DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 105785567 A (LING, LI et al.)
Per claim 1, Ling teaches a lens [figures 3-4], wherein the lens comprises a main lens body [see figures 3-4] and a light emitting member [4]; the main lens body is a conical housing [see figures 3-4] having an inner cavity [13], and the light emitting member is disposed at a first end of the main lens body [see LED 4 in figure 1, first end is the bottom surface 12]; a first quadratic surface is disposed in the inner cavity of the main lens body [15]; a second quadric surface is disposed on an inner wall of the main lens body [total reflection surface 14]; the first quadratic surface is convex toward the first end of the main lens body [see figure 3], and the second quadratic surface is convex toward a second end of the main lens body [the second end is the top surface 11, see figure 3, the total reflection surface curves toward the top surface or convex], wherein the first end of the main lens body and the second end of the main lens body are two opposite ends of the main lens body [12 and 11], and the second end of the main lens body refers to one end of the main lens body where light rays exit [11]; and light rays emitted by the light emitting member and within a first incident-angle range pass through and are refracted by the first quadric surface [see figure 1], and subsequently are collimated by and exit from the second end of the main lens body [see figure 1], and incident light rays emitted by the light emitting member and within a second incident-angle range pass through and are reflected by the second quadratic surface [see figure 1], and subsequently are collimated by and exit from the second end of the main lens body [see figure 1], wherein a maximum angle value within the first incident-angle range is less than a minimum value within the second incident-angle range, and the first incident-angle range refers to an incident-angle range corresponding to light rays that are emitted by the light emitting member and are not reflected by the inner wall of the main lens body but directly exit from the second end of the main lens body [inherent to the structure and shape of Ling’s lens, see the last paragraph of example 1: “The light source system of the embodiment of the present invention, because it comprises a corresponding set of array distribution of the backlight lamp 4 and the light gathering member 1, the light condensing member 1 is bowl shaped, comprising an incident face 12. totally reflected emergent light face 11 and the incident surface 12 and exit surface 11 between surface 14 and provided with concave holes 13 on the incident surface 12, the concave hole 13 is provided a collecting surface 15. Thus, the backlight lamp 4 is emergent ray small angle will be the convergence surface 15 light, and large emergent angle of light by the total reflection surface 14 after being totally reflected gathered. homogenizing, the light condensing member 1 after concentrating the emergent angle (emitting light and the main optical axis plane) is less than 15 degrees, at the same time, the researchers when the transmissive display screen 3 surface illumination analysis, test result shows that the emergent light is more uniform, at the same time, and also obviously improves the light utilization rate of the head-up display apparatus, backlight 4 light emitting angle is 120 degrees as an example, the light source system of the light utilization rate is up to 85%. the structure is relatively simple and the cost is low.”]; and wherein a focal point of the first quadric surface is located at one side of a second surface of the light emitting member [11], wherein the second surface of the light emitting member refers to a light emitting surface of the light emitting member [see figure 1] and wherein there is a second distance between a focal point of the first quadric surface and a second surface of the light emitting member [inherent, see figures 3-4].
Ling lacks the second distance is greater than one third of a distance between the first end and the second end of the main lens body. However, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to form the first quadratic surface such that the second distance is greater than one third of a distance between the first end and the second end of the main lens body in order to improved light output efficiency. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 2, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 1, wherein a microstructure array is disposed at an end surface of the second end of the main lens body [collectable substrate, condense plate, and focusing plate 2]; but lacks the microstructure array comprises a plurality of microstructure units arranged in an array, and a surface of each of the microstructure units away from the light emitting member is a circular-arc face. However, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to a plurality of microstructure units arranged in an array, and a surface of each of the microstructure units away from the light emitting member is a circular-arc face. Improved efficiency and light uniformity would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 3, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 2, but lacks a light-source utilization ratio of each of the microstructure units is greater than 90%. However, Ling teaches that Ling’s lens “the light utilization rate is up to 85%.” Accordingly, it would have been a matter of design optimization improve lens output efficiency up to 90% in view of reduced costs. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 4, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 2, but lacks a spacing between each two neighboring microstructure units tends to be 1 millimeter. However, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to maintain spacing between each two neighboring microstructure units to 1 millimeter in order to improved light source density. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 5, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 1, wherein the second quadric surface surrounds the light emitting member [see figure 3-4], and a focal point of the second quadric surface is located at one side of a first surface of the light emitting member [see figure 1], wherein the first surface of the light emitting member refers to a surface opposite to a light emitting surface of the light emitting member [see figure 1].
Per claim 6, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 1, wherein a distance between a focal point of the second quadric surface and the light emitting member is a first distance [inherent], but lacks the first distance ranges from 1 millimeter to 4 millimeters. However, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to maintain a first distance ranges from 1 millimeter to 4 millimeters between the focal points in order to improved light source density. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 9, Ling teaches the lens according to claim 1, wherein the lens comprises a curved-surface lens [see figure 3-4, see machine translation: “the converging surface 15 and the total reflection surface 14 preferably are conical, elliptic conical, spherical, ellipsoid, elliptic paraboloid in a secondary curved surface manufacturing”] and a fixing cavity [13]; and one end of the fixing cavity is fixed to the first end of the main lens body, the curved- surface lens is fixed to a second end of the fixing cavity [see figures 3-4], and a convex surface of the curved-surface lens forms the first quadric surface [see machine translation: “the converging surface 15 and the total reflection surface 14 preferably are conical, elliptic conical, spherical, ellipsoid, elliptic paraboloid in a secondary curved surface manufacturing”].
Per claim 10, Ling teaches a lens array [see figure 1], wherein the lens array comprises a plurality of the lenses according to any one of claim 1; the plurality of lenses are arranged in a predetermined array, wherein the predetermined array is an array that forms a displaying size of the lens array [see figure 1].
Per claim 11, Ling teaches a displaying module [see figure 3], wherein the displaying module comprises a lamp panel [4], a display panel [3] and the lens array according to claim 10; the lens array is disposed between the display panel and the lamp panel [see figure 1]; and the display panel covers a top surface of the lens array, a first surface of the lamp panel is disposed at a bottom of the lens array, and the light emitting member is electrically connected to the first surface of the lamp panel [inherent see figure 1].
Per claims 12 and 19, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 11, but lacks the displaying module further comprises a back plate; and the back plate is disposed on a second surface of the lamp panel, the second surface of the lamp panel refers to a surface of the lamp panel that is opposite to the first surface, and the back plate is configured for controlling the light emitting member electrically connected to the lamp panel to emit light. However, it would have been a matter of common knowledge to incorporate a back plate; and the back plate is disposed on a second surface of the lamp panel, the second surface of the lamp panel refers to a surface of the lamp panel that is opposite to the first surface, and the back plate is configured for controlling the light emitting member electrically connected to the lamp panel to emit light. Simplified manufacturing would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claims 13 and 20, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 12. Ling lacks, but common knowledge teaches a heat dissipating fin; and the heat dissipating fin coats a surface of the back plate away from the lamp panel in order to reduce operating temperature. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 14, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises a main displaying layer [top surface of display 3] and a bottom-layer displaying layer [bottom of the display 3]; the main displaying layer and the bottom-layer displaying layer are in stack, and the bottom-layer displaying layer covers the top surface of the lens array [see figure 1]; and the bottom-layer displaying layer is configured for controlling a brightness of the displaying module [inherent], but lacks the main displaying layer is a displaying layer covering a color film. However, it would have been a matter of common knowledge to form a color filter layer with the display in order to display color images. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 15, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 14, wherein the bottom-layer displaying layer comprises a plurality of pixel displaying units, and a brightness of each of the pixel displaying units is controllable [inherent, see machine translation: “display screen 3 may be a transmissive liquid crystal display screen”].
Per claim 16, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 14, but lacks the bottom-layer displaying layer comprises monochromatic pixel displaying units, the main displaying layer comprises color displaying units, and a ratio of an area occupied by the monochromatic pixel displaying units in the bottom-layer displaying layer to an area occupied by the color pixel displaying units in the main displaying layer is less than 1:4. However, it would have been a matter of routine skill in the art to incorporate monochromatic pixel displaying units, the main displaying layer comprises color displaying units, and a ratio of an area occupied by the monochromatic pixel displaying units in the bottom-layer displaying layer to an area occupied by the color pixel displaying units in the main displaying layer is less than 1:4 in order to increase the pixel density. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 17, Ling teaches the displaying module according to claim 14. Ling lacks, but common knowledge teaches, wherein when all of the plurality of pixel displaying units comprised by the bottom-layer displaying layer are turned on, the brightness of the displaying module is a maximum brightness value; when all of the plurality of pixel displaying units comprised by the bottom-layer displaying layer are turned off, the brightness of the displaying module is a minimum brightness value; and when some of the plurality of pixel displaying units comprised by the bottom-layer displaying layer are turned on and some of the pixel displaying units are turned off, the brightness of the displaying module is a brightness value between the maximum brightness value and the minimum brightness value. Improved contrast would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 18, Ling teaches a displaying device, wherein the displaying device comprises the displaying module according to any one of claim 11 [see figure 1].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “there is a second distance between a focal point of the first quadric surface and a second surface of the light emitting member, and the second distance is greater than one third of a distance between the first end and the second end of the main lens body…the distance taught in the relevant art is entirely DIFFERENT from that of the present disclosure and cannot achieve the corresponding technical effects. The above- underlined technical feature of claim 1 is a non-conventional technical solution.”
Since the cited reference LING and the prior art contains no teaching to make the second distance greater than one-third of the axial length of the main lens body, and the present application achieves the corresponding technical effects of ensuring that the light rays exiting from the second quadric surface (314) are collimated, the above-underlined technical feature of claim 1 cannot be rendered obvious by combining common general knowledge with the disclosure of Document LING.”
In response, please see Ling’s “Example 1” in the machine translation reproduced below.
the size of the light condensing member 1 is not specifically limited, technical personnel according to the backlight lamp 4 of size and requirement of the light-gathering effect and uniformity for the specific setting. below are only as an example to illustrate, in this case, the incident surface 12 has a diameter of about 2.5-2.6 mm, such as 2.58mm;, the emergent light face 11 has a diameter of about 8-10 mm, such as 8 mm. between the incident surface 12 and exit surface 11 a distance of about 4-7 mm, such as 4.8 mm. wherein, as shown in FIG. 3, as shown in FIG. 4, of the total reflection surface 14 and the exit surface 11 is further hinged with a cylinder 16, the cylinder 16 of the height is 0.2-2 mm, such as 0.5 mm.
the concave hole (13) matched with the size of the backlight 4, and the backlight 4 is equal or slightly greater than the backlight 4, for example, the backlight 4 has a size of 1 * 1 mm, (where the complementary size of the backlight) of the concave hole 13 diameter is about 1.8-2.5mm; in this case is set to be 2mm; the concave hole 13 of the hole depth is about 1.5-3 mm, specifically is 1.83 mm [emphasis added].
As emphasized above, the distance between the first end and the second end is 4-7 mm and the depth of the concave hole is 1.5-3 mm. Accordingly, Ling’s second distance between a focal point of the first quadric surface and a second surface of the light emitting member, and the second distance is greater than one third of a distance between the first end and the second end of the main lens body falls between 1.5/7 and 3/4 or between 22-75%. Base on Ling’s disclosed range, it would have a matter of routine skill in the art to form the second distance between a focal point of the first quadric surface and a second surface of the light emitting member, and the second distance to be greater than one third of a distance between the first end and the second end of the main lens body. Furthermore, see MPEP 2144.05. The court have held overlapping ranges to be at least obvious.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871