DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa et al. (US 2022/0165973 A1; hereinafter “Yoshikawa”) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2021/0249606 A1; hereinafter “Yoon”).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device, comprising: an anode (an anode electrode 22) and a cathode (a cathode electrode 25) which are oppositely disposed (Fig. 3 and paragraph 26); a light-emitting layer (a light-emitting layer 31A) between the anode and the cathode (Figs. 3 and 5(a) and paragraphs 28-29 and 45-46); a hole transport layer (a hole transport layer 44) between the anode and the light-emitting layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph 29); and an electron transport layer (an electron transport layer 29) between the cathode and the light-emitting layer (Figs 3 and paragraph 29); wherein the light-emitting layer comprises: a plurality of first phases (quantum dot layers 42) independent from each other, and a second phase (a p-type dopant layer 49) between the first phases (Fig. 5(a) and paragraphs 45-46); and the first phase comprises a quantum dot material (quantum dots 41); wherein the second phase is between the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer (Fig. 5(a)).
Yoshikawa does not explicitly teach that the first phase also comprises a first polymer. Yoon teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 49 and 114-122), comprising: a light-emitting layer comprising a first phase (an emission layer 150), wherein the first phase comprises a first polymer (a dispersion medium such as a polymer resin) and a quantum dot material (quantum dots 151) in order to disperse the quantum dots in the emission layer (paragraphs 116-122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Yoshikawa with that of Yoon in order to disperse the quantum dots in the emission layer.
Claims 1-3 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueta (US 2022/0223809 A1) in view of Yoon and Takenaka (US 2022/0416186 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ueta teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device, comprising: an anode (a positive electrode 21) and a cathode (a negative electrode 27) which are oppositely disposed (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 28-29 and 41-43); a light-emitting layer (a combination of 151 and 24) between the anode and the cathode (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 19 and 41-42); a hole transport layer (a hole transport layer 23) between the anode and the light-emitting layer (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 41-46); and an electron transport layer (a first electron transport layer 25 and/or a second electron transport layer 26) between the cathode and the light-emitting layer (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 52-61); wherein the light-emitting layer comprises: a plurality of first phases (a quantum dot layer 24) independent from each other, and a second phase (a cover film 151) between the first phases (Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs 19 and 41-42); and the first phase comprises a quantum dot material (quantum dots 28) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 47-51).
Ueta does not explicitly teach that 1) the first phase also comprises a first polymer and 2) the second phase is between the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer.
Regarding 1) the first phase also comprises a first polymer, Yoon teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 49 and 114-122), comprising: a light-emitting layer comprising a first phase (an emission layer 150), wherein the first phase comprises a first polymer (a dispersion medium such as a polymer resin) and a quantum dot material (quantum dots 151) in order to disperse the quantum dots in the emission layer (paragraphs 116-122). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ueta with that of Yoon in order to disperse the quantum dots in the emission layer.
Regarding 2) the second phase is between the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer. Takenaka teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device (a light-emitting device 1), comprising: a light-emitting layer (a light-emitting layer 8 including 8R, 8G, 8B, and 22) comprising a first phase (quantum dot light-emitting layers 8R, 8G, and 8B) and a second phase (banks 22) between the first phases, wherein the second phase is between a hole transport layer (a hole-transport layer 10) and an electron transport layer (an electron-transport layer 6) (Fig. 8 and paragraphs 75-87). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ueta with that of Takenaka in order to adjust the disposition of the light-emitting layer including the first phase and the second phase with respect to the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer as a design choice for the light-emitting device.
Regarding claim 2, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches wherein the second phase comprises a second polymer (151 formed of polyimide or acrylic) (Ueta, paragraph 30), and a refractive index of the first phase is greater than a refractive index of the second phase (for example, a refractive index of the first polymer such as silicone from Yoon is greater than a refractive index of the second polymer such as polyimide or acrylic) (Ueta, paragraph 30 and Yoon, paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 3, Ueta teaches wherein the anode or the cathode is a reflection electrode (paragraph 43), and a refractive index of the hole transport layer and a refractive index of the electron transport layer both are approximately same as a refractive index of the second phase (for example, a refractive index of 23 formed of PEDOT-PSS and a refractive index of 25 formed of ZnCoO and a refractive index of polyimide/acrylic are approximately same) (Ueta, paragraphs 46 and 53 and Yoon, paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 14, Ueta teaches wherein a material of the second polymer comprises a crosslinked polymeric material or a polymeric material with a melting point greater than a preset value (151 formed of polyimide with a melting point greater than a preset value of 0) (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 15, Ueta teaches wherein a cross-sectional shape of the first phase comprises a square, an inverted trapezoid or a curved surface shape along a direction perpendicular to the cathode (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches wherein the quantum dot material is a hydrophobic material, the first polymer is a hydrophobic material, and the second polymer is a hydrophilic material; or the quantum dot material is a hydrophilic material, the first polymer is a hydrophilic material, and the second polymer is a hydrophobic material (for example, 28 formed of SiC is considered hydrophobic, the dispersion medium formed of silicone is considered hydrophobic, and 151 formed of polyimide is considered hydrophilic) (Ueta, paragraphs 30 and 49 and Yoon, paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 17, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches wherein the quantum dot material has a hydrophobic ligand, wherein the hydrophobic ligand comprises a coordination group that coordinates with the quantum dots, an alkane group connected with the coordination group (Yoon, paragraph 31-32. For example, the quantum dot including a ligand linked to the shell of the quantum dot, wherein the ligand is formed of oleic acid as an alkane derivative is considered a hydrophobic ligand),
While Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka does not explicitly teach that the first polymer comprises polystyrene, and the second polymer comprises polyethylene oxide, polymethyl methacrylate, polyacrylate or polyamide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize readily available polymer materials known in the art, including the claimed material choices for the first polymer and the second polymer, in order to obtain the predictable result.
Regarding claim 18, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches wherein in the first phase, the quantum dot material is bonded to at least part of the first polymer by coordination bonds (Yoon, paragraph 122); and the second polymer and the quantum dot material are unable to be subjected to coordination binding (Ueta, Fig. 1. For example, 151 is separate from 24 having 28).
Regarding claim 19, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka does not explicitly teach that the first polymer (Yoon, paragraph 122, the dispersion medium formed of polymer resin) comprises a side chain having hydroxy, carboxyl, amino, or mercapto. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize readily available organic material such as COOH carboxylic group as a part of the emission layer, for obtaining the predictable result.
Regarding claim 20, Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches a manufacturing method for the quantum dot light-emitting device according to claim 1, comprising: forming the anode and the cathode which are oppositely disposed; forming the light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode; forming the hole transport layer between the anode and the light-emitting layer; and forming the electron transport layer between the cathode and the light-emitting layer; wherein forming the light-emitting layer comprises: dissolving the first polymer and a second polymer in a preset solvent to obtain a solution of the first polymer and the second polymer; adding a quantum dot material to the solution of the first polymer and the second polymer to be completely mixed to prepare a mixed solution of the first polymer, the second polymer and the quantum dot material; and forming a film layer of the mixed solution on a front film layer, and volatilizing the solvent to form the light-emitting layer having the plurality of first phases, and the second phase between the first phases (See the rejection of claim 1 and claim 20 being directed to a product-by process claim as additionally discussed below).
It is noted that the limitation of claim 20 “A manufacturing method for the quantum dot light-emitting device according to claim 1” is a product-by process claim and therefore is treated according to MPEP 2113. Even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since Ueta in view of Yoon and Takenaka teaches each and every structural limitation of claim 1, the claimed method does not distinguish from the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893