The amendment filed 12/08/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12, 15, 18, 20-23, 25-26, 30, 32, 35, 38, 40-41 and 44 are pending.
Claims 4, 7-9, 11, 13-14, 16-17, 19, 24, 27-29, 31, 33-34, 36-37, 39, 42-43 and 45-49 are cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12, 15, 18, 20-23, 25-26, 30, 32, 35, 38, 40-41 and 44 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12, 15, 18, 20-23, 25-26, 30, 32, 35, 38, 40-41 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regard to Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 20, the claim(s) recite(s) an operation for receiving transmission mode-related configuration information, and determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme.
That is, other than reciting “a terminal” and “a network device”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “terminal” and “network device” language, the operation for “receiving transmission mode-related configuration information”, and “determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receiving transmission mode-related configuration information, and manually determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme. Each of these steps appear to be merely selections that take into account certain information, and, thus, not precluded from being performed by a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites general types of elements – using a “terminal” and a “network device” to perform the steps. The elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining a value and a comparison) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic network computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements utilized to perform the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 21-23, 25-26, 30, 32, 35, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an operation for sending transmission mode-related configuration information. That is, other than reciting “a terminal” and “a network device”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “terminal” and “network device” language, the operation for “sending transmission mode-related configuration information” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually sending transmission mode-related configuration information. Each of these steps appear to be merely selections that take into account certain information, and, thus, not precluded from being performed by a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites a general type of element – using a “terminal” and a “network device” to perform the steps. The elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining a value and a comparison) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic network computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements utilized to perform the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an operation for receiving transmission mode-related configuration information, and determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme.
That is, other than reciting “A terminal”, “a network device”, “a memory”, “a transceiver”, and “a processor”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “terminal”, “network device”, “memory”, “transceiver”, and “processor” language, the operation for “receiving transmission mode-related configuration information”, and “determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receiving transmission mode-related configuration information, and manually determining whether a transmission scheme of a first signal is a first transmission scheme. Each of these steps appear to be merely selections that take into account certain information, and, thus, not precluded from being performed by a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites general types of elements – using a “terminal”, “network device”, “memory”, “transceiver”, and “processor” to perform the steps. The elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining a value and a comparison) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic network computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements utilized to perform the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an operation perform an information processing method of claim 21.
That is, other than reciting “A network device”, “a network device”, “a memory”, “a transceiver”, and “a processor”, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “network device”, “memory”, “transceiver”, and “processor” language, the operation to “perform an information processing method of claim 21” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually sending transmission mode-related configuration information. Each of these steps appear to be merely selections that take into account certain information, and, thus, not precluded from being performed by a human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim only recites general types of elements – using a “network device”, “memory”, “transceiver”, and “processor” to perform the steps. The elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of determining a value and a comparison) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic network computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements utilized to perform the steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-23, 41 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220217729 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches An information processing method, performed by a terminal and comprising: receiving transmission mode-related configuration information (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) from a network device (BS, Para. 171).
Kim teaches determining whether a transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is a first transmission scheme according to the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim teaches wherein, the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE, Para. 209) includes at least one of: transmission mode configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209), Demodulation Reference signal (DMRS) port indication information of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198), time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) indication information about the first signal, or scenario indication information about whether the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario.
Kim teaches in the first transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209), a layer of the first signal (M TCI-State configurations in higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config in order to decode the PDSCH, Para. 197) and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11); and/or, a DMRS port of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198) and at least two reference signals have the QCL relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11).
In regard to Claim 2, Kim teaches the determining whether a transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is a first transmission scheme according to the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209) includes: determining a number of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Number of DMRS CDM group(s), Para. 323, Table 9) where the DMRS port of the first signal is located (Table 9 is an example of the case that antenna port(s) (1000+DMRS port), Para. 323, Table 9) and/or QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal according to the DMRS port indication information.
Kim teaches determining whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme according to the number (a CDM group may be sequentially mapped to a TCI state according to an index order of the CDM groups, Para. 344) and/or the QCL indication information.
In regard to Claim 3, Kim teaches the determining whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme according to the QCL indication information (candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) includes: determining QCL type information (A quasi co-location type corresponding to each DL RS may be given by higher layer parameter qcl-Type of QCL-Info, Para. 200) and/or number information of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state according to the QCL indication information.
Kim teaches determining whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme according to the QCL type information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209) and/or the number information of the TCI state.
In regard to Claims 21 and 44, Kim teaches An information processing method, performed by a network device and comprising: sending transmission mode-related configuration information to a terminal (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) to indicate whether a transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is a first transmission scheme (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim teaches wherein, the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE, Para. 209) includes at least one of: transmission mode configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209), Demodulation Reference signal (DMRS) port indication information of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198), time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) indication information about the first signal, or scenario indication information about whether the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario.
Kim teaches in the first transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209), a layer of the first signal (M TCI-State configurations in higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config in order to decode the PDSCH, Para. 197) and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11); and/or, a DMRS port of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198) and at least two reference signals have the QCL relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11).
Kim teaches A network device (Network side (200), Para. 420, FIG. 17), including a memory (memory 204 may store a software code including instructions, Para. 499, FIG. 17), a transceiver (transceiver 206 may be connected to the processor 202 and may transmit and/or receive the radio signals through one or more antennas 208, Para. 499, FIG. 17), and a processor (processor 202 may control the memory 204 and/or the transceiver 206, Para. 499, FIG. 17), wherein the memory is used to store computer programs (memory 204 may store a software code including instructions, Para. 499, FIG. 17); the transceiver is used to send and receive data under the control of the processor (transceiver 206 may be connected to the processor 202 and may transmit and/or receive the radio signals through one or more antennas 208, Para. 499, FIG. 17); the processor is used to read the computer programs in the memory and perform the information processing method according to Claim 21 (processor 202 may control the memory 204 and/or the transceiver 206, Para. 499, FIG. 17).
In regard to Claim 22, Kim teaches the sending transmission mode-related configuration information (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) to indicate whether a transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is a first transmission scheme (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209) comprises: indicating a number of a code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Number of DMRS CDM group(s), Para. 323, Table 9) where the DMRS port of the first signal is located (Table 9 is an example of the case that antenna port(s) (1000+DMRS port), Para. 323, Table 9) and/or QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal through the DMRS port indication information, to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (a CDM group may be sequentially mapped to a TCI state according to an index order of the CDM groups, Para. 344).
In regard to Claim 23, Kim teaches indicating QCL indication information (candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) through the DMRS port indication information (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198), to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209), comprises: indicating QCL type information (A quasi co-location type corresponding to each DL RS may be given by higher layer parameter qcl-Type of QCL-Info, Para. 200) through the QCL indication information (candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207), and/or number information of the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209).
In regard to Claim 41, Kim teaches A terminal (the UE, Para. 207), including a memory (memories 104 to transmit/receive the information related to the CSI related procedure, Para. 420, FIG. 17), a transceiver (transceivers 106 may transmit/receive the information related to the CSI related procedure, Para. 420, FIG. 17), and a processor (processors 102 may control one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more memories 104, Para. 420, FIG. 17), wherein the memory is used to store computer programs (memories 104 to transmit/receive the information related to the CSI related procedure, Para. 420, FIG. 17); the transceiver is used to send and receive data under the control of the processor (transceivers 106 may transmit/receive the information related to the CSI related procedure, Para. 420, FIG. 17); the processor is used to read the computer programs in the memory (processors 102 may control one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more memories 104, Para. 420, FIG. 17) and perform the following operations: receiving transmission mode-related configuration information from a network device through the transceiver (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207).
Kim teaches determining whether a transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of a first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is a first transmission scheme according to the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim teaches wherein, the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE, Para. 209) includes at least one of: transmission mode configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209), Demodulation Reference signal (DMRS) port indication information of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198), time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) indication information about the first signal, or scenario indication information about whether the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario.
Kim teaches in the first transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209), a layer of the first signal (M TCI-State configurations in higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config in order to decode the PDSCH, Para. 197) and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11); and/or, a DMRS port of the first signal (Each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, Para. 198) and at least two reference signals have the QCL relationship (TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), Para. 209) with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel (a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group, Para. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 12, 15, 20, 25-26, 35, 38 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Muruganathan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220216944 A1), hereafter referred to as Muruganathan.
In regard to Claim 5, Kim teaches the determining whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme according to the transmission mode-related configuration information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim fails to teach determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a second condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a third condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that an either condition is satisfied; wherein, the second condition includes that the transmission mode configuration information indicates a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme, wherein the third condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets a fourth condition; and/or the QCL indication information indicates the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets the fourth condition; the fourth condition includes: the number of QCL types associated with at least two reference signals is at least one; wherein the eighth condition includes: the scenario indication information indicates that the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario, and the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with a least two TCI states.
Muruganathan teaches determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a second condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a third condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that an either condition is satisfied; wherein, the second condition includes that the transmission mode configuration information indicates a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme, wherein the third condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets a fourth condition; and/or the QCL indication information indicates the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets the fourth condition; the fourth condition includes: the number of QCL types associated with at least two reference signals is at least one; wherein the eighth condition includes: the scenario indication information indicates that the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario, and the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with a least two TCI states (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach the DMRS port indication information includes the QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal; the second condition further includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states.
Muruganathan teaches the DMRS port indication information includes the QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal; the second condition further includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the TCI state.
Kim fails to teach determine a frequency of a downlink signal according to a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type indicated in the TCI state and including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; and/or, determining a transmission frequency of an uplink signal according to a reference signal indicated in the TCI state and corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property.
Muruganathan teaches determine a frequency of a downlink signal according to a reference signal corresponding to a QCL type indicated in the TCI state and including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; and/or, determining a transmission frequency of an uplink signal according to a reference signal indicated in the TCI state and corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach the transmission mode-related configuration information instructs the terminal to determine the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to a first rule; the determining the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule includes: determining the target TCI state; using the reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property in the target TCI state as a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property include {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}; or ignoring the following large-scale parameter of channel in the first TCI state: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}.
Muruganathan teaches the transmission mode-related configuration information instructs the terminal to determine the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to a first rule; the determining the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule includes: determining the target TCI state; using the reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property in the target TCI state as a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property include {Doppler shift, Doppler spread} (If the UE knows that two antenna ports are QCL with respect to a certain parameter (e.g. Doppler spread), the UE can estimate that parameter based on one of the antenna ports and use that estimate when receiving the other antenna port. Typically, the first antenna port is represented by a measurement reference signal, such as the second antenna port is represented by a DMRS (known as target RS), Para. 24. Four types of QCL relations between a transmitted source RS and transmitted target RS were defined: Type A: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, Para. 26-27); or ignoring the following large-scale parameter of channel in the first TCI state: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is a third transmission scheme in case that a ninth condition is satisfied; wherein the ninth condition includes: a TDRA field of the DCI for scheduling the first signal does not indicate a parameter corresponding to a second transmission scheme; the transmission mode configuration information is not configured as a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme; a number of CDM groups where the DMRS port of the first signal is located is 2; and the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the third transmission scheme, the second transmission scheme and the first transmission schemes are different from each other.
Muruganathan teaches determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is a third transmission scheme in case that a ninth condition is satisfied; wherein the ninth condition includes: a TDRA field of the DCI for scheduling the first signal does not indicate a parameter corresponding to a second transmission scheme; the transmission mode configuration information is not configured as a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme; a number of CDM groups where the DMRS port of the first signal is located is 2; and the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the third transmission scheme, the second transmission scheme and the first transmission schemes are different from each other (the wireless device can receive repetition of the TB according to the TDRA. By indicating the transmission occasions in the TDRA, it is possible to efficiently schedule multiple transmission occasions over the multiple TCI states, Para. 66. Transmit a TDRA to a wireless device, the TDRA indicating transmission of a plurality of transmission occasions of a same or different redundancy versions of a TB in a plurality of non-overlapping transmission occasions corresponding to a plurality of TCI states, Para. 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 25, Kim teaches the sending transmission mode-related configuration information (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim fails to teach indicating information that met a second condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; or indicating information that met a third condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; or indicating information that met an eight condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; wherein, the second condition includes that the transmission mode configuration information indicates a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme, wherein the third condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets a fourth condition; and/or the QCL indication information indicates the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets the fourth condition; the fourth condition includes: the number of QCL types associated with at least two reference signals is at least one: wherein the eight condition includes: the scenario indication information indicates that the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario, and the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states.
Muruganathan teaches indicating information that met a second condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; or indicating information that met a third condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; or indicating information that met an eight condition, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; wherein, the second condition includes that the transmission mode configuration information indicates a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme, wherein the third condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets a fourth condition; and/or the QCL indication information indicates the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least one TCI state that meets the fourth condition; the fourth condition includes: the number of QCL types associated with at least two reference signals is at least one: wherein the eight condition includes: the scenario indication information indicates that the terminal is in a high-speed train scenario and/or a frequency pre-compensation scenario, and the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach the DMRS port indication information includes the QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal; the second condition further includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states.
Muruganathan teaches the DMRS port indication information includes the QCL indication information of the DMRS port of the first signal; the second condition further includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 35, Kim teaches the sending transmission mode-related configuration information (the UE may be configured by RRC with a list for a maximum of M candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207) to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim fails to teach instructing the terminal to determine the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to a first rule through the transmission mode-related configuration information; the determining the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule includes: determining the target TCI state; using the reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property in the target TCI state as a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property includes {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}, or ignoring the following large-scale parameter of channel in the first TCI state: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}.
Muruganathan teaches instructing the terminal to determine the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to a first rule through the transmission mode-related configuration information; the determining the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule includes: determining the target TCI state; using the reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property in the target TCI state as a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property includes {Doppler shift, Doppler spread} (If the UE knows that two antenna ports are QCL with respect to a certain parameter (e.g. Doppler spread), the UE can estimate that parameter based on one of the antenna ports and use that estimate when receiving the other antenna port. Typically, the first antenna port is represented by a measurement reference signal, such as the second antenna port is represented by a DMRS (known as target RS), Para. 24. Four types of QCL relations between a transmitted source RS and transmitted target RS were defined: Type A: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread}, Para. 26-27); or ignoring the following large-scale parameter of channel in the first TCI state: {Doppler shift, Doppler spread}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 38, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach one or more of the following: indicating a reference signal used to determine a transmission frequency of an uplink signal; indicating a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property.
Muruganathan teaches one or more of the following: indicating a reference signal used to determine a transmission frequency of an uplink signal; indicating a reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property (Each TCI state contains QCL information, for example one or two source DL RSs, each associated with a QCL type, Para. 34. Each configured TCI state contains parameters for the QCL associations between source RSs (CSI-RS or SS/PBCH ports) and target RSs (e.g., PDSCH/PDCCH DMRS ports). TCI states are also used to convey QCL information, Para. 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 40, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach indicating information that met a ninth condition through the transmission mode-related configuration information to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the third transmission scheme; wherein the ninth condition includes: a TDRA field of the DCI for scheduling the first signal does not indicate a parameter corresponding to a second transmission scheme;the transmission mode configuration information is not configured as a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme; a number of CDM groups where the DMRS port of the first signal is located is 2; and the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the third transmission scheme, the second transmission scheme and the first transmission schemes are different from each other.
Muruganathan teaches indicating information that met a ninth condition through the transmission mode-related configuration information to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the third transmission scheme; wherein the ninth condition includes: a TDRA field of the DCI for scheduling the first signal does not indicate a parameter corresponding to a second transmission scheme;the transmission mode configuration information is not configured as a value corresponding to the first transmission scheme; a number of CDM groups where the DMRS port of the first signal is located is 2; and the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with 2 TCI states; and/or the third transmission scheme, the second transmission scheme and the first transmission schemes are different from each other (the wireless device can receive repetition of the TB according to the TDRA. By indicating the transmission occasions in the TDRA, it is possible to efficiently schedule multiple transmission occasions over the multiple TCI states, Para. 66. Transmit a TDRA to a wireless device, the TDRA indicating transmission of a plurality of transmission occasions of a same or different redundancy versions of a TB in a plurality of non-overlapping transmission occasions corresponding to a plurality of TCI states, Para. 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Muruganathan with the teachings of Kim since Muruganathan provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
Claim(s) 10, 18, 30 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Shi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210409167 A1), hereafter referred to as Shi.
In regard to Claim 10, Kim teaches the determining whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme according to the QCL type information (TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type, Para. 209).
Kim fails to teach determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a fifth condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a sixth condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a seventh condition is satisfied; wherein the fifth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a second type; a large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type is a large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property; the second type includes the large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, wherein the sixth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicate that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the al least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a third type, large-scale parameters of channel included in the third type are all frequency characteristic parameters, wherein, the seventh condition includes: determining a reference signal that has a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule, and, the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, the at least two TCI states include two TCI states that both satisfy: a QCL type included in each of the two TCI states is of the second type, the second type includes large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property.
Shi teaches determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a fifth condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a sixth condition is satisfied; or determining that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme in case that a seventh condition is satisfied; wherein the fifth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a second type; a large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type is a large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property; the second type includes the large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property, wherein the sixth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicate that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the al least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a third type, large-scale parameters of channel included in the third type are all frequency characteristic parameters, wherein, the seventh condition includes: determining a reference signal that has a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule, and, the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, the at least two TCI states include two TCI states that both satisfy: a QCL type included in each of the two TCI states is of the second type, the second type includes large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property (the network device may indicate a corresponding TCI state for a downlink signal or a downlink channel. If the network device configures, through the TCI state, a QCL reference signal of a target downlink channel or a target downlink signal as a reference SSB or a reference CSI-RS resource, and configures the QCL type as typeA, typeB, or typeC, then the terminal device may assume that a large-scale parameter of the target downlink signal and the reference SSB or reference CSI-RS resource are the same, and the large-scale parameter is determined by the QCL type configuration, Para. 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Kim since Shi provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the DMRS port.
Kim fails to teach further comprising one or more of the following: determining a frequency of a downlink signal according to a reference signal used to determine a transmission frequency of an uplink signal; determining a frequency of a downlink signal according to the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; and/or determining a transmission frequency of an uplink signal according to the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property.
Shi teaches further comprising one or more of the following: determining a frequency of a downlink signal according to a reference signal used to determine a transmission frequency of an uplink signal; determining a frequency of a downlink signal according to the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; and/or determining a transmission frequency of an uplink signal according to the reference signal having a QCL relationship with the DMRS port of the first signal with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property (the network device may indicate a corresponding TCI state for a downlink signal or a downlink channel. If the network device configures, through the TCI state, a QCL reference signal of a target downlink channel or a target downlink signal as a reference SSB or a reference CSI-RS resource, and configures the QCL type as typeA, typeB, or typeC, then the terminal device may assume that a large-scale parameter of the target downlink signal and the reference SSB or reference CSI-RS resource are the same, and the large-scale parameter is determined by the QCL type configuration, Para. 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Kim since Shi provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 30, Kim teaches indicating QCL type information (A quasi co-location type corresponding to each DL RS may be given by higher layer parameter qcl-Type of QCL-Info, Para. 200) through the QCL indication information (candidate Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states for the purpose of at least QCL (Quasi Co-location) indication, Para. 207), to indicate whether the transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209) of the first signal (Each TCI-State of the PDSCH, Para. 198) is the first transmission scheme (TCI-State, Para. 198, 209).
Kim fails to teach indicating information that met a fifth condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission; or indicating information that met a sixth condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme, or indicating information that met a seventh condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; wherein the fifth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a second type, a large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type is a large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property; the second type includes the large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; wherein the sixth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a third type, large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type are all delay characteristic parameters, large-scale parameters of channel included in the third type are all frequency characteristic parameters, wherein, the seventh condition includes: determining a reference signal that has a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule, and the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein the at least two TCI states include two TCI states that both satisfy: a QCL type included in each of the two TCI states is of the second type, the second type includes large-scale parameter of channel in a delay property and large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property.
Shi teaches indicating information that met a fifth condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission; or indicating information that met a sixth condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme, or indicating information that met a seventh condition through the QCL indication information, to indicate that the transmission scheme of the first signal is the first transmission scheme; wherein the fifth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a second type, a large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type is a large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property; the second type includes the large-scale parameter of channel on a delay property and a large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property; wherein the sixth condition includes: the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein, a QCL type included in a TCI state of the at least two TCI states is a first type, and a QCL type included in the TCI state is a third type, large-scale parameter of channel included in the first type are all delay characteristic parameters, large-scale parameters of channel included in the third type are all frequency characteristic parameters, wherein, the seventh condition includes: determining a reference signal that has a QCL relationship with the DMRS port with respect to the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property according to the first rule, and the QCL indication information indicates that the first signal and/or the QCL indication information indicates that the DMRS port of the first signal is associated with at least two TCI states, wherein the at least two TCI states include two TCI states that both satisfy: a QCL type included in each of the two TCI states is of the second type, the second type includes large-scale parameter of channel in a delay property and large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property (the network device may indicate a corresponding TCI state for a downlink signal or a downlink channel. If the network device configures, through the TCI state, a QCL reference signal of a target downlink channel or a target downlink signal as a reference SSB or a reference CSI-RS resource, and configures the QCL type as typeA, typeB, or typeC, then the terminal device may assume that a large-scale parameter of the target downlink signal and the reference SSB or reference CSI-RS resource are the same, and the large-scale parameter is determined by the QCL type configuration, Para. 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Kim since Shi provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
In regard to Claim 32, as presented in the rejection of Claim 21, Kim teaches the TCI state.
Kim fails to teach indicating a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property through the TCJ state.
Shi teaches indicating a reference signal corresponding to the QCL type including the large-scale parameter of channel on a frequency property through the TCJ state (the network device may indicate a corresponding TCI state for a downlink signal or a downlink channel. If the network device configures, through the TCI state, a QCL reference signal of a target downlink channel or a target downlink signal as a reference SSB or a reference CSI-RS resource, and configures the QCL type as typeA, typeB, or typeC, then the terminal device may assume that a large-scale parameter of the target downlink signal and the reference SSB or reference CSI-RS resource are the same, and the large-scale parameter is determined by the QCL type configuration, Para. 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Kim since Shi provides a technique where DMRS ports are associated with TCI states in relation to QCL information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit a DM-RS port is associated with TCI-state configurations in relation to QCL types.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 19 of the Remarks presents the argument that Claims 1, 21 and 41 are amended in an attempt to overcome the rejections. In view of the foregoing, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under this section. This argument is not persuasive. A “network device” is a generic computer component, and is recited at a high-level of generality, and is an element that does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 20 of the Remarks presents the argument that As can be seen from the above description, the contents cited in paragraphs 197, 209, and 11 of Kim at best focus on configuration rules of TCI-State (e.g., quantity, fields, mapping with DMRS ports), but does not encompass the QCL association mechanism between a data layer and multiple reference signals. This argument is not persuasive. Kim teaches Para. 197, M TCI-State configurations in higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config, and this is substantively the same as in the first transmission scheme, a layer of the first signal of Claim 1. Kim teaches in Para. 209, TCI-State IE is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to one or two DL reference signal (RS), and this is substantively the same as at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship of Claim 1.
Kim teaches in Para. 11, a first TCI state corresponds to a first CDM group. A first TCI state of Kim, which is related to higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config and is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to two DL reference signal, and corresponds to a first CDM group, is substantively the same as in the first transmission scheme, a layer of the first signal and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship with respect to at least one large-scale parameter of channel of Claim 1. Kim does not teach that a first CDM group excludes a relationship to any of the various values related to a TCI state that the first CDM group corresponds to.
The examiner notes that Claim 1 does not recite a mechanism, and does not recite that a QCL association is between a data layer and multiple reference signals.
Pages 20-21 of the Remarks present the argument that However, Kim fails to disclose that the same DMRS port should establish the OCL relationship with at least two reference signals simultaneously with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel. This argument is not persuasive. The examiner notes that Claim 1 does not recite the words establish or simultaneously. The examiner also notes that Claim 1 recites: the transmission mode-related configuration information includes at least one of: transmission mode configuration information, Demodulation Reference signal (DMRS) port indication information of the first signal. As a result, Kim need only teach a transmission mode configuration information of Claim 1, where Kim teaches in Para. 209, TCI-State IE may include a parameter such as bwp-ld/referencesignal/QCL type.
In any case, Kim teaches in Para. 198, each TCI-State includes a parameter for a DM-RS port of the PDSCH, and this is substantively the same as transmission mode-related configuration information includes at least one of: … Demodulation Reference signal (DMRS) port indication information of the first signal of Claim 1.
The examiner notes that Claim 1 recites: in the first transmission scheme, a layer of the first signal and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel; and/or, a DMRS port of the first signal and at least two reference signals have the QCL relationship with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel. As a result, Kim need only teach a layer of the first signal and at least two reference signals have a quasi-co-located (QCL) relationship with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel of Claim 1.
In any case, a first TCI state of Kim, which includes a parameter for a DM-RS port and is associated with quasi co-location (QCL) type that corresponds to two DL reference signal, and corresponds to a first CDM group, is substantively the same as in the first transmission scheme, … a DMRS port of the first signal and at least two reference signals have the QCL relationship with respect to the same large-scale parameter of channel of Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
2-21-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477