Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 01/16/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 01/16/2026. Claims 1-10 are considered in this office action. Claims 1, 6-7, and 9-10 are amended. Claims 1-10 are pending examination. Applicant's amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection therefore, claims 1-10 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action:
Prior art does not disclose the amended claim 1 limitations of: commanding activation of the pump to inject the cleaning fluid into a selection of valves during a determined time period, wherein commanding the activation of the pump to inject the cleaning liquid extends to an inlet orifice of the selection of valves is followed by an opening of the selection of valves for a duration of the determined period;
The Applicant’s argument A with respect to the claims have been fully considered and are moot in light of new grounds for rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 4-5 are all rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1) in view of Foster et al. (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arunmozhi discloses a method for verifying the operation of a vehicle-surface cleaning device mounted on a motor vehicle, comprising: a reservoir with a cleaning liquid, a nozzle for spraying the cleaning liquid onto a cleaning surface, a fluid distribution circuit designed to convey the cleaning liquid from the reservoir to a cleaning nozzle and a pump designed to inject the cleaning liquid from the reservoir into the fluid distribution circuit (Arunmozhi, 0037, Lines 1-8, the cleaning system 28 of the sensor system 10 includes a reservoir 44, the pump 20, supply lines 22, 26, the pressure sensor 34, the manifold 18, and nozzles 32. Fluid can flow from the reservoir 44 and the pump 20 to the nozzles 32 via the supply lines 22, 26 and the manifold 18. The cleaning system 28 distributes washer fluid stored in the reservoir 44 to the nozzles 32. “Washer fluid” is any liquid stored in the reservoir 44 for cleaning. The washer fluid may include solvents, detergents, diluents such as water, etc.), the fluid distribution circuit including a distribution block that includes a valve positioned between an outlet orifice of the pump and the nozzle (Arunmozhi, 0040, Lines 5-9, the manifold 18 includes a plurality of solenoid valves 16, and one solenoid valve 16 is located in each tube 50, i.e., between the inlet 46 and one respective outlet 52. Each solenoid valve 16 controls flow through one tube 50, i.e., controls whether or not fluid is directed to respective nozzles 32), performing a measured parameter relating to a pressure of the cleaning liquid in a segment of the fluid distribution circuit located upstream of the several valves using a pressure sensor, performing a comparison of the measured parameter relating to the pressure of the cleaning liquid against a predetermined expected value, (Arunmozhi, 0007, Lines 1-4, the instructions can further include instructions to determine the solenoid valve is in the closed position based on the difference between the first pressure and the second pressure being less than or equal to a first threshold) … (Arunmozhi, 0053, Lines 5-6, the first threshold may be determined empirically to determine a pressure drop in the primary supply line 22), (Arunmozhi, 0007, Lines 1-4, the instructions can further include instructions to determine the solenoid valve is in the closed position based on the difference between the first pressure and the second pressure being less than or equal to a first threshold) … (Arunmozhi, 0053, Lines 5-6, the first threshold may be determined empirically to determine a pressure drop in the primary supply line 22), (Arunmozhi, 0053, Lines 1-5, the computer 14 is programmed to determine the respective solenoid valve 16 is in the closed position based on comparing the difference, e.g., the absolute value of the difference, to a first threshold. The first threshold is a pressure drop below which the computer 14 determines a solenoid valve 16 is in the closed position), and generating a warning signal in the event that the cleaning device is malfunctioning (Arunmozhi, 0059, Lines 1-5, upon determining that the cleaning system 28 has a fluid leak, the computer 14 is programmed to set a diagnostic trouble code (DTC) or the like in the onboard diagnostics system identifying the fluid leak in the cleaning system 28. The computer 14 may set separate DTC's based on the fluid leak). However, Arunmozhi does not explicitly disclose, the distribution block includes several valves where a flow sensor is connected to each valve so as to measure a flow rate of cleaning liquid leaving the several valves, the following steps: command activation of the pump to inject the cleaning fluid into a selection of valves during a determined time period, wherein commanding the activation of the pump to inject the cleaning liquid extends to an inlet orifice of the selection of valves is followed by an opening of the selection of valves for a duration of the determined period; commanding activation of the pump to inject cleaning liquid as extended to the inlet orifice of the selection of valves is coupled with maintaining the selection of valves in a closed state.
Nevertheless, Foster who is in the same field of endeavor of flow control devices
discloses, the distribution block includes several valves where a flow sensor is connected to each valve so as to measure a flow rate of cleaning liquid leaving the several valves (0012, the device further comprises a flow meter downstream of the valves and to provide a signal to the controller indicative of flow through the valves) … (0046, the valves 12, 13 and 14 are arranged in parallel and are each connected to a conduit 18 that extends to a flow meter 19 connected to the conduit 16. The flow meter 19 provides an electric signal, delivered to the controller 17, that provides an indication of the flow being delivered to the conduit 16),
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention
would have been motivated to combine Arunmozhi with Foster for the benefit of monitoring
flow rate in multiple valves using a single flow sensor. This would allow for an indication of the
flow rate being delivered to the conduit.
Further justification for combining Arunmozhi with Foster not only comes from the state of the art but from Foster (0074, whilst the preferred method of control described above detects a cessation of water flow before the expiry of the various timer periods and responds by closing the valves, the system may be alternatively operated). However even the combination of Arunmozhi and Foster does not explicitly disclose the following steps: command activation of the pump to inject the cleaning fluid into a selection of valves during a determined time period, wherein commanding the activation of the pump to inject the cleaning liquid extends to an inlet orifice of the selection of valves is followed by an opening of the selection of valves for a duration of the determined period; commanding activation of the pump to inject cleaning liquid as extended to the inlet orifice of the selection of valves is coupled with maintaining the selection of valves in a closed state.
Nevertheless, Yamauchi et al who is in the same field of endeavor of onboard sensor cleaning devices discloses, command activation of the pump to inject the cleaning fluid (12. drive the pump based on a control signal for cleaning in a state in which the flow passage is disconnected by the communication valve and then continuously perform a process until fluid is ejected from the nozzle opening), into a selection of valves (0125, washer pump 109 to be connected to one of the nozzle openings 105 a to 108 a and the flow passage at the side of the washer pump 109 to be disconnected from all of the nozzle openings), during a determined time period (0104, the controller 8 drives the washer pump 4 during a preset time T (between time T2 and time T3)), wherein commanding the activation of the pump to inject the cleaning liquid extends to an inlet orifice of the selection of valves is followed by an opening of the selection of valves for a duration of the determined period (0166 - 01667, the controller 123 drives the washer pump 109 only for the preset time T in a state in which the flow passage (pressure accumulator 111) at the side of the washer pump 109 is disconnected from all of the nozzle openings 165 a of the cleaning units 151 to 154 by the flow passage switching device 113 (communication valve 110). Consequently, the pressure at the outlet of the washer pump 109 increases immediately after the washer pump 109 is driven, and the pressure becomes high and remains substantially constant. In this case, the pressure in the pressure accumulator 111 also becomes high. Then, at time T13, for example, the controller 123 drives the stepping motor 115 to connect the flow passage), and commanding activation of the pump to inject cleaning liquid as extended to the inlet orifice of the selection of valves is coupled with maintaining the selection of valves in a closed state (8. the on-off valve is a communication valve that can connect the pump-side portion of the flow passage to at least one of the plurality of nozzle openings and disconnect the pump-side portion of the flow passage from all of the plurality of nozzle openings).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention
would have been motivated to combine the combination of Arunmozhi and Foster to incorporate Yamauchi for the benefit of monitoring the flow rate a selection of valves and allowing the system to pre-pressurize the fluid upstream of the selected outlet path while the downstream path is kept closed. This would allow for the release of the stored pressure when the path is opened so the system gets a stronger and more effective cleaning burst without needing to keep spraying cleaning fluid the whole time.
Further justification for combining the combination of Arunmozhi and Foster to incorporate Yamauchi not only comes from the state of the art but from Yamauchi (00205, this disclosure also includes various modified examples or modifications within the scope of equivalence. Additionally, various combinations or aspects and another combination or aspect obtained by adding only one element, one or more elements, or one or less elements to the various combinations or aspects are all included in the spirit of scope of this disclosure).
Regarding claim 4, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclosed the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Arunmozhi discloses, the method steps taking place at least once during a cycle of cleaning at least one surface of the motor vehicle (Arunmozhi, 0050, Lines 1-7, upon determining the obstruction trigger has occurred, the computer 14 is programmed to actuate the cleaning system 28 to spray the respective sensor 30 with washer fluid. The computer 14 is programmed to command the pump 20 to activate and supply washer fluid to the supply lines 22, 26. The computer 14 is programmed to command the solenoid valve 16 corresponding to the respective sensor 30 to move to the open position while the rest of the solenoid valves).
Regarding claim 5, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclosed the verification method of claim 4 as discussed supra. Additionally, Arunmozhi discloses, the measuring of the parameter relating to the pressure in the segment of the fluid distribution circuit that is located upstream of the valve or valves takes place prior to the first opening of a valve or between two openings of a valve (Arunmozhi, 0065, Lines 1-10, in the block 425, the computer 14 determines a first pressure in the primary supply line 22. Specifically, the computer 14 commands the pump 20 to activate after commanding the solenoid valve 16 corresponding to the respective sensor 30 to move to the closed position. The computer 14 then determines the first pressure based on first data received from the pressure sensor 34, as discussed above. That is, the computer 14 determines the first pressure between the pump 20 and the manifold 18 after commanding the solenoid valve 16 to move to the closed position and while the pump 20 is supplying washer fluid to the primary supply line 22).
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1) in view of Foster (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1), further in view of Wonderlich et al (US10827740B2).
Regarding claim 2, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclosed the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Wonderlich who is in the same field of endeavor of liquid flow sensors discloses, a duration between the command to activate the pump while keeping the valve or valves in the closed state is greater than or equal to a duration enabling a maximum pressure to be attained in the segment of the fluid distribution circuit that is located between the outlet orifice of the pump and the valve in normal operation (Wonderlich, Detailed Description, Paragraph 25, thus, the pressure drop across the valves can be sampled at the same frequency as well. In one example, the sampling frequency is high enough so that the duty cycle of the pulse width modulated signal that is applied to each valve (or characteristic of the actual pulse of liquid through the valve—such as pulse duration, pulse frequency, etc.) can be identified within a threshold amount of time. For example, it may be that the pressures (or the signals) are sampled at a rate which is multiple times that of the duty cycle of the pulse width modulated signal. In one example, the sampling rate is sufficient so that a pressure signal can be sampled twice during the active portion of the pulse width modulated signal. In another example, the sampling frequency is sufficient so that the pressure signal can be sampled 4 times, 8 times, or more, during the active portion of the duty cycle of the pulse width modulated signal. With a sufficient sampling rate, the duration of the pulse of liquid material through the corresponding valve can be identified with a relatively high degree of accuracy).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi with Wonderlich for the benefit of monitoring pressure in a valve to determine if there are leaks based on timed thresholds.
Further justification for combining the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi with Wonderlich not only comes from the state of the art but from Wonderlich (Wonderlich, it should also be noted that the different embodiments described herein can be combined in different ways. That is, parts of one or more embodiments can be combined with parts of one or more other embodiments. All of this is contemplated herein).
Regarding claim 6, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclose the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Wonderlich discloses, the opening of the selection of valve preceding a measurement of the parameter relating to the pressure in the segment of the fluid distribution circuit that is located upstream (Wonderlich, Detailed Description, Paragraph 45, pulse duration logic 314 then identifies the beginning of each pulse, the end of each pulse, and the pulse duration (or the time that the valve is open). This is indicated by block 402. In one example, the row pressure is monitored so that when the row pressure changes (indicating that the valve is open) this is monitored to identify when the pressure indicates that the valve is opened (the beginning of each pulse). The row pressure is also monitored to identify when the pressure indicates when the valve is closed (the end of the pulse). The amount of time between when the valve opens and when it closes will identify the duration of the pulsed flow of liquid material through the valve for that pulse).
Furthermore, Yamauchi discloses the selection of valves (0125, washer pump 109 to be connected to one of the nozzle openings 105 a to 108 a and the flow passage at the side of the washer pump 109 to be disconnected from all of the nozzle openings).
The reasoning and justification for combining these disclosures is the same as given in regard to claim 1. Additionally, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi to incorporate Wonderlich. This would provide the benefit of monitoring pressure in a valve to determine if there are leaks based on timed thresholds.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1) in view of Foster (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1), further in view of Kattner et al (DE 102016220011 B4).
Regarding claim 3, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclosed the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Kattner who is in the same field of endeavor of motor vehicle cleaning systems discloses, the method steps taking place upon the starting of the engine of the motor vehicle (Kattner, Description, after the motor vehicle K has been started, a query A1 is first used via an internal program logic to determine whether the sensor S1 has reached a certain degree of soiling. This can be determined using the already described quality signal G of the sensor S1. If this is not yet the case, a further query A2 asks whether there is already a small amount of contamination and whether there is a "good opportunity" for cleaning the sensor and is therefore tolerable. A favorable opportunity can be given, for example, by traffic-related stopping phases, as already described. If queries A1 and A2 are answered in the negative, the system returns to query A1. If query A2 is answered in the affirmative, a cleaning process takes place).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi to incorporate Kattner for the benefit of having the cleaning system start when the vehicle is being used. This would ensure that the vehicle always has clean components so that the operational condition of the vehicle is safe.
Justification for combining the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi with Kattner not only comes from the state of the art but from Arunmozhi (Arunmozhi , 0082, many modifications and variations of the present disclosure are possible in light of the above teachings, and the disclosure may be practiced otherwise than as specifically described).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1) in view of Foster (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1), further in view of Singh et al (US20220018461A1).
Regarding claim 7, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclosed the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Additionally, Singh who is in the same field of endeavor of valve diagnostic systems discloses, a flow sensor, including the following steps: - commanding activation of the pump to inject the cleaning liquid extended (Singh, 0049, Lines16-18, the controller 222 can also activate and/or deactivate the pump 212 to pressurize the fluid apparatus 202 and/or displace fluid from the reservoir 210 to the solenoid manifold 204) … (Singh, 0053, Lines19-16, the flowmeter 406 receives the electrical signals and determines a flow rate of the fluid within the tube 208. In some implementations, the flowmeter 406 may use ultrasonic transit time techniques to measure the flow rate. For instance, the difference in a transit time between the generated ultrasonic signals and the measured ultrasonic signals is directly proportional to a flow velocity of the fluid and a volume flow rate), measuring a flow rate of the cleaning liquid, comparing a measured flow rate against a predetermined expected flow rate, and determining of an operating status of the cleaning device (Singh, 0056, Lines 1-5, the flowmeter 504 can provide the determined flow rate to the controller 222, and the controller 222 can determine whether at least one solenoid valve 212 is in the open position incorrectly. For instance, the controller 222 may include a lookup table that relates flow rate to solenoid valve states).
Additionally, Yamauchi discloses the selection of valves (0125, washer pump 109 to be connected to one of the nozzle openings 105 a to 108 a and the flow passage at the side of the washer pump 109 to be disconnected from all of the nozzle openings), during a determined time period (0104, the controller 8 drives the washer pump 4 during a preset time T (between time T2 and time T3)),
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi to incorporate Singh for the benefit of having another method to detect faults in the system. Having a flowmeter serve as a diagnostic tool would allow the system to better determine if there is a fault in the valves.
Justification for combining the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi in view of Singh not only comes from the state of the art but from Singh (Singh , 0073, it should be understood that the invention is capable of modification and variation and is limited only by the following claims).
Regarding claim 8, Arunmozhi, Foster, Yamauchi and Singh disclose the verification method of claim 7 as discussed supra. Furthermore, Singh discloses, a flow sensor is connected to the pump so as to measure a flow rate of liquid leaving the pump (Singh, 0043, Lines 1-6, as shown, the fluid apparatus 202 includes a solenoid manifold 204 defining an inlet 206. The inlet 206 is connected to a tube 208 that provides fluid from a reservoir 210 to the solenoid manifold 204. The tube 208 may comprise a hose or a pipe in various implementations. The fluid apparatus 202 can include a pump 212 that displaces the fluid stored in the reservoir 210 to the solenoid manifold 204 via the tube 208). The reasoning and justification for combining these disclosures is the same as given in regard to claim 7.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1), in view of Foster (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1), further in view of Singh et al (US20220018461A1), further in view of Wonderlich et al (US10827740B2).
Regarding claim 9, Arunmozhi, Foster, Yamauchi , and Singh disclose the verification method of claim 7 as discussed supra. Furthermore, Wonderlich discloses, the distribution block includes a selection of valves, a flow sensor being connected to the selection of valves so as to measure the flow rate of liquid leaving the valves or the distribution block that includes the several valves, the flow sensor being connected to each of the valves or some of the several valves so as to measure a flow rate of cleaning liquid leaving (Wonderlich, Detailed Description, Paragraph 44, row flow rate identifier logic 308 then identifies a valve flow rate (FV) for each row. The value FV will identify the mass flow rate of an amount of liquid material passing through the valve when the valve is actuated by the pulse width modulated control signal. Identifying FV for each row is indicated by block 396. In one example, FV can be identified based on PB, PR and valve Cv. For instance, the valve flow rate can be identified using equation 1 above. This is indicated by block 396. The valve flow rate can of course be identified in other ways as well, such as by placing individual flow meters on the valves, or in other ways. This is indicated by block 400).
Furthermore, Yamauchi discloses the concept of the selection of valves (0125, washer pump 109 to be connected to one of the nozzle openings 105 a to 108 a and the flow passage at the side of the washer pump 109 to be disconnected from all of the nozzle openings).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, Yamauchi and Singh top incorporate Wonderlich so the system will measure the flow rate of each individual valve in order to diagnose the specific valve that has a fault.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Arunmozhi et al (US20220009452A1) in view of Foster (US20110146805A1), further in view of Yamauchi et al. (US20200114881A1), further in view of Adamosky et al (Protect Pump Motors with Simple Current Monitoring Techniques).
Regarding claim 10, Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi disclose the verification method of claim 1 as discussed supra. Furthermore, Arunmozhi discloses commanding activation of the pump to inject cleaning liquid extended to the selection of valves during a determined time period (Arunmozhi, 0015, Lines 2-10, the method further includes, upon activating a pump to supply fluid to the manifold via a supply line, determining a first pressure in the supply line after commanding the solenoid valve to move to the closed position. The method further includes, upon deactivating the pump to stop supplying fluid to the manifold, determining a second pressure in the supply line. The method further includes, based on a difference between the first pressure and the second pressure, determining the solenoid valve is one of (a) at least partially open or (b) in the closed position).
Additionally, Yamauchi discloses the selection of valves, (0125, washer pump 109 to be connected to one of the nozzle openings 105 a to 108 a and the flow passage at the side of the washer pump 109 to be disconnected from all of the nozzle openings). However, even the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi does not explicitly disclose the cleaning device further includes a measurement device tracking an electrical power consumption of the pump and measuring the electrical power consumption of the pump, comparing the electrical power consumption of the pump against a predetermined expected draw of current and determining an operating status of the cleaning device.
Nevertheless, Adamosky who is in the same field of endeavor of pump diagnostics and upkeep discloses, a measurement device tracking an electrical power consumption of the pump (Adamosky, Basic Theory and Operation, Paragraph 2, once you know the current draw for normal operation, you can determine appropriate current limits. For example, if the amount of current used increases dramatically, the pump is probably jammed. A quick drop in current indicates a probable blockage in the suction line or pin shear. These conditions can be detected within milliseconds of the occurrence, normally much faster than a thermal fuse. The system can be automatically stopped prior to serious damage to the motor or pump due to overheating), and measuring the electrical power consumption of the pump, comparing the electrical power consumption of the pump against a predetermined expected draw of current and determining an operating status of the cleaning device (Adamosky, Basic Theory and Operation, Paragraph 2, once you know the current draw for normal operation, you can determine appropriate current limits. For example, if the amount of current used increases dramatically, the pump is probably jammed. A quick drop in current indicates a probable blockage in the suction line or pin shear. These conditions can be detected within milliseconds of the occurrence, normally much faster than a thermal fuse. The system can be automatically stopped prior to serious damage to the motor or pump due to overheating).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Arunmozhi. Foster, and Yamauchi to incorporate Adamosky’s disclosures so the system will monitor the electrical current associated with a pump and compare it to normal operating current draw. The difference in current would be able to detect a fault such as a jam, and possibly preventing overheating.
Justification for combining the combination of Arunmozhi, Foster, and Yamauchi in view of Adamosky not only comes from the state of the art but from Adamosky (Adamosky, in conclusion, using current monitoring can increase the odds in your favor for a well-protected pump system with an extended life. By catching problems early, you can also reduce maintenance costs. Current transducers are easily installed and, with a little planning, can substantially reduce damage and maintenance time).
Conclusion
/S.E.D./
Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665