DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 16-31), characterized as being “drawn to an inductive heating arrangement and a method of calibrating the arrangement” in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s request for a rejoinder is acknowledged. In accordance with MPEP 821.04, in order to be eligible for rejoinder, a claim to a nonelected invention must depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable claim. Thus, a request for a rejoinder will be approved if the withdrawn claims include all of the limitations of the claims that are eventually determined to be allowable.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under PCT Rule 11.13(b) because Fig. 1 contains cross-sections indicated by solid black shading rather than oblique hatching. Corrected drawings are required in which cross-sections are indicated by oblique hatching which does not impede the clear reading of reference signs and leading lines.
The drawings are objected to under PCT Rule 11.13(e) because the reference character “300” in Fig. 4 is not simple and clear but instead overlaps and interferes with the arrow from step 303.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“power supply electronics,” “DC/AC inverter,” and “resonant switching power amplifier” in claim 16;
“calibration apparatus” in claims 26; and
“reference susceptor arrangement” in claim 30
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “the tunable oscillator to output a switching signal having the determined operating switching frequency switching frequency” in page 21, lines 7-8 contains a duplicated term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 23 and 29-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “at least a capacitor and at least an inductor,” which should read “at least one capacitor and at least one inductor” for consistency with standard claim terminology.
Claims 16 recites “an inductive heating arrangement” and subsequently refers to “the heating arrangement,” and claims 29 and 30 similarly refers to “the heating arrangement,” omitting the term “inductive”. It is unclear whether “the heating arrangement” refers to the previously recited “inductive heating arrangement,” or another heating arrangement.
Claim 23 recites “a range between ±5 percent of a nominal inductance value,” which should read “a range of ±5 percent,” since “between” requires two bounding values and is grammatically inconsistent with the single value recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“controller” in claims 16 and 25-28; and
“calibration apparatus” in claim 26.
Regarding the term “controller”, the recited functions are:
Receiving a current signal from the current sensor indicative of the DC supply current, and tuning the tunable switching frequency of the switching signal in response to the received current signal in order to tune the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source to be in a predetermined range (claim 16);
setting up the tunable oscillator to output a switching signal having an operating switching frequency determined in response to the received current signal, for which operating switching frequency the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range (claim 25);
communicating the current signal to the calibration apparatus and to receive a signal communicated from the calibration apparatus indicative of the determined operating switching frequency (claim 26);
being operatively coupled to the current sensor and the transistor switch driver circuit in a feedback-loop configuration (claim 27); and
determining in response to the current signal an operating switching frequency of the switching signal for which in operation the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range (claim 28).
The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification for the “controller” is: a microprocessor, a programmable microprocessor, a microcontroller, or an application specific integrated chip (ASIC) or other electronic circuitry capable of providing control. Page 8, lines 9-11.
Regarding the term “calibration apparatus” in claim 26, the recited function is determining in response to the current signal an operating switching frequency of the switching signal for which in operation the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification is a calibration controller (p. 7, ln. 21) of which the recited functions and structures are discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 22, 26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “a tolerance of a capacitance of the capacitor is in a range between ±2 percent and ±4 percent of a nominal capacitance value of the capacitor.” It is unclear what range is being claimed, for example, whether the claimed range refers to a tolerance magnitude that may fall anywhere between 2 percent and 4 percent of the nominal capacitance value, or a range of capacitance values extending from -2 percent to +4 percent of the nominal capacitance value, or some other range. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted under their broadest reasonable interpretation as: “a range between ±4 percent.” Correction or clarification is required.
Claim 22 recites “a tolerance of an inductance of the inductor is in a range between ±3 percent and ±7 percent of a nominal inductance value of the inductor,” which is unclear for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 21. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted under their broadest reasonable interpretation as: “a range between ±7 percent.” Correction or clarification is required.
Claim 26 recites “wherein the controller is operatively couplable to a calibration apparatus configured to determine in response to the current signal an operating switching frequency of the switching signal for which in operation the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range, and wherein the controller is further configured to communicate the current signal to the calibration apparatus and to receive a signal communicated from the calibration apparatus indicative of the determined operating switching frequency.” It is unclear whether claim 26 is directed to the “inductive heating arrangement” of claim 16, or something more than the inductive heating arrangement. Specifically, the specification describes the calibration apparatus as being separate from the inductive heating arrangement (¶ [0026]: “The operating switching frequency of the switching signal ... may be determined by the controller of the heating arrangement or by a calibration apparatus for tuning the output power of the heating arrangement, which is not part of the heating arrangement”) By positively reciting the structure and function of the calibration apparatus, rather than merely reciting that the controller is configured to be operatively couplable to a calibration apparatus, claim 26 renders the metes and bounds of the claimed invention unclear as to whether an additional apparatus, separate from the claimed inductive heating arrangement, is being positively claimed. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 31 recites “tuning the operating switching frequency of the switching signal,” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the switching signal” refers to the switching signal output by the transistor switch driver circuit to the transistor switch, as recited in claim 16 and referenced in claim 30, or to the switching signal recited at the end of claim 30, which recites “setting up the tunable oscillator to output a switching signal having the determined operating switching frequency.” For the purpose of examination, the “switching signal” is interpreted as the switching signal output by the transistor switch driver circuit to the transistor switch, as recited in claim 16. Correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fursa et al. (WO 2018096000) hereinafter Fursa, in view of Okazaki et al. (CN 101669281) hereinafter Okazaki, and further in view of Abi Aoun et al. (US 20200037402) hereinafter Abi Aoun.
Regarding claim 16, Fursa teaches, in Fig. 4,
an inductive heating arrangement (100, “inductive heating device”) configured to heat an aerosol-forming substrate (Fig. 3: 20, “aerosol-forming substrate”) (p. 1, lns. 13-15: “aerosol-generating systems comprising … an electrically operated heat source … to heat the aerosol-forming substrate”), the inductive heating arrangement (100) comprising:
a DC power source (150, “DC power source”) and power supply electronics (160, “power supply electronics”) comprising a DC/AC inverter (Fig. 6: 162, “DC/AC inverter”) connected to the DC power source (150) (Abstract: “DC/AC converter (162) connected to the DC power supply (150)”; the examiner acknowledges that terms, DC/AC inverter and DC/AC converter are used interchangeably),
wherein the DC/AC inverter (162) comprises a power amplifier (p. 17, lns. 5-6: “DC/AC converter may comprise a Class-E power amplifier”) with at least one transistor switch, at least one transistor switch driver circuit associated with the transistor switch (p. 17, lns. 6-7: “a Class-E power amplifier comprising a transistor switch and a transistor switch driver circuit”) and an LC load network (p. 16, ln. 27: “The DC/AC converter may comprise an LC load network”) comprising at least a capacitor (Fig. 7: C2, “capacitor”) and at least an inductor (110) (p. 16, lns. 28-29: “The inductor may be arranged in series with a capacitor in the LC load network,” which is shown in Fig. 7 as well),
wherein the inductor (annotated Fig. 4: 111, “coil”) is configured to generate an alternating magnetic field during operation of the heating arrangement (100) (p. 5, lns. 8-9: “inductive heating device … comprising an induction source [100] that generates an alternating electromagnetic field”) for inductively heating the aerosol-forming substrate (20) (p. 1, lns. 6-7: “an inductive heating device for heating an aerosol-forming substrate”),
wherein the transistor switch driver circuit (p. 17, ln. 7: “transistor switch driver circuit”) configured to output a switching signal to the transistor switch (p. 17, ln. 6: “transistor switch”) (p. 33, lns. 11-13: “a Metal-Oxide-Semiconductor Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a transistor switch supply circuit indicated by the arrow 1622 [in Fig. 7] for supplying the switching signal (gate-source voltage) to the FET 1621 [, a transistor switch]”) having a tunable switching frequency (p. 17, lns. 30-32: “The microcontroller may be programmed to control the duration of the time interval between successive pulses of power supplied by the DC power supply”; since it is known that frequency is the reciprocal of the pulse period, the examiner interprets the “control[lable] duration of the time interval between successive pulses” as the “tunable switching frequency”);
a current sensor (p. 18, ln. 6: “current sensor”) configured to determine a DC supply current drawn from the DC power source (150) (p. 18, lns. 6-7: “a current sensor for measuring the DC current drawn from the DC power supply”) during operation of the heating arrangement (100); and
a controller (Fig. 6: 161, “MCU”; p. 32, ln. 32: “a microcontroller (microprocessor control unit) 161,” which is an MCU) configured to receive a current signal (“DC current drawn from the DC power supply,” which the examiner interprets as the “current signal”) from the current sensor (“current sensor”) indicative of the DC supply current (“DC current”).
Fig. 3 of Fursa
Fig. 4 of Fursa, annotated
Fig. 6 of Fursa
Fig. 7 of Fursa
Regarding claim 16, Fursa teaches the DC/AC inverter comprises a power amplifier (“Class-E power amplifier”), but does not explicitly teach the power amplifier is a resonant switching power amplifier.
However, Okazaki teaches, in Fig. 1, a power amplifier is a resonant switching power amplifier (¶ [0106]: “E-class amplifier 20, … configured to include … field effect transistor (FET) switch element 21, input inductor 22; LC resonant circuit and the switching element 21 … In addition, the LC resonant circuit can also be configured to output inductor and capacitor in series connection,” based on which the examiner interprets the E-class amplifier as the “resonant switching power amplifier”).
Okazaki is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the same problem of adjusting the resonant frequency for an LC circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the power amplifier of Fursa as a resonant switching power amplifier as taught by Okazaki, in order to achieve the E-stage working condition, which is the operating condition associated with a Class-E amplifier, and thereby “control (optimize) the circuit constants,” which Okazaki teaches (Okazaki, abstract ) is a well-known method of operating for the Class-E amplifier taught by Fursa.
Fig. 1 of Okazaki
Regarding claim 16, Fursa and Okazaki does not explicitly teach
a tunable oscillator is configured to output a switching signal to the transistor switch having a tunable switching frequency; and
a controller is configured to tune the tunable switching frequency of the switching signal in response to the received current signal in order to tune the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source to be in a predetermined range.
However, Abi Aoun teaches, in Fig. 2b, an RCL resonance circuit (100) comprising:
a tunable oscillator (102, “H-Bridge driver”) configured to output a switching signal to the transistor switch having a tunable switching frequency (¶ [0058]: “allows the frequency of the alternating current to be controlled”; ¶ [0059]: “controller 114 controls the H-Bridge 102... to provide an alternating current... at a given drive frequency f”; ¶ [0067]: “control the H-bridge 104 to scan through a range of drive frequencies f,” which the examiner interprets the H-Bridge driver as corresponding to the claimed “tunable oscillator” configured to output a “switching signal... having a tunable switching frequency”); and
a controller (114, “controller”) configured to tune the tunable switching frequency of the switching signal in response to the received current signal (¶ [0070]: “ the pick-up coil 120b is placed so as to intercept a portion of a magnetic field produced by the DC supply voltage wire or track 110 when the DC current flowing therethrough changes,” which the examiner interprets the voltage VIND induced in the pick-up coil 120b as indicative of the DC supply current, and thus corresponding to the claimed “current signal... indicative of the DC supply current”; ¶ [0081]: “the controller 114 may determine one or more of the first frequencies... and control the resonance circuit 100 to be driven at this first frequency,” which the examiner interprets as the controller tuning the switching frequency in response to the received current signal) in order to tune the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source to be in a predetermined range (Fig. 3b: fA’-fA; ¶ [0079]: “specific points (black circles) marked on the response 300 corresponding to different drive frequencies f.sub.A, f.sub.B, f.sub.c, f′.sub.A,” which the examiner interprets the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ as corresponding to the claimed “predetermined range”; ¶ [0081]: “the response 300 of the circuit 100 may be measured in advance, and the operations resulting in first frequencies f.sub.A, f.sub.B, f.sub.c, f′.sub.A which correspond to different current flow I.sub.A, I.sub.B, I.sub.c in the circuit 100... determined, and stored in a memory... accessible by the controller 114,” which the examiner interprets as each of the frequencies within the range fA’-fA corresponding to a determinable current flow, such that driving the circuit within this range of frequencies tunes the DC supply current to be within the predetermined range).
Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of induction heating circuits employing frequency-based control of current/power delivered to a load. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the tunable oscillator and current responsive frequency tuning controller taught by Abi Aoun into the transistor switch driver circuit and controller taught by Fursa and Okazaki, in order to control the degree of inductive heating “without needing to control the voltage supplied to the circuit” (Abi Aoun, ¶ [0053]), thereby “allow[ing] for a cheaper, more space and power efficient device.” Abi Aoun, ¶ [0053].
Fig. 2b of Abi Aoun
Fig. 3a of Abi Aoun
Fig. 3b of Abi Aoun
Regarding claim 17, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable in a range of ±20 percent around a center frequency.
However, in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices, Abi Aoun teaches wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable (tune to a first frequency fA) in a range of ±20 percent around a center frequency (Abi Aoun teaches that the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ around a center frequency fr, Fig. 3b, is a result-effective variable based on the bandwidth B in Fig. 3a; construed such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use a range of frequencies within a range of ±20 percent, which Abi Aoun teaches is dependent on the bandwidth of the response 300, which will change depending on the different temperatures or other conditions of the susceptor, resonance circuit, or the device, Figs. 3a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust a first frequency, as taught by Abi Aoun, for the transistor switch, as taught by Fursa, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 18, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable in a range of ±5 percent around a center frequency.
However, in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices, Abi Aoun teaches wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable (tune to a first frequency fA) in a range of ±5 percent around a center frequency (Abi Aoun teaches that the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ around a center frequency fr, Fig. 3b, is a result-effective variable based on the bandwidth B in Fig. 3a; construed such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use a range of frequencies within a range of ±5 percent, which Abi Aoun teaches is dependent on the bandwidth of the response 300, which will change depending on the different temperatures or other conditions of the susceptor, resonance circuit, or the device, Figs. 3a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust a first frequency, as taught by Abi Aoun, for the transistor switch, as taught by Fursa, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 19, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable in a range between 5.4 MHz and 8 MHz.
However, Fursa discloses the power supply electronics comprising “[t]he DC/AC converter … configured to operate at … a frequency ranging from … about 5 MHz to 7 MHz.” Fursa, p. 16, lns. 22-25. This range substantially overlaps the claimed range of 5.4 MHz to 8 MHz. Since the disclosed range of Fursa, about 5 MHz to 7 MHz substantially overlaps the claimed range, 5.4 MHz to 8 MHz, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, Fursa as modified by Abi Aoun to incorporate a tunable oscillator (Abi Aoun: 102, “H-Bridge driver”) for generating the switching signal, as set forth the above with respect to the claim 16 rejection, would enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to select and adjust the operating frequency, including values extending to the claimed upper limit of 8 MHz, as a matter of routine engineering selection absent evidence of criticality for the specific claimed endpoints.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the tunable switching frequency of Fursa, Okazaki, and Abi Aoun to operate within the claimed range of 5.4 MHz to 8 MHz. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 20, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein the tunable switching frequency is tunable in a range between 6.4 MHz and 7.2 MHz.
However, Fursa discloses the power supply electronics comprising “[t]he DC/AC converter … configured to operate at … a frequency ranging from … about 5 MHz to 7 MHz.” Fursa, p. 16, lns. 22-25. This range substantially overlaps the claimed range of 6.4 MHz to 7.2 MHz. Since the disclosed range of Fursa, about 5 MHz to 7 MHz substantially overlaps the claimed range, 6.4 MHz to 7.2 MHz, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Further, Fursa as modified by Abi Aoun to incorporate a tunable oscillator (Abi Aoun: 102, “H-Bridge driver”) for generating the switching signal, as set forth the above with respect to the claim 16 rejection, would enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to select and adjust the operating frequency, including values extending to the claimed upper limit of 7.2 MHz, as a matter of routine engineering selection absent evidence of criticality for the specific claimed endpoints.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the tunable switching frequency of Fursa, Okazaki, and Abi Aoun to operate within the claimed range of 6.4 MHz to 7.2 MHz. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 21, which is a dependent claim of claim 16, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the capacitor (Fursa: C2) included in the LC load network (Fursa, p. 16, lns. 28-29), but does not explicitly teach a tolerance of a capacitance of the capacitor is in a range between ±4 percent of a nominal capacitance value of the capacitor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices, Abi Aoun teaches wherein a tolerance of a capacitance of the capacitor is in a range between ±4 percent of a nominal capacitance value of the capacitor (Abi Aoun teaches that resonant frequency is dependent on the capacitance C, which is construed as the “nominal capacitance,” and which based on the equation taught by Abi Aoun is:
C
=
1
/
(
f
r
2
L
)
;
thus, the tolerance of the Capacitance is construed as being
∆
C
=
1
/
(
∆
f
2
L
)
, where
∆
f
=
f
A
'
-
f
A
, as taught in Fig. 3b of Abi Aoun; Abi Aoun teaches that the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ around a center frequency fr, Fig. 3b, is a result-effective variable based on the bandwidth B in Fig. 3a; construed such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use a range of capacitance within a range of ±4 percent, which Abi Aoun teaches is dependent on the bandwidth of the response 300, which will change depending on the different temperatures or other conditions of the susceptor, resonance circuit, or the device, Figs. 3a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to accommodate for a change in capacitance by adjusting a first frequency, as taught by Abi Aoun, for the transistor switch, as taught by Fursa, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 22, which is a dependent claim of claim 16, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductor (Fursa: 110) included in the LC load network (Fursa, p. 16, lns. 28-29), but does not explicitly teach a tolerance of an inductance of the inductor is in a range between ±7 percent of a nominal inductance value of the inductor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices, Abi Aoun teaches wherein a tolerance of an inductance of the inductor is in a range between ±7 percent of a nominal inductance value of the inductor (Abi Aoun teaches that resonant frequency is dependent on the inductance L, which is construed as the “nominal inductance,” and which based on the equation taught by Abi Aoun is:
L
=
1
/
(
f
r
2
C
)
;
thus, the tolerance of the inductance is construed as being
∆
L
=
1
/
(
∆
f
2
C
)
, where
∆
f
=
f
A
'
-
f
A
, as taught in Fig. 3b of Abi Aoun; Abi Aoun teaches that the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ around a center frequency fr, Fig. 3b, is a result-effective variable based on the bandwidth B in Fig. 3a; construed such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use a range of inductance within a range of ±7 percent, which Abi Aoun teaches is dependent on the bandwidth of the response 300, which will change depending on the different temperatures or other conditions of the susceptor, resonance circuit, or the device, Figs. 3a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to accommodate for a change in inductance by adjusting a first frequency, as taught by Abi Aoun, for the transistor switch, as taught by Fursa, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 23, which is a dependent claim of claim 16, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductor (Fursa: 110) included in the LC load network (Fursa, p. 16, lns. 28-29), but does not explicitly teach a tolerance of an inductance of the inductor is in a range between ±5 percent of a nominal inductance value of the inductor.
However, in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices, Abi Aoun teaches wherein a tolerance of an inductance of the inductor is in a range between ±5 percent of a nominal inductance value of the inductor (Abi Aoun teaches that resonant frequency is dependent on the inductance L, which is construed as the “nominal inductance,” and which based on the equation taught by Abi Aoun is:
L
=
1
/
(
f
r
2
C
)
;
thus, the tolerance of the inductance is construed as being
∆
L
=
1
/
(
∆
f
2
C
)
, where
∆
f
=
f
A
'
-
f
A
, as taught in Fig. 3b of Abi Aoun; Abi Aoun teaches that the range of frequencies between fA and fA’ around a center frequency fr, Fig. 3b, is a result-effective variable based on the bandwidth B in Fig. 3a; construed such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use a range of inductance within a range of ±5 percent, which Abi Aoun teaches is dependent on the bandwidth of the response 300, which will change depending on the different temperatures or other conditions of the susceptor, resonance circuit, or the device, Figs. 3a-b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to accommodate for a change in inductance by adjusting a first frequency, as taught by Abi Aoun, for the transistor switch, as taught by Fursa, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 24, Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, wherein the resonant switching power amplifier is one of a class-C power amplifier, a class-D power amplifier, and a class-E power amplifier (Okazaki, ¶ [0106]; as set forth above with respect to claim 16, Okazaki teaches that the resonant switching power amplifier is a class-E amplifier, which satisfies the claimed limitation reciting the amplifier as one of a class-C, class-D, or class-E amplifier).
Regarding claim 25, which is a dependent claim of claim 16, the combination of Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun as set forth above regarding claim 16 teaches the invention of claim 25. Specifically, Abi Aoun teaches, in Fig. 2b, the controller (114) further configured to set up the tunable oscillator (102, “H-Bridge driver”) to output a switching signal having an operating switching frequency (¶ [0059]: “controller 114 controls the H-Bridge 102... to provide an alternating current... at a given drive frequency f”) determined in response to the received current signal (¶ [0070]: voltage VIND induced in the pick-up coil 120b, indicative of the DC supply current, as set forth above with respect to claim 16), for which operating switching frequency the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range (Fig. 3b: fA’-fA; ¶ [0081]: “the controller 114 may determine one or more of the first frequencies... and control the resonance circuit 100 to be driven at this first frequency,” as set forth above with respect to claim 16).
Regarding claim 29, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, further comprising a susceptor arrangement (Fursa: 4, “susceptor”), wherein the susceptor arrangement is arranged within the alternating magnetic field generated by the inductor (Fursa: 110) during operation of the heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) (Fursa, p. 32, lns. 21-23: “When an aerosol-generating article 10 is correctly located in the substrate receiving cavity 130, the susceptor4 of the article 10 is located within this fluctuating electromagnetic field,” which the examiner interprets as the susceptor arrangement being arranged within the alternating magnetic field generated by the inductor during operation of the heating arrangement).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fursa et al. (WO 2018096000) hereinafter Fursa, in view of Okazaki et al. (CN 101669281) hereinafter Okazaki, Abi Aoun et al. (US 20200037402) hereinafter Abi Aoun, and further in view of Pancholi et al. (US 20150341038) hereinafter Pancholi.
Regarding claim 26, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, wherein the DC supply current (Fursa: “DC current”) for the switching signal (Fursa: “switching signal”) in operation drawn from the DC power source (Fursa: 150) is in the predetermined range (Abi Aoun, Fig. 3b: fA’-fA, as set forth above with respect to claim 16), but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is operatively couplable to a calibration apparatus configured to determine in response to the current signal an operating switching frequency of the switching signal, and wherein the controller is further configured to communicate the current signal to the calibration apparatus and to receive a signal communicated from the calibration apparatus indicative of the determined operating switching frequency.
However, Pancholi teaches, in Fig. 1A,
a controller (122, “controller”) is operatively couplable to a calibration apparatus (102, “calibration device”) (¶ [0038]: “[e]lectronic device 120 [comprising a controller 122] may communicate with calibration device 102 via mating parts 116, 118 of a mechanical and electrical connector,” as also shown in Fig. 1A, which the examiner interprets the controller and the calibration device are operatively coupled and thus couplable) configured to determine in response to the current signal an operating switching frequency of the switching signal (¶ [0042]: “The processor 124, executing temperature sensor and oscillator readings for calibration instructions 134, may obtain readings from the temperature sensor and the oscillator to determine the sensed temperature reading from temperature sensor 136, and the frequency output from oscillator 138, respectively, and may send the readings to the calibration device 102[;] ... [i]n response to receiving the readings, the calibration control and correction factor determination instructions 110, executed by processor 106, may determine the temperature sensor correction factor and the oscillator correction factor,” which the examiner interprets, in view of the oscillator reading communicated to and processed by the calibration device 102, as corresponding to the calibration apparatus determining an operating switching frequency in response to a current signal), and
wherein the controller (122) is further configured to communicate the current signal to the calibration apparatus (102) (¶ [0042]: “The processor 124 [of the controller 122 as shown in Fig. 1A]... may obtain readings from the temperature sensor and the oscillator... and may send the readings to the calibration device 102,” which the examiner interprets as the controller communicating the current signal to the calibration apparatus) and to receive a signal communicated from the calibration apparatus (102) indicative of the determined operating switching frequency (¶ [0042]: “the calibration control and correction factor determination instructions 110... may determine the temperature sensor correction factor and the oscillator correction factor, and may send... the oscillator correction factor 144 to the electronic device 120,” which the examiner interprets as the controller receiving a signal communicated from the calibration apparatus indicative of the determined operating switching frequency).
Pancholi is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the same problem of adjusting the resonant frequency for an LC circuit. Pancholi teaches that oscillator calibration may be performed by the electronic device alone, by an external calibration device alone, or by a combination of the electronic device and an external calibration device (Pancholi, ¶ [0032]), demonstrating that the choice between on-device and external-device calibration architectures was a known, interchangeable design option in the art at the time of the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the controller of Fursa in combination with Okazaki and Abi Aoun to be operatively couplable to an external calibration apparatus configured to determine the operating switching frequency in response to a communicated current signal and to communicate the determined operating switching frequency back to the controller, as taught by Pancholi, in order to apply a known technique (external calibration apparatus architecture of Pancholi) to a known device (the current responsive frequency tuning controller of Fursa, Okazaki and Abi Aoun) that was ready for improvement, thereby enabling the operating switching frequency to be determined and set using equipment external to the heating arrangement itself.
Fig. 1A of Pancholi
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fursa et al. (WO 2018096000) hereinafter Fursa, in view of Okazaki et al. (CN 101669281) hereinafter Okazaki, Abi Aoun et al. (US 20200037402) hereinafter Abi Aoun, and further in view of Bowling et al. (US 20100259179) hereinafter Bowling.
Regarding claim 27, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches the inductive heating arrangement (Fursa: 100) according to claim 16, comprising the controller (Fursa: 161, “MCU”) and the current sensor (Fursa: “current sensor”), but does not explicitly teach the controller is operatively coupled to the current sensor and the transistor switch driver circuit in a feedback-loop configuration.
However, Bowling discloses, in Fig. 10, the controller is operatively coupled to the current sensor (1016, “current sense resistor”) and the transistor switch driver circuit (510, “power switching transistor drivers”) in a feedback-loop configuration (¶ [0038]: “a sense resistor 1016 is added to the circuit... feedback control of the apparent brightness of the fluorescent lamp(s) may be implemented by measuring the current through the sense resistor 1016... fed into an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) of the digital device 502a”; ¶ [0039]: “A common technique known in the literature as PID control (proportional-integral-differential) may be implemented in software... A PID control loop may use this analog input... to adjust the lamp dimming circuit,” which the examiner interprets, in view of Bowling’s architecture comprising the PID control loop, the current sense resistor and the power switching transistor drivers (510) controlled thereby, as corresponding to the claimed controller being coupled to the current sensor and the transistor switch driver circuit in the feedback-loop configuration).
Fursa, Okazaki, Abi Aoun, and Bowling are considered to be analogous art because they are in the same field of electronic circuits employing current sensing feedback for control of switching frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the controller of Fursa, as modified by Abi Aoun with respect to claim 16, to be coupled to the current sensor and the transistor switch driver circuit in a feedback loop configuration, as taught by Bowling, in order to “maintain the demanded brightness regardless of temperature transitions (e.g., drift or transients).” Bowling ¶ [0040].
Fig. 10 of Bowling
Regarding claim 28, which is a dependent claim of claim 27, the combination of Fursa in view of Okazaki, Abi Aoun, and Bowling as set forth above regarding claim 27 teaches the invention of claim 28. Specifically, Abi Aoun teaches, in Fig. 2b, the controller (114) further configured to determine, in response to the received current signal, an operating switching frequency of the switching signal (¶ [0081]: “controller 114 may determine one or more of the first frequencies... and control the resonance circuit 100 to be driven at this first frequency,” as set forth above with respect to claim 16), for which in operation the DC supply current drawn from the DC power source is in the predetermined range (Fig. 3b: fA’-fA, as set forth above with respect to claim 16).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fursa et al. (WO 2018096000) hereinafter Fursa, in view of Okazaki et al. (CN 101669281) hereinafter Okazaki, Abi Aoun et al. (US 20200037402) hereinafter Abi Aoun, and further in view of Bleloch et al. (WO 2020223350) hereinafter Bleloch.
Regarding claim 30, which is a dependent claim of claim 16, Fursa in view of Okazaki and Abi Aoun teaches a method comprising:
determining an actual DC supply current (Fursa: “DC current”) drawn from the DC power source (Fursa: 150) during operation of the heating arrangement (Fursa: 100);
determining an operating switching frequency (Fursa: p. 17, lns. 30-32) of the switching signal (Fursa, p. 22, lns. 11-13: “for supplying the switching signal”) for which in operation the actual DC supply current (Fursa: “DC current”) drawn from the DC power source (Fursa: 150) is in the predetermined range ( Abi Aoun, Fig. 3b: fA’-fA, as set forth above with respect to claim 16); and
setting up the tunable oscillator (Abi Aoun: 102, “H-Bridge driver”) to output a switching signal having the determined operating switching frequency (Abi Aoun, ¶ [0081]: “controller 114 may determine one or more of the first frequencies... and control the resonance circuit 100 to be driven at this first frequency,” as set forth above with respect to claim 16).
Fursa, Okazaki, and Abi Aoun does not explicitly teach a method of calibrating an inductive heating arrangement, wherein the method further comprises: operatively coupling the heating arrangement to a reference susceptor arrangement; and operating the heating arrangement to heat the reference susceptor arrangement.
However, Bleloch teaches a method (Fig. 3C: 300C, “method”) of calibrating an inductive heating arrangement (Fig. 1: 100, “system”; ¶ [0196]: “system 100 may be implemented as an induction heating system”) (¶ [0279]: “a method 300C for determining a characteristic... of a susceptor element... 140... in a system, such as an induction heating system”; ¶ [0301]: “control device 110 may perform a first or reference calibration based on an induction heating system (e.g., a reference induction heating system that is calibrated at a manufacturing facility)... this set of values can be used to calibrate the consumer induction heating system,” the examiner interprets Bleloch as corresponding to the claimed method of calibrating an inductive heating arrangement), wherein the method (300C) further comprises:
operatively coupling the heating arrangement (“reference induction heating circuit”) to a reference susceptor arrangement (“second susceptor element”) (¶ [0294]: “the reference calibration process may be performed using a reference induction heating circuit, which includes an induction heating circuit that has the same or similar configuration as induction heating circuit 150, and/or a second susceptor element, which includes a susceptor element that has the same or similar configuration as susceptor element 140,” which the examiner interprets the “second susceptor element” as corresponding to the claimed “reference susceptor arrangement,” and the “reference induction heating circuit” as corresponding to the claimed “heating arrangement” operatively coupled thereto; ¶ [0301]: “a reference induction heating system that is calibrated at a manufacturing facility,” which the examiner interprets as the reference susceptor arrangement being coupled to a heating arrangement specifically for factory calibration purposes); and
operating the heating arrangement (“reference induction heating circuit”) to heat the reference susceptor arrangement (“second susceptor element”) (¶ [0295]: “determining, for the first selected temperature and a first selected amount of driving current, a first response phase of reference induction heating circuit 150, wherein the first response phase is based on a magnetic property of the second susceptor element at a first driving frequency,” which the examiner interprets as the reference induction heating circuit being driven/operated while electromagnetically coupled to the second susceptor element; ¶ [0302]: “a susceptor element in system 100 that includes a reference induction heating system is maintained at a selected temperature,” which the examiner interprets as the reference susceptor arrangement being heated during operation of the heating arrangement).
Bleloch is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor of aerosol-generating devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Fursa in combination with Okazaki and Abi Aoun to be a method of calibrating the inductive heating arrangement by operatively coupling the heating arrangement to a reference susceptor arrangement and operating the heating arrangement to heat the reference susceptor arrangement, as taught by Bleloch, in order to “output a set of values” at a manufacturing facility “that may differ from a consumer induction heating system,” which set of values “can be used to calibrate the consumer induction heating system” (Bleloch, ¶ [0301]), thereby making the system “easier and cheaper to fabricate and to operate with susceptor elements that are similar, but not identical, to a reference susceptor.” Bleloch, ¶ [0364].
Fig. 1 of Bleloch
Fig. 3C of Bleloch
Regarding claim 31, Fursa in view of Okazaki, Abi Aoun and Bleloch teaches the method according to claim 30, wherein the determining the operating switching frequency (Fursa: p. 17, lns. 30-32) comprises tuning the operating switching frequency of the switching signal (Fursa, p. 33, lns. 11-13: “for supplying the switching signal”) while determining the actual DC supply current (Fursa: “DC current”) drawn from the DC power source (Fursa: 150) until the actual DC supply current is in a predetermined range (Abi Aoun, Fig. 4: step 406; ¶ [0067]: “control the H-bridge 104 to scan through a range of drive frequencies f over a period of time. The electrical property of the RLC circuit 100 may be measured during the scan of drive frequencies, and hence the frequency response 300 of the RLC circuit 100 as a function of the driving frequency f may be determined”; ¶ [0096]: “controlling a drive frequency f of the RLC resonance circuit 100 to be at the determined first frequency f.sub.A, f.sub.B, f.sub.c, f′.sub.A in order to heat the susceptor 116... the controller 114 may send a control signal to the H-Bridge driver 114 to drive the RLC circuit 100 at the first frequency,” which the examiner interprets, in view of the continuous/iterative scanning of drive frequencies while measuring the electrical property (current-indicative signal) of the RLC circuit, as corresponding to tuning the operating switching frequency of the switching signal while determining the actual DC supply current until the actual DC supply current is in the predetermined range).
Fig. 4 of Abi Aoun
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sutra et al. (US 12702167), Courbat et al. (US 20210378311), Taurino et al. (CN 112367872), Korus et al. (WO 2020043900), Hwang et al. (KR 20200009993), Zhao et al. (CN 105048971).
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761