DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 12/9/25, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yetter (US 2005/0134142 A1) in view of Joining and Assembly of Plastics (1995).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, Yetter teaches a substrate (e.g., piezo-electric composite) comprising resin part (e.g. polymer) (14) and a plurality of ceramic parts (12) provided in the resin part, and a metal layer (e.g., facing layer wherein the species of a metal facing layer is given) (18) provided on one side of the composite substrate, wherein a surface of the metal layer facing the composite substrate is in contact with the ceramic parts; wherein the ceramic parts are exposed from the resin part on a surface side not in contact with the metal layer; wherein the ceramic parts are provided like islands in an in-plane direction inside the resin part; wherein the ceramic parts have a polygonal columnar shape (e.g., posts) or a cylindrical shape (para 27-28, figs 2-6).
Yetter fails to suggest wherein fastening parts for fastening the resin part and the metal layer (e.g., facing layer) are provided.
Joining and Assembly of Plastics teaches it was known at the time of invention that mechanical fastening can be used to join both similar and dissimilar materials, e.g., mechanical fastening is commonly used when joining a plastic to a metal
Therefore, per Joining and Assembly of Plastics, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use mechanical fasters in the piezo-electric composite of Yetter to bond or join the metal to the resin and/or ceramic parts, since it was a known method to join dissimilar materials in the art at the time of invention.
Regarding claim 3, Yetter further teaches each ceramic post or element includes an electrical connection to allow the elements to be connected in parallel (i.e., wherein the ceramic parts are connected with each other on the side not in contact with the metal layer) (para 27).
Regarding claim 9, Yetter teaches a multi-arrayed transducer (e.g., product) that incorporates or includes the piezo-electric composite of claim 1 (abstract, para 27).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yetter and Joining and Assembly of Plastics as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gururaja (US 2001/0050514 A1).
Yetter as modified by Joining and Assembly of Plastics teaches the substrate of claim 1.
Yetter as modified by Joining and Assembly of Plastics fails to suggest wherein the resin part or one of the ceramic parts contacts with a side surface of the metal layer.
Gururaja teaches a composite piezoelectric transducer; wherein the composite transducer further comprises a first electrode layer (240), a second electrode layer (242) (e.g., metal electrodes or metal facing layer), strips of piezoelectric ceramic (235), and a layer of polymer (238); wherein the resin part or one of the ceramic parts contacts with a side surface of the metal layer (para 2, 6, 38; fig 8a); wherein its transducers provide improved electrical impedance matching to an ultrasonic imaging system and improved acoustic matching to the human body (abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the composite piezoelectric transducers of Gururaja with the piezo-electric composites of Yetter for transducers that provide improved electrical impedance matching to an ultrasonic imaging system and improved acoustic matching to the human body.
Claim 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yetter in view of Inagaki (JP 01087679 A ) and Joining and Assembly of Plastics
Yetter teaches a substrate (e.g., piezo-electric composite) comprising a composite substrate having a resin part (e.g. polymer) (14) and a plurality of ceramic parts (12) provided in the resin part, and a metal layer (e.g., facing layer wherein the species of a metal facing layer is given) (18) provided on one side of the composite substrate (para 27-28, figs 2-6).
Yetter fails to suggest an adhesive layer between the metal layer and the composite substrate; wherein fastening parts for fastening the resin part and the metal layer (e.g., facing layer) are provided.
Inagaki teaches a thin and uniform adhesive layer (i.e., fastening parts) having excellent vibration-transmittance that achieves sufficiently high electric conductivity between a piezoelectric ceramic and a metal (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the adhesive of Inagaki in the piezo-electric composite to bond the metal to the resin and ceramic parts for a piezo-electric composite that has excellent vibration-transmittance and achieves sufficiently high electric conductivity between the resin and ceramic composite layer and the metal.
Joining and Assembly of Plastics teaches it was known at the time of invention that mechanical fastening can be used to join both similar and dissimilar materials, e.g., mechanical fastening is commonly used when joining a plastic to a metal
Therefore, per Joining and Assembly of Plastics, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use mechanical fasters in the piezo-electric composite of Yetter to bond or join the metal to the resin and/or ceramic parts, since it was a known method to join dissimilar materials in the art at the time of invention.
Regarding claim 10, Yetter suggests a multi-arrayed transducer (e.g., product) that incorporates or includes the piezo-electric composite of claim 8 (abstract, para 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends there are no motivations in Yetter that fastening parts
for fastening the nonconductive material and the facing material are provided.
This is not persuasive since Yetter teaches failure to achieve a good contact between the posts and the acoustic layer can result in a transducer having low gain; and such failures typically occur when the adhesive used to adhere an acoustic layer to the face of the ceramic failed to contact the top of the ceramic posts; and failure due to plating failure can also occur (para 11, 18, 34); therefore Yetter teaches a motivation, e.g., the use of the fasteners to attach either the acoustic layers or to further attached the plated metal layers as a back-up method attachment in case of failure of the adhesive or wedge bonding that is used to attach the acoustic layers and/or in case of failure of the attachment of the metal plating.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783