Detailed Office Action
Acknowledgment of Election
2. Applicants’ election of species I within the response of 13 April 2026 is acknowledged; however, upon further consideration and in view of the results of the prior art search, the Unity of Invention Requirement has been withdrawn.
Indefiniteness Rejection
4. Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Firstly, with respect to claim 13, there is no nexus between the polyurethane prepolymer and the monomeric isocyanate; within the other independent claims it has been stated that the monomeric isocyanate is the residual monomeric isocyanate within the polyurethane prepolymer.
Secondly, with respect to claim 15, it is unclear what is meant by “a mixture of two or more of amino groups”; it is unclear if applicants are referring to different types of amino groups, such as primary and secondary amino groups; if this is the intended meaning than it is unclear how to interpret “or more”, since the groups must be isocyanate reactive, it is unclear what amino groups other than primary or secondary amino groups are contemplated.
Prior Art Rejection
6. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (Post-Synthetic Polymerization of UIO-66-NH2 Nanoparticles and Polyurethane Oligomer toward Stand-Alone Membranes for Dye Removal and Separation).
Yao et al. disclose within the Results and Discussion section and the Experimental section, the mixture and reaction of UIO-66-NH2 amine functional (clams 6 and 15) mof, meeting applicants’ claimed porous material, with an isocyanate terminated oligomer, meeting applicants’ claimed prepolymer. The mof is functionalized with an amino dicarboxylic acid (claims 12 and 20). Though the reference fails to disclose a content of isocyanate monomer, since the reaction product of the disclosed aromatic diisocyanate (claim 2) with polyol yielding the oligomer necessarily possesses a content of such monomer, the contacting of the oligomer composition with the mof results in reaction of a portion of these monomers, causing their reduction.
7. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. (Post-Synthetic Polymerization of UIO-66-NH2 Nanoparticles and Polyurethane Oligomer toward Stand-Alone Membranes for Dye Removal and Separation) as evidenced by Garibay et al. (Isoreticular synthesis and modification of frameworks with the UIO-66 topology).
Yao et al. disclose within the Results and Discussion section and the Experimental section, the mixture and reaction of UIO-66-NH2 amine functional mof, meeting applicants’ claimed porous material, with an isocyanate terminated oligomer, meeting applicants’ claimed prepolymer. The mof is functionalized with an amino dicarboxylic acid. Though the reference fails to disclose a content of isocyanate monomer, since the reaction product of the disclosed aromatic diisocyanate with polyol yielding the oligomer necessarily possesses a content of such monomer, the contacting of the oligomer composition with the isocyanate reactive mof results in reaction of a portion of these monomers, causing their reduction. Regarding claim 5, though Yao et al. fail to disclose the claimed surface area, UIO-66-NH2, was known to possess a surface area meeting that claimed (see Table 2 within Garibay et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RABON A SERGENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765