CTNF 18/261,849 CTNF 85047 DETAILED ACTION Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the moisture sealing feature is integral to the rigid container portion or the rigid lid portion and comprises a closure mechanism, as recited in claim 18 , must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 23, 26, 29, 32, 34, 35, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 23 recites “including a sealed transparent window”. Examiner finds no support within the specification for such a feature. While the specification recites a transparent window, there is no description of a sealed transparent window found and/or what it means. 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim s 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 11 and 12 are dependent upon cancelled claim 9 . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 7, 8, 16, 18, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie et al. (US 2020/0122914 A1 – hereinafter Latournerie) in view of Bried et al. (US 2010/0307113 A1 – hereinafter Bried), Jeffrey Brent Collins (US 2011/0265645 A1 – hereinafter Collins), and Keun Jung Kim (US 2007/0289932 A1 – hereinafter Kim) . Re Claims 1, 7, 8, 16, and 18: Latournerie discloses a packaging system for abrasive articles, the packaging system comprising: a rigid container portion (102) shaped and sized to receive a vertical stack of disk-shaped bonded abrasive wheels (104) (see paragraphs [0022-0023, 0025-0026, 0041], see Fig. 1); a rigid lid portion (106) removably coupled to the rigid container portion (102) (see paragraph [0029], see Fig. 1) (see Figs. 1-10B, see desiccant (110)); but fails to teach a moisture barrier sealing feature between the rigid container portion and the rigid lid portion; a rechargeable moisture control feature comprising a desiccant cartridge removably coupled to an interior surface of the container portion by a mechanical coupling that retains the cartridge within the container portion when the lid portion is removed, the desiccant cartridge comprising a rechargeable desiccant, and the cartridge removing moisture from an atmosphere within the packaging system; and a moisture indicator operably associated with the desiccant cartridge and configured to indicate that the desiccant cartridge has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading threshold. Bried teaches a moisture barrier sealing feature (130, 230, 370, film) between a rigid container portion and a rigid lid portion (see Figs. 1A-12C) (see paragraphs [0030 and 0046]). Re Claim 18: Bried teaches wherein the moisture sealing feature (130, 230, 370) is integral to the rigid container portion or the rigid lid portion and comprises a closure mechanism (144, 145) (see paragraph [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried to preserve the contents of a device in optimal performance conditions, by preventing moisture egress or ingress into a container. Collins teaches a rechargeable moisture control feature comprising a desiccant cartridge (12), the desiccant cartridge (12) comprising a rechargeable desiccant (28), and the cartridge (12) removing (absorbing) moisture from an atmosphere within the packaging system (see Abstract, see paragraph [0020]); and a moisture indicator (color indicator – (orange/dark green) operably associated with the desiccant cartridge (12) and configured to indicate (dark green) that the desiccant cartridge (12) has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading threshold (see Figs. 1-6, see paragraphs [0016-0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried and Collins to assure that a desiccant types device can effectively operate to remove moisture/humidity from a container over extended periods of time by way of allowing for the desiccant type device to be recharged. Kim teaches a desiccant cartridge (drying cartridge) (24) removably coupled to an interior surface of a container portion (25) by a mechanical coupling (21, 22) that retains the cartridge (24) within the container portion (25) when a lid portion is removed (see Fig. 1) (see paragraphs [0008 and 0010]) (see Abstract) (see Claims 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried, Collins, and Kim, to assure that a cartridge remains in place within a container so as to avoid the cartridge or product within the cartridge becoming accessible/or dispensed during a dispensing process. Re Claim 42: Latournerie discloses a packaged abrasive article comprising: a bonded abrasive wheel (104) comprising a phenolic resin bond (see paragraphs [0041 and 0044]); a rigid container portion (102) containing the bonded abrasive wheel (104); a rigid lid portion (106) that removably couples to the rigid container portion (102) (see paragraphs [0022-0023, 0025-0026, 0029, 0041, and 0044], (see Fig. 1) (see Figs. 1-10B), see desiccant (110)), but fails to teach a moisture-barrier sealing feature between the rigid container portion and the rigid lid portion; a rechargeable moisture control feature comprising a desiccant cartridge removably coupled to an interior surface of the container portion by a coupling that retains the cartridge within the container portion when the lid portion is removed, the cartridge removing moisture from an atmosphere within the packaged abrasive article; and a moisture indicator operably associated with the desiccant cartridge and configured to dictate that the desiccant cartridge has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading threshold. Bried teaches a moisture barrier sealing feature (130, 230, 370, film) between a rigid container portion and a rigid lid portion (see Figs. 1A-12C) (see paragraphs [0030 and 0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried to preserve the contents of a device in optimal performance conditions, by preventing moisture egress or ingress into a container. Collins teaches a rechargeable moisture control feature comprising a desiccant cartridge (12), the cartridge (12) removing moisture from an atmosphere within the packaged abrasive article (see Abstract); and a moisture indicator (color indicator – (orange/dark green) operably associated with the desiccant cartridge (12) and configured to dictate (dark green) that the desiccant cartridge (12) has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading threshold (see Figs. 1-6, see paragraphs [0016-0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried and Collins to assure that a desiccant types device can effectively operate to remove moisture/humidity from a container over extended periods of time by way of allowing for the desiccant type device to be recharged. Kim teaches a desiccant cartridge (drying cartridge) (24) removably coupled to an interior surface of a container portion (25) by a coupling (21, 22) that retains the cartridge (24) within the container portion (25) when a lid portion is removed (see Fig. 1) (see paragraphs [0008 and 0010]) (see Abstract) (see Claims 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried, Collins, and Kim, to assure that a cartridge remains in place within a container so as to avoid the cartridge or product within the cartridge becoming accessible/or dispensed during a dispensing process . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 23, 26, 31, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and further in view of Lai et al. (US 2019/0031422 A1 – hereinafter Lai) . Re Claims 2, 23, 26, 31, and 34:Latournerie discloses a method of reducing moisture in an abrasive article during transportation or storage, the method comprising: providing a rigid housing having a container portion (102) and a lid portion (106) and shaped to receive a vertical stack of disk-shaped bonded abrasive wheels (104) (see paragraphs [0022-0023, 0025-0026, 0041], see Fig. 1) (see paragraph [0029], see Fig. 1) (see Figs. 1-10B, see desiccant (110)), but fails to teach the housing including a sealed transparent window through which an interior of the housing is viewable; removably coupling, to an interior surface of the container portion, a rechargeable desiccant cartridge by a mechanical coupling, the cartridge removing moisture from an atmosphere within the housing; providing a moisture-barrier seal between the container portion and the lid portion to reduce moisture transmission into the housing; providing a moisture indicator operably associated with the desiccant cartridge and configured to indicate that the desiccant cartridge has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading capacity, the moisture indicator being visible through the sealed transparent window. Bried teaches providing a moisture-barrier seal (130, 230, 370, film) between a container portion and a lid portion to reduce moisture transmission into the housing (see Figs. 1A-12C) (see paragraphs [0030 and 0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried to preserve the contents of a device in optimal performance conditions, by preventing moisture egress or ingress into a container. Collins teaches a cartridge (12) removing moisture from an atmosphere within a housing (see Abstract); providing a moisture indicator (color indicator – (orange/dark green) operably associated with the desiccant cartridge (12) and configured to indicate (dark green) that the desiccant cartridge (12) has reached a predetermined adsorption-loading capacity (see Figs. 1-6, see paragraphs [0016-0017]). Re Claim 31: Collins teaches removing the desiccant cartridge (12), heating the cartridge (12) at 110-150 °C (250 Fahrenheit – or a predetermined temperature based upon other parameters) to regenerate adsorption capacity, and reinstalling the cartridge in the container portion (see paragraph [0017]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried and Collins to assure that a desiccant types device can effectively operate to remove moisture/humidity from a container over extended periods of time by way of allowing for the desiccant type device to be recharged. Kim teaches removably coupling, to an interior surface of the container portion (25), a rechargeable desiccant cartridge (drying cartridge) (24) by a mechanical coupling (21, 22) (see paragraphs [0008 and 0010]) (see Abstract) (see Claims 1-3). Re Claim 26: Kim teaches wherein the mechanical coupling (21, 22) comprises a threaded, bayonet, snap-fit (click), rail (track/groove), clip (click), or bracket (click) interface (see Fig 1, see paragraph [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried, Collins, and Kim, to assure that a cartridge remains in place within a container so as to avoid the cartridge or product within the cartridge becoming accessible/or dispensed during a dispensing process. Lai teaches a housing including a sealed transparent window (83) through which an interior of the housing is viewable and a moisture indicator being visible through the sealed transparent window (83) (see paragraphs [0034-0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie with that of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, to allow for a moisture indicator to be viewable for determining the condition of a desiccant type device within a container . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, and Kim, and further in view of Hans O. Ribi (US 2012/0266806 A1 – hereinafter Ribi) . Re Claim 20: Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, and Kim discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to teach a shelf life indicator. Ribi further in view teaches a shelf life indicator (see Abstract, see paragraph [0134]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, with that of Ribi, to assure that a supply chain of products meets established standards . 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim (s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, and further in view of Biesecker et al. (US 5,197,602 – hereinafter Biesecker) . Re Claim 29: Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim and Lai discloses the device of claim 23, but fails to teach wherein the lid portion and the container portion are bio-based, recyclable, reusable or compostable. Biesecker further in view teaches wherein a lid portion and a container portion are bio-based, recyclable, reusable or compostable (see col. 1 lines 45-57). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim and Lai with that of that of Biesecker, to lessen container cost while also assisting in preserving the environment. Examiner notes that Latournerie teaches the top and container being made of similar or different materials (see paragraph [0029] of Latournerie) . 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim (s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, and further in view of Lewison, JR. et al. (US 20160304247 A1 – hereinafter Lewison) . Re Claim 35: Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, discloses the device of claim 23, but fails to teach flushing the housing with argon or nitrogen gas. Lewison further in view teaches flushing a housing with argon or nitrogen gas (see paragraph [0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, with that of Lewison to allow for protecting the contents of a receptacle . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, and further in view of Meng C. Chiang (US 4,917,265 – hereinafter Chiang) and Debra Gay Gehring (US 2012/0097697 A1 – hereinafter Gehring) . Re Claim 43: Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, discloses the device of claim 23, but fails to teach wherein the sealed transparent window comprises glass or a barrier-coated film and the housing has a MVTR of less than 1.0 g/m 2 /day. Chiang further in view teaches wherein a sealed transparent window (13) comprises glass or a barrier-coated film (see col. 2 lines 58-61) (see Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, with that of Chiang to allow for observations of products within a housing. Gehring further in view teaches a housing has a MVTR of less than 1.0 g/m 2 /day see paragraph [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Latournerie in view of Bried, Collins, Kim, and Lai, with that of Chiang and Gehring to provide a sealable housing capable of protecting the contents within for moisture loss or addition . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. -Damon Keith DeBusk (US 2017/0074531 A1) – teaches drying desiccants (paragraph [0004]). -Thomas W. Astle – teaches desiccants recharged to a dry condition (col. 15 lines 25-46). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KELVIN L RANDALL, JR. whose telephone number is (571)270-5373. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9:00 am-5 pm est. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gene Crawford can be reached at 571-272-6911. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651 /GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 2 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 3 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 5 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 6 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 7 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 8 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 9 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 10 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 11 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 12 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 13 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 14 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 15 Art Unit: 3651 Application/Control Number: 18/261,849 Page 16 Art Unit: 3651