DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 13-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, the new secondary reference Wang discloses trigger conditions for performing resource reselect including determining to resource re-select before the counter reaches 0 and doing re-selection when the first terminal has not received any HARQ responses after some time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-9, and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20220104126 A1, hereinafter Lee) in view of Wang (WO 2020151407 A1, “WO2020151407 English Translation” used for English translation, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17 Lee discloses:maintaining a counter to record how many periodic reservations remain to be used for sidelink signal transmission, wherein the periodic reservations are associated with a reservation period and each periodic reservation is associated with at least one sidelink resource; (Paragraph [0189], “When resources in which conflicts occur are reserved according to the same periodicity, the resource conflicts may occur continuously. In order to solve such the problem, when resource conflicts occur continuously, the terminal may release the reserved resources even before the counter value becomes 0, and may select a new resource(s) by performing a random selection operation.”)
and reselecting at least one new sidelink resource for next periodic reservations when the resource re-selection condition is met. (Paragraph [0189], “When resources in which conflicts occur are reserved according to the same periodicity, the resource conflicts may occur continuously. In order to solve such the problem, when resource conflicts occur continuously, the terminal may release the reserved resources even before the counter value becomes 0, and may select a new resource(s) by performing a random selection operation.”)
Lee does not disclose:
determining whether a resource re-selection condition is met before the counter counts to 0, wherein the resource re-selection condition is associated with status of receiving responses corresponding to a subset of the sidelink resources;
Wherein the resource re-selection condition comprises at least one of:
the first UE does not receive any response for each first sidelink resource in all periodic reservations from the second UE in a first number of the reservation periods, wherein the first number of the reservation periods are continuous.
a number M2 is greater than a first threshold, wherein the number M2 is the number of continuous sidelink resources that the first UE does not receive corresponding responses.
a number M3 is greater than a second threshold, wherein the number M3 is the number of sidelink resources that are first sidelink resources in the periodic reservations and the first UE does not receive corresponding responses from the second UE during a period of time, and the period of time comprises at least one reservation period. Wang discloses:
determining whether a resource re-selection condition is met before the counter counts to 0, wherein the resource re-selection condition is associated with status of receiving responses corresponding to a subset of the sidelink resources; (Paragraph [0076], “Trigger condition 1: Based on the counter (SL_RESOURCE_RESELECTION_COUNTER) = [5, 15], one data packet is transmitted, the counter is reduced, and when the counter is zeroed, the terminal reselects the resource with a certain probability (in fact, when the counter is 1, the terminal needs to decide whether to perform reselection when the counter is zero, so as to indicate whether there is a resource reservation), that is, after the terminal selects/reselects one resource” determining before counter counts to 0.)
Wherein the resource re-selection condition comprises at least one of:
the first UE does not receive any response for each first sidelink resource in all periodic reservations from the second UE in a first number of the reservation periods, wherein the first number of the reservation periods are continuous. (Paragraph [0099], “Manner 1: If the first terminal continuously sends M1 pieces of information to a second terminal, if none of the first terminals receives the HARQ feedback of the M1 pieces of information, the first terminal reselects a sidelink resource, where M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.” The terminal is waiting to hear a response if no then reselect resource.)
a number M2 is greater than a first threshold, wherein the number M2 is the number of continuous sidelink resources that the first UE does not receive corresponding responses. (Paragraph [0099], “Manner 1: If the first terminal continuously sends M1 pieces of information to a second terminal, if none of the first terminals receives the HARQ feedback of the M1 pieces of information, the first terminal reselects a sidelink resource, where M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.” The terminal is waiting to hear a response if no then reselect resource.)
a number M3 is greater than a second threshold, wherein the number M3 is the number of sidelink resources that are first sidelink resources in the periodic reservations and the first UE does not receive corresponding responses from the second UE during a period of time, and the period of time comprises at least one reservation period. (Paragraph [0099], “Manner 1: If the first terminal continuously sends M1 pieces of information to a second terminal, if none of the first terminals receives the HARQ feedback of the M1 pieces of information, the first terminal reselects a sidelink resource, where M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.” The terminal is waiting to hear a response if no then reselect resource.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Wang’s trigger condition with Lee’s counter. One would have been motivated to do this to increase robustness and have a fallback.
Specifically regarding claim 9 Lee discloses:
a radio frequency (RF) signal processing device (Paragraph [0091], “In the communication system using the analog beamforming scheme, a beamforming gain may be obtained using analog RF devices (e.g., phase shifter, power amplifier (PA), variable gain amplifier (VGA), and the like) and an antenna array.” And paragraph [0023], “the instructions cause the first terminal to: receive, from a base station, configuration information including information of n periodicities”)
and a processor, (Paragraph [0023], “a first terminal in a communication system may comprise: a processor;”)
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 18 Lee does not disclose:
a number M4 is greater than a second threshold, wherein the number M4 is the number of sidelink resources that the first UE does not receive corresponding responses from the second UE during a period of time, and the period of time comprises at least one reservation period.
Wang discloses:
a number M4 is greater than a second threshold, wherein the number M4 is the number of sidelink resources that the first UE does not receive corresponding responses from the second UE during a period of time, and the period of time comprises at least one reservation period. (Paragraph [0099], “Manner 1: If the first terminal continuously sends M1 pieces of information to a second terminal, if none of the first terminals receives the HARQ feedback of the M1 pieces of information, the first terminal reselects a sidelink resource, where M1 is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.” The terminal is waiting to hear a response if no then reselect resource.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Wang’s trigger condition with Lee’s counter. One would have been motivated to do this to increase robustness and have a fallback.
Regarding claims 6,14 and 19 Lee discloses:
resetting the counter to a new value when the new sidelink resource is reselected. (Paragraph [0188], “the counter value becomes 0, the terminal may reset the counter to a value randomly selected between specific values according to the uniform probability.” And paragraph [0189], “the terminal may release the reserved resources even before the counter value becomes 0, and may select a new resource(s) by performing a random selection operation. In this case, the previous counter value or an initial value of the previous counter may be used as the counter value. Alternatively, a new counter value may be set by the above-described method of setting the counter value, and the terminal may use the new counter value”)
Regarding claims 7, 15 and 20 Lee discloses:
the subset of the sidelink resources precludes the sidelink resources for re-transmission. (Paragraph [0199], “Upon receiving the indicator from the first terminal, the second terminal may perform a resource selection operation in the remaining resources excluding the resource(s) indicated by the indicator among all resources (e.g., all candidate resources).” There is a subset of resources that are excluded from selection for retransmission.)
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 21 Lee discloses:wherein each response for the sidelink resources associated with the periodic reservations from the second UE comprises an ACK response or a NACK response. (Paragraph [0131], “A transmitting terminal may transmit SL data to a receiving terminal, and the receiving terminal may transmit a HARQ feedback (e.g., acknowledgement (ACK) or negative ACK (NACK)) for the SL data to the transmitting terminal on a PSFCH.” And paragraph [0224], “A terminal may transmit data (e.g., SL data) and may receive a HARQ feedback for the data on a PSFCH. In this case, a PSFCH periodicity may not coincide with the DRX cycle.”)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAM P. CAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479