DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6 – 24 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 20240053208; hereinafter Oh) in view of Tsukamoto et al. (US 20150219730; hereinafter Tsukamoto).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches a temperature measuring device (abstract; [0012]) comprising:
a spin group (940 – “diamond nitrogen-vacancy center sensor” [0079]; see at least [0083] and fig. 9) made up of a plurality of particles having spins (1420; “diamond thin film 1420 including nitrogen vacancies” [0118] where the particles of this diamond layer have “diamond nitrogen-vacancy center” [0049] with plural spins [0083]; see at least [0049-50]; see also [0054-58] regarding spin states of the particles of the diamond);
a mechanism configured to detect magnetization of the spin group ([0054] “the magnitude of the magnetic field may be measured based on the difference (21B) between the two resonance frequencies”; see [0058]; see also [0003-07] teaching regarding the background of this detection structure such that “the magnitude of the magnetic field applied to the diamond nitrogen-vacancy center may be determined based on the difference between the two resonance frequencies” [0006]; see fig. 7 and fig. 9);
a magnetic field applicator (at least 950 and/or 960; [0085]; [0091]) configured to apply a magnetic field to the spin group in a direction horizontal the mechanism to ([0085] “magnet 950 may apply a constant static magnetic field to the diamond nitrogen-vacancy center sensor 940”; [0091] “test coil 960 that applies a calibrated test magnetic field”; see fig. 9 showing this horizontal orientation of the two magnetic field sources which will cause a horizontal spin); and
a measuring device configured to measure energy of the mechanism (at least 995; [0092]; see fig. 1 showing the energy measured by the device; [0030]; [0056]; [0058]; see fig. 9; see also [0016]).
Oh does not directly and specifically state that that the mechanism is a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches that the spin group is disposed at an asymmetric position ([0049-50] teaches that the symmetry of the spin states is “separated in proportion to the magnitude of the applied external magnetic field” [0050]).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches that the spin group is disposed at a position shifted from a symmetrical position ([0049-50] teaches that the symmetry of the spin states is “separated in proportion to the magnitude of the applied external magnetic field” [0050]) in a plan view (see fig. 9 showing this shift will be cause in a plan view due to the horizontal nature of the applied magnetic field(s)).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches that the measuring device is configured to measure a quantum state (see [0051-54] teaching measuring the spin quanta; see specifically [0054] teaching measurement of the temperature via this quantum state-based measurement).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Oh lacks direct and specific teaching that the superconducting quantum bit is a superconducting magnetic flux quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]; see specifically [0011] teaching is regard to the mode of operation of the quantum bit “generating a voltage V in the two Josephson junctions, the voltage V generated across the terminals varies periodically with flux quantum .PHI..sub.0(=2.07.times.10.sup.-15 Wb) as a cycle by magnetic flux”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches that the measuring device is configured to measure a quantum state (see [0051-54] teaching measuring the spin quanta; see specifically [0054] teaching measurement of the temperature via this quantum state-based measurement).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 12, Oh lacks direct and specific teaching that the superconducting quantum bit is a superconducting magnetic flux quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]; see specifically [0011] teaching is regard to the mode of operation of the quantum bit “generating a voltage V in the two Josephson junctions, the voltage V generated across the terminals varies periodically with flux quantum .PHI..sub.0(=2.07.times.10.sup.-15 Wb) as a cycle by magnetic flux”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 13, Oh teaches that a variable due to magnetization of the spin group is obtained from the energy of the mechanism that is measured by the measuring device (see [0094]; [0083]; see fig. 1 showing the energy measured by the device due to magnetization of the spin group; [0030]; [0056]; [0058]; see fig. 9; see also [0016]), and wherein the variable is converted into a temperature measurement ([0092]; see also abstract).
Oh lacks direct and specific teaching that the variable is a magnetic flux and that that the mechanism is a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]; see specifically [0011] teaching is regard to the mode of operation of the quantum bit “generating a voltage V in the two Josephson junctions, the voltage V generated across the terminals varies periodically with flux quantum .PHI..sub.0(=2.07.times.10.sup.-15 Wb) as a cycle by magnetic flux”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 14, Oh teaches that the plurality of particles of the spin group is a plurality of diamond particles (see at least abstract -- “a diamond nitrogen vacancy center sensor” is disclosed).
Regarding claim 15, Oh teaches that the plurality of diamond particles has a plurality of P1 centers (see at least abstract -- “a diamond nitrogen vacancy center sensor” is disclosed – please note that P1 center(s) is a term describing nitrogen defect in a diamond’s crystal lattice).
Regarding claim 16, Oh teaches a method (abstract; [0012]) comprising:
detecting, by a mechanism, magnetization of a spin group (940 – “diamond nitrogen-vacancy center sensor” [0079]; see at least [0083] and [0054] “the magnitude of the magnetic field may be measured based on the difference (21B) between the two resonance frequencies”; see [0058]; see also [0003-07] teaching regarding the background of this detection structure such that “the magnitude of the magnetic field applied to the diamond nitrogen-vacancy center may be determined based on the difference between the two resonance frequencies” [0006]; see fig. 7 and fig. 9), the spin group being made up of a plurality of particles having spins (1420; “diamond thin film 1420 including nitrogen vacancies” [0118] where the particles of this diamond layer have “diamond nitrogen-vacancy center” [0049] with plural spins [0083]; see at least [0049-50]; see also [0054-58] regarding spin states of the particles of the diamond);
applying, by a magnetic field applicator (at least 950 and/or 960; [0085]; [0091]), a magnetic field to the spin group in a direction horizontal to the mechanism ([0085] “magnet 950 may apply a constant static magnetic field to the diamond nitrogen-vacancy center sensor 940”; [0091] “test coil 960 that applies a calibrated test magnetic field”; see fig. 9 showing this horizontal orientation of the two magnetic field sources which will cause a horizontal spin); and
measuring, by a measuring device (at least 995), energy of the mechanism to determine a measurement (see [0092]; see fig. 1 showing the energy measured by the device; [0030]; [0056]; [0058]; see fig. 9; see also [0016]); and
converting the measurement into a temperature measurement ([0012] “controller determining a change in temperature at each of the diamond thin film locations based on a change in an output of the lock-in-amplifier”; see also abstract, [0070] and [0092]).
Oh does not directly and specifically state that that the mechanism is a superconducting quantum bit and that the measurement is specifically magnetic flux.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for detecting magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) detecting magnetic flux of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensing method.
Regarding claim 17, Oh teaches that the spin group is disposed at an asymmetric position ([0049-50] teaches that the symmetry of the spin states is “separated in proportion to the magnitude of the applied external magnetic field” [0050]).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for detecting magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) detecting magnetic flux of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensing method.
Regarding claim 18, Oh teaches that the spin group is disposed at a position shifted from a symmetrical position ([0049-50] teaches that the symmetry of the spin states is “separated in proportion to the magnitude of the applied external magnetic field” [0050]) in a plan view (see fig. 9 showing this shift will be cause in a plan view due to the horizontal nature of the applied magnetic field(s)).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 19, Oh teaches that the measuring device is configured to measure a quantum state (see [0051-54] teaching measuring the spin quanta; see specifically [0054] teaching measurement of the temperature via this quantum state-based measurement).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 20, Oh lacks direct and specific teaching that the superconducting quantum bit is a superconducting magnetic flux quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]; see specifically [0011] teaching is regard to the mode of operation of the quantum bit “generating a voltage V in the two Josephson junctions, the voltage V generated across the terminals varies periodically with flux quantum .PHI..sub.0(=2.07.times.10.sup.-15 Wb) as a cycle by magnetic flux”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 21, Oh teaches that the measuring device is configured to measure a quantum state (see [0051-54] teaching measuring the spin quanta; see specifically [0054] teaching measurement of the temperature via this quantum state-based measurement).
Oh does not directly and specifically state regarding a superconducting quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 22, Oh lacks direct and specific teaching that the superconducting quantum bit is a superconducting magnetic flux quantum bit.
However, Tsukamoto teaches a sensor (abstract) using a superconducting (abstract; [0011]) quantum bit (at least “Josephson junctions 3a, 3b” [0048]; see [0011-12]) sensing magnetic flux ([0011-12]; see specifically [0011] teaching is regard to the mode of operation of the quantum bit “generating a voltage V in the two Josephson junctions, the voltage V generated across the terminals varies periodically with flux quantum .PHI..sub.0(=2.07.times.10.sup.-15 Wb) as a cycle by magnetic flux”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor for magnetism and temperature of Oh with the specific knowledge of using the Josephson junction(s) / quantum bit(s) of Tsukamoto. This is because such junctions / bits are known for producing highly sensitive measurements ([0012] of Tsukamoto). This is important in order to provide a more accurate sensor.
Regarding claim 23, Oh teaches that the plurality of particles of the spin group is a plurality of diamond particles (see at least abstract -- “a diamond nitrogen vacancy center sensor” is disclosed).
Regarding claim 24, Oh teaches that the plurality of diamond particles each have nitrogen impurities (see at least abstract -- “a diamond nitrogen vacancy center sensor” is disclosed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN/ SPE, Art Unit 2855