DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 is depend upon a cancelled claim 5. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshi Bando (US 2012/0048857 A1 – hereinafter Bando) in view of Castela et al. (US 2010/0243668 A1 – hereinafter Castela).
Re Claims 1, 4, and 8:
Bando discloses a package for containing premoistened wipes (see paragraph [0002]) comprising: a container (100) defining a hollow enclosure for receiving premoistened wipes (10), the container (100) including at least a top package wall (110) opposite a bottom package wall (100c), the top package wall (110) and the bottom package wall (100c) comprising a web having a first side (inner side) and an opposite second side (outer side), the first side (inner side) of the web facing the hollow enclosure, the top package wall (110) defining an opening (112) for dispensing premoistened wipes therethrough, the opening (112) being surrounded by an edge of the web (see Fig. 6); a baffle (120, 130) attached to the first side (inner side) of the top package wall (110), the baffle (120, 130) comprising a polymer film (see paragraphs [0056 and 0062]), the baffle surrounding the edge of the web that defines the opening, the baffle (120, 130) including a passageway (at 132) configured to permit premoistened wipes to be removed from the package without contacting the edge of the biodegradable web (see Fig. 6, passageway 132 is smaller than that of 112, thus, permitting products to exit through 132 while not contacting 112); a removable lid (140) covering the opening (112) defined by the top package wall (110); and at least one premoistened wipe (10) contained in the hollow enclosure (see Figs. 1-22), but fails to teach a top package wall and a bottom package wall comprising a biodegradable web; wherein the biodegradable web comprises a cellulose fiber web; and wherein the polymer film comprises a polyolefin film.
Castela teaches a top package wall and a bottom package wall comprising a biodegradable web (cardboard) (see paragraph [0021]); wherein the biodegradable web (cardboard) comprises a cellulose fiber web (Examiner notes that cardboard is made of cellulose fibers – see www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/cardboard - see Applicants specification “The biodegradable web can be paper or paperboard”); and wherein a polymer film (42) comprises a polyolefin film (low density polyethylene; polymer) (see paragraphs [0030, 0034, and 0046] – see Applicant’s specification “the polymer film is made from a polyolefin polymer, such as a low density polyethylene polymer”). Re Claim 4: Castela teaches wherein a passageway on a baffle (42) comprises at least one slit (44) (see Figs. 1-3). Re Claim 8: Castela teaches wherein a lid (41) comprises a paper layer (see paragraph [0028] – same material as the container). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando with that of Castela, to provide an alternative selection of material that would allow for a disposable container and limiting the extent a container is open to contamination; additionally, being able to grip a leading edge of a following tissue/wipe and prevent it from falling back into a container, thus, simplifying a dispensing process.
Further Re Claim 3:
Bando discloses wherein the opening (112) of the top package wall (110) has a circumference and wherein the passageway (at 132) on the baffle (120, 130) comprises an aperture (132), the aperture (132) having a circumference that is smaller than the circumference of the opening (112) (see Fig. 6).
Re Claim 22:
Bando discloses a package for containing premoistened wipes (see paragraph [0002]) comprising: a container (100) defining a hollow enclosure for receiving premoistened wipes (10), the container (100) including at least a top package wall (110) opposite a bottom package wall (100c), the top package wall (110) and the bottom package wall (100c) comprising a web having a first side (inner side) and an opposite second side (outer side), the first side (inner side) of the web facing the hollow enclosure, the top package wall (110) defining an opening (112) for dispensing premoistened wipes therethrough, the opening (112) being surrounded by an edge of the web (see Fig. 6); a baffle (120, 130) attached to the first side (inner side) of the top package wall (110), the baffle (120, 130) comprising a polymer film (see paragraphs [0056 and 0062]), the baffle surrounding the edge of the web that defines the opening, the baffle (120, 130) including a passageway (at 132) configured to permit premoistened wipes to be removed from the package without contacting the edge of the biodegradable web (see Fig. 6, passageway 132 is smaller than that of 112, thus, permitting products to exit through 132 while not contacting 112); a removable lid (140) covering the opening (112) defined by the top package wall (110); and at least one premoistened wipe (10) contained in the hollow enclosure (see Figs. 1-22), but fails to teach a top package wall and a bottom package wall comprising a biodegradable web and wherein the baffle and container are made of different materials.
Castela teaches a top package wall and a bottom package wall comprising a biodegradable web (cardboard) (see paragraph [0021]) and wherein a baffle (42) and container are made of different materials (cardboard/ low density polyethylene; polymer) (see paragraphs [0030, 0034, and 0046]) (see Figs. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando with that of Castela, to provide an alternative selection of material that would allow for a disposable container and limiting the extent a container is open to contamination.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and further in view of Kennedy et al. (US 2004/0048086 A1 – hereinafter Kennedy).
Re Claim 7:Bando in view of Castela discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the package contains one or more polyolefin polymers in an amount less than 5% by weight.
Kennedy further in view teaches wherein a package contains one or more polyolefin polymers in an amount less than 5% by weight (see paragraph [0057]). Examiner further notes that one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with the parameters, especially when the specifics are not disclosed, so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been obvious through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify their invention to include the most optimum results and efficiency necessary for their particular invention since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela with that of Kennedy to provide a selection of material for a particular use as known within the art.
Claim(s) 9-11, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and further in view of Miyake et al. (US 2011/0155738 A1 – hereinafter Miyaki)
Re Claims 9, 10, 18, and 19:Bando in view of Castela discloses the device of claim 1 and a lid (41) attached to a container by means of an adhesive (see paragraphs [0028 and 0029] of Castela), but fails to specifically teach wherein the lid has a first side and an opposite second side and wherein an adhesive has been applied to the first side of the lid, the adhesive removably adhering the first side of the lid to the second side of the top package wall surrounding the opening.
Miyaki further in view teaches wherein a lid has a first side and an opposite second side and wherein an adhesive (123) has been applied to the first side of the lid, the adhesive (123) removably adhering the first side of the lid to a second side of a top package wall surrounding the opening (see Fig. 4). Re Claim 10: Miyaki further in view teaches wherein the second side of the top package wall includes a release layer (surface - by way of allowing release of the adhesive) surrounding the opening, the release layer removably adhering to the adhesive applied to the first side of the lid (see Fig. 4). Re Claim 18: Miyaki further in view teaches wherein outer edges of the package are heat-sealed by applying heat and pressure to the polymer film (see paragraph [0042]). Re Claim 19: Miyaki further in view teaches wherein the top package wall and bottom package wall are flexible (see paragraph [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela with that of Bilezerian to allow for an alternative means for a lid to be reattached and reused on a container suitable for housing product as known within the art.
Further Re Claim 11:
Bando discloses wherein the baffle (120, 130) is pre-cut to define an aperture and to form a cut-out portion within the package, and wherein the cut-out portion adheres to the adhesive (at 124) applied to a removable top (see Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and Miyake and further in view of Jose Gamundi Masque (US 2016/0251136 A1 – hereinafter Masque).
Re Claims 12 and 13:Bando in view of Castela and Miyake discloses the device of claim 10, but fails to teach wherein the release layer comprises a coating.
Masque further in view teaches wherein the release layer comprises a coating (see paragraphs [0008 and 0033]). Re Claim 13: Masque further in view teaches wherein the coating comprises a varnish (see paragraphs [0008 and 0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela and Miyake with that of Masque to allow for an adhesive to be easily, releasably attachable as known within the art.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and further in view of Duane Lyle McDonald (US 7,597,213 – hereinafter McDonald).
Re Claims 14 and 15:Bando in view of Castela discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the top package wall has a length and a width and wherein the baffle extends over the entire length of the top package wall.
McDonald further in view teaches wherein a top package wall has a length and a width and wherein a baffle (20) extends over the entire length(/width) of the top package wall (see Figs. 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela with that of McDonald to alternatively secure a baffle over an entire surface of a top portion.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and McDonald and further in view of Toft et al. (US 2018/0311940 A1 – hereinafter Toft).
Further Re Claim 17:
Bando in view of Castela and McDonald discloses wherein the baffle (120, 130) extends only over a portion of the width of the top package wall (see Bando - Figs. 1-22), but fails to teach wherein the top package wall and the bottom package wall further comprise a liquid resistant layer bonded to the first side of the top package wall and the first side of the bottom package wall.
Toft further in view teaches wherein the top package wall and the bottom package wall further comprise a liquid resistant layer bonded to the first side of the top package wall and the first side of the bottom package wall (see paragraphs [0063 and 0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela and McDonald with that of Toft so as to protect the contents and container holding the contents from damage.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and further in view of Ho et al. (US 6,672,475 A1 – hereinafter Ho).
Re Claim 16:Bando in view of Castela discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the walls of the package are formed from a single piece of biodegradable web that has been laminated to the baffle, the baffle defining an interior surface of the package surrounding the hollow enclosure.
Ho further in view teaches wherein the walls of the package are formed from a single piece of biodegradable web that has been laminated to the baffle (18), the baffle (18) defining an interior surface of the package surrounding the hollow enclosure (see Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela with that of Ho to allow for an insert member to interact with greater portions of sheets.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and further in view of Craig Thomas (US 2004/0182875 A1 – hereinafter Thomas).
Re Claim 20:Bando in view of Castela discloses the device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the top package wall and the bottom package wall are rigid or semi-rigid.
Thomas further in view teaches wherein the top package wall and the bottom package wall are rigid or semi-rigid (see paragraph [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela with that of Thomas to provide a selection of material for a particular purpose as known within the art.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando in view of Castela and Miyake and further in view of Morin et al. (US 2009/0020547 A1 – hereinafter Morin).
Re Claim 21:Bando in view of Castela and Miyake discloses the device of claim 9, but fails to teach wherein the adhesive applied to the first side of the lid is water-soluble.
Morin further in view teaches wherein an adhesive applied to a first side of a lid is water-soluble (see paragraph [0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Bando in view of Castela and Miyake with that of Morin to provide a selection of material for a particular use as known within the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Etheridge et al. US 7,325,699 – teaches a polyolefin baffle (see Abstract)
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651