DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 3/12/26 is acknowledged.
Reply filed 3/12/26 elected Group 1, claims 1-8, for examination in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LE et al. US 20160089898A1.
CLAIM 1
LE et al. discloses a system, comprising:
a tray, which is configured for placing thereon a sample comprising at least a first flowable-matter substrate;
a printing assembly, which is configured to print an image, made from an edible substance, on a second flowable- matter substrate layer formed on the first flowable-matter substrate of the sample;
an axis mechanism, which is configured to mechanically support the tray and to control a distance between the sample and the printing assembly by moving the tray with the sample along an axis; a support member, which is coupled to the printing assembly and is configured to mechanically support the printing assembly:
([0042] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic of a printer for printing on a liquid according to some embodiments. The printer 600 can include a platform 640 for supporting a liquid container 610. The liquid container can have a liquid therein. The liquid can be filled to the rim, or can be partially filled, e.g., filled to a few cm from the rim, such as 1, 2, 5 or 10 cm. The platform 640 can move in a z direction, for example, up and down, to space the liquid container 610 from a printer head 650. The platform can move relative to the print head, for example, to bring the liquid container closer to the print head, the platform can move up or the print head can move down. A z mechanism 670 can be used to control the z movement of the platform or the print head. For example, the z mechanism can be coupled to the platform to move the platform up and down. Alternatively, the z mechanism can be coupled to the print head, e.g., to an assembly that includes the print head, to move the print head up and down.
[0044] In some embodiments, an antivibration or damping mechanism 680 can be included. The antivibration or damping mechanism can be coupled to the platform to reduce vibration, for example, caused by movements of the moving mechanism, such as movements of the platform or movements of the print head assembly. The antivibration or damping mechanism can pacify the liquid surface of the liquid n the liquid container, allowing a flat and stationary surface for ease of printing.
LE et al. does not disclose one or more vibration dampers, placed between (i) the printing assembly and (ii) at least one of the axis mechanism, the tray and the sample, and configured to suppress vibrations between (i) at least one of the printing assembly, the axis mechanism and the tray, and (ii) the sample.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to install one or more vibration dampers, placed between (i) the printing assembly and (ii) at least one of the axis mechanism, the tray and the sample, and configured to suppress vibrations between (i) at least one of the printing assembly, the axis mechanism and the tray, and (ii) the sample, to reduce the vibration effects on the printed image.
Claim 2
LE et al. discloses the system according to claim 1 and
[0044] In some embodiments, an antivibration or damping mechanism 680 can be included. The antivibration or damping mechanism can be coupled to the platform to reduce vibration, for example, caused by movements of the moving mechanism, such as movements of the platform or movements of the print head assembly. The antivibration or damping mechanism can pacify the liquid surface of the liquid n the liquid container, allowing a flat and stationary surface for ease of printing.
LE et al. does not disclose wherein the one or more vibration dampers comprise a base, which is coupled to at least one of the support member and the axis mechanism, and is configured to suppress vibrations between the support member and the axis mechanism.
LE et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the configuration of the damping mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the optimum configuration for the damping mechanism, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch. 617 F .2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
CLAIMS 3,4,5
LE et al. discloses the system according to claim 1.
LE et al. does not disclose wherein the one or more vibration dampers comprise at least a compressible bumper (CB), which is coupled to a bracket of the axis mechanism and is configured to suppress vibrations applied to the sample through the axis mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to find the optimum configuration for the damping mechanism, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch. 617 F .2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
CLAIM 6
LE et al. discloses the system according to claim 1.
LE et al. does not disclose wherein the one or more vibration dampers comprise a pad, which is positioned on the tray and is configured to suppress vibrations between the axis mechanism and the sample.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have experimented with different vibration dampers to discover an optimum damper configuration to reduce the vibration effect on the liquid image, since it been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch. 617 F .2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
CLAIM 7
LE et al. discloses the system according to claim 1.
LE et al. does not disclose wherein the pad comprises silicon having a hardness between shore 60 and shore 85.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to experiment with different damping materials for the optimum performance of damping unwanted vibrations, since it been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch. 617 F .2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
CLAIM 8
LE et al. discloses the system according to claim 1, and comprising a motion assembly,
[0042] The platform 640 can move in a z direction, for example, up and down, to space the liquid container 610 from a printer head 650. The platform can move relative to the print head, for example, to bring the liquid container closer to the print head, the platform can move up or the print head can move down. A z mechanism 670 can be used to control the z movement of the platform or the print head. For example, the z mechanism can be coupled to the platform to move the platform up and down. Alternatively, the z mechanism can be coupled to the print head, e.g., to an assembly that includes the print head, to move the print head up and down. The platform 640 can move in a z direction, for example, up and down, to space the liquid container 610 from a printer head 650. The platform can move relative to the print head, for example, to bring the liquid container closer to the print head, the platform can move up or the print head can move down. A z mechanism 670 can be used to control the z movement of the platform or the print head. For example, the z mechanism can be coupled to the platform to move the platform up and down. Alternatively, the z mechanism can be coupled to the print head, e.g., to an assembly that includes the print head, to move the print head up and down.
LE et al. does not disclose
a motor and
(ii) a gear box having (a) a pulley and (b) a belt, wherein the motion assembly is configured to drive the axis mechanism for moving the tray.
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the motion assembly requires a drive assembly comprising a motor, and drive assemblies such as belts and gear boxes to connect the motion assemblies to the driving force, the motor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KATO US20100226040A1 discloses:
Recording Apparatus Useful For Recording An Image Onto A Printing Medium, Comprises A Recording Head, A Supporter Which Supports The Recording Head, And A Vibration Damper Interposed Between The Recording Head And The Supporter
June 26, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT L DEBERADINIS whose telephone number is (571)272-2049. The examiner can normally be reached 9 am to 6 pm.
June 26, 2026
/ROBERT L DEBERADINIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836