DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 01/20/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1, 10, 18 and 28 have been amended. Claims 3-5, 13-15, 20-22, 30-32 and 35-38 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 6-12, 16-19, 23-29 and 33-34 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main argument(s):
However, Lin does not disclose that the search space set information received by the base station or the DCI detected by the base station carrying a user dedicated instruction.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
For further context, on Page 11, ¶1, Lin describes the UE being configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE. This shows that the base station sends dedicated configuration messages to a specific UE, rather than broadcasting it to all UEs. The network uses dedicated signaling to tell the specific UE where and how (through DCI formats) to look for control information in a common search space, which allows individualized scheduling within the shared resources.
Second argument(s):
Further, Lin discloses in paragraph [0065] that "In an exemplary embodiment, wherein the DCI is received through a CSS (Common Search Space)". As is well known to those skilled in the art, the CSS is a PDCCH search area shared by all UEs within a cell, and carries common control information. Therefore, the DCI detected by the base station in Lin does not carry a user dedicated instruction.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
For further context, on Page 11, ¶1, Lin describes the UE being configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE. This shows that the base station sends dedicated configuration messages to a specific UE, rather than broadcasting it to all UEs. The network uses dedicated signaling to tell the specific UE where and how (through DCI formats) to look for control information in a common search space, which allows individualized scheduling within the shared resources.
Third argument(s):
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Lin does not discloses the features "receiving control signaling sent by a network side and carrying a user dedicated instruction, wherein the user dedicated instruction is configured to instruct a terminal to switch a current search space set group of at least one target cell to a target search space set group" of amended claim 1.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
For further context, on Page 11, ¶1, Lin describes the UE being configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE. This shows that the base station sends dedicated configuration messages to a specific UE, rather than broadcasting it to all UEs. The network uses dedicated signaling to tell the specific UE where and how (through DCI formats) to look for control information in a common search space, which allows individualized scheduling within the shared resources. Further, Page 3, ¶3 establishes that the specific UE will be monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the at least one search space set with the first group index, detecting a downlink control information (DCI) indicating switching of the at least one search space set for monitoring the PDCCH based on the monitored PDCCH.
Fourth argument(s):
However, Lin did not disclose that the DCI formats with size same as DCI format 00 or DCI format 01 monitored by the UE is the non-scheduling DCI, nor did Lin disclose that this DCI format is the control signaling carrying a user dedicated instruction.
Response: Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendments made on the independent claims 1, 10 and 18, the Office no longer relies on Lin and instead introduces Schober to teach and/or disclose this amended feature. Schober, in ¶0092 explicitly states the scheduling DCI for indicating PDCCH monitoring behaviour adaptation can be DCI format x_1/x_2, and in ¶0098, ¶010-¶0105, teaches non-scheduling DCI for PDDCH monitoring in DCI format 2_6, as well as 0_1, 1_1 for unicast non-scheduling DCI. In conclusion, with Schober teaching scheduling and non-scheduling DCI with specific DCI formats, and Lin, teaching a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE, the combined teachings of the Lin and Schober would suggest to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reach the amended features of independent claims 1, 10 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 12, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 29 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (WO 2020/246858 A1), Lin hereinafter, and further in view of Schober et al. (US 2024/0023130), Schober hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Lin teaches a method of switching a search space set group, comprising: (Fig. 31-32 & Page 30, ¶10 - A UE can switch search space sets for PDCCH monitoring … for corresponding search space set groups);
receiving control signaling sent by a network side and carrying a user dedicated instruction, wherein the user dedicated instruction is configured to instruct a terminal to switch a current search space set group of at least one target cell to a target search space set group; (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶3 - The method comprises receiving, from a base station, search space set information including a first group index for at least one search space set, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the at least one search space set with the first group index, detecting a downlink control information (DCI) indicating switching of the at least one search space set for monitoring the PDCCH based on the monitored PDCCH. Page 11, ¶1 - In NR Rel-15, after a UE establishes RRC connection with a serving gNB, the UE can be configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE … Page 11, ¶4 - In NR Rel-15, a UE monitors PDCCH (decoded PDCCH candidates at corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions) based on configured search space sets provided to the UE for each serving cell and activated BWP per serving cell by a serving gNB. Examiner interprets based on NR Rel-15 that a search space set group includes one or more search spaces, each of which is configured for at least one serving cell, therefore the current search space set group contains at least one cell);
and switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group according to the control signaling, (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶3 - …and switching to at least one search space set with a second group index based on the DCI. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”);
or maintaining the at least one target cell at the target search space set group,
wherein the control signaling comprises physical layer signaling, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶4 - A faster adaptation for PDCCH monitoring by a UE, such as one provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH or by a MAC control element, can offer material reduction in a power consumption by the UE for monitoring PDCCH … Page 22, ¶1 - For a configured search space set, the search space set can be activated or deactivated via L1 signaling such as a DCI format …Examiner interprets DCI as a type of physical layer signaling);
and the physical laver signaling comprises: downlink control information (DCI) format signaling carrying scheduling information, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶1 - When needed to address a sub-group of UEs, from a group of UEs configured to monitor the DCI format, the DCI format can schedule a PDSCH reception and the UEs that need to process the information content of the DCI format … Page 23, ¶13 - Another embodiment of this disclosure considers a type of PDCCH that a UE monitors in a search space, for example a CSS or a UGSS, and provides a DCI format scheduling PDSCH multicast to a group of UEs);
and/or DCI format signaling carrying non-scheduling information: (Fig. 21 & Page 39, ¶7 - FIG. 21 illustrates a flowchart for applying an adaptation request on PDCCH monitoring in a UE when the adaptation request is received through a group-common PDCCH or non-scheduling DCI without HARQ feedback … Please also see Page 26, ¶7);
Yet, Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 0 1/1 1/0 2/1 2 signaling: and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 0 1/1 1/0 2/1 2/2 6/2 0 signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Schober explicitly teaches wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 0 1/1 1/0 2/1 2 signaling: (¶0092 - The scheduling DCI for indicating PDCCH monitoring behaviour adaptation can be DCI format x_1/x_2);
and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 0 1/1 1/0 2/1 2/2 6/2 0 signaling (¶0098 – Non-scheduling DCI ¶0101 - Joint indication of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation with ¶0102 - cross-slot scheduling defined in Rel-16 ¶0103 - DCI format 2_6 to indicate adaptation of the PDCCH monitoring during active time, and it should extend DCI with ps-RNTI is received during active time … ¶0105 – Unicast non-scheduling DCI, e.g., DCI format 0_1 and 1_1 for case 2 dormancy indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schober to the teaching of Lin. The motivation would be because the invention discusses data activity impact on DCI based power saving (¶0001, Schober).
Re. Claims 2, 12, and 19, Lin and Schober teach Claims 1, 10, and 18.
Lin further teaches the control signaling comprise(s) one or more combinations of the following contents: target cell information or target cell group indication information for switching of/switching the search space set group; (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶5 - The configuration can include a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets, and a first group index for the first group of search space sets and a second group index for the second group of search space sets) a search space set group switching indication; and target search space set group indication information (Fig. 10 & Page 20, ¶7 - Multiple search space sets, for example multiple CSS sets, can be bundled together into a group with ID denoted as, I_group. Page 20, ¶8 - In a first example, I_group can be provided to the UE through UE specific higher layer signaling. The IDs of corresponding CSS sets associated with the group can be provided to the UE together with I_group. A UE can be provided with an UE ID, I^UE_ID, associated with the search space set group, I_group. Please also see Page 21, ¶3-¶6).
Re. Claims 6, 16 and 23, Lin and Schober teach Claims 1, 10 and 18.
Lin further teaches the at least one target cell comprises a serving cell of the terminal (Fig. 31-32 & Page 11, ¶4 - In NR Rel-15, a UE monitors PDCCH (decoded PDCCH candidates at corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions) based on configured search space sets provided to the UE for each serving cell and activated BWP per serving cell by a serving gNB), a primary cell (Page 23, ¶1 - The UE allocates monitored PDCCH candidates to USS sets for the primary cell having an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ in slot n … Page 29, ¶6 - In another example, the applicable search space sets can be any Type3-PDCCH CSS set configured by SearchSpace in PDCCHConfig with searchSpaceType = common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI(s) for the primary cell), a secondary cell or one or more cells in a secondary cell group (Page 43, ¶6 - In a fourth example of Rule 1, the second field can indicate the switching between 'dormancy-like' and 'nondormancy-like' behavior on activated SCell(s) other than the SCell that UE monitors the PS-DCI. Please also see Page 44, ¶2).
Re. Claim 10, Lin teaches a control method of switching a search space set group, comprising: (Fig. 31-32 & Page 30, ¶10 - A UE can switch search space sets for PDCCH monitoring … for corresponding search space set groups);
configuring the search space set group for a terminal; (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶5 - UE … configured to receive a configuration for search space sets. The configuration can include a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets, and a first group index for the first group of search space sets and a second group index for the second group of search space sets);
and sending control signaling carrying a user dedicated instruction to the terminal, wherein the user dedicated instruction is configured to instruct the terminal to switch a current search space set group of at least one target cell to a target search space set group (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶3 - The method comprises receiving, from a base station, search space set information including a first group index for at least one search space set, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the at least one search space set with the first group index, detecting a downlink control information (DCI) indicating switching of the at least one search space set for monitoring the PDCCH based on the monitored PDCCH. Page 11, ¶1 - In NR Rel-15, after a UE establishes RRC connection with a serving gNB, the UE can be configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE … Page 11, ¶4 - In NR Rel-15, a UE monitors PDCCH (decoded PDCCH candidates at corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions) based on configured search space sets provided to the UE for each serving cell and activated BWP per serving cell by a serving gNB. Examiner interprets based on NR Rel-15 that a search space set group includes one or more search spaces, each of which is configured for at least one serving cell, therefore the current search space set group contains at least one cell);
wherein the control signaling comprises physical layer signaling, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶4 - A faster adaptation for PDCCH monitoring by a UE, such as one provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH or by a MAC control element, can offer material reduction in a power consumption by the UE for monitoring PDCCH … Page 22, ¶1 - For a configured search space set, the search space set can be activated or deactivated via L1 signaling such as a DCI format …Examiner interprets DCI as a type of physical layer signaling);
and the physical laver signaling comprises: downlink control information (DCI) format signaling carrying scheduling information, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶1 - When needed to address a sub-group of UEs, from a group of UEs configured to monitor the DCI format, the DCI format can schedule a PDSCH reception and the UEs that need to process the information content of the DCI format … Page 23, ¶13 - Another embodiment of this disclosure considers a type of PDCCH that a UE monitors in a search space, for example a CSS or a UGSS, and provides a DCI format scheduling PDSCH multicast to a group of UEs);
and/or DCI format signaling carrying non-scheduling information: (Fig. 21 & Page 39, ¶7 - FIG. 21 illustrates a flowchart for applying an adaptation request on PDCCH monitoring in a UE when the adaptation request is received through a group-common PDCCH or non-scheduling DCI without HARQ feedback … Please also see Page 26, ¶7);
Yet, Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2 signaling: and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 0_1/1_1/0_2/1_2/2_6/2_0 signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Schober explicitly teaches wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2 signaling: (¶0092 - The scheduling DCI for indicating PDCCH monitoring behaviour adaptation can be DCI format x_1/x_2);
and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 0_1/1_1/0_2/1_2/2_6/2_0 signaling (¶0098 – Non-scheduling DCI ¶0101 - Joint indication of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation with ¶0102 - cross-slot scheduling defined in Rel-16 ¶0103 - DCI format 2_6 to indicate adaptation of the PDCCH monitoring during active time, and it should extend DCI with ps-RNTI is received during active time … ¶0105 – Unicast non-scheduling DCI, e.g., DCI format 0_1 and 1_1 for case 2 dormancy indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schober to the teaching of Lin. The motivation would be because the invention discusses data activity impact on DCI based power saving (¶0001, Schober).
Re. Claim 18, Lin teaches an apparatus of switching a search space set group, comprising: (Fig. 3, 31-32 & Page 30, ¶10 - A UE can switch search space sets for PDCCH monitoring … for corresponding search space set groups);
a memory, configured to store a program command; and a processor, configured to call the program command stored in the memory, and execute according to an obtained program: (Fig. 3, 31-32 & Page 14, ¶3 - As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes … a main processor 340 … and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes a basic operating system (OS) program 361 and one or more applications 362. Page 314, ¶6 - The main processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the basic OS program 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116);
receiving control signaling sent by a network side and carrying a user dedicated instruction, wherein the user dedicated instruction is configured to instruct a terminal to switch a current search space set group of at least one target cell to a target search space set group; (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶3 - The method comprises receiving, from a base station, search space set information including a first group index for at least one search space set, monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the at least one search space set with the first group index, detecting a downlink control information (DCI) indicating switching of the at least one search space set for monitoring the PDCCH based on the monitored PDCCH. Page 11, ¶1 - In NR Rel-15, after a UE establishes RRC connection with a serving gNB, the UE can be configured to monitor PDCCH in a CSS for a corresponding DCI format through a UE-specific RRC IE … Page 11, ¶4 - In NR Rel-15, a UE monitors PDCCH (decoded PDCCH candidates at corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions) based on configured search space sets provided to the UE for each serving cell and activated BWP per serving cell by a serving gNB. Examiner interprets based on NR Rel-15 that a search space set group includes one or more search spaces, each of which is configured for at least one serving cell, therefore the current search space set group contains at least one cell);
and switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group according to the control signaling, (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶3 - …and switching to at least one search space set with a second group index based on the DCI. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “or”) or maintaining the at least one target cell at the target search space set group.
wherein the control signaling comprises physical layer signaling, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶4 - A faster adaptation for PDCCH monitoring by a UE, such as one provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH or by a MAC control element, can offer material reduction in a power consumption by the UE for monitoring PDCCH … Page 22, ¶1 - For a configured search space set, the search space set can be activated or deactivated via L1 signaling such as a DCI format …Examiner interprets DCI as a type of physical layer signaling);
and the physical layer signaling comprises: downlink control information (DCI) format signaling carrying scheduling information, (Fig. 14, 16, 31-32 & Page 11, ¶1 - When needed to address a sub-group of UEs, from a group of UEs configured to monitor the DCI format, the DCI format can schedule a PDSCH reception and the UEs that need to process the information content of the DCI format … Page 23, ¶13 - Another embodiment of this disclosure considers a type of PDCCH that a UE monitors in a search space, for example a CSS or a UGSS, and provides a DCI format scheduling PDSCH multicast to a group of UEs);
and/or DCI format signaling carrying non-scheduling information; (Fig. 21 & Page 39, ¶7 - FIG. 21 illustrates a flowchart for applying an adaptation request on PDCCH monitoring in a UE when the adaptation request is received through a group-common PDCCH or non-scheduling DCI without HARQ feedback … Please also see Page 26, ¶7);
Yet, Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2 signaling; and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2/26/2 0 signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Schober explicitly teaches wherein the DCI format signaling carrying the scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2 signaling; (¶0092 - The scheduling DCI for indicating PDCCH monitoring behaviour adaptation can be DCI format x_1/x_2);
and the DCI format signaling carrying the non-scheduling information comprises DCI format 01/11/0 2/1 2/26/2 0 signaling (¶0098 – Non-scheduling DCI ¶0101 - Joint indication of the PDCCH monitoring adaptation with ¶0102 - cross-slot scheduling defined in Rel-16 ¶0103 - DCI format 2_6 to indicate adaptation of the PDCCH monitoring during active time, and it should extend DCI with ps-RNTI is received during active time … ¶0105 – Unicast non-scheduling DCI, e.g., DCI format 0_1 and 1_1 for case 2 dormancy indication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Schober to the teaching of Lin. The motivation would be because the invention discusses data activity impact on DCI based power saving (¶0001, Schober).
Re. Claim 27, Lin and Schober teach Claim 10.
Lin further teaches a switching control apparatus of a search space set group, comprising: (Fig. 3, 31-32 & Page 30, ¶10 - A UE can switch search space sets for PDCCH monitoring … for corresponding search space set groups);
a memory, configured to store a program command; and a processor, configured to call the program command stored in the memory, and execute the method of claim 10 (Fig. 3, 31-32 & Page 14, ¶3 - As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 116 includes … a main processor 340 … and a memory 360. The memory 360 includes a basic operating system (OS) program 361 and one or more applications 362. Page 314, ¶6 - The main processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the basic OS program 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116).
Re. Claim 29, Lin and Schober teach Claim 27.
Lin further teaches the control signaling comprise(s) one or more combinations of the following contents: target cell information or target cell group indication information for switching of/switching the search space set group; (Fig. 31-32 & Page 3, ¶5 - The configuration can include a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets, and a first group index for the first group of search space sets and a second group index for the second group of search space sets) a search space set group switching indication; and target search space set group indication information (Fig. 10 & Page 20, ¶7 - Multiple search space sets, for example multiple CSS sets, can be bundled together into a group with ID denoted as, I_group. Page 20, ¶8 - In a first example, I_group can be provided to the UE through UE specific higher layer signaling. The IDs of corresponding CSS sets associated with the group can be provided to the UE together with I_group. A UE can be provided with an UE ID, I^UE_ID, associated with the search space set group, I_group. Please also see Page 21, ¶3-¶6).
Re. Claim 33, Lin and Schober teach Claim 27.
Lin further teaches the at least one target cell comprises a serving cell of the terminal (Fig. 31-32 & Page 11, ¶4 - In NR Rel-15, a UE monitors PDCCH (decoded PDCCH candidates at corresponding PDCCH monitoring occasions) based on configured search space sets provided to the UE for each serving cell and activated BWP per serving cell by a serving gNB), a primary cell (Page 23, ¶1 - The UE allocates monitored PDCCH candidates to USS sets for the primary cell having an active DL BWP with SCS configuration μ in slot n … Page 29, ¶6 - In another example, the applicable search space sets can be any Type3-PDCCH CSS set configured by SearchSpace in PDCCHConfig with searchSpaceType = common for DCI formats with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI, MCS-C-RNTI, or CS-RNTI(s) for the primary cell), a secondary cell or one or more cells in a secondary cell group (Page 43, ¶6 - In a fourth example of Rule 1, the second field can indicate the switching between 'dormancy-like' and 'nondormancy-like' behavior on activated SCell(s) other than the SCell that UE monitors the PS-DCI. Please also see Page 44, ¶2).
Claims 7-8, 11, 17, 24-25, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Schober, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2023/0007555), Jiang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 7, 17 and 24, Lin and Schober teach Claims 1, 10 and 18.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach the target search space set group is any one of two or more than two search space set groups configured by higher-layer signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly teaches the target search space set group is any one of two or more than two search space set groups configured by higher-layer signaling (Fig. 2 & ¶0057 - Step 202: Switch to a first search space set group if the terminal executes a target behavior, where the first search space set group is any one of the at least two search space set groups. ¶0058 - The target behavior is used to trigger the terminal to automatically switch to the first search space set group, and the first search space set group may also be referred to as a target search space set group. ¶0129 - In some embodiments, the target behavior and the target search space set group may be configured by a network, for example, a network side configures the target behavior and the target search space set group by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Re. Claim 8, Lin and Schober teach Claim 1.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach reporting terminal capability to the network side, wherein the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly teaches reporting terminal capability to the network side, (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0094 - reporting a terminal capability of the terminal to a network side, where the terminal capability includes the application delay) wherein the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction (¶0095 - That is, the terminal reports the terminal capability, so that the network side learns that the terminal has an application delay capability. In this way, it can be ensured that a time for the terminal to be switched to the first search space set group is consistent between the terminal and the network side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Re. Claim 11, Lin and Schober teach Claim 10.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach receiving terminal capability reported by the terminal, (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0094 - reporting a terminal capability of the terminal to a network side, where the terminal capability includes the application delay) wherein the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction; (¶0095 - That is, the terminal reports the terminal capability, so that the network side learns that the terminal has an application delay capability. In this way, it can be ensured that a time for the terminal to be switched to the first search space set group is consistent between the terminal and the network side. ¶0104 - the first cell and the second cell in (1) to (7) may be configured by the network side by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling)) and the configuring the search space set group for a terminal comprising: configuring, according to the terminal capability, the search space set group for the terminal (¶0129 - In some embodiments, the target behavior and the target search space set group may be configured by a network, for example, a network side configures the target behavior and the target search space set group by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC). ¶0130 - In some implementations … the UE automatically switches to the target search space set group after an application delay. The application delay may be … configured by the network side. Please also see ¶107-¶0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Re. Claim 25, Lin and Schober teach Claim 18.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach the processor is further configured to report terminal capability to the network side, and the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly teaches the processor is further configured to report terminal capability to the network side, (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0094 - reporting a terminal capability of the terminal to a network side, where the terminal capability includes the application delay) and the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction (¶0095 - That is, the terminal reports the terminal capability, so that the network side learns that the terminal has an application delay capability. In this way, it can be ensured that a time for the terminal to be switched to the first search space set group is consistent between the terminal and the network side. ¶0104 - the first cell and the second cell in (1) to (7) may be configured by the network side by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling). Please also see ¶107-¶0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Re. Claim 28, Lin and Schober teach Claim 27.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach the processor is further configured to report terminal capability to the terminal, wherein the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction; and the configuring the search space set group for the terminal comprises configuring, according to the terminal capability, the search space set group for the terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly teaches the processor is further configured to report terminal capability to the terminal, (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0094 - reporting a terminal capability of the terminal to a network side, where the terminal capability includes the application delay) wherein the terminal capability is configured to instruct the terminal whether to support switching the current search space set group of the at least one target cell to the target search space set group through the user dedicated instruction; (¶0095 - That is, the terminal reports the terminal capability, so that the network side learns that the terminal has an application delay capability. In this way, it can be ensured that a time for the terminal to be switched to the first search space set group is consistent between the terminal and the network side. ¶0104 - the first cell and the second cell in (1) to (7) may be configured by the network side by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling)) and the configuring the search space set group for the terminal comprises configuring, according to the terminal capability, the search space set group for the terminal (¶0129 - In some embodiments, the target behavior and the target search space set group may be configured by a network, for example, a network side configures the target behavior and the target search space set group by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC). ¶0130 - In some implementations … the UE automatically switches to the target search space set group after an application delay. The application delay may be … configured by the network side. Please also see ¶107-¶0109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teaching of Lin. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Re. Claim 34, Lin and Schober teach Claim 27.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach the target search space set group is any one of two or more than two search space set groups configured by higher-layer signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Jiang explicitly teaches the target search space set group is any one of two or more than two search space set groups configured by higher-layer signaling (Fig. 2 & ¶0057 - Step 202: Switch to a first search space set group if the terminal executes a target behavior, where the first search space set group is any one of the at least two search space set groups. ¶0058 - The target behavior is used to trigger the terminal to automatically switch to the first search space set group, and the first search space set group may also be referred to as a target search space set group. ¶0129 - In some embodiments, the target behavior and the target search space set group may be configured by a network, for example, a network side configures the target behavior and the target search space set group by using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jiang to the teaching of Lin. The motivation would be because embodiments of the present disclosure relate to the field of communications technologies, and in particular, to a search space set group switching method and a device (¶0002, Jiang).
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Schober, and further in view of Lai et al. (US 2023/0397224), Lai hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Lin and Schober teach Claim 1.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach switching, by the terminal, to a defaulted search space set group when meeting a preset fallback condition.
However, in the analogous art, Lai explicitly teaches switching, by the terminal, to a defaulted search space set group when meeting a preset fallback condition (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0342 - The starting point of search space set change/switch may be at least a time offset after the start of the drx-onDurationTimer (or the start of each/every DRX cycle). ¶0437 - In some implementations, when a UE does not monitor/receive/decode PDCCH for detecting control information during Active Time, the UE may start monitoring search space set group ID #0 (which corresponds to a default search space set group) and stop monitoring search space set group ID #1 in the active BWP of all configured serving cell(s) at a slot that is at least 20 symbols with the smallest SCS among all configured serving cell(s) after the start of each/every DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lai to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because the disclosure is related to wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method for power saving in cellular wireless communication networks (¶0002, Lai).
Re. Claim 26, Lin and Schober teach Claim 18.
Yet, Lin and Schober do not explicitly teach the processor is further configured to: switch the terminal to a defaulted search space set group when meeting a preset fallback condition.
However, in the analogous art, Lai explicitly teaches the processor is further configured to: switch the terminal to a defaulted search space set group when meeting a preset fallback condition (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0342 - The starting point of search space set change/switch may be at least a time offset after the start of the drx-onDurationTimer (or the start of each/every DRX cycle). ¶0437 - In some implementations, when a UE does not monitor/receive/decode PDCCH for detecting control information during Active Time, the UE may start monitoring search space set group ID #0 (which corresponds to a default search space set group) and stop monitoring search space set group ID #1 in the active BWP of all configured serving cell(s) at a slot that is at least 20 symbols with the smallest SCS among all configured serving cell(s) after the start of each/every DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Lai to the teachings of Lin and Schober. The motivation would be because the disclosure is related to wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method for power saving in cellular wireless communication networks (¶0002, Lai).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465