DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-20
Objected to: claim 18
Rejected: claims 1-20
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 ends with a comma instead of a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “wherein element reaction and diffusion process…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12-13, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (WO 2014015539 A1; Espacenet English machine translation cited and attached).
Regarding claim 1, with regard to the claimed “A method for recovering processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy, the method comprising:
performing pre-treating, comprising fire-roasting or wet-washing, on the processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy”, Zhang teaches a method of recycling waste easy-open aluminum cans (Abstract), comprising crushing, and firing in a furnace via two stages of combustion [0016], [0029], meeting the claimed “fire-roasting”. With regard to the claimed “aeronautical aluminum alloy”, the aluminum cans of Zhang meet the claimed limitation, absent a specific indication in the claims of what “aeronautical” means, because the alloy of aluminum cans is capable of being used for general aeronautical purposes.
With regard to the claimed “performing pressing formation on the processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy to form block-shaped aluminum scraps”, Zhang teaches packaging and pressing the aluminum [0030], meeting the BRI of “block-shaped”.
With regard to the claimed “performing oxygen-controlled smelting on the block-shaped aluminum scraps in a smelting furnace to form aluminum alloy melt”, Zhang teaches putting the pretreated aluminum cans in a smelting furnace for smelting [0017], and using nitrogen gas to remove oxides in the molten aluminum [0031] during smelting and after the aluminum is packaged/pressed (see [0030]).
With regard to the claimed “and performing casting on the aluminum alloy melt to obtain an aluminum alloy product of meeting component requirements of aeronautical aluminum alloy”, Zhang teaches filtering the aluminum alloy then casting the aluminum [0032]. With regard to the “aeronautical” limitations, as discussed above, absent a specific indication in the claims of what “aeronautical” means, because the alloy of aluminum cans is capable of being used for general aeronautical purposes.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Zhang teaches adding grain refiners to the molten aluminum alloy [0032] which occurs after the nitrogen gas treatment [0031] as discussed above. The nitrogen gas is still present at this point in time, which meets the claimed ‘inert gas protection’, meeting claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches a range of 130-450°C [0029].
Regarding claims 5-6, the limitations in claim 5 are limiting an optional limitation in claim 1, and is therefore not required; as such, Zhang meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, absent a specific meaning of what ‘rapid melting’ means, Zhang meets the limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches smelting at 850°C [0030].
Regarding claim 17, Zhang does not explicitly teach a refining temperature, but teaches that smelting is performed at 850°C [0030], which means the molten aluminum has a temperature of 850°C, and immediately thereafter the refining is performed on the already-molten aluminum, which means the temperature is still at 850°C.
Regarding claim 20, with regard to the claimed “A method for recovering processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy, the method comprising:
pre-treating the processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy, the pre-treating comprising one or more of fire-roasting and wet-washing”, Zhang teaches a method of recycling waste easy-open aluminum cans (Abstract), comprising crushing, and firing in a furnace via two stages of combustion [0016], [0029], meeting the claimed “fire-roasting”. With regard to the claimed “aeronautical aluminum alloy”, the aluminum cans of Zhang meet the claimed limitation, absent a specific indication in the claims of what “aeronautical” means, because the alloy of aluminum cans is capable of being used for general aeronautical purposes.
With regard to the claimed “pressing the pre-treated processed aluminum scraps of aeronautical aluminum alloy to form block-shaped aluminum scraps;”, Zhang teaches packaging and pressing the aluminum [0030], meeting the BRI of “block-shaped”.
With regard to the claimed “oxygen-controlled smelting the block-shaped aluminum scraps in a smelting furnace to form aluminum alloy melt”, Zhang teaches putting the pretreated aluminum cans in a smelting furnace for smelting [0017], and using nitrogen gas to remove oxides in the molten aluminum [0031] during smelting and after the aluminum is packaged/pressed (see [0030]).
With regard to the claimed “casting the aluminum alloy melt to obtain an aluminum alloy product.”, Zhang teaches filtering the aluminum alloy then casting the aluminum [0032]. With regard to the “aeronautical” limitations, as discussed above, absent a specific indication in the claims of what “aeronautical” means, because the alloy of aluminum cans is capable of being used for general aeronautical purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 11, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2014015539 A1; Espacenet English machine translation cited and attached), as applied to claims 1-2 above.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang does not explicitly teach the density, but as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, teaches packaging the aluminum can pieces; however, aluminum inherently has a density of about 2.7 g/cm3 which is about 2.98 ton/m3. It is prima facie expected that the density of the ‘blocks’ formed by Zhang are within or close to the claimed range, because pressing material together will result in a density that is close to the theoretical density of a pure material/alloy. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang does not explicitly teach the oxygen partial pressure, but the Examiner takes Official Notice that minimizing the oxygen concentration (i.e., partial pressure) would be obvious to a POSITA, as doing so is not only a routine procedure in the art for mitigating oxidation which introduces impurities, but also because Zhang does indeed use inert gas protection (via nitrogen gas) which also aids in removing oxides [0031].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang is silent regarding the smelting time being 10-30 minutes; however, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed duration of 10-30 minutes, as a POSITA would reasonably find it obvious to perform smelting for long enough such that everything is uniformly melted, mixed, and at the same temperature, whilst also not prolonging the smelting time which would result in increased energy costs [0006],[0016], which are general considerations of Zhang during the production process.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 19, Zhang does not explicitly teach an inert gas protection, but teaches that during smelting, nitrogen (i.e., inert gas) is used [0030], and immediately thereafter the refining is performed on the already-molten aluminum [0031]; thus, it is prima facie expected that the inert gas remains, because there is no step of removing it between smelting and refining.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inert gas and/or a vacuum to minimize the oxygen concentration to be as low as possible, such as within the claimed ranges, as doing so is a conventional and routine technique in the metallurgical arts to mitigate oxidation, which introduces impurities, and because Zhang does indeed use inert gas protection (via nitrogen gas) which also aids in removing oxides [0031], which meets claims 14 and 19.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches that during smelting, nitrogen gas is used for impurity removal [0031]; it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to try to continue this process of introducing nitrogen into refining, in order to remove even more impurities, and in order to further degas the melt [0031]. Doing so would have the side effect of “stirring” via the gas being blown, meeting the “gas blowing stirring” limitation.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang is silent regarding the smelting time being 10-30 minutes; however, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed duration of 10-30 minutes, as a POSITA would reasonably find it obvious to perform refining for long enough such that everything is uniformly melted, mixed, and at the same temperature, whilst also not prolonging the refining time which would result in increased energy costs [0006],[0016], which are general considerations of Zhang during the production process.
Claim 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2014015539 A1; Espacenet English machine translation cited and attached), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Das et al. (US 20180274072 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 above, but is silent regarding using aluminum scraps of 2- or 7- series aluminum alloys.
Das discloses methods for casting high-strength and highly formable metal products from recycled metal scrap without the addition of substantial or any amounts of primary aluminum (Abstract), and further teaches that 2xxx and/or 7xxx series alloys may be suitable for use in recycling [0100] in addition to aluminum beverage cans [0099].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include 2xxx and/or 7xxx aluminum alloy scraps, as doing so may allow for reduced costs [0084] relative to using pure/primary aluminum [0084].
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the method of claim 2 above, but is silent regarding the addition of the listed elements/alloys.
Das discloses methods for casting high-strength and highly formable metal products from recycled metal scrap without the addition of substantial or any amounts of primary aluminum (Abstract), and further teaches that 2xxx and/or 7xxx series alloys may be suitable for use in recycling [0100] in addition to aluminum beverage cans [0099]. Alloying elements such as magnesium (Abstract, [0085]) or copper [0086] may be added to achieve the desired composition.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include 2xxx and/or 7xxx aluminum alloy scraps, as doing so may allow for reduced costs [0084] relative to using pure/primary aluminum [0084].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2014015539 A1; Espacenet English machine translation cited and attached), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hong et al. (US 20140202653 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1 above, but is silent regarding using electromagnetic stirring or gas blowing during smelting.
Hong teaches a method for preparing high-purity aluminum via smelting (Abstract), and further teaches using electromagnetic stirring when the aluminum liquid is heated [0013].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to use the electromagnetic stirring technique of Hong, as doing so would allow for ensuring that the aluminum is uniformly mixed and stable [0042].
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735