit assists the Tx unit in selection of unit cells on the NP-RIS: [0119] Assuming availability of some information about channels h.sub.2 and h.sub.3, and also some knowledge of the phase settings of the NP-RIS, e.g., by configuration by the Tx unit, [0120] the Rx unit may perform subset selection of the NP-RIS unit cells e.g., from a collection of subsets known or identified to the Rx unit; and [0121] report the selection to the Tx unit. The report may be, for example, in the form of an index (or index list), a bit map, carried, for example, in a Channel Status Information (CSI) report.”, Haghighat [0118])
Ji, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Haghighat are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as described in Haghighat into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as taught by Haghighat, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Haghighat [0227], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 3, wherein the indication includes a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, wherein the bitmap indicates which elements are enabled for reflecting
However, Haghighat further teaches indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals which includes:
The method of claim 3, wherein the indication includes a bitmap associated with the elements at the RIS, wherein the bitmap indicates which elements are enabled for reflecting. (“Based on the indices of the sorted arg(Φ.sub.E), the Tx unit selects the best unit cell candidates by transmitting information representative of unit cell selection (e.g., a bitmap, a list of indices of selected unit cells) to the NP-RIS controller via a dedicated control link. [0116] When the information representative of unit cell selection is in the form of a bitmap, the bitmap is a representation of the unit cells, and the values in the bitmap correspond to the desired reflection amplitude of each unit cell, e.g. value ‘0’ for low reflection amplitude (the corresponding unit cell is not selected), and ‘1’ for high reflection amplitude (the corresponding unit cell is selected).”, Haghighat [0115])
Ji, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Haghighat are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as described in Haghighat into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as taught by Haghighat, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Haghighat [0227], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 11, wherein the bitmap further indicates which elements are enabled in one or two dimensions across the RIS.
However, Haghighat further teaches indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals which includes:
The method of claim 11, wherein the bitmap further indicates which elements are enabled in one or two dimensions across the RIS. (“Based on the indices of the sorted arg(Φ.sub.E), the Tx unit selects the best unit cell candidates by transmitting information representative of unit cell selection (e.g., a bitmap, a list of indices of selected unit cells) to the NP-RIS controller via a dedicated control link. [0116] When the information representative of unit cell selection is in the form of a bitmap, the bitmap is a representation of the unit cells, and the values in the bitmap correspond to the desired reflection amplitude of each unit cell, e.g. value ‘0’ for low reflection amplitude (the corresponding unit cell is not selected), and ‘1’ for high reflection amplitude (the corresponding unit cell is selected).”, Haghighat [0115])
Ji, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Haghighat are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as described in Haghighat into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of elements to use at the reflective surface for reflecting reference signals as taught by Haghighat, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Haghighat [0227], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 21:
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 22:
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 27:
Claim 27 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 11 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 28:
Claim 28 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 12 from the perspective of the receiving end.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Zhou and Bengtsson, as applied to claims 1 and 20, and in further view of Jian et al. US 20230146485 (hereinafter “Jian”)
As to claim 8:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication of a sequence of the reflection elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs.
However, Jian further teaches indication of using RIS over time which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a controller associated with the RIS, an indication (“wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of different node groups in different time slots; and transmitting, by the first node, the plurality of signals to the intelligent reflecting device according to the timing schedule.”, Jian [0003]) of a sequence of the reflection elements at the RIS to use over time for reflecting the one or more first RSs or the one or more second RSs. (“Additionally, where the node group assignment node operates under partial reciprocity, the first node may transmit signals, such as pilot signals, to the second nodes, or the second nodes may transmit signals to the first node, via the intelligent reflecting device 124, order to obtain one or more channel state parameters that cannot otherwise be obtained due to reciprocity being only partial and not full. Additionally, where the node group assignment node operates under non-reciprocity, the first node may transmit signals, such as pilot signals, to the second nodes, or the second nodes transmit signals to the first node, via the intelligent reflecting device 124, to determine or recover the angle and gain information.” Jian [0072]) (“In addition or alternatively, for at least some embodiments implementing a dynamic region determination scheme, the region determination node may determine the surface element regions based on the node groups. For example, the node group assignment node may assign each of the second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups, as previously described. In addition, as previously described, a scheduling node may determine a timing schedule that indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of different node groups in different time slots. In accordance with node grouping the corresponding timing schedule, the region determination node may determine surface element regions on a node group-by-node group, or on a time slot-per-time slot basis. In particular, the region determination node may determine a set of surface element regions 208 for each node group. Because the first node transmits signals to different node groups in different time slots, then the region determination node may use the same surface elements 206 for the different sets surface element regions 208.”, Jian [0103])
Zhou, Ji, Bengtsson, and Jian are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of using RIS over time as described in Jian into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of using RIS over time as taught by Jian, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Jian [0103], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 8, wherein the sequence of the reflection elements includes a sequence of element clusters to use over time at a symbol level, wherein each of the element clusters comprises a plurality of elements at the RIS.
However, Jian further teaches indication of using RIS over time which includes:
The method of claim 8, wherein the sequence of the reflection elements includes a sequence of element clusters to use over time at a symbol level, wherein each of the element clusters comprises a plurality of elements at the RIS. (“In addition or alternatively, for at least some embodiments implementing a dynamic region determination scheme, the region determination node may determine the surface element regions based on the node groups. For example, the node group assignment node may assign each of the second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups, as previously described. In addition, as previously described, a scheduling node may determine a timing schedule that indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of different node groups in different time slots. In accordance with node grouping the corresponding timing schedule, the region determination node may determine surface element regions on a node group-by-node group, or on a time slot-per-time slot basis. In particular, the region determination node may determine a set of surface element regions 208 for each node group. Because the first node transmits signals to different node groups in different time slots, then the region determination node may use the same surface elements 206 for the different sets surface element regions 208.”, Jian [0103]) (“In general, a time slot is a unit of time defined in the time domain for a transmission. The parameters defining a time slot may be determined according to a communication standard or specification under which the nodes in a wireless communication system communicate. In various embodiments, a time slot may be a portion of a subframe, and may have a predetermined number of symbols, such as orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols. For example, in 5G NR, a subframe may be divided into time slots, where each time slot includes fourteen OFDM symbols. Various other ways of defining a time slot may be possible.”, Jian [0053])
Zhou, Ji, Bengtsson, and Jian are analogous because they pertain to configuring reflective surface.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include indication of using RIS over time as described in Jian into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include indication of using RIS over time as taught by Jian, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Jian [0103], Zhou [0013], and Ji [section 1, line 4]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
As to claim 24:
Claim 24 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8 from the perspective of the receiving end.
As to claim 25:
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 9 from the perspective of the receiving end.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Zhou and Bengtsson, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Je et al. US 20230422106 (hereinafter “Je”)
As to claim 13:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising communicating, before generating the second key, with the second wireless node via one or more messages encrypted with a third key.
However, Je further teaches encrypting a message with another key before generating a key which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising communicating, before generating the second key, with the second wireless node via one or more messages encrypted with a third key. (“According to an embodiment, the UE 17-10 may encrypt the temporary session key (TLS client_key_exchange) through an RAN public key and transmit the session key to the RAN 17-15.”, Je [0267]) (“That is, the UE 17-10 may generate a session key by using the temporary session key (TLS client_key_exchange) and information required for authentication. A pseudo-random function (PRF) may be used when EMSK is generated and, for example, hash-based RFC4306 may be generated using RFC4306 through parameters including the first random value, the second random value, and the temporary session key (PreMasterSecret). The RAN 17-15 may generate a session key by using the temporary session key (TLS client_key_exchange) and information required for authentication. According to an embodiment, after the session key is generated, the RAN 17-15 and the UE 17-10 may discuss an encryption algorithm.”, Je [0272])
Zhou, Ji, Bengtsson, and Je are analogous because they pertain to wireless communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include encrypting a message with another key before generating a key as described in Je into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include encrypting a message with another key before generating a key as taught by Je, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013], Ji [section 1, line 4], multiple encryption stages (Je [0272]), and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Je, as applied to claim 13, and further in view of Haghighat et al. US 20240178883 (hereinafter “Haghighat”)
As to claim 14:
The combination of Je, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more messages include at least one of an indication of elements at the RIS that will be used for reflecting or a level of quantization for generating the second key.
However, Haghighat further teaches reporting elements at the RIS used for reflecting which includes:
The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more messages include at least one of an indication of elements at the RIS that will be used for reflecting or a level of quantization for generating the second key. (“According to a further embodiment compatible with the previously described method for improvement of reception of radio signals in a targeted area, the Rx unit assists the Tx unit in selection of unit cells on the NP-RIS: [0119] Assuming availability of some information about channels h.sub.2 and h.sub.3, and also some knowledge of the phase settings of the NP-RIS, e.g., by configuration by the Tx unit, [0120] the Rx unit may perform subset selection of the NP-RIS unit cells e.g., from a collection of subsets known or identified to the Rx unit; and [0121] report the selection to the Tx unit. The report may be, for example, in the form of an index (or index list), a bit map, carried, for example, in a Channel Status Information (CSI) report.”, Haghighat [0118])
Ji, Zhou, Je, Bengtsson, and Haghighat are analogous because they pertain to wireless communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include reporting elements at the RIS used for reflecting as described in Haghighat into Ji as modified by Zhou, Bengtsson, and Je. By modifying the method to include reporting elements at the RIS used for reflecting as taught by Haghighat, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Haghighat [0227], Zhou [0013], Ji [section 1, line 4], multiple encryption stages (Je [0272]), and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji in view of Zhou and Bengtsson, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Daly US 20210266151 (hereinafter “Daly”)
As to claim 16:
The combination of Zhou, Bengtsson, and Ji as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to the second wireless node, an acknowledgement encrypted with the second key.
However, Daly further teaches encrypting a connection acknowledgment with a key which includes:
The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to the second wireless node, an acknowledgement encrypted with the second key. (“However, if it is online, the device 104 will encrypt the connection acknowledgment with the group encryption key (private key when not working with the group) and respond to the application with a connection acknowledgment that is encrypted”, Daly [0187])
Ji, Zhou, Bengtsson, and Daly are analogous because they pertain to wireless communication.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include encrypting a connection acknowledgment with a key as described in Daly into Ji as modified by Zhou and Bengtsson. By modifying the method to include encrypting a connection acknowledgment with a key as taught by Daly, the benefits of improved usage of configurable reflective surface (Zhou [0013], Ji [section 1, line 4], and multiple encryption stages (Daly [0187]) and reduced power consumption by only operating a subset of elements (Bengtsson [0058]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471