DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 7/17/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/17/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,6-7, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeyasu (JP 03070436).
As to claim 1, Takeyasu discloses an electrical storage device control system (Fig. 1-2) comprising:
a plurality of electrical storage devices to be charged by a main power supply (Fig.1-2 and pg. 5 secondary cells 15a, 15b… charging voltage is supplied from a power source (not shown) to the input terminal 18); and
a plurality of charger circuits connected between the main power supply and the plurality of electrical storage devices (Fig. 1-2 power supply circuits 11 and 12), a mode of connection between the plurality of electrical storage devices being charged being switched to either a first connection mode (series) or a second connection mode (parallel), depending on a voltage difference between an input voltage for the main power supply and a charging voltage based on respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices (Pg. 4-5 A charging device according to the present invention is provided with a circuit switching means which compares a charging voltage from a power source with a voltage of a battery, and activates either a series power supply circuit or a parallel power supply circuit which connects the 2 or more secondary batteries in series or in parallel in accordance with the voltage difference and charges the battery)
the first connection mode being a mode of connection in which the plurality of electrical storage devices are connected together in series (Pg. 4 a changeover switch which switches the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b to be connected in series or in parallel,), the second connection mode being a mode of connection in which the plurality of electrical storage devices are connected in parallel to the main power supply (pg. 5-6 When charging proceeds and the voltage of the 2 battery 15b becomes higher than the divided voltage…the switching switch 16 is switched and turned on to the contact side, and the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are connected in parallel to the power supply circuit 12 for parallel use of the secondary battery 2a).
As to claim 2, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claim 1, wherein the mode of connection is switched to either the first connection mode or the second connection mode, depending on not only the voltage difference between the input voltage for the main power supply and the charging voltage based on the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices but also respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices (Pg. 4-6 When the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are consumed and the necessity of charging is required and a charging voltage is supplied from a power source (not shown) to the input terminal 18… the changeover switch 16 is thrown into the contact a side, and carries out the series connection of the rechargeable batteries 15a and 15b to the power supply circuit 11 for in-series. For this reason, both of the 2 secondary batteries 15 and 15 b are charged by the constant output voltage of the series power supply circuit 11 so that the difference between the sum voltage and the constant output voltage is small).
As to claims 6 and 17, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claims 1 and 2, wherein the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode (Pg. 5 … the changeover switch 16 is thrown into the contact a side, and carries out the series connection of the rechargeable batteries 15a and 15b to the power supply circuit 11 for in-series. For this reason, both of the 2 secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are charged by the constant output voltage of the series power supply circuit 11), the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging in the second connection mode when a voltage difference between the input voltage and the charging voltage becomes equal to or less than a first preset value, the charging voltage being a composite voltage of the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices (pg. 5-6 When charging proceeds and the voltage of the 2 battery 15b becomes higher than the divided voltage…the switching switch 16 is switched and turned on to the contact side, and the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are connected in parallel to the power supply circuit 12 for parallel use of the secondary battery 2a. As such the charging voltage of the batteries 15a,b was equal to or less than a first preset value).
and the plurality of charger circuits is configured to finish charging when the voltage differences between the input voltage and the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices become equal to or less than a second preset value (pg. 6..charging of the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b is continued to be continued by the parallel power supply circuit 12 activated by the output of the comparator 22 b… When the charging is completed..)
As to claim 7, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claim 1, wherein when power is to be supplied to a load, the mode of connection is switched to the first connection mode to supply power from the plurality of electrical storage devices to the load (pg. 6 When the charging is completed.. the changeover switch 16 is turned on to the side of the contact a shown in the figure, and the 2 batteries 15 a and 15 b are connected in series and power is supplied from the output terminal 27 to the load again).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyasu (JP 03070436) in view of Kaneko (US 5617004). Note, Examiner uses Takeyasu for statement of rejection by relies on machine translation to clarify position.
As to claims 3 and 12, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claims 1 and 2, wherein the plurality of charger circuits are connected in parallel between the main power supply and the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode (Fig. 1-2 and pg. 5 where the changeover switch 16 is thrown into the contact a side, and carries out the series connection of the rechargeable batteries 15a and 15b to the power supply circuit 11 for in-series. power supply circuits 11 ,12 in parallel between the main power supply and the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode).
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode are respectively charged with currents supplied from the plurality of charger circuits.
Kaneko teaches the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode are respectively charged with currents supplied from the plurality of charger circuits (Fig. 1 Column 7 lines 6-11)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical storage device control system of Takeyasu to wherein the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode are respectively charged with currents supplied from the plurality of charger circuits in order to prevent adverse effects such as batteries of inferior performance causing insufficient charging of other batteries of good performance.
As to claim 18, Takeyasu in view of Kaneko teaches the electrical storage device control system of claim 3, wherein the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode (Pg. 5 … the changeover switch 16 is thrown into the contact a side, and carries out the series connection of the rechargeable batteries 15a and 15b to the power supply circuit 11 for in-series. For this reason, both of the 2 secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are charged by the constant output voltage of the series power supply circuit 11), the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging in the second connection mode when a voltage difference between the input voltage and the charging voltage becomes equal to or less than a first preset value, the charging voltage being a composite voltage of the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices (pg. 5-6 When charging proceeds and the voltage of the 2 battery 15b becomes higher than the divided voltage…the switching switch 16 is switched and turned on to the contact side, and the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are connected in parallel to the power supply circuit 12 for parallel use of the secondary battery 2a. As such the charging voltage of the batteries 15a,b was equal to or less than a first preset value).
and the plurality of charger circuits is configured to finish charging when the voltage differences between the input voltage and the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices become equal to or less than a second preset value (pg. 6..charging of the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b is continued to be continued by the parallel power supply circuit 12 activated by the output of the comparator 22 b… When the charging is completed..)
Claims 4-5,8-9,13-14,16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyasu (JP 03070436) in view of Yang (US 20120235641).
As to claims 4 and 13, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claims 1 and 2, wherein the plurality of charger circuits are provided one to one for the plurality of electrical storage devices, respectively (Fig. 1-2 power supply circuits 11 and 12).
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach in the second connection mode, each of the plurality of electrical storage devices is charged with a current supplied from an associated one of the plurality of charger circuits.
Yang teaches in the second connection mode, each of the plurality of electrical storage devices is charged with a current supplied from an associated one of the plurality of charger circuits (Fig. 3A)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second connection mode of Takeyasu to wherein each of the plurality of electrical storage devices is charged with a current supplied from an associated one of the plurality of charger circuits in order to provided independent separate charging mode for each battery [0059], thereby preventing overcharging any one battery.
As to claims 5,14 and 16, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claim 1, the electrical storage device control system of claim 2 and the electrical storage device control system of claim 4.
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach wherein in the second connection mode, respective charging periods of the plurality of electrical storage devices overlap with each other at least partially.
Yang teaches wherein in the second connection mode, respective charging periods of the plurality of electrical storage devices overlap with each other at least partially ([0030] such that the charger can charge the batteries concurrently..)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second connection mode of Takeyasu to wherein each of the plurality of electrical storage devices is charged with a current supplied from an associated one of the plurality of charger circuits in order to charge the device faster.
As to claim 8, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claim 1.
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach wherein the mode of connection is further switched to a third connection mode in which two or more electrical storage devices, belonging to the plurality of electrical storage devices, are connected together in series, and the mode of connection is switched from the first connection mode to the third connection mode and then to the second connection mode.
Yang teaches wherein the mode of connection is further switched to a third connection mode in which two or more electrical storage devices, belonging to the plurality of electrical storage devices, are connected together in series ([0067] Fig. 4A where switch 32 goes from position b where the batteries B1-B4 are in series to position a where B1,B2 and B3,B4 are charged independently), and the mode of connection is switched from the first connection mode to the third connection mode ([0067] Fig. 4A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical storage device of Yang to wherein the mode of connection is further switched to a third connection mode in which two or more electrical storage devices, belonging to the plurality of electrical storage devices, are connected together in series, and the mode of connection is switched from the first connection mode to the third connection mode in order to divide the charging current between the converters thereby reducing power dissipation.
Takeyasu in view of Yang does not specifically teach going from the third connection mode (Fig. 4A of Yang) to the second connection mode of Takeyasu (pg. 5-6 and Fig. 2 parallel use of the secondary battery 2a).
However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrical storage device of Takeyasu in view of Yang to go from the third connection mode (Fig. 4A of Yang) to the second connection mode in order to reduce the difference between the output voltage of the secondary batteries 2 a and b and the constant output voltage of the parallel power supply circuit 12 and a large charging current does not flow (pg. 6 of Takeyasu).
As to claim 9, Takeyasu in view of Yang teaches the electrical storage device control system of claim 8, wherein in the third connection mode, two or more charger circuits, belonging to the plurality of charger circuits, are connected in parallel, the two or more electrical storage devices are respectively charged with currents supplied from the two or more charger circuits and remaining electrical storage devices, other than the two or more electrical storage devices, out of the plurality of electrical storage devices are respectively charged with currents supplied from remaining charger circuits, other than the two or more charger circuits, out of the plurality of charger circuits (Fig. 4A,6C and [0076] of Yang showing two or more charger circuits, belonging to the plurality of charger circuits, are connected in parallel wherein each charging circuit charges at least two electrical storage devices. Fig. 3A showing nth charging circuits and as such, Fig. 4A6C can be duplicated).
As to claims 19 and 20 Takeyasu in view of Yang teaches the electrical storage device control system of claims 4 and 6, wherein the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging the plurality of electrical storage devices in the first connection mode (Pg. 5 … the changeover switch 16 is thrown into the contact a side, and carries out the series connection of the rechargeable batteries 15a and 15b to the power supply circuit 11 for in-series. For this reason, both of the 2 secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are charged by the constant output voltage of the series power supply circuit 11), the plurality of charger circuits is configured to start charging in the second connection mode when a voltage difference between the input voltage and the charging voltage becomes equal to or less than a first preset value, the charging voltage being a composite voltage of the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices (pg. 5-6 When charging proceeds and the voltage of the 2 battery 15b becomes higher than the divided voltage…the switching switch 16 is switched and turned on to the contact side, and the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b are connected in parallel to the power supply circuit 12 for parallel use of the secondary battery 2a. As such the charging voltage of the batteries 15a,b was equal to or less than a first preset value).
and the plurality of charger circuits is configured to finish charging when the voltage differences between the input voltage and the respective voltages at the plurality of electrical storage devices become equal to or less than a second preset value (pg. 6..charging of the secondary batteries 15 a and 15 b is continued to be continued by the parallel power supply circuit 12 activated by the output of the comparator 22 b… When the charging is completed..).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyasu (JP 03070436) in view of Jacobs (US 20050194937)
As to claim 10, Takeyasu discloses the electrical storage device control system of claim 1.
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach wherein the plurality of charger circuits includes a dropper circuit.
Jacobs teaches wherein the plurality of charger circuits includes a dropper circuit (Fig. 3A and [0047])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of charger circuits of Takeyasu to includes a dropper circuit in order to format the voltage to a level suitable and rated for the battery.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyasu (JP 03070436).
As to claim 11, Takeyasu discloses a power supply system comprising: the electrical storage device control system of claim 1; and the main power supply (Fig.1-2 and pg. 5 secondary cells 15a, 15b… charging voltage is supplied from a power source (not shown) to the input terminal 18).
Takeyasu does not disclose/teach the power supply system is a backup power supply system.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement Takeyasu power supply system into a backup power supply system as it applying a known technique to a known device (backup power supplies).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeyasu (JP 03070436) in view of Kaneko (US 5617004) in view of Yang (US 20120235641).
As to claim 15 Takeyasu in view of Kaneko teaches the electrical storage device control system of claim 3.
Takeyasu in view of Kaneko does not disclose/teach wherein in the second connection mode, respective charging periods of the plurality of electrical storage devices overlap with each other at least partially.
Yang teaches wherein in the second connection mode, respective charging periods of the plurality of electrical storage devices overlap with each other at least partially ([0030] such that the charger can charge the batteries concurrently..)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the second connection mode of Takeyasu to wherein each of the plurality of electrical storage devices is charged with a current supplied from an associated one of the plurality of charger circuits in order to charge the device faster.
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859