DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated November 17, 2025 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated August 22, 2025.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection in the previous Office action is maintained as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, near the bottom of page 7 of the Amendment, “It is clear ΔΔSAGC is not determined based on “a rolling model in which the rolling procedure in the roll stand is modeled based on mathematical physical equations”, but based on measurements, specifically, the difference between the actual thickness of the plate and a reference thickness.” Examiner agrees the difference between the actual thickness of the plate and a preset value is used in calculating ΔΔSAGC. However, ΔΔSAGC is not determined by merely calculating the difference between the actual and reference thicknesses. Paragraph [0049] expressly discloses control part 51 integrates the difference (deviation Δh) multiplied by an adjustment gain and a conversion gain. The multiplication and integration of a physically measured amount may reasonably be interpreted as “mathematical physical equations” in that a physical measurement is taken and then used in mathematical equations.
Applicant argues, in the middle of page 8, “Similar to the control part 51, the control part 54 determines a control amount ΔΔSATR based on measurements, specifically, the difference between the actual tension and a reference tension, and not on “a rolling model in which the rolling procedure in the roll stand is modeled based on mathematical physical equations”.”. Examiner agrees the difference between the actual tension and a reference tension is used in calculating ΔΔSATR. However, ΔΔSATR is not determined by merely calculating the difference between the actual and reference tensions. Paragraph [0051] expressly states disclosed control part 54 integrates the difference (deviation ΔTb) multiplied by an adjustment gain and a conversion gain. The multiplication and integration of a physically measured amount may reasonably be interpreted as “mathematical physical equations” in that a physical measurement is taken and then used in mathematical equations.
Applicant argues, in the last two sentences of the first full paragraph of page 8, “Paragraph [0051] does not state that the adjustment gain GSATR is determined by the control part 54, but used in calculating ΔΔSATR. Examiner agrees. However, claim 6 does not claim inlet-side sensitivity (SE) and/or the outlet-side sensitivity (SA) are calculated by the higher-order control device. Claim 6 claims they are “determined” by the device. Therefore, calculation is not necessary.
Applicant argues, in the bottom half of page 8, Tachibana does not disclose the resulting base target value is determined by the sum of an initial base target value and an additional target value as claimed in claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0053] of Tachibana expressly states “The control selection part 55 switches the combination of the AGC and the ATR described above in accordance with the rolling speed.” Emphasis added. That is, control selection part 55 combines, i.e. adds or sums, the AGC and the ATR depending upon the rolling speed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0126340 A1 by Tachibana, hereinafter “Tachibana”.
Regarding claim 1, Tachibana discloses an operating method for a roll stand for rolling flat metal rolling stock (operating method of control system 100 in Fig. 1 controlling roll stands 20 and 21; ¶[0039]),
determining, with a position regulator that regulates positioning of an actuator that sets a roll gap of the roll stand, an actuating variable (q) for the actuator as a function of a resulting position target value (s*) and a position actual value (s) of the actuator; and activating, with the position regulator, the actuator accordingly (rolling controller 50 in Fig. 1 is a position regulator that regulates positioning of roll gap actuator controllers 40 and 41 that sets the roll gap of stands 20 and 21 by determining an actuating variable roll gap correction amount ΔS as a function of a resulting position target value determined by plate thickness control parts 51 and 52 and tension control parts 53 and 54; ¶[0043] through [0049]),
wherein the resulting position target value (s*) is determined by use of a resulting base target value (s1*),
wherein the resulting base target value (s1*) is determined as the sum of an initial base target value (s0*) and an additional target value (δs1*)(the initial base target value is set by plate thickness control part 51 in Fig. 1 as ΔΔSAGC in Fig. 3 and an additional target value is set by second tension control part 54 as ΔΔSATR in Fig. 3; ¶[0049] and [0051]),
wherein the additional target value (δs1*) is determined by a determination element by the use of an inlet-side actual tension (ZE), or a corresponding target tension (ZE*) of an inlet-side tension regulating system, and an inlet-side reference tension (ZER) and/or by the use of an outlet-side actual tension (ZA), or a corresponding target tension (ZA*) of an outlet-side tension regulating system, and an outlet-side reference tension (ZAR) (¶[0051] discloses additional target value ΔΔSATR is determine by using actual tension result Tbfb), and
wherein the inlet-side reference tension (ZER) is a different variable from the inlet-side target tension (ZE*) and/or the outlet-side reference tension (ZAR) is a different variable from an outlet-side target tension (ZA*) (since additional target value ΔΔSATR is determined by use of actual tension Tbfb, Tachibana does not necessarily need to disclose this limitation of the claim to anticipate the claim because the previous limitation is a conditional “or” limitation), and
wherein the initial base target value (s0*) is determined by a higher-order control device based on a rolling model in which the rolling procedure in the roll stand is modeled based on mathematical physical equations (ΔΔSAGC, as the initial base target value, is determined by control part 51 which may reasonably be interpreted as a “higher-order control device” because it uses both multiplication and integration to arrive at ΔΔSAGC. The resulting ΔΔSAGC is used by control selection part 55 which selects a combination of AGC and ATR depending upon the rolling speed. The selection procedure carried out by control selectin part 55 may reasonably be interpreted as a “rolling model”. Control selection part 55 may also be interpreted as the claimed “higher-order control device” because control part 51 may reasonably be interpreted as part of control selectin part 55 in that control part 55 and control part 51 are both parts of controller 50.).
Regarding claim 2, Tachibana anticipates the operating method as claimed in claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the roll stand is operated by regulating the roll gap. Paragraphs [0040] and [0041] disclose roll stand 21 is operated by regulating the roll gap between rolls 21a and 21b in Fig. 1 with roll gap controller 41.
Regarding claim 3, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the inlet-side tension regulating system (automatic tension regulator ATR control part 53 acts on feed speed velocity Ve entering roll stand 21. See paragraph [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses additional target value ΔΔSATR is determined by control part 54 on the basis of the product of an inlet-side sensitivity (adjustment gain GSATR in Fig. 3; ¶[0052]) and the difference between actual tension Tbfb and reference tension ΔTbref; ¶[0051]). That is, paragraph [0051] discloses the difference between actual tension Tbfb and reference tension ΔTbref (deviation ΔTb) is multiplied by adjustment gain GSATR which equates to a product that is then integrated in control part 54.
Regarding claim 5, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 4 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses inlet-side sensitivity adjustment gain GSATR is specified for determination element selection part 55 by the higher-order control device control part 54 in Fig. 1. That is control part 54 “determines” adjustment gain GSATR by having an adjustment gain GSATR value which is used in the disclosed integration.
Regarding claim 6, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 5 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses inlet-side sensitivity adjustment gain GSATR determined by higher-order control device control part 54 is part of the pass schedule calculation by analysis of the rolling model carried out by control selection part 55.
Regarding claim 7, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the inlet-side reference tension ΔTbref is specified for the determination element selection part 55 by higher-order control device control part 54 in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 8, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 7 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses
higher order control devices 53, 54 and 55 specify the tension entering roll stand 21,
higher-order control device 51 specifies the initial base target value of regulating unit rolling controller 50 comprising position regulator roll gap controller 41 and determination element selection part 55, and
higher-order control devices 53 and 54 specifies the tension entering roll stand 21 for the automatic tension regulator (ATR).
Regarding claim 9, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the resulting position target value determined by plate thickness control parts 51 and 52 and tension control parts 53 and 54 is determined during the rolling of a central part of material 10 as shown in Fig. 1 by use of a correction value “kb” included in control part 54 using actual load P as disclosed in paragraph [0051].
Regarding claim 10, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 9 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses ΔΔSATR takes into account correction value “kb” included in control part 54 using actual load P as disclosed in paragraph [0051].
Regarding claim 11, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the resulting position target value is determined using plate thickness control part 51 and tension control part 53 during the rolling of the head of the rolling stock when the rolling speed is low. See paragraphs [0044], [0046] and [0053].
Regarding claim 12, Tachibana anticipates the operating method of claim 1 as explained above. Tachibana further discloses the resulting position target value is determined by the use of the deviation of thickness of material 10 measured at the outlet side of roll stand 21 by thickness meter 60. See paragraph [0042]. The actual thickness is used in thickness control part 51 which is used in determining the resulting position target value as explained in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Tachibana discloses control system 100 in Fig. 1 for roll stands 20 and 21 for rolling flat rolling stock 10 formed of hardware blocks (meters 60 and 70) and software programs (control parts 51, 52, 53 and 4 perform program integrations) in such a way that it implements the method as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, Tachibana discloses the rolling unit shown in Fig. 1 for rolling flat metal stock 10 wherein the rolling unit has roll stands 20 and 21 and control system 100.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725