DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-10 and 16-24 are pending for examination.
Applicant’s arguments filed March 2, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Qiao (US Patent No. 11160126 and Qiao hereinafter) does not teach the claimed, “determining to update stat6us of the network slice parameter based on the report for the network parameter” and “quota based”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Qiao teaches “determining to update status (i.e., update) (Col 9, lines 21-36) of the network slice parameter based on the report for the network parameter (i.e., usage reporting, uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network, branching point to support multi-homed PDU session(s), QoS handling for user plane, uplink traffic verification (SDF to QoS flow mapping), transport level packet marking in the uplink and downlink, downlink packet buffering, and/or downlink data notification triggering. Some of the UPF functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a UPF 110, 210. One or more of functionalities described above may be supported in an instance of a network slice ) Col 7,line 20-65) ; see also Col 14, lines 20-40)
and “quota based (i.e., The SMF 160 may request, from the CHF 1012, quota(s) (e.g., associated with one or more events). The SMF 160 may request a quota, for example, for a start of service data flow event. The SMF 160 may request a quota, for example, if an allocated quota is consumed and/or a trigger to request a quota is met. The SMF 160 may send, to the CHF 1012, a message (e.g., a charging data request message and/or charging data update message 1124) indicating the request. ) (Col 30, lines 16-25); see also (i.e., first network slice with the second network slice, for example, based on the information elements received from the SMF device 1610 (e.g., based on the wireless device IP address, the asymmetric service indication, the session/network slice correlation indication, the session information of the first PDU session, and/or the network slice information of the first network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated PDU sessions (e.g., the first PDU session and the second PDU session). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated network slices (e.g., the first network slice and the second network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine a first quota for the first PDU session and/or the first network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a second quota for the second PDU session and/or the second network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a larger quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting an eMBB service. The CHF device 1612 may determine a smaller quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a URLLC service. The quota may comprise at least one of: a granted unit, a time) (Col 44, lines 6-36)”.
Examiner respectfully asserts that Qiao teaches Applicant’s claimed invention. This office action is made final at this time for the reasons stated, supra.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: These claims recite, UE, which should be formally spelled out. All claims should be reviewed for abbreviation which should be spelled out in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims1-10 and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiao et al., (US Patent No. 11160126 B2 and Qiao hereinafter).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 24, Qiao teaches a method performed by a charging function (i.e., charging control system architecture) (Col 29,lines 8-30) , the method comprising: storing a configuration comprising a quota (i.e., quotas, threshold…limits, targets values) (Col 44, lines 6-36) (i.e., The SMF 160 may request, from the CHF 1012, quota(s) (e.g., associated with one or more events). The SMF 160 may request a quota, for example, for a start of service data flow event. The SMF 160 may request a quota, for example, if an allocated quota is consumed and/or a trigger to request a quota is met. The SMF 160 may send, to the CHF 1012, a message (e.g., a charging data request message and/or charging data update message 1124) indicating the request. ) (Col 30, lines 16-25); see also (i.e., first network slice with the second network slice, for example, based on the information elements received from the SMF device 1610 (e.g., based on the wireless device IP address, the asymmetric service indication, the session/network slice correlation indication, the session information of the first PDU session, and/or the network slice information of the first network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated PDU sessions (e.g., the first PDU session and the second PDU session). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated network slices (e.g., the first network slice and the second network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine a first quota for the first PDU session and/or the first network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a second quota for the second PDU session and/or the second network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a larger quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting an eMBB service. The CHF device 1612 may determine a smaller quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a URLLC service. The quota may comprise at least one of: a granted unit, a time) (Col 44, lines 6-36) for a network slice parameter for access control (i.e. store information provided… access types … store the AMF 155, 255 identity associated with a first access type and may not remove the AMF 155, 255 identity associated with one or more second access types. The UDM 140, 240 may store information provided at registration in UDR with Nudr _UDM_Update. The AMF 155, 255 may retrieve the access and mobility subscription data and SMF 160, 260 selection subscription data, for example, by using Nudm_SDM_Get 915. The UDM 140, 240 may retrieve the access and mobility subscription data and SMF 160, 260 selection subscription data information) (Col 25, lines 46-66); receiving a report (i.e., report charging information) (Col 28, lines 10-54) operator may create/activate multiple new NSIs and/or allocate existing NSIs, for example, based on the subscription (e.g., in an operation phase). The operator may collect, for one or more NSIs, charging information and/or enable charging information collection based on subscription and/or actual usage. The operator may collect the NSI's usage for CSP, for example, if a usage-based measurement method for the charging information is being used. The operator may collect performance data, for example, if a performance data-based measurement method for the charging information is being used. The operator may, for the CSP, record the charging information, report the charging information, and/or aggregate the charging information. A network operator (NOP) may be a network slice provider and the CSP may be a network slice customer) (Col 32, lines 18-40) for the network slice parameter from a network slice (i.e., network slice selection policy) ( Col 31, lines 15-22) access control function (i.e., a registration accept message 955. The registration accept message 955 may comprise, for example, GUTI (e.g., 5G-GUTI), registration area, mobility restrictions, PDU session status, allowed NSSAI (or mapping of allowed NSSAI), periodic registration update timer, LADN information and accepted MICO mode, IMS voice over PS session supported indication, emergency service support indicator, and/or the like. The new AMF 855 may send the registration accept message 955, for example, to the wireless device 100, 200. The registration accept message 955 may, for example, indicate that the registration request has been accepted. The registration accept message) (Col 28, lines 10-54); determining to update a status of the network slice parameter based on the report for the network slice parameter (i.e., state transition), (Figure 6B, whole figure) infra;
(Col 14, lines 54-67 to Col 15, lines 1-31) and transmitting response to the network slice access control function (i.e., The new AMF 855 may determine whether the registration request must/should be rerouted (e.g., rerouted from the AMF 155 operating as an initial AMF), for example, if network slicing is used. The new AMF 855 may initiate NAS security functions. The new AMF 855 may initiate an NGAP procedure. The initiation may, for example, enable an AN (e.g., 5G-AN) to use the NGAP procedure for securing procedures with the wireless device 100 upon completion of a NAS security function setup. The AN (e.g., 5G-AN) may store the security context. The AN may acknowledge completion of the NAS security function setup to the AMF 155, 255) (Col 24, lines 24-44).
Regarding Claims 2 and 16, Qiao teaches comprises one of a number of UEs currently registered with a network slice instance corresponding to the network slice parameter, or a number of data connections currently established in the network slice instance (i.e., first network slice with the second network slice, for example, based on the information elements received from the SMF device 1610 (e.g., based on the wireless device IP address, the asymmetric service indication, the session/network slice correlation indication, the session information of the first PDU session, and/or the network slice information of the first network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated PDU sessions (e.g., the first PDU session and the second PDU session). The CHF device 1612 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated network slices (e.g., the first network slice and the second network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine a first quota for the first PDU session and/or the first network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a second quota for the second PDU session and/or the second network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a larger quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting an eMBB service. The CHF device 1612 may determine a smaller quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a URLLC service) (Col 44, lines 6-36).
Regarding Claims 3 and 17, Qiao teaches wherein receiving the report for the network slice parameter comprises receiving a slice-specific charging data request and wherein transmitting the response to the network slice access control function comprises transmitting a charging data response comprising a policy for the network slice parameter (i.e., network slice and the second network slice). The CHF device 1612 may determine a first quota for the first PDU session and/or the first network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a second quota for the second PDU session and/or the second network slice. The CHF device 1612 may determine a larger quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting an eMBB service. The CHF device 1612 may determine a smaller quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a URLLC service. The quota may comprise at least one of: a granted unit, a time quota threshold, and/or a volume quota threshold. The CHF device 1612 may send, to the SMF device 1610, a response message (e.g., a charging data response message) (Col 6-36) and (Figure 16, whole figure, i.e., usage and charging reports) .
Regarding Claims 4 and 18, Qiao teaches wherein the policy for the network slice parameter is determined based on the report for the network slice parameter and the quota for the network slice parameter for access control (i.e., aggregate the first network resources usage report 1640 and the second network resources usage report 1642 into an aggregated CDR for the first PDU session and the second PDU session (and/or for the first network slice and the second network slice), for example, based on (e.g., in response to) the network resources usage reports) (Col 46, lines 40-55) .
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Qiao teaches wherein the configuration comprises a charging policy for a network slice instance, the method further comprising generating a charging record for the network slice parameter based on the slice- specific charging data request and the charging policy (i.e., usage report 1640 and the second network resources usage report 1642 into an aggregated CDR for the first PDU session and the second PDU session (and/or for the first network slice and the second network slice), for example, based on (e.g., in response to) the network resources usage reports received from the first UPF device and the second UPF device 1608 and/or based on the correlation/association of the first user plane rule and the second user plane rule. The SMF device 1610 may send, to the CHF device 1612, a message 1646 (e.g., a charging data request and/or a charging data request update message) (Col 46, lines 40-55).
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Qiao teaches further comprising determining that the quota is reached based on the report for the network slice parameter, wherein the policy for the network slice parameter comprises: an updated quota value of the network slice parameter, or a policy to start/stop enforcing access control (i.e., session/network slice correlation indication, the asymmetric service indication, the first session information, and/or the second session information). The CHF device 2112 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated PDU sessions (e.g., the first PDU session and the second PDU session). The CHF device 2112 may determine quotas (e.g., same or different quotas, thresholds, limits, targets, values, etc.) for the associated network slices (e.g., first network slice and the second network slice). The CHF device 2112 may determine a first quota for the first PDU session and/or the first network slice. The CHF device 2112 may determine a second quota for the second PDU session and/or the second network slice. The CHF device 2112 may determine a larger quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a particular service (e.g., an eMBB service). The CHF device 2112 may determine a smaller quota for a PDU session and/or network slice supporting a particular service (e.g., a URLLC service). The quota may comprise at least one of: a granted unit; a time quota threshold; and/or a volume quota threshold. The CHF device 2112 may send, to the SMF device 2110, a response message (e.g., a charging data response message). The response message may comprise the quotas for the first PDU session and the second PDU session and/or the quotas for the first network slice and the second network slice) (Col 52, lines 48-67 to Col 53, lines 1-11).
Regarding Claims 7 and 21, Qiao teaches further comprising: notifying an operations, administration, and management (OAM) system in response to determining that the quota is reached; and receiving, from the OAM system, the updated quota value or the policy to start/stop enforcing access control, or both (Col 54, lines 55-66) and (Col 60, lines 36-64).
Regarding Claims 8 and 22, Qiao teaches wherein the policy for the network slice parameter comprises a configuration for reporting the status of the network slice parameter, (i.e., The registration type may indicate, for example, whether the wireless device 100 determines and/or requests to perform an initial registration (e.g., if the wireless device 100, 200 is in the RM-DEREGISTERED state), a mobility registration update (e.g., if the wireless device 100, 200 is in the RM-REGISTERED state and initiates a registration procedure, such as due to mobility), a periodic registration update (e.g., if the wireless device 100, 200 is in the RM-REGISTERED state and may initiate a registration procedure, such as due to the periodic registration update timer expiry) or an emergency registration (e.g., if the wireless device 100, 200 is in a limited service state)) (Col 20, lines 61-67 to Col 21, lines 1-26) the configuration indicating the network slice parameter for admission control and a reporting granularity for reporting the status of the network slice parameter (Col 20, lines 61-67 to Col 21, lines 1-26) and (Col 21, lines 27-45).
Regarding Claims 9 and 23, Qiao teaches wherein the report for the network slice parameter comprises a network slice identifier and a current status of the network slice parameter (i.e., first network slice and the second network slice), for example, based on (e.g., in response to) the network resources usage reports received from the first UPF device and the second UPF device 2208 and/or based on the correlation/association of the first user plane rule and the second user plane rule. The SMF device 2210 may send, to the CHF device 2212, a message 2246 (e.g., a charging data request message and/or a charging data request update message). The message 2246 may comprise the aggregated CDR. The CHF device 2212 may update the quotas based on the aggregated CDR. The CHF device 2212 may send the updated quotas to the SMF device 2210 for enforcement) (Col 63, lines 58-67 to Col 64, lines 1-6) and (i.e., ID identifier and Network operator) (Col 3, lines 20-670.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov