DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/017796 02/25/2022; PCT/US22/17796 has PRO 63/173,534 04/12/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 07/17/23 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11820896 in view of Lim (WO 2019/028013; for convenience patent family US 2020/0207985 applied).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, patented claim 1 discloses the first organopolysiloxane and second organosiloxane, tetraalkoxy silane, UV light photoinitiator, and condensation catalyst, wherein the concentration of the first and second organopolysiloxanes are such that the molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups to alkenyl groups is in a range of 0.4 to 3.0, wherein patented claim 2 discloses the instantly claimed structure of the first organopolysiloxane, wherein patented claim 3 discloses the instantly claimed structure of the second organopolysiloxane, wherein patented claim 8 discloses radical scavenger. Patented claims do not disclose the biacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator and the radical scavenger in an amount of 0.001 to 2 wt%.
However, Lim discloses a dual cure organopolysiloxane composition comprising a first organopolysiloxane and a second organopolysiloxane (para [0013], [0020]-[0026], bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator such as bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide and a liquid photoinitiator such as 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-phenyl-propan-1-one (para [0028], [0084]), a condensation catalyst (para [0029]), a silane with an average 2 hydrolysable groups such as alkoxy per molecule (para [0076]-[0077), and radical scavenger such as hydroquinone in an amount of 0.029 wt% (para [0094], table 1, ex 1; 0.04 parts per 139.6 of total amount of the composition), fall into claimed range of 0.001 to 2 wt%.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patented claims with the aforementioned teachings of Lim to provide bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator such as bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide and a liquid photoinitiator such as 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-phenyl-propan-1-one and radical scavenger such as hydroquinone in an amount of 0.029 wt% in order to use such composition as dual curing agent. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). Further, the rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Lim that to do so would provide excellent curability (Lim, para [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, patented claim 7 discloses the concentration of the condensation catalyst is 0.01 to 10 wt%, encompasses instant claimed range of 0.01 to 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the composition where the patented claim discloses the concentration of the condensation catalyst is 0.01 to 10 wt%, encompasses the requirement of claim 8. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 1-2, 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11390748 in view of Lim (WO 2019/028013; for convenience patent family US 2020/0207985 applied).
Regarding claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, patented claims 1, 3 discloses the first organopolysiloxane and second organosiloxane, silane with 2 alkoxy group, 0.05 to 5 parts by weight UV light photoinitiator, and condensation catalyst, wherein patented claim 8 discloses the UV light photoinitiator comprises at least one of 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl diphenyl phosphine oxide, bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide, or ethyl (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phenylphosphinate (read on liquid), and patented claim 11 discloses photopolymerization inhibitor/radical scavenger. Patented claims do not disclose the radical scavenger in an amount of 0.001 to 2 wt%.
However, Lim discloses a dual cure organopolysiloxane composition comprising a first organopolysiloxane and a second organopolysiloxane (para [0013], [0020]-[0026], bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator such as bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide and a liquid photoinitiator such as 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-phenyl-propan-1-one (para [0028], [0084]), a condensation catalyst (para [0029]), a silane with an average 2 hydrolysable groups such as alkoxy per molecule (para [0076]-[0077), and radical scavenger such as hydroquinone in an amount of 0.029 wt% (para [0094], table 1, ex 1; 0.04 parts per 139.6 of total amount of the composition), fall into claimed range of 0.001 to 2 wt%.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patented claims with the aforementioned teachings of Lim to provide radical scavenger such as hydroquinone in an amount of 0.029 wt% in order to use such composition as dual curing agent. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). Further, the rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Lim that to do so would provide excellent curability (Lim, para [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, patented claim 1 discloses the concentration of the condensation catalyst is 0.01 to 10 wt%, encompasses instant claimed range of 0.01 to 5 wt%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the composition where the patented claim discloses the concentration of the condensation catalyst is 0.01 to 10 wt%, encompasses the requirement of claim 8. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11390748 in view of Lim (WO 2019/028013; for convenience patent family US 2020/0207985 applied) as applied to instant claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 4889905).
Patented claims include the features of instant claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Patented claims do not disclose the concentration of the first organopolysiloxane is sufficient to provide a molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups from the first organopolysiloxane to alkenyl groups from the second organopolysiloxane
and, if present, third organopolysiloxane that is 0.3 or more and 5.0 or less.
However, Suzuki discloses a similar polysiloxane composition comprising a combination of the alkenyl and mercaptoalkyl functionalized polysiloxanes as well as photoinitiator and condensation catalyst, wherein the silane components for the condensation cure contains ethylenically unsaturated and alkoxy moieties, wherein the blend of the polysiloxane contains the molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups to alkenyl groups is 0.3:1 to 5:1, wherein the molar ratio less than 0.3:1 leads to poor curability and higher than 5:1 leads to foul odor (column 1, lines 61-, column 3, lines -63).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Patented claims as taught by Suzuki to have molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups to alkenyl groups is 0.3:1 to 5:1. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Suzuki that to do so would provide a proper and odorless curability.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11390748 in view of Lim (WO 2019/028013; for convenience patent family US 2020/0207985 applied) as applied to instant claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2023/0193029).
Patented claims include the features of instant claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Patented claims do not disclose the claimed structure of the second organopolysiloxane.
However, Liu discloses a UV/moisture dual curable organopolysiloxane composition comprising a first organopolysiloxane comprising an average of 2 or more mercaptoalkyl groups per molecule and that is free of alkenyl functionality and a second organopolysiloxane comprising at least one alkenyl group and at least one alkoxy group in one molecule (claims) with the formula
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified patented claims with the aforementioned teachings of Leu’s second organopolysiloxane structural formula comprising at least one alkenyl group and at least one alkoxy group in one molecule in order to use such composition as dual curing agent. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). Further, the rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Liu that to do so would enhance substrate adhesion (Liu, para [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim (WO 2019/028013; for convenience patent family US 2020/0207985 applied).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 9, Lim discloses a dual cure organopolysiloxane composition comprising a first organopolysiloxane comprising at least one alkenyl group and at least one alkoxy group in one molecule (para [0013]; read on claimed second
organopoly-siloxane), a second organopolysiloxane of formula
wherein R9 to R14 are each substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C10 alkyl, R15 and R16 are each independently substituted or unsubstituted C1 to C20 alkyl, at least one of R17 and R18 is a mercapto group or monovalent hydrocarbon group comprising a mercapto group, p is an integer ranging from 0 to 100 and q is an integer ranging from 2 to 100 (para [0020]-[0026]; read on claimed first organopolysiloxane), bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator such as bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenyl phosphine oxide (para [0028]), a condensation catalyst (para [0029]), a silane with an average 2 hydrolysable groups such as alkoxy per molecule (para [0076]-[0077), and radical scavenger such as hydroquinone in an amount of 0.029 wt% (para [0094], table 1, ex 1; 0.04 parts per 139.6 of total amount of the composition), fall into claimed range of 0.001 to 2 wt%, meeting the requirements of claims 1, 6, 9.
Regarding claim 2, Lim discloses a liquid photoinitiator such as 2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-phenyl-propan-1-one (para [0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses bisacylphosphine oxide photoinitiator in an amount of 0.36 wt% (para [0028], table 1, ex 1; 0.5 parts per 139.6 of total amount of the composition), fall into claimed range of 0.01 to 5 wt%.
Regarding claim 8, Lim discloses a condensation reaction catalyst in an amount of 0.57 wt% (table 1, ex 1; 0.8 parts per 139.6 of total amount of the composition), fall into claimed range of 0.01 to 5 wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki (US 4889905).
Lim includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Lim does not disclose the concentration of the first organopolysiloxane is sufficient to provide a molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups from the first organopolysiloxane to alkenyl groups from the second organopolysiloxane
and, if present, third organopolysiloxane that is 0.3 or more and 5.0 or less.
However, Suzuki discloses a similar polysiloxane composition comprising a combination of the alkenyl and mercaptoalkyl functionalized polysiloxanes as well as photoinitiator and condensation catalyst, wherein the silane components for the condensation cure contains ethylenically unsaturated and alkoxy moieties, wherein the blend of the polysiloxane contains the molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups to alkenyl groups is 0.3:1 to 5:1, wherein the molar ratio less than 0.3:1 leads to poor curability and higher than 5:1 leads to foul odor (column 1, lines 61-, column 3, lines -63).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Lim as taught by Suzuki to have molar ratio of mercaptoalkyl groups to alkenyl groups is 0.3:1 to 5:1. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Suzuki that to do so would provide a proper and odorless curability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2023/0193029).
Lim includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Lim does not disclose the claimed structure of the second organopolysiloxane.
However, Liu discloses a UV/moisture dual curable organopolysiloxane composition comprising a first organopolysiloxane comprising an average of 2 or more mercaptoalkyl groups per molecule and that is free of alkenyl functionality and a second organopolysiloxane comprising at least one alkenyl group and at least one alkoxy group in one molecule (claims) with the formula
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lim with the aforementioned teachings of Leu’s second organopolysiloxane structural formula comprising at least one alkenyl group and at least one alkoxy group in one molecule in order to use such composition as dual curing agent. Since it has been held that it is prima facie obviousness to use a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.06(11) and 2144.07; In re Fout, 675 F2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); Sinclair& Carroll Co v Interchemical Corp, 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945); In re Leshin, 227 F2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Ryco, Inc vAg-Bag Corp, 857 F2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed Cir 1988). Further, the rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Liu that to do so would enhance substrate adhesion (Liu, para [0005]).
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766