Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 40 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 11. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-14 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/29/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 5, 11-12, 17, 24 and 38-40 have been fully considered. The rejection of claims 5, 11-12, 17, 24 and 38-40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 7 have been fully considered, a new ground for rejection has been made in view of amendment. Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 (See 103 rejection of claims 1 and 7 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-12, 17, 24 and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240064699 A1 (hereinafter Fu), in view of US 20230209464 A1 (hereinafter Tsai) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63030228 20200526, hereinafter prov0228).
Regarding claim 1, Fu teaches A method for sending downlink control information DCI, wherein
the method comprises (Fu [0007] a paging early indication method is performed by a base station):
sending a first DCI by a network side device, wherein the first DCI comprises at least one information field, wherein the at least one information field is configured to carry Fu [0094] the terminal receives the paging early indication (PEI) sent by the base station, including: receiving the DCI carrying the PEI sent by the base station.),
wherein Fu [0079] the PEI sent by the base station is configured to indicate first indication information and second indication information. The first indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to wake up before the one or more POs. The second indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel at the one or more POs.
[0081] the second indication information can indicate two states by at least two values of an identifier, which are: indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that only the PDCCH is to be monitored; and indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that the PDSCH is included to be monitored.
[0082] the terminal may determine, based on the PEI, to perform an operation at the PO(s) in one of the following two ways: the terminal wakes up before the PO(s) and monitors only the PDCCH, or the terminal wakes up before the PO(s) and monitors the downlink channel including the PDSCH.
[0087] the information field may be a number of bits. Taking one bit as an example, a bit of 0 can indicate the terminal to monitor only PDCCH at the PO, and a bit of 1 can indicate the terminal to monitor the downlink channel including the PDSCH at the PO (i.e., monitoring both PDCCH and PDSCH). Of course, the information field can also include more than one bit, for example, “00” can indicate that the terminal does not need to wake up, etc., which is not repeated here.);
wherein the at least one information field comprises: a second information field, wherein
the second information field is configured to carry at least one of Fu 0085] the base station may use a grouping approach to indicate the manner of monitoring the downlink channel to different terminals through the PEI. For example, the PEI may include a number of information fields associated with a number of terminals respectively, and each terminal may determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel based on the indication information of the corresponding information field.
[0086] the PEI includes an information field associated with the terminal for indicating the terminal to determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel at the PO based on a value of the information field.
[0087] the information field may be a number of bits. Taking one bit as an example, a bit of 0 can indicate the terminal to monitor only PDCCH at the PO, and a bit of 1 can indicate the terminal to monitor the downlink channel including the PDSCH at the PO (i.e., monitoring both PDCCH and PDSCH). Of course, the information field can also include more than one bit, for example, “00” can indicate that the terminal does not need to wake up.
[0088] association relationships between the terminals and the information fields in the PEI can be established in advance. For example, the base station groups the terminals within its coverage area. Taking two information fields A and B as an example, the terminals can be divided into group a and group b, where the terminal(s) in group a is associated with information field A and the terminal(s) in group b is associated with information field B.);
Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first
information filed, wherein the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information.
Tsai in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first information filed, wherein the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information (Tsai [0139] The new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be a cell-specific signaling. one new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be indicated to all UEs in a cell.
[0140] the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) is a cell-specific signaling. The monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or associated control resource set) may be a common monitoring occasion (e.g., common search space and/or common resource control set) for all the UEs in the same cell.
[0159] the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be transmitted via DCI. (prov0228 pages 8-10)).
By modifying Fu’s teachings of wherein the at least one information field comprises: a second information field, wherein the second information field is configured to carry at least one of
wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first information field and a second information field, wherein
the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information, and the second information field is configured to carry at least one of
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu with Tsai’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the unnecessary PDCCH monitoring for paging (Tsai [0121] (prov0228 page 8)).
Regarding claim 7, Fu teaches A method for receiving downlink control information DCI,
Comprising (Fu [0007] a paging early indication method):
receiving, by a terminal, a first DCI, wherein the first DCI comprises at least one information field, wherein the at least one information field is configured to carry Fu [0094] the terminal receives the paging early indication (PEI) sent by the base station, including: receiving the DCI carrying the PEI sent by the base station.),
wherein Fu [0079] the PEI sent by the base station is configured to indicate first indication information and second indication information. The first indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to wake up before the one or more POs. The second indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel at the one or more POs.
[0081] the second indication information can indicate two states by at least two values of an identifier, which are: indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that only the PDCCH is to be monitored; and indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that the PDSCH is included to be monitored.
[0082] the terminal may determine, based on the PEI, to perform an operation at the PO(s) in one of the following two ways: the terminal wakes up before the PO(s) and monitors only the PDCCH, or the terminal wakes up before the PO(s) and monitors the downlink channel including the PDSCH.
[0087] the information field may be a number of bits. Taking one bit as an example, a bit of 0 can indicate the terminal to monitor only PDCCH at the PO, and a bit of 1 can indicate the terminal to monitor the downlink channel including the PDSCH at the PO (i.e., monitoring both PDCCH and PDSCH). Of course, the information field can also include more than one bit, for example, “00” can indicate that the terminal does not need to wake up, etc., which is not repeated here.).
wherein the at least one information field comprises: a second information field,
wherein the second information field is configured to carry at least one of Fu 0085] the base station may use a grouping approach to indicate the manner of monitoring the downlink channel to different terminals through the PEI. For example, the PEI may include a number of information fields associated with a number of terminals respectively, and each terminal may determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel based on the indication information of the corresponding information field.
[0086] the PEI includes an information field associated with the terminal for indicating the terminal to determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel at the PO based on a value of the information field.
[0087] the information field may be a number of bits. Taking one bit as an example, a bit of 0 can indicate the terminal to monitor only PDCCH at the PO, and a bit of 1 can indicate the terminal to monitor the downlink channel including the PDSCH at the PO (i.e., monitoring both PDCCH and PDSCH). Of course, the information field can also include more than one bit, for example, “00” can indicate that the terminal does not need to wake up.
[0088] association relationships between the terminals and the information fields in the PEI can be established in advance. For example, the base station groups the terminals within its coverage area. Taking two information fields A and B as an example, the terminals can be divided into group a and group b, where the terminal(s) in group a is associated with information field A and the terminal(s) in group b is associated with information field B.);
Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first information filed, wherein the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information.
Tsai in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first information filed, wherein the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information (Tsai [0139] The new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be a cell-specific signaling. one new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be indicated to all UEs in a cell.
[0140] the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) is a cell-specific signaling. The monitoring occasion (e.g., search space and/or associated control resource set) may be a common monitoring occasion (e.g., common search space and/or common resource control set) for all the UEs in the same cell.
[0159] the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be transmitted via DCI. (prov0228 pages 8-10)).
By modifying Fu’s teachings of wherein the at least one information field comprises: a second information field, wherein the second information field is configured to carry at least one of
wherein the at least one information field comprises: a first information filed and a second information field,
wherein the first information field is configured to carry cell-level paging advance indication information, and the second information field is configured to carry at least one of
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu with Tsai’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the unnecessary PDCCH monitoring for paging (Tsai [0121] (prov0228 page 8)).
Regarding claim 4, Fu in view of Tsai teaches The method according to claim 1.
Fu does not explicitly teach The method according to claim 1,wherein the cell-level paging advance indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following: whether earthquake and tsunami warning system ETWS is sent; whether commercial mobile alert system CMAS is sent; whether system message update indication is sent; system message update type; whether a short message is sent; whether target reference signal is sent; beam information of the target reference signal; whether a system information block of configuration target parameter signal is updated; whether to wake up to monitor physical downlink control channel PDCCH of a paging; whether to wake up to monitor physical downlink shared channel PDSCH of the paging.
Tsai teaches wherein the cell-level paging advance indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following:
Tsai
[0126] In NR, a new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be needed for reducing unnecessary PDCCH monitoring for paging. The main function of the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be used to inform a UE when the UE can skip the configured PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging (e.g., the UE does not need to monitor the PDCCH for paging). In one implementation, the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may indicate to the UE to skip monitoring one or more upcoming POs, where each PO may include one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions. On the other hand, the main function of the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be used to inform the UE when the UE should wake up to monitor the configured PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging (e.g., the UE should monitor the PDCCH for paging). In one implementation, the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may indicate to the UE to monitor one or more upcoming POs, where each PO may include one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions. (prov0228 page 8, 11 and 13));
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu as modified by Tsai with Tsai’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the unnecessary PDCCH monitoring for paging (Tsai [0121] (prov0228 page 8)).
Regarding claim 5, Fu in view of Tsai teaches The method according to claim 1.
Fu teaches wherein a terminal-level paging indication information and/or terminal group-level paging indication information is configured to indicate at least one of the following:
whether the terminal and/or terminal group is woken up to monitor PDCCH of a paging (Fu [0079] the PEI sent by the base station is configured to indicate first indication information and second indication information. The first indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to wake up before the one or more POs. The second indication information is configured to indicate the terminal to determine the manner of monitoring the downlink channel at the one or more POs.
[0081] the second indication information can indicate two states by at least two values of an identifier, which are: indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that only the PDCCH is to be monitored;);
whether the terminal and/or terminal group is woken up to monitor PDSCH of the paging (Fu [0081] indicating the terminal to wake up before the PO(s) and monitor the downlink channel in a manner that the PDSCH is included to be monitored.);
Claims 10 and 11 recite similar limitations of claims 4 and 5 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Claim 38 recites similar limitations of claim 5, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim 40 recites similar limitations of claim 11, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 6, Fu in view of Tsai teaches The method according to claim 4.
Fu does not explicitly teach wherein the target reference signal comprises at least one of the following: tracking reference signal TRS; channel state indicator-reference signal CSI-RS; synchronization signal block SSB.
Tsai teaches wherein the target reference signal comprises at least one of the following:
synchronization signal block SSB (Tsai [0061] The PDCCH monitoring occasions for paging are determined according to pagingSearchSpace.
[0063] When SearchSpaceId other than 0 is configured for pagingSearchSpace, the UE monitors the (i_s+1).sup.th PO. A PO is a set of ‘S*X’ consecutive PDCCH monitoring occasions where ‘S’ is the number of actual transmitted SSBs
[0179] the UE may need to monitor multiple new signaling/indications (e.g., PEI) in a duration, where the duration may be a duration of the new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI), PO, PDCCH monitoring occasion for paging, PF, and/or DRX cycle. In one implementation, the NW may transmit/repeat the same new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) for a number of times in the duration (e.g., the content of the multiple new signaling/indication (e.g., PEI) may be the same). The number may be associated with the number of actual transmitted SSBs. (prov0228 page 23 and 11)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu as modified by Tsai with Tsai’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the unnecessary PDCCH monitoring for paging (Tsai [0121] (prov0228 page 8)).
Claim 12 and 39 recites similar limitations of claim 6 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 17, Fu in view of Tsai teaches perform the method for sending downlink control information DCI according to claim 1.
Fu teaches A network side device, comprising (Fu Fig. 9, [0208] FIG. 9 is a schematic block diagram of a device 900 for paging early indication in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The device 900 may be provided as a base station.);
a memory (Fu claim 21, A base station, comprising: a memory),
a transceiver (Fu [0208] the device 900 includes … a wireless transmitter/receiver component 924.), and
a processor (Fu, [0208] the device 900 includes a processing component 922, The processing component 922 may further include one or more processors.);
wherein the memory is configured to store computer program (Fu [0205] a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor.);
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor (Fu [0208] a wireless transmitter/receiver component 924. One of the processors in the processing component 922 may be configured to implement a paging early indication.);
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fu [0205] a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. [0206] wherein the processor is configured to implement the paging early indication method described in any of the above embodiments.).
Regarding claim 24, Fu in view of Tsai teaches perform the method for receiving downlink control information DCI according to claim 7.
Fu teaches A terminal, comprising (Fu [0029] The paging early indication method shown in this embodiment may be applicable to a terminal. The terminal includes, but is not limited to, a cell phone, a tablet, a wearable device, a sensor, an IoT device, and other electronic devices.);
a memory (Fu [0209] FIG. 10 is a schematic block diagram of a device 1000 for paging early indication in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. For example, the device 1000 may be a cell phone. [0209] the device 1000 may include one or more of the following components: … memory 1004.),
a transceiver (Fu [0209] the device 1000 may include one or more of the following components: … communication component 1016.), and
a processor (Fu [0209] the device 1000 may include one or more of the following components: processing component 1002.);
wherein the memory is configured to store computer program (Fu [0205] a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor.);
the transceiver is configured to send and receive data under control of the processor (Fu [0219] The communication component 1016 is configured to facilitate communication between the device 1000 and other devices by wired or wireless means. The device 1000 may access a wireless network based on a communication standard such as 4G LTE, 5G NR.);
the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory (Fu [0205] a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor. [0206] wherein the processor is configured to implement the paging early indication method described in any of the above embodiments.)
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu in view of Tsai as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of US 20230208587 A1 (hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 3, Fu in view of Tsai teaches The method according to claim 1.
Fu in view of Tsai does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one information field comprises:
N4 third information fields; wherein each of the third information fields is configured to carry wake-up information of a terminal group and/or terminal group-level paging advance indication information of the terminal group; N4 is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
He in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the at least one information field comprises: N4 third information fields (He N terminal device group in Fig. 10.);
wherein each of the third information fields is configured to carry wake-up information of a terminal group [0107] A schematic diagram of DCI carrying power saving information and reference signal resource indication information is as shown in FIG. 10, where the DCI format 2_6 carries a plurality of information blocks, each information block corresponds to a terminal device group, and each information block includes power saving wake-up indication information and reference signal resource indication information. Note: N is greater than or equal to 1.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu as modified by Tsai with He’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently realizing power saving of a terminal device (He [0004]).
Claim 9 recites similar limitations of claim 3, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418