Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments and amendments, filed June 1st, 2026, regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection are made below in view of Ghanem et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0042665 A1), herein “Ghanem”, filed October 23rd, 2020. Furthermore, the additional limitations in the amendments introduce new issues regarding claim limitations lacking antecedent basis, as stated in the newly added 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, along with claims 2-7 due to dependency, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "corner of the object" and “corner of the target object” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim, since there was no limitation including “an object” or “a target object” recited prior to these in the claim. It is also unclear if the claim intends to recite one object or multiple objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Saez et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0262078 A1), herein “Saez”, in view of McKenzie et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0040674 A1), herein “McKenzie”, and Ghanem et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0042665 A1), herein “Ghanem”, filed October 23rd, 2020.
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Saez discloses an assembling apparatus and method (See 0001, “[…] a fixtureless component assembly system and to a method of assembling a component.”) comprising:
an image sensor arranged above an assembling station (See Fig. 1 Reference 32. See also 0018-0019, “[…] the inspection camera is mounted at a fixed position […] the inspection camera is mounted onto an inspection robot arm, wherein the inspection robot arm is adapted to move the inspection camera to an inspection position to visually locate the interface surfaces on the first and second subcomponents.” Examiner notes Fig. 1 Reference 32 is the image sensor, and can be fixed or moved above the assembling station depending on the objects being operated);
a first robot arranged near to the assembling station and configured to hold a first portion of an object to be assembled onto a target object arranged on the assembling station (See 0014, “[…] assembly system comprises a first robot arm having a first end-of-arm tool mounted thereon and adapted to grasp a first subcomponent […]”);
wherein the first robot comprises:
an end effector configured to hold the object and comprising:
a first element configured to hold the first portion of the object (See 0014 as referenced above. See also 0004, “[…] gripping a first subcomponent with a first end-of-arm tool, wherein the first end-of-arm tool is attached to a first robot arm […]”);
a second element adapted to be connected to a free end of an arm of the first robot (See 0004 and 0014 as referenced above. Examiner notes the end-of-arm tool represents the first element of the end effector, while the robot arm itself is the second element); and
a second robot arranged near to the assembling station and configured to hold a second portion of the object spaced apart from the first portion (See 0014, “[…] a second robot arm having a second end of arm tool mounted thereon and adapted to grasp a second subcomponent […]”); and
a controller configured to:
cause the image sensor to capture images of the object and the target object (See 0014, “[…] camera is in communication with the system controller and adapted to visually locate interface surfaces on the first and second subcomponents, wherein the system controller estimates an off-set between a pre-assembly position and a required assembly position.”);
based on the captured images, cause the first robot to move the first portion by a first distance in a first direction (See 0034, “[…] inspection camera visually locates interface surfaces 34, datums and identifying features on the first, second and third subcomponents […] communicates with the system controller […] uses information from the inspection camera to determine the position of the first, second and third subcomponents […] and to control the first, second and third robot arms 12, 16, 20 to move the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 appropriately throughout the assembly process.”); and
based on the captured images, cause the second robot to move the second portion by a second distance different from the first distance in the first direction or move the second portion in a direction opposite to the first direction, such that the object is aligned with the target object (See 0034 as referenced above. See also 0014, “[…] a system controller adapted to control the first and second robot arms and first and second end-of-arm tools to position the first and second subcomponents relative to one another […] estimates an off-set between a pre-assembly position and a required assembly position […] as the first and second end-of-arm tools move the first and second subcomponents to the required assembly position.”).
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the image sensor includes first and second cameras respectively arranged to capture different images each containing one corner of the object and the corresponding corner of the target object;
a passive revolute joint comprising:
an outer portion connected to one of the first and second elements; and
an inner portion connected to the other one of the first and second elements and being rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the outer portion, wherein the rotation axis is perpendicular to a surface of the object; and
based on the captured images, obtain a coordinate (x1, y1) of a first corner of the object and a coordinate (x2, y2) of the second corner of the object, and obtain coordinates of corresponding corners of the target object, and determine the current position and orientation of the object relative to the target object.
McKenzie, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a passive revolute joint (See 0008, “A joint between the end effector and the articulated arm may include a roll joint, a pitch joint, and a yaw joint.” See also 0054-0056, “[…] shoulder portion may couple to the base portion via a joint 125, which may be a swivel joint in some embodiments. The swivel joint 125 may allow the shoulder portion 126 to twist or rotate about a central axis with respect to the base portion […] A joint or elbow 127, which may be a pitch joint, may be arranged between the articulated arm 128 and the shoulder portion 126. The pitch joint 127 may allow the articulated arm 128 to pivot with respect to the shoulder portion 126 about an axis extending lateral to the shoulder portion and articulated arm […] A joint 129 may be arranged between the wrist portion 130 and the articulated arm 128 and may provide for pivotable or rotational movement of the wrist with respect to the articulated arm about one or more axes. The joint 129 may be or include a pitch joint allowing for pivotable movement about a first lateral axis extending lateral to the articulated arm 128 and wrist 130, a yaw joint allowing for pivotable movement about a second lateral axis perpendicular to the first lateral axis, and/or a roll joint allowing for pivotable or rotational movement about an axis extending longitudinally through the wrist portion.” Examiner notes a passive revolute joint is simply a connection allowing rotational motion around a single axis without its movement being actively controlled by a motor or actuator, thus being the same as the swivel joint, pivot joint, and pitch joint taught by McKenzie) comprising:
an outer portion connected to one of the first and second elements (See 0008 and 0054-0056 as referenced above); and
an inner portion connected to the other one of the first and second elements and being rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the outer portion, wherein the rotation axis is perpendicular to a surface of the object (See 0008 and 0054-0056 as referenced above. See also 0063, “[…] a position and angle of the end effector 132 at joint 131 may be controlled to maintain a vector extending perpendicularly between the end effector fingers in parallel or near-parallel alignment with the pipe stand.”).
Ghanem, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches the image sensor includes first and second cameras respectively arranged to capture different images each containing one corner of the object and the corresponding corner of the target object (See 0060, “[…] The machine vision system 12 may be positioned to view some or all of the assembly area 18. The machine vision system 12 may be within sufficient proximity and view of the assembly area 18 to be capable of optically scanning the subassembly 20.” See also 0088-0092, “[…] may move each of the parts 126 within view of the same or another component of the machine vision system 112, which may be configured to perform a first or additional identification scan to identify and/or locate the parts 126 within the assembly area […] alignment scan may confirm the location of the parts 126 within the assembly area 118. The identification and/or alignment scans may be made of various datums 140 on the parts 126. The datums 140 may be recognizable features of the parts 126. Such features may include, for example without limitation, apertures, edges, curved surfaces, protrusions, depressions, some combination thereof, or the like. The position of the datums 140 may be compared […] The machine vision system 212 may comprise one or more cameras, lasers, range finders, proximity sensors, combinations thereof, or the like located at one or more central locations and/or at each materials handling robot 216.”); and
based on the captured images, obtain a coordinate (x1, y1) of a first corner of the object and a coordinate (x2, y2) of the second corner of the object, and obtain coordinates of corresponding corners of the target object, and determine the current position and orientation of the object relative to the target object (See 0089-0090, “[…] position of the parts 126 may be adjusted as needed to match the virtual datums […] controller 130 may be configured to determine if the location of the datums 140 in the inspection scan matches the virtual datums […]” See also 0100, “[…] controller 230 may be configured to initially populate the target point table 261 with actual measurement data which may be obtained using the machine vision system 212. Scans may be made of one or more parts 236 and/or final locations for such parts to provide said actual target points 240. In exemplary embodiments, such target points 240 may comprise coordinates for actual or virtual datums on the part(s) 236 such as but not limited to points, edges, holes, surface features, combinations thereof, or the like. Such target points 240 may be extracted by the machine vision system 212 using machine vision or image analysis and the locations of these relevant target points 240 may be stored as measured coordinates […]”).
In view of McKenzie and Ghanem’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with a first robot comprising an end effector for grasping and moving a portion of an object to be assembled as disclosed by Saez, the joint connecting the different elements of the end effector (i.e., arm portion, gripper portion, base portion) to be a passive revolute joint and multiple cameras capturing positional information pertaining to the objects, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the robot(s) already include such end effectors with elements connected by joints, and a camera sensor with the same functionality, and using a passive revolute joint improves the robot’s adaptability to external forces or object geometries during the assembly process, and simplifies the mechanical structure of the overall system, thus also improving cost-effectiveness; while using more than one camera improves the accuracy of optical measurements to ensure more consistent execution of the assembly process.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 1 and 8, wherein the second robot comprises an end effector configured to hold the object (See 0014 as referenced above) and comprising:
a first element configured to hold the second portion of the object (See 0014 as referenced above. Examiner notes the “end-of-arm” tool on the first robot arm to grasp a first subcomponent is the first element configured to hold the first potion of an object);
a second element adapted to be connected to a free end of an arm of the first or second robot (See 0004, “[…] the second end-of-arm tool is attached to a second robot arm.” Examiner notes a separate “end-of-arm” tool connected to a second robot arm is the second element, separate from the first element); and
a passive revolute joint (See 0013, “[…] forming a joint between the first subcomponent and the second subcomponent with a joining tool attached to a joining robot arm and forming a joint between the second subcomponent and the third subcomponent with a joining tool attached to a joining robot arm to thereby assemble the finished component.” Examiner notes the joint formed between two subcomponents creates a hinge, allowing one degree of freedom around the hinge, thus being a revolute joint) comprising:
an outer portion connected to one of the first and second elements (See 0013 as referenced above. Examiner notes each subcomponent comprises at least two surfaces, so a revolute joint around the formed hinge inherently includes an inner and outer portion that are connected to the first and second elements); and
an inner portion connected to the other one of the first and second elements and being rotatable about a rotation axis relative to the outer portion (See 0013 as referenced above. Examiner notes each subcomponent comprises at least two surfaces, so a revolute joint around the formed hinge inherently includes an inner and outer portion that are connected to the first and second elements, with the inner portion being rotatable about the hinge).
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 2 and 9, wherein the rotation axis of the passive revolute joint of the second robot is perpendicular to the surface of the object (See 0013 as referenced above. See also 0044, “[…] the system controller articulates the first, second and third robot arms 12, 16, 20 to move 60 the first and second end-of-arm tools 14, 18, 22 to bring the interface surfaces 34 of the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 into engagement […] system controller 30 moves 62 the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 toward the required assembly position.” Examiner notes the assembling apparatus and method engaging multiple surfaces, with the ability to form a revolute joint between two subcomponents, means that it is capable of engaging the two subcomponents to rotate perpendicular to either objects’ surface since there is no limit on its degrees of rotation).
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 1 and 8, wherein the end effector is configured to hold the object and comprising a torque sensor, the torque sensor being configured to sense a torque acted on the end effector (See 0014, “Sensors are mounted on the first and second end-of-arm tools and adapted to measure torque forces and lateral forces placed on the first and second subcomponents by the first and second end-of-arm tools as the first and second end-of-arm tools move the first and second subcomponents […]”); and
wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first robot or the second robot to move the object such that a measurement value of the torque sensor is within a predetermined range (See 0022, “[…] moves the first, second and third end-of-arm tools to the required assembly position based on the torque forces and lateral forces measured by the sensors on the first, second and third end-of-arm tools compared against reference force targets.”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 1 and 8, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first and second robots to move the object in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (See 0013 and 0044 as referenced above. Examiner notes the revolute joint being formed at a 90-degree angle between the first and second subcomponents would constitute the second direction of the object being perpendicular to the first direction).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 5 and 12, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the first and second robots to move the same distance in the second direction (See 0039, “[…] the system controller 30 can be used to vary the torque forces and lateral forces being applied to the first, second and third subcomponents […] forces applied to the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 can be carefully controlled […] control of the position of the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 relative to one another and control of the forces applied to the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 while the first, second and third subcomponents 24, 26, 28 are being welded together allows the final shape and material characteristics of the finished component to be controlled.” Examiner notes varying applied force and subcomponent positioning by each robot arm relative to each other includes moving them the same distance in any lateral direction).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Saez further discloses the assembling apparatus and method of Claims 5 and 12, wherein the second robot comprises an end effector configured to hold the object and comprising a force sensor configured to sense a force acted on the end effector (See 0014 as referenced above); and
wherein the controller is further configured to cause the second robot to move the object in the second direction such that a measurement value of the force sensor is within a predetermined range (See 0022 as referenced above. Examiner notes the reference force targets are given in a predetermined range).
Regarding Claims 15-20, Saez further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the assembling method according to claims 8-13, respectively (See 0032, “The system controller 30 is a non-generalized, electronic control device having a preprogrammed digital computer or processor, memory or non-transitory computer readable medium used to store data such as control logic, software applications, instructions, computer code, data […]”).
Conclusion
/BRYANT TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658