Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 July 2023 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner. See attached copy of PTO-1449.
Response to Restriction
2. Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-16 and 18) and Species 1 (increasing gut relative abundance of beneficial gut microorganisms (claims 1-4, 12-16, and 18) in the reply filed on 1 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Status of Application
3. The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/051106 filed 19 January 2022. Claims 1-16 and 18 are currently pending. Claim 17 is cancelled. Claims 5-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1 April 2026. Claims 1-4, 12-16 and 18 are examined on the merits within.
Specification Objections
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The formula Na2SeO4 is referred to throughout the specification as sodium selenite. However, it instead should recite sodium selenate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 15 and 18 recite “sodium selenite (Na2SeO3) and sodium selenite (Na2SeO4).” However, the formula Na2SeO4 should instead recite sodium selenate. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
7. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 15 recites “wherein selenium of the Se-VitE preparation is in an inorganic form as sodium selenite (Na2SeO3) and sodium selenite (Na2SeO4), or in an organic form.” As written, it appears that if the selenium is present in inorganic form, then it is present as both forms of sodium selenite. However, claim 18 then recites “selenium of the Se-VitE preparation is selected from the group consisting of sodium selenite (Na2SeO3), sodium selenite (Na2SeO4), and selenomethionine, meaning one of the three listed forms, which would not further limit claim 15 as written. Thus it appears that claim 15 should instead recite “wherein selenium of the Se-VitE preparation is in an inorganic form as sodium selenite (Na2SeO3) or sodium selenite (Na2SeO4), or in an organic form” and will be interpreted as such for examination purposes. Clarification is requested.
9. Claim 16 recites “at least one of the composition, the vitamin E and the selenium…” This ultimately depends from claim 1 which recites “a nutritional composition comprising a base nutritional composition.” It is unclear if the phrase “the composition” is referring to “the nutritional composition” or “the base nutritional composition”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
11. Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamada et al. (WO2021/067167).
Kamada et al. disclose restoration of the normal microbial structure (e.g., by treatment with a healthy microbiota) cures greater than 95% of recurrent CDI. The gut microbiota plays a central role in the prevention of CDI. See page 1. Kamada et al. disclose increasing the level of interleukin 22 in the gut by administering a composition comprising Phascolarctobacterium. See claim 1. The composition may comprise at least one supplemental mineral, such as selenium, and at least one supplemental vitamin, such as Vitamin E. See pages 38-39. The preparations may be administered once a day for several days or more than once a day. See page 47. The treatment period is at least 1 day for up to and over a year. See page 47. The composition can be formulated as a solid dosage form. See page 41. In some embodiments, the technology provides compositions comprising a bacterium that expresses IL-22. The technology provides compositions comprising a bacterium and a genetically modified Lactobacillus that expresses IL-22. The technology is not limited to the use of Lactobacillus and includes expression of IL-22 by microorganisms that are genetically tractable and that are compatible with the human gut, including but not limited to Bacteroides, Bifidobacteria, Escherichia, and Lactobacillus. See page 51.
Thus the instant claims are anticipated by Kamada et al.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
13. Claim(s) 1-4, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN106889615) in view of Kamada et al. (WO2021/067167) and Jacqout et al. (EP 1591018).
Chen et al. teach selenium dietary supplements that regulate intestinal canal flora function including improving Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium relative abundance. See abstract. The dietary supplement is feed, beverage, wheat powder or wheat products. See claim 2. The principle active component is sodium selenite. See claim 5.
Chen et al. do not teach Vitamin E.
Kamada et al. teach restoration of the normal microbial structure (e.g., by treatment with a healthy microbiota) cures greater than 95% of recurrent CDI. The gut microbiota plays a central role in the prevention of CDI. See page 1. Kamada et al. teach increasing the level of interleukin 22 in the gut by administering a composition comprising Phascolarctobacterium. See claim 1. The composition may comprise at least one supplemental mineral, such as selenium, and at least one supplemental vitamin, such as Vitamin E. See pages 38-39. The preparations may be administered once a day for several days or more than once a day. See page 47. The treatment period is at least 1 day for up to and over a year. See page 47. The composition can be formulated as a solid dosage form. See page 41. In some embodiments, the technology provides compositions comprising a bacterium that expresses IL-22. The technology provides compositions comprising a bacterium and a genetically modified Lactobacillus that expresses IL-22. The technology is not limited to the use of Lactobacillus and includes expression of IL-22 by microorganisms that are genetically tractable and that are compatible with the human gut, including but not limited to Bacteroides, Bifidobacteria, Escherichia, and Lactobacillus. See page 51.
Jacqout et al. teach food compositions comprising selenium and vitamin E. See abstract. Selenium is in the form of sodium selenite, sodium selenate, or selenomethionine. See paragraph [0024]. Vitamin E is in the form of dl-alpha tocopherol acetate and associated isomers, dl-alpha tocopherol, d-alpha tocopherol acetate, d-alpha tocopherol, dl-alpha tocopherol succinate, etc. See paragraph [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to add Vitamin E to the composition of Chen et al. to provide added therapeutic benefit because Kamada et al. teach that both Vitamin E and selenium are known to be effectively used in formulations to increase gut health. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to substitute one form of vitamin E for another to yield predictable results because Jacqout et al. teach the effective combination of sodium selenite, sodium selenate, or selenomethionine and dl-alpha tocopherol acetate, dl-alpha tocopherol, d-alpha tocopherol acetate, d-alpha tocopherol, or dl-alpha tocopherol succinate without adverse side effects.
Conclusion
14. No claims are allowed at this time.
/JESSICA WORSHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615