DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a 371 of PCT/KR2021/019117 filed on December 15, 2021.
An amendment and an IDS were filed by the applicant on May 12, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 12, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “soft foam material” in claims 3 and 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the term “soft” may be widely used and accepted in the art, the term does not specify a unit of measure or a term of degree that is necessary for the examiner to conduct a proper search of the prior art. It is suggested by the examiner that the applicant simply drop the term “soft” and claim only a “foam material” in order to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. (KR 10-2011866 B1) in view of Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd. (KR 10-1099676 B1) and Dhellemmes et al. (US 6,035,795).
Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. discloses an insulation system for a membrane type storage tank, as shown in Figures 1-3, which is comprised of a primary sealing wall or barrier, defined as Part #111, a primary insulation box or wall, defined as Part #110, a secondary sealing wall or barrier, defined as Part #121, and a secondary insulation box or wall, defined as Part #120, which has a similar thickness to said primary insulation box or wall, as shown in Figure 1. Said primary insulation box or wall includes a connection insulation box or wall, defined as Part #11, that is provided in a spatial portion located between adjacent fixed insulation boxes or walls, as shown in Figure 3. A first slit is formed between said fixed insulation box or wall and said connection insulation box or wall when said connection insulation box or wall is inserted and installed between adjacent fixed insulation boxes or walls, as shown in Figure 3. A plurality of second and third slits, defined as Parts #12 and 22, are formed colinearly with each other in a longitudinal direction and a width direction of said fixed insulation box or wall, as shown in Figure 3. Said plurality of second and third slits are not filled with an insulating filler material, as shown in Figure 3.
Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd., as set forth above, discloses all of the features claimed except for the use of an insulating filler material that fills said first slit, a fixed insulation wall having a smaller width than a secondary insulation wall, and a connection insulation wall that is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls in which a secondary barrier is exposed.
Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd. discloses an insulation structure for a liquefied natural gas (LNG) tank, as shown in Figures 1-5, which is comprised of a heat insulating panel or wall, defined as Part #110, with a spatial portion that is located between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls, as shown in Figure 2. A combining member, defined as Part #130, made from an insulating filler material is disposed into said spatial portion and a slit that is formed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls, where a head unit, defined as Part #131, fully fills said spatial portion located between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls, and an extension part, defined as Part #132, fills said slit that is formed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls, as shown in Figure 2. A bonding layer, which is not shown, is disposed between said combining member and said adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls to fix said combining member in place.
Dhellemmes et al. discloses a thermally insulated tank with prefabricated panels, as shown in Figures 1-12, which is comprised of a primary sealing barrier, defined as Part #9, a primary insulation barrier, defined as Part #8, a secondary sealing barrier, defined as Part #6, and a secondary insulation barrier, defined as Part #4, as shown in Figure 6. Said primary insulation barrier is demonstrated to have a smaller width than said secondary insulation barrier, as shown in Figure 6. An insulating tile, defined as Part #14, with an insulating layer, defined as Part #15, is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls, each defined as Part #8, in which said secondary sealing barrier is exposed, as shown in Figure 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize a combining member made from an insulating filler material to fully fill a spatial portion and a slit that are formed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls, as taught by Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd., a fixed insulation wall having a smaller width than a secondary insulation wall, and a connection insulation wall that is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls in which a secondary barrier is exposed, as taught by Dhellemmes et al., in combination with the insulation system for a membrane type storage tank as disclosed by Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. for the purpose of providing a liquefied gas storage tank with means to fully fill a spatial portion that is disposed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls of said storage tank where a secondary barrier is exposed.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. in view of Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd. and Dhellemmes et al., and further in view of Bony et al. (US 10,989,357).
Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. in combination with Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd. and Dhellemmes et al. shows all of the features claimed except for the use of an insulating filler material that is formed to fill said spatial portion in multiple layers so that a plurality of spaces are formed inside said spatial portion.
Bony et al. discloses a thermally insulating tank, as shown in Figures 1-17, which is comprised of a primary sealing membrane, defined as Part #7, a primary thermal insulation barrier, defined as Part #5, a secondary sealing membrane, defined as Part #4, and a secondary thermal insulation barrier, defined as Part #1, as shown in Figure 7. A space, defined as Part #8, that is disposed between adjacent fixed primary insulation panels or walls, each defined as Part #6, can be filled with an anti-convection filler strip, defined as Part #37, having a multi-layer structure with a core, defined as Part #42, and separated sheets, defined as Part #43, as shown in Figures 11-12. Said filler strip can be made from a porous material in the form of glass wool in stacked layers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize an insulating filler material that is formed to fill a spatial portion in multiple layers so that a plurality of spaces are formed inside said spatial portion, as taught by Bony et al., in combination with the insulation system for a membrane type storage tank as disclosed by Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. and the teachings of Samsung Heavy Ind. Co., Ltd. and Dhellemmes et al. for the purpose of providing a liquefied gas storage tank with means to fully fill a spatial portion that is disposed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls of said storage tank.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. in view of Kangrim Insulation Co., Ltd. (KR 10-1053123 B1) and Dhellemmes et al.
Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. shows all of the features claimed except for the use of steps formed on side surfaces of connection insulation panels or walls and fixed insulation panels or walls, where an insulating filler material fills slits that are formed by said steps, a fixed insulation wall having a smaller width than a secondary insulation wall, and a connection insulation wall that is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls in which a secondary barrier is exposed.
Kangrim Insulation Co., Ltd. discloses an insulation panel assembly for a liquefied gas storage tank, as shown in Figures 1-2, which is comprised of a first insulation panel or wall, defined as Part #100, with a step, defined as Part S, that is formed on its upper side surfaces, and a second insulation panel or wall, defined as Part #200, with a step, defined as Part S, that is also formed on its upper side surfaces, as shown in Figure 2. When said first insulation panel or wall is disposed adjacent to said second insulation panel or wall, said steps in said first and second insulation panels or walls combine to form slits that are disposed between said first and second insulation panels or walls. An insulating filler material, defined as Part #300, is inserted into said slits that are disposed between said first and second insulation panels or walls to fully fill said slits, as shown in Figure 2.
Dhellemmes et al. discloses a thermally insulated tank with prefabricated panels, as shown in Figures 1-12, which is comprised of a primary sealing barrier, defined as Part #9, a primary insulation barrier, defined as Part #8, a secondary sealing barrier, defined as Part #6, and a secondary insulation barrier, defined as Part #4, as shown in Figure 6. Said primary insulation barrier is demonstrated to have a smaller width than said secondary insulation barrier, as shown in Figure 6. An insulating tile, defined as Part #14, with an insulating layer, defined as Part #15, is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls, each defined as Part #8, in which said secondary sealing barrier is exposed, as shown in Figure 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize first and second insulation panels or walls with steps disposed in their upper side surfaces to form slits between said first and second insulation panels or walls, and an insulating filler material to fully fill said slits, as taught by Kangrim Insulation Co., Ltd., a fixed insulation wall having a smaller width than a secondary insulation wall, and a connection insulation wall that is installed in a spatial portion disposed between adjacent primary insulation walls in which a secondary barrier is exposed, as taught by Dhellemmes et al., in combination with the insulation system for a membrane type storage tank as disclosed by Hanwha Ocean Co., Ltd. for the purpose of providing a liquefied gas storage tank with means to fully fill a spatial portion that is disposed between adjacent fixed insulation panels or walls of said storage tank where a secondary barrier is exposed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection relying upon the teachings of Dhellemmes et al. to demonstrate the new features added to the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
May 28, 2026
/LARS A OLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615B