DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 02/15/2026.
Claims 1,3-13,15-19 and 25-27 are pending and rejected. Claims 2, 14, 20-24 are cancelled. Claim 27 is added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 18-19, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (US 20230422296 A1) (hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Ohara et all (US 20230104916 A1) (hereinafter “Ohara”).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a resource allocation method, applied to a fourth-type communication node (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), comprising:
configuring physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to a first-type communication node (see para. [0032] discloses the base station (fourth-type communication node) provides RedCapUE (first type communication node) related PRACH resources configuration on a system information or an RRC. The UE decodes system information or RRC and acquires contents comprises PRACH resources configuration for RedCapUEs. The UE selects a suitable PO (PRACH Occasion) to transmit a preamble based on a respective UE type).
sending the PRACH occasions to the first-type communication node (see para. [0032] discloses the UE decodes system information or RRC and acquires contents comprises PRACH resources configuration for RedCapUEs. The UE selects a suitable PO (PRACH Occasion) to transmit a preamble based on a respective UE type).
Feng does not clearly disclose but Ohara teaches wherein the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises at least one (see para. [0105] discloses multiple preamble indexes in a single RACH occasion associated with information of a UE type) of:
PRACH occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to a second- type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, RACH Occasion), or,
PRACH occasions shared by a third-type communication node and the first-type communication node (see Fig. 10 (preamble index), Fig. 12, para. [0109] discloses group corresponding to SSB #0 used by normal UE (third type communication node) and group of preamble indexes used by reduce capability UEs (first type communication node)).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 3, Feng discloses resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)),
wherein in response to the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprising the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node, the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node is configured from a PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node for contention free random access (CFRA) (see Fig. 8 (regular UEs, RedCap UEs, CFRA preambles), para. [0153] discloses examples of interlaced preambles of regular UEs (second type communication node) and RedCap UE (first type communication node) including the group A of the CBRA preambles of the Redcap UE, a group A of the CBRA preambles of the regular UE, the group B of the CBRA preambles of the Redcap UE, a group B of the CBRA preambles of the regular UE, the CFRA preambles of the Redcap UE, and the CFRA preambles of the regular UE are arranged in sequence).
Regarding claim 4, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007];[0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)),
wherein configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first- type communication node comprises:
indicating, through first information, a start index of the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node (see Fig.12 (UE specific early information (first information)), para. [0160];[0162];[0163] discloses UE is configured with PRACH resources; PRACH configuration index; Through PRACH Occasions (POs) each UE type can be configured with separated PRACH occasion, these configurations include configuration index for RedCap or others); or,
taking an end index of a PRACH preamble configured for the second-type communication node plus K as a start index of the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first- type communication node, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see Fig.12 (UE specific early information), para. [0160];[0162];[0163] discloses UE is configured with PRACH resources; PRACH configuration index; Through PRACH Occasions (POs) each UE type can be configured with separated PRACH occasion, these configurations include configuration index for RedCap or others (second type configuration node, NR UE)).
Regarding claim 5, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein the end index of the PRACH preamble configured for the second-type communication node comprises one of:
in response to the PRACH supporting a first-type PRACH, the end index of the PRACH preamble configured for the second-type communication node being an end index of the first-type PRACH preamble (see para. [0152] discloses 4-step RA (first-type PRACH), two configurations (totalNumberofRA-Preambles & numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA) can determine the range of preambles group A, preambles group B and contention freepreambles); and
in response to the PRACH supporting a second-type PRACH, the end index of the PRACH preamble configured for the second-type communication node being an end index of a second-type PRACH preamble (see para. [0152] discloses 2-step RA preamble (second type PRACH), is similar to 4-step RA, the preambles of each cell are divided in three sections by two fields (RACH-ConfigCommon and RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA)).
Regarding claim 6, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node supporting a first-type Msg3, the method comprises one of:
in response to the PRACH supporting the first-type PRACH, the end index of the first-type PRACH preamble is an end index of a preamble corresponding to the first-type Msg3 (see para. [0152] discloses 4-step RA (first-type PRACH), two configurations (totalNumberofRA-Preambles & numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA) can determine the range of preambles group A, preambles group B (First-Type Msg3) and contention free preambles); or,
in response to the PRACH supporting the second-type PRACH, the end index of the second-type PRACH preamble is an end index of a preamble corresponding to the first-type Msg3 (see para. [0152] discloses 2-step RA preamble (second type PRACH), is similar to 4-step RA, the preambles of each cell are divided in three sections by two fields (RACH-ConfigCommon and RACH-ConfigCommonTwoStepRA), the preambles are divided into group A, group B (first type Msg3) and group C).
Regarding claim 7, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node being configured with a first-type PRACH, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises: indicating, through second information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to the first-type communication node (see para. [0156] discloses indication of CB preambles of regular NR UE per SSB in group B. Implicitly, the number of CB preambles of Redcap UE in group B is (totalNumberOfRA-Preambles−numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA−B) for 4-step RA (first type PRACH)).
Regarding claim 8, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node being configured with a first-type PRACH and a second-type PRACH, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises:
indicating, through second information, a number of first-type PRACH preambles corresponding to the first-type communication node (see para. [0156] discloses indication of CB preambles of regular NR UE per SSB in group B. Implicitly, the number of CB preambles of Redcap UE in group B is (totalNumberOfRA-Preambles−numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA−B) for 4-step RA (first type PRACH)); and
indicating, through third information, a number of second-type PRACH preambles corresponding to the first-type communication node, wherein a start index of a second-type PRACH preamble of the second-type PRACH preambles is an end index of a first-type PRACH preamble configured for the second information plus one ((see para. [0156] discloses indication of CB preambles of regular NR UE per SSB in group B. Implicitly, the number of CB preambles of Redcap UE in group B is (totalNumberOfRA-Preambles−numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA−B) for 4-step RA (first type PRACH), if the field is absent, all CB preambles in group B are available for RedCap UE).
Regarding claim 9, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node supporting a first-type Msg3, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first- type communication node comprises: indicating, through fourth information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to a second-type Msg3 (see para. [0155] discloses indicate the number of CB preambles of regular NR UE per SSB in group A (second-type Msg3) and simplicity the number of RedCap UE in group A, (numberofRA-PreamblesGroupA-A) for 4-step, and (msgA-TotalNumberofRA-Preamble-A) for 2-step).
Regarding claim 10, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node supporting a first-type Msg3, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first- type communication node comprises:
indicating, through fourth information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to a second-type Msg3 of the first-type PRACH (see Fig. 1((a)-(c)), para [0012] discloses 4-step RA comprises message on the first PRACH resources in, and RA preamble); and
indicating, through fifth information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to a second-type Msg3 of the second-type PRACH (see Fig. 1((b)-(d), para [0013];[0125] discloses 2-step RA comprises message on the first PRACH resources, first RA preamble and payload).
Regarding claim 11, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node comprising a first-type terminal and a second-type terminal, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises:
indicating, through sixth information, a number of first-type PRACH preambles corresponding to the first-type terminal (see para. [0020];[0175]-[0178] discloses when multiple RedCap UE types are defined, RA preambles of each RedCap UE type are interlaced with or separated from one each other; the reporting of corresponding UE EI (UE early identification) can be initiated by gNB or UE and carried on MSGA PUSCH or MSG3 or Post-MSG4 messages, indicating UE type); and
indicating, through seventh information, a number of first-type PRACH preambles corresponding to the second-type terminal (see para. [0020];[0175]-[0178] discloses when multiple RedCap UE types are defined, RA preambles of each RedCap UE type are interlaced with or separated from one each other; the corresponding UE EI (UE early identification) can be initiated by gNB or UE and carried on MSGA PUSCH or MSG3 or Post-MSG4 messages, indicating UE type).
Regarding claim 12, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to the first-type communication node supporting a first-type Msg3, configuring the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first- type communication node comprises:
indicating, through eighth information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to a second-type Msg3 of the first-type terminal (see Fig. 5 (304), para. [0028] discloses identification of the UE, comprises processing a report for the UE type of the UE, where the report is triggered by the UE or the base station; fields are introduced to indicate a number of corresponding preambles of the Redcap UE if there are two RedCap UE types); and
indicating, through ninth information, a number of PRACH preambles corresponding to a second-type Msg3 of the second-type terminal (see Fig.5 (304), para. [0028] discloses identification of the UE, comprises processing a report for the UE type of the UE, where the report is triggered by the UE or the base station; fields are introduced to indicate a number of corresponding preambles of the Redcap UE if there are two RedCap UE types)..
Regarding claim 13, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein in response to an initial Bandwidth Part (BWP) configured for the first-type communication node being greater than an operating BWP of the first-type communication node (see para. [0034];[0073] discloses base stations supports RedCap UEs, base station provides UL BWP configuration on a system information), the PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node is used by the first-type communication node (see para. [0034];[0073] discloses base stations supports RedCap UEs, base station provides UL BWP configuration on a system information), and
wherein in response to an initial BWP configured for the first-type communication node being less than or equal to an operating BWP of the first-type communication node (see para. [0034];[0073] discloses base stations supports RedCap UEs, base station provides UL BWP configuration on a system information), comprising one of:
in response to the first-type communication node supporting or enabling a function of coverage recovery (CR), the PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node are used by the first-type communication node (see para. [0126] discloses when CFRA with 2-Step RA is only supported by handover (coverage recovery)); and
in response to the first-type communication node not supporting or enabling a function of CR, the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node are used by the first-type communication node (see para. [0126] discloses when CFRA with 2-Step RA is only supported by handover (coverage recovery)).
Feng fails to disclose but Ohara teaches wherein the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, RACH Occasion (RO)) , and the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node further comprises PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node (see Fig. 10 (preamble index), Fig. 12, para. [0109] discloses group corresponding to SSB #0 used by normal UE (second type communication node) and group of preamble indexes used by reduce capability UEs (first type communication node)).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 18, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)),
Feng fails to disclose but Ohara teaches, wherein the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, RACH Occasion (RO)), and
the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node further comprises PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, RACH Occasion (RO));
wherein signaling is used to indicate whether the first-type communication node uses the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node (see para. [00112]-[0116]discloses ) discloses groups of preamble group A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes. In this case, for example, a normal UE uses a preamble in the preamble group A and the Reduced Capability UE uses a preamble in the preamble group B; only a portion of all RO assigned to a normal UE, a Reduced Capability UE may be assigned) ; and
wherein in response to the signaling indicating that the first-type communication node uses the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node (see para. [00112]-[0116]discloses ) discloses groups of preamble group A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes. In this case, for example, a normal UE uses a preamble in the preamble group A and the Reduced Capability UE uses a preamble in the preamble group B; only a portion of all RO assigned to a normal UE, a Reduced Capability UE may be assigned), the method comprises at least one of:
in a case wherein response to the first-type communication node supporting or enabling function of CR, the PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node are used by the first-type communication node (This part is optional); and
in a case wherein response to the first-type communication node not supporting or enabling a function of CR, the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node are used by the first- type communication node (This part is optional); or,
in response to the signaling indicating that the first-type communication node does not use the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the second-type communication node, the method comprises (see para. [00112]-[0116]discloses ) discloses groups of preamble group A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes. In this case, for example, a normal UE uses a preamble in the preamble group A and the Reduced Capability UE uses a preamble in the preamble group B; only a portion of all RO assigned to a normal UE, a Reduced Capability UE may be assigned): the PRACH occasions of the first-type communication node are used by the first-type communication node (see para. [00112]-[0116]discloses ) discloses groups of preamble group A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes. In this case, for example, a normal UE uses a preamble in the preamble group A and the Reduced Capability UE uses a preamble in the preamble group B; only a portion of all RO assigned to a normal UE, a Reduced Capability UE may be assigned).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 19, Feng discloses a resource selection method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), applied to a first-type communication node (see para. [[0001]; [0007];[0046] discloses method by UE (first type communication node)), comprising:
receiving physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions sent by a fourth-type communication node, wherein the PRACH occasions are PRACH occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node and configured by the fourth-type communication node (see para. [0032] discloses the base station (fourth-type communication node) provides RedCapUE (first type communication node) related PRACH resources configuration on a system information or an RRC. The UE decodes system information or RRC and acquires contents comprises PRACH resources configuration for RedCapUEs. The UE selects a suitable PO (PRACH Occasion) to transmit a preamble based on a respective UE type), and
Fang does not clearly discloses but Ohara teaches the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises at least one (see para. [0105] discloses multiple preamble indexes in a single RACH occasion associated with information of a UE type) of:
PRACH occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to a second-type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, Rach Occasion), or,
PRACH occasions shared by a third-type communication node and the first-type communication node (see Fig. 10 (preamble index), Fig. 12, para. [0109] discloses group corresponding to SSB #0 used by normal UE (third type communication node) and group o preamble indexes used by reduce capability UEs (first type communication node)).; and
selecting a PRACH occasion occupied by the PRACH preamble from the PRACH occasions (see para [0109] discloses the User terminal selects and uses the preamble index in the group).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 25, Feng discloses a communication device (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), comprising a memory, and one or more processors (see Fig. 3, (base station), para. [0086];[0131]-[0132];[0192] discloses base station with memory, transceiver, and processor coupled to the memory);
wherein the memory is configured to store one or more programs (see para. [0088] discloses a chip includes a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in the memory); and
the one or more processors, when executing the one or more programs (see para. [0088] discloses a chip includes a processor configured to call and run a computer program stored in the memory), implement: configuring physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to a first-type communication node (see para. [0032] discloses the base station (fourth-type communication node) provides RedCapUE (first type communication node) related PRACH resources configuration on a system information or an RRC. The UE decodes system information or RRC and acquires contents comprises PRACH resources configuration for RedCapUEs. The UE selects a suitable PO (PRACH Occasion) to transmit a preamble based on a respective UE type), and
sending the PRACH occasions to the first-type communication node (see para. [0032] discloses the UE decodes system information or RRC and acquires contents comprises PRACH resources configuration for RedCapUEs. The UE selects a suitable PO (PRACH Occasion) to transmit a preamble based on a respective UE type).
Feng does not clearly disclose but Ohara teaches wherein the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprises at least one (see para. [0105] discloses multiple preamble indexes in a single RACH occasion associated with information of a UE type) of:
PRACH occasions occupied by a PRACH preamble corresponding to a second- type communication node (see Fig. 12 (preamble index for normal UE and Other, RACH Occasion), or,
PRACH occasions shared by a third-type communication node and the first-type communication node (see Fig. 10 (preamble index), Fig. 12, para. [0109] discloses group corresponding to SSB #0 used by normal UE (third type communication node) and group of preamble indexes used by reduce capability UEs (first type communication node)).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 26, Feng discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor, implements the method (see para. [0087]; [0089];[0198] discloses non-transitory machine-readable storage medium with instructions, when executed by computer, cause the computer to perform the method; software function can be stored in readable storage medium in a computer).
Regarding claim 27, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)).
Feng fails to disclose but Ohara teaches, wherein the PRACH occasions shared by the third-type communication node and the first-type communication node are configured to allow transmission of a PRACH preamble by both the first-type communication node and the third-type communication node using the same PRACH occasion (see Fig. 12 (normal UE, reduced capability UE type, RO), para. [0116] discloses only a portion of all ROs assigned to a normal UE, a preamble index that is available by a UE of new UE type (that is, a type of UE other than the existing UE, for example, a Reduced Capability UE) may be assigned).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include PRACH occasions as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Claims 15, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al (US 20230422296 A1) (hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Ohara et all (US 20230104916 A1) (hereinafter “Ohara”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of MolavianJazi et al (US 20210058971 A1) (hereinafter “MolavianJazi”).
Regarding claim 15, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)), wherein the PRACH occasions shared by the third-type communication node and the first-type communication node are used for at least one of the following communication nodes to send a PRACH preamble: the first-type communication node, or, the third-type communication node (see [0021]-[0027]discloses an embodiment with M fields are introduced to partition the group A of the CBRA preambles, the group B of the CBRA preambles, and the CFRA preambles into sections of the Redcap UE and the regular UE, respectively, and a number of M is related to a number of Redcap UE types or one Redcap UE type; fields are introduced to indicate a number of corresponding preambles of the RedCap UE if there are two RedCap UEs types).
Feng fails to disclose but MolavianJazi teaches wherein the third-type communication node supports or enables a function of Coverage Enhancement (CE) (see para. [0114]-[0118] discloses NR-Light UE or RedCap UE , such UE may also support features for coverage enhancement; methods for repetition of PRACH transmission, addressing coverage enhancement (CE) levels based on RSRP ranges and configuration of UE-specific NR-Light-Valid (RedCap UE)).
Feng and MolavianJazi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include RedCap UEs with coverage enhancement as described by MolavianJazi.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 16, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)).
Feng fails to disclose but Ohara teaches, wherein in response to the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprising the PRACH occasions shared by the third-type communication node and the first-type communication node (see Fig. 10 (preamble index), Fig. 12, para. [0109] discloses group corresponding to SSB #0 used by normal UE (third type communication node) and group o preamble indexes used by reduce capability UEs (first type communication node)),
communication node indication information is carried in a Msg3 message (see para. [0112] groups of preamble A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes), and
the communication node indication information is used for indicating that a communication node is the first-type communication node or the third-type communication node (see para. [0112] groups of preamble A/B are reused according to Msg3 sizes. normal UE uses a preamble in the preamble group A and the Reduced Capability UE uses a preamble in the preamble group B).
Feng and Ohara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods and PRACH.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feng to include communication indication information as described by Ohara.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving reliability and performance.
Regarding claim 17, Feng discloses a resource allocation method (see para. [0001]; [0007]; [0046] discloses method by base station (fourth type communication node)),, wherein in response to the PRACH occasions occupied by the PRACH preamble corresponding to the first-type communication node comprising the PRACH occasions shared by the third-type communication node and the first-type communication node, a size of a frequency domain resource occupied by a Msg3 message is less than or equal to the operating BWP of the first-type communication node (see Fig. 13 (B), para. [0152];[0164] discloses gNB allocates proper UL resources for MSG3; BWP with POs for regular radio and RedCap UE interlaced).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-15, filed on 02/15/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1, 19, 25 and dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding the resource reuse across communication node types not properly disclose in Feng, have been fully considered by the examiner. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ohara et al (US 20230104916 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419