DETAILED ACTION
2. The election without traverse filed 08/04/2026 in response to the Office Action of 06/29/2026 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-14 and 28, drawn to a tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) engineered to express a membrane- bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
3. Claims 1-37 are pending in the application. Claims 15-27 and 29-37 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/2026.
Claims 1-14 and 28 are currently under prosecution.
Priority
Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e) and 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13: “any one of claims 9” should be “claim 9”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-14 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (JOURNAL OF SURGICAL RESEARCH, vol. 184, no. 1, 2013, pages 282-289, IDS) in view of Suri et al. (BLOOD, AMERICAN SOCIETY OF HEMATOLOGY, vol. 132, 29 November 2018, page 2045, IDS).
Claims 1-14 and 28 are herein drawn to a tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) engineered to express a membrane bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
Hsu et al. teach tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) were engineered to express
interleukin-15; see entire document, e.g., title, abstract, p. 284-left-hand column-paragraph 4-section 2.5.
Hsu et al. teach that the TIL can expand in the absence of exogenous cytokine IL-2 (instant claims 3-4); see abstract.
Hsu et al. teach that tumor-reactive CD8+ T cells derived from IL-15 transgenic mice treated tumors better than tumor reactive CD8+ T cells that did not secrete IL-15; see page 287-right col.-second paragraph. Hsu et al. teach expansion of TIL-IL-15 cells; see bridging paragraph of left and right col. on page 286.
Hsu et al. teach the potential toxicities of administration of IL-15-transduced
TIL cells; see page 283-left col.-third paragraph.
Hsu et al. do not teach IL-15 is a membrane bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
However, this deficiency is remedied by Suri et al.
Suri et al. teach CD19 chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cells engineered to express membrane-bound IL 15 (mbIL15) and advantages of mbIL15 engineered T cells, e.g., less cytotoxic effects, and fused mbIL15 to a drug; see entire document, e.g., page 2.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the references so as to generate membrane bound IL-15-transduced TIL cells. Given the teachings of Hsu et al., the potential toxicities of administration of IL-15-transduced
TIL cells; thus, a person skilled in the art would have taken into consideration the teachings from Suri et al., the benefits of the expression of mblL15 to lower cytotoxic effects to arrive the instant claimed invention.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
12. Claims 1-14 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,725. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 1-14 and 28 are herein drawn to a tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) engineered to express a membrane bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
Claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,725 are drawn to a method comprises transducing TIL with a vector comprising membrane-bound IL15 (mbIL15).
In Pfizer, Inc., v. Teva Pharamaceutical USA, inc. (Fed. Cir, 2008), the Court concluded that the safe harbor of section 121 is limited to divisional applications only. The instant application is not filed as a result of a restriction requirement of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,725. The engineered TIL claimed in the claims of the patent is the same as the instantly claimed engineered TIL.
13. Claims 1-14 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18501621. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 1-14 and 28 are herein drawn to a tumor-infiltrating lymphocyte (TIL) engineered to express a membrane bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
Claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18501621 are drawn to a method comprises tumor infiltrating lymphocytes (TILs) engineered to express a membrane-bound interleukin 15 (mbIL15).
In Pfizer, Inc., v. Teva Pharamaceutical USA, inc. (Fed. Cir, 2008), the Court concluded that the safe harbor of section 121 is limited to divisional applications only. The instant application is not filed as a result of a restriction requirement of copending Application No. 18501621. The engineered TIL claimed in the claims of the copending Application No. 18501621 is the same as the instantly claimed engineered TIL.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
14. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642