DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 12 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “a distance information acquisition unit” recited in L2 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for acquisition). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a TOF (time of flight) sensor, LiDAR (light detection and ranging), or an SC (structural camera) as described in para. [0009]. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as requiring a TOF (time of flight) sensor, LiDAR (light detection and ranging), or an SC (structural camera) or its equivalent.
The limitation “a grayscale information acquisition unit” recited in L5 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for acquisition). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is an infrared camera or an RGB camera as described in para. [0009]. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as requiring an infrared camera or an RGB camera.
The limitation “a lighting device” recited in L4 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (device) + function (for lighting). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is ultraviolet light, visible light, infrared light, X- rays and gamma rays with shorter wavelengths than light, and microwaves, broadcast radio waves (short wave, medium wave, long wave), ultrasonic waves, elastic waves, quantum waves, etc., that have longer wavelengths than light as described in para. [0008]. ultraviolet light, visible light, infrared light, X- rays and gamma rays with shorter wavelengths than light, and microwaves, broadcast radio waves (short wave, medium wave, long wave), ultrasonic waves, elastic waves, quantum waves, etc., that have longer wavelengths than light. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as requiring ultraviolet light, visible light, infrared light, X- rays and gamma rays with shorter wavelengths than light, and microwaves, broadcast radio waves (short wave, medium wave, long wave), ultrasonic waves, elastic waves, quantum waves, etc., that have longer wavelengths than light.
The limitation “a correction unit” recited in L8 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for correction). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “an image generation unit” recited in L11 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C 112(f) means (unit) + function (for image generation). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a correction unit”. The corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 1 recites “an image generation unit”. The corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 2 -10 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons.
Claim limitation “a correction unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to “a correction unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “an image generation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to “an image generation unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 -10 are rejected on the same basis as claim 1 for dependency reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (US 2008/0204579 A1; pub. Aug. 28, 2008).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda discloses in a first embodiment: A grayscale image generation device, comprising: a distance information acquisition unit (para. [0010], [0024]) configured to acquire information about a distance to an object according to an amount of reflection of electromagnetic waves with which the object is irradiated from a lighting device (para. [0062]-[0063]); a grayscale information acquisition unit configured to acquire grayscale information according to the amount of reflection of the electromagnetic waves emitted from the lighting device and irradiating the object (para. [0062]-[0063]);
a correction unit configured to correct the grayscale information obtained by the grayscale information acquisition unit on the basis of the distance obtained by the distance information acquisition unit (para. [0069]).
In the first embodiment Masuda is silent about: an image generation unit configured to generate a grayscale image including information about the distance to the object on the basis of the grayscale information corrected by the correction unit.
In a further embodiment Masuda discloses: an image generation unit configured to generate a grayscale image including information about the distance to the object on the basis of the grayscale information corrected by the correction unit (para. [0069]) motivated by the benefits for reducing depth errors and improving measurement quality.
In light of the benefits for reducing depth errors and improving measurement quality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the two embodiments of Masuda.
Regarding claim 3, Masuda discloses: the distance information acquisition unit acquires the distance information for each pixel included in the grayscale image generated by the image generation unit (para. [0063], [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, Masuda discloses: the correction unit uses the distance information acquired by the distance information acquisition unit to correct the grayscale information acquired by the grayscale information acquisition unit for each pixel included in the grayscale image generated by the image generation unit (para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Masuda discloses: when a center position between the distance information acquisition unit and the lighting device and the center position between the grayscale information acquisition unit and the lighting device are located apart from each other, the correction unit corrects the distance information by subjecting the distance as seen from the grayscale information acquisition unit to coordinate transformation according to a positional relation between the distance information acquisition unit and the grayscale information acquisition unit (the claim does not contain any additional device that further limits claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 7, Masuda discloses: the distance information acquisition unit and the grayscale information acquisition unit are provided integrally (para. [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Masuda discloses: a lighting control unit configured to control the lighting device so as to irradiate the object with the electromagnetic waves (para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Masuda discloses: the distance information acquisition unit acquires the distance information measured by a TOF (time of flight) sensor, LiDAR (light detection and ranging), or SC (structural camera) (para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Masuda discloses: the grayscale information acquisition unit acquires the grayscale information measured by an infrared camera or an RGB camera (para. [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Masuda discloses: A grayscale image correction method, comprising: a distance information acquisition step of acquiring information about a distance to an object according to an amount of reflection of electromagnetic waves with which the object is irradiated from a lighting device; a grayscale information acquisition step of acquiring grayscale information according to the amount of reflection of the electromagnetic waves emitted from a lighting device and irradiating the object; a correction step of correcting the grayscale information acquired in the grayscale information acquisition step based on the distance obtained in the distance information acquisition step; and an image generation step of generating a grayscale image on the basis of the grayscale information corrected in the correction step (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Regarding claim 12, Masuda discloses: A grayscale image correction program for causing a computer to execute a grayscale image correction method comprising: a distance information acquisition step of acquiring information about a distance to an object according to an amount of reflection of electromagnetic waves with which the object is irradiated from a lighting device; a grayscale information acquisition step of acquiring grayscale information according to the amount of reflection of the electromagnetic waves emitted from a lighting device and irradiating the object; a correction step of correcting the grayscale information acquired in the grayscale information acquisition step on the basis of the distance obtained in the distance information acquisition step; and an image generation step of generating a grayscale image on the basis of the grayscale information corrected in the correction step (the claim contains the same substantive limitations as claim 1, therefore, the claim is rejected on the same basis).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (US 2008/0204579 A1; pub. Aug. 28, 2008) in view of Ishihara (US 2010/0049058 A1; pub. Feb. 15, 2010).
Regarding claim 2, Masuda is silent about: the correction unit corrects the grayscale information by multiplying the grayscale information obtained by the grayscale information acquisition unit by a square of the distance obtained by the distance information acquisition unit.
In a similar field of endeavor Ishihara discloses: the grayscale information by multiplying the grayscale information obtained by a square of the distance (para. [0173], [0286]) motivated by the benefits for improved measurement accuracy.
In light of the benefits for improved measurement accuracy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Masuda with the teachings of Ishihara to have the correction unit corrects the grayscale information by multiplying the grayscale information obtained by the grayscale information acquisition unit by a square of the distance obtained by the distance information acquisition unit
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (US 2008/0204579 A1; pub. Aug. 28, 2008) in view of Kim et al. (US 11,720,117 B1; pub. Aug. 8, 2023).
Regarding claim 4, Masuda is silent about: the grayscale information acquisition unit acquires the grayscale information for each pixel included in the grayscale image generated by the image generation unit.
In a similar field of endeavor Kim et al. disclose: the grayscale information acquisition unit acquires the grayscale information for each pixel included in the grayscale image generated by the image generation unit (col.30 L1-4) motivated by the benefits for improve accuracy, range, and robustness.
In light of the benefits for improve accuracy, range, and robustness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Masuda with the teachings of Kim et al.
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884