Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagami et al. (EP 2410590).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamagami teaches a battery pack (“battery pack”) (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 67-68, Yamagami teaches that the battery pack (400) comprises a core pack (410) (“core block”) including a plurality of battery blocks (403, 406) (“plurality of battery blocks”) which are stacked and interconnected (e.g. electrically interconnected, physically interconnected), wherein each battery block includes a plurality of base batteries (401) (“plurality of battery cells”) arranged at predetermined positions in a battery holder (404) (“battery holder”) ([0180], [0195], [0197]. As illustrated in Figures 54-55, Yamagami teaches that the battery pack comprises an exterior case (440) (“outer case”) comprising a tubular-shaped case unit (441) (“main tubular part with a tubular shape”) and a pair of closing portions (442, 443) (“pair of covering parts”) covering openings at both ends of the case unit, wherein the core pack is inserted in the case unit, wherein the core pack is accommodated in the exterior case such that the plurality of battery blocks are stacked in an axial direction of the case unit ([0180], [0182]). As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 64-66, Yamagami teaches that the battery pack comprises a “fastening member” (i.e. fastening screws (447) and penetration screws (412), in combination) which, at least in part, fastens the pair of closing portions to cause the pair of closing portions to clamp the case unit from both sides of the case unit, wherein the fastening member, also at least in part, fastens the pair of closing portions through the core pack via insertion into through holes (426) (while it is recognized that the fastening screws and penetration screws are distinct, spatially separated structures which are interpreted to work in combination as said fastening member, at least [0057] of Applicant’s Specification as filed also describes a “fastening member” as including a connection member (11) and a distinct, spatially separated fixing member (14) which work in combination as said fastening member) ([0185], [0225]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the fastening member includes the penetration screws (“connection member”) which connects all the plurality of battery blocks of the core pack together, and the fastening screws (“fixing member”) fixing the pair of closing portions to the core pack. As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 64-66, the fastening screws fixed, at least indirectly, to the core pack that is connected with the penetration screws fastens the pair of closing portions.
Regarding Claim 3, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 64-66, the fastening screws connect (e.g. thermally connect, operationally connect) one of the closing portions of the pair of closing portions to the plurality of battery blocks of the core pack (it is noted that the instant Claim does not state, for example, that the connection member physically connects the one covering part).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 64-66, the fastening member functions as a “connection member” connecting (e.g. thermally connecting, operationally connecting) all the plurality of battery blocks of the core pack to the pair of closing portions (it is noted that the instant Claim does not state, for example, that “connecting” as claimed means a physical connection).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 64-66, the fastening member includes the fastening screws (“fixing member”) fixing (e.g. thermally fixing, operationally fixing) the pair of closing portions to a particular battery block out of the plurality of battery blocks, wherein the fastening member fastens the pair of closing portions through the fastening screws fixed to the particular battery block (it is noted that the instant Claim does not state, for example, that “fixing” as claimed means physically fixing.
Regarding Claim 7, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 2), the fastening member includes the fastening screws (“fixing member is a fixing screw”).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts having the base batteries inserted therein to hold the base batteries at predetermined positions, wherein the battery holder comprises the through hole (426) (“through-hole”) adjacent to the plurality of insertion tubular parts which opens in parallel with the plurality of insertion tubular parts, wherein the fastening member, at least in part, is inserted through the through hole.
Regarding Claim 10, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts accommodating therein the base batteries in multiple stages (e.g. multiple columns, multiple groupings) and multiple rows, wherein the fastening member is, at least in part, arranged adjacent to a base battery out of the plurality of base batteries which is disposed at an outer peripheral part of the battery holder (See Figure 64 which illustrates at least one base battery which is disposed at an outer peripheral part of the battery holder).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 55-57 (and the annotated Figures below), each of the pair of closing portions include a “step-shaped protrusion” extending along respective one of opening edges of the case unit, wherein the step-shaped protrusion is inserted in the case unit, wherein an outer circumferential periphery of each of the pair of closing portions contacts (e.g. physically contacts, thermally contacts) respective one of opening edges surfaces of the case unit to cover respective one of openings at both ends of the case unit while the step-shaped protrusion is inserted in the respective one of opening edges of the case unit.
Regarding Claim 12, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 11, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 55-57 (and the annotated Figures) (See Claim 11), the step-shaped protrusion has a ring groove provided in an outer circumference surface of the step-shaped protrusion, wherein a ring-shaped packing member (449) (“ring-shaped packing”) is disposed in the ring groove, wherein the case unit is connected to the closing parts with a waterproof structure (“hermetically sealed structure”) through the ring-shaped packing member ([0184]).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 12, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 54-55, 67-68 (and the annotated Figures) (See Claim 11), the case unit has a tubular shape with a rectangular cross section having four round corners, wherein an outer circumference shape of the step-shaped protrusion is along an inner circumference surface of the case unit.
Regarding Claim 15, Yamagami teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 5, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 5), the fastening member includes the fastening screws (“fixing member is a fixing screw”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 further limits the battery pack of Claim 2 by requiring that the battery holder includes a connecting protrusion protruding outward from the plurality of insertion tubular parts and connected to the fastening member, wherein the plurality of insertion tubular parts and the connecting protrusion are unitarily molded, and wherein a connecting part to which the fixing member is connected is disposed at the connecting protrusion.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68 of Yamagami, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts having the base batteries inserted therein to hold the base batteries at predetermined positions. However, Yamagami neither teaches nor suggests that the battery holder is structured, molded, and connected in the instantly claimed manner.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8 further limits the battery pack of Claim 2 by requiring that the battery holder includes a connecting protrusion protruding outward from the plurality of insertion tubular parts and connected to the fastening member, wherein the plurality of insertion tubular parts and the connecting protrusion are unitarily molded, and wherein an insertion part through which the connection member is inserted is disposed at the connecting protrusion.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68 of Yamagami, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts having the base batteries inserted therein to hold the base batteries at predetermined positions. However, Yamagami neither teaches nor suggests that the battery holder is structured, molded, and connected in the instantly claimed manner.
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 14 further limits the battery pack of Claim 5 by requiring that the battery holder includes a connecting protrusion protruding outward from the plurality of insertion tubular parts and connected to the fastening member, wherein the plurality of insertion tubular parts and the connecting protrusion are unitarily molded, and wherein a connecting part to which the fixing member is connected is disposed at the connecting protrusion.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68 of Yamagami, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts having the base batteries inserted therein to hold the base batteries at predetermined positions. However, Yamagami neither teaches nor suggests that the battery holder is structured, molded, and connected in the instantly claimed manner.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 further limits the battery pack of Claim 4 by requiring that the battery holder includes a connecting protrusion protruding outward from the plurality of insertion tubular parts and connected to the fastening member, wherein the plurality of insertion tubular parts and the connecting protrusion are unitarily molded, and wherein an insertion part through which the connection member is inserted is disposed at the connecting protrusion.
As illustrated in Figures 64-68 of Yamagami, the battery holder includes a plurality of insertion tubular parts having the base batteries inserted therein to hold the base batteries at predetermined positions. However, Yamagami neither teaches nor suggests that the battery holder is structured, molded, and connected in the instantly claimed manner.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728