DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/261,860 filed on 07/18/2023 in which claims 1-16 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0068578 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a first device (Fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to:
receive a first data unit from a second device in a first transmission opportunity, TXOP, allocated by the second device for data transmission between the first device and the second device (Paragraph [0435] - [0439] TXOP; transmit frame using allocated; STA-Relay-Root AP),
the first data unit having a header comprising an identifier of the first device; de-aggregate the first data unit into a plurality of sub-data units; and process the plurality of sub-data units based on respective address information associated with the plurality of sub-data units (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; divide data received and transmit to corresponding station).
2. Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches wherein the first device is caused to process the plurality of sub-data units by: in accordance with a determination, based on the respective address information, that a set of sub-data units in the plurality of sub-data units are to be transmitted to a third device, re- aggregating the set of sub-data units into a second data unit; and forwarding the second data unit to the third device in a second TXOP allocated by the second device for a data transmission between the first device and the third device (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; divide data received and transmit to corresponding station).
3. Regarding claims 8 and 14, Lee teaches wherein the first device comprises an extender access point or an agent access point and the second device comprises a root access point or a gateway (Paragraph [0435] - [0439] TXOP; transmit frame using allocated; STA-Relay-Root AP).
4. Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a second device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device at least to:
aggregate a plurality of sub-data units into a first data unit, the first data unit having a header comprising an identifier of a first device (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; aggregate data from each STA);
obtain a first transmission opportunity, TXOP, allocated by the second device for data transmission between the first device and the second device (Paragraph [0435] - [0439] TXOP; transmit frame using allocated; STA-Relay-Root AP); and
transmit the first data unit to the first device in the first TXOP (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; divide data received and transmit to corresponding station).
5. Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches A method comprising:
receiving, at a first device, a first data unit from a second device in a first transmission opportunity, TXOP, allocated by the second device for data transmission between the first device and the second device (Paragraph [0435] - [0439] TXOP; transmit frame using allocated; STA-Relay-Root AP),
the first data unit having a header comprising an identifier of the first device;
de-aggregating the first data unit into a plurality of sub-data units; and
processing the plurality of sub-data units based on respective address information associated with the plurality of sub-data units (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; divide data received and transmit to corresponding station).
6. Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches a method comprising:
aggregating, at a second device, a plurality of sub-data units into a first data unit, the first data unit having a header comprising an identifier of a first device (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; aggregate data from each STA);
obtaining a first transmission opportunity, TXOP, allocated by the second device for data transmission between a first device and the second device (Paragraph [0435] - [0439] TXOP; transmit frame using allocated; STA-Relay-Root AP); and
transmitting the first data unit to the first device in the first TXOP (Paragraph [0110] data aggregation technologies; divide data received and transmit to corresponding station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0068578 A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2015/0036673 A1) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0358067 A1).
7. Regarding claim 3, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination that an acknowledgement is received, the acknowledgement indicating the second data unit has been received by the third device.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination that an acknowledgement is received, the acknowledgement indicating the second data unit has been received by the third device, (Figure 13A, Paragraph [0199] acknowledgement policy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination that an acknowledgement is received, the acknowledgement indicating the second data unit has been received by the third device as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Lee for different acknowledgement policies associated with different receiver addresses see abstract of Asterjadhi.
Lee in view of Asterjadhi does not explicitly disclose remove the set of sub-data units.
Zhang teaches remove the set of sub-data units (Figure 2, Paragraph [0076] after ACK, removes the data frame).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide remove the set of sub-data units as taught by Zhang in the system of Lee in view of Asterjadhi for relay functionality see Paragraph [0074] of Zhang.
8. Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Asterjadhi in view of Zhang teaches wherein the first device is further caused to:
in accordance with a determination that the acknowledgement is required by the second device, forward the acknowledgement to the second device in the first TXOP (Zhang, Figure 22 ACK forwarding scheme).
Claims 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0068578 A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US 2015/0036673 A1).
9. Regarding claim 6, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination, based on the respective address information, that a further set of sub-data units in the plurality of sub-data units are to be transmitted to the first device, transmit, to the second device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination, based on the respective address information, that a further set of sub-data units in the plurality of sub-data units are to be transmitted to the first device, transmit, to the second device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device (Figure 13A, Paragraph [0199] acknowledgement policy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first device is further caused to: in accordance with a determination, based on the respective address information, that a further set of sub-data units in the plurality of sub-data units are to be transmitted to the first device, transmit, to the second device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Lee for different acknowledgement policies associated with different receiver addresses see abstract of Asterjadhi.
10. Regarding claim 10, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a third device, wherein the second device is further caused to: transmit, to the first device in the first TXOP, a request for an acknowledgement indicating that the set of sub-data units have been received by the third device.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a third device, wherein the second device is further caused to: transmit, to the first device in the first TXOP, a request for an acknowledgement indicating that the set of sub-data units have been received by the third device (Figure 13A, Paragraph [0199] acknowledgement policy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a third device, wherein the second device is further caused to: transmit, to the first device in the first TXOP, a request for an acknowledgement indicating that the set of sub-data units have been received by the third device as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Lee for different acknowledgement policies associated with different receiver addresses see abstract of Asterjadhi.
11. Regarding claim 11, Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a further set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a first device, wherein the second device is further caused to: receive, from the first device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device.
Asterjadhi teaches wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a further set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a first device, wherein the second device is further caused to: receive, from the first device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device (Figure 13A, Paragraph [0199] acknowledgement policy).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of sub-data units comprises a further set of sub-data units to be transmitted to a first device, wherein the second device is further caused to: receive, from the first device in the first TXOP, an acknowledgement indicating that the further set of sub-data units have been received by the first device as taught by Asterjadhi in the system of Lee for different acknowledgement policies associated with different receiver addresses see abstract of Asterjadhi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Huang et al. (US 2020/0163118 A1) Figure 6
Seok (US 2017/0150493 A1) Figure 36
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466