DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The response filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged. Four pages of drawings (two pages with corrections and two pages marked “Replacement Sheet”) and fourteen pages of Specification (one page of specification marked “AMENDMENTS TO THE SPECIFICATION” and thirteen pages marked “SUBSTITUTE SPECIFICATION”) were received on March 30, 2026. The drawings and the specification are acceptable to correct the obvious scrivener’s errors in the original disclosure. However, new issue arises with the newly amended limitation in claim 26. See detailed objection and rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outer diameter of the outlet being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber as amended in claim 26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Figs. 1 and 2 fail to show that the outer diameter of the outlet 130 being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber 120. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the outer diameter of the outlet being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber as amended in claim 26. Figs. 1 and 2 fail to show that the outer diameter of the outlet 130 being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber 120. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10, 12, 20-23, 25, 26, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fech et al., (US20140107620. Fech hereinafter) in view of Banyasz et al. (WO2022008673. See attached English translation by Google Patent. Banyasz hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Fech discloses a method for forming a swirl nozzle (1. Embodiment in Figs. 8a-9b) that is monolithic and configured to (capable of) aerosolize a liquid with a pharmaceutical drug, the swirl nozzle comprising: an inlet (40, 50, 64) for receiving the pharmaceutical drug to be aerosolized; a swirl chamber (11, 45, 55, 65) connected to the inlet and configured to aerosolize the pharmaceutical drug provided by the inlet; and an outlet (23) connected to the swirl chamber and configured to discharge the aerosolized pharmaceutical drug; the method comprising: providing a photoactivatable material; and forming the swirl nozzle by selectively activating voxels in the photoactivatable material (method steps are considered as being implied in the method mentioned in paragraph [0095], i.e. laser sintering).
Fech fails to disclose wherein the photoactivatable material comprises a polymer and wherein the voxels are selectively activated using two-photon polymerization; and removing non-activated photoactivatable material.
However, Banyasz teaches a method and an associated two-photon 3D printing device using two-photon polymerization (Abstract), wherein the photoactivatable material comprises a polymer (radically polymerisable resin) and wherein the voxels (Page 2, third paragraph under “State of the art”) are selectively activated using two-photon polymerization; and removing non-activated photoactivatable material (by final rinsing step of the monomer residues without undergoing significant distortion. Page 6, eight paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the two-photon polymerization method, as taught by Banyasz, to make Fech’s swirl nozzle, in order to allow the creation of complex miniaturized structure (Page 2, first paragraph under “State of the art;” page 2, last paragraph but one; page 3, eleventh paragraph).
With respect to claim 6, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech further discloses wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a plurality of inlets (40, 50, 64).
With respect to claim 8, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech fails to disclose wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a plurality of outlets.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of outlets in order to increase the flow output or rate, since such a modification would amount to a mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) where the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04, Subtitle VI, Section C.
With respect to claim 9, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech further discloses wherein the outlet comprises an outlet structure with a gradually increasing hydraulic diameter (Fig. 8b).
With respect to claim 10, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech further discloses wherein the swirl chamber comprises inlet channels (11, 45, 55, 65. Figs. 8a and 8b), wherein the inlet channels are configured to (capable of) create a swirling motion in a stream of the pharmaceutical drug from the inlet to the outlet, such that the pharmaceutical drug is aerosolized.
With respect to claim 12, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Banyasz further teaches wherein a plurality of voxels (Page 2, third paragraph under “State of the art”) are activated simultaneously.
With respect to claim 20, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech and Banyasz discloses the method according to claim 1 except for wherein selectively activating a voxel in the photoactivatable material comprises exposing the voxel to photons in an ultraviolet range of 100-400 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively activating a voxel in the photoactivatable material comprises exposing the voxel to photons in an ultraviolet range of 100-400 nm, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claims 21-23 and 25, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech discloses the monolithic swirl nozzle configured to aerosolize a pharmaceutical drug, wherein the swirl nozzle is formed by the method according to claim 1. Fech fail to disclose the outlet has a diameter in a range of 10-500 µm (Claim 21), wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a width of 4 mm or less (Claim 22), wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a height in a range of 0.1-1 mm (Claim 23) and wherein the inlet comprises a channel with a height in a range of 20-500 µm (Claim 25).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the outlet having a diameter in a range of 10-500 µm (Claim 21), the swirl nozzle comprises a width of 4 mm or less (Claim 22), wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a height in a range of 0.1-1 mm (Claim 23) and wherein the inlet comprises a channel with a height in a range of 20-500 µm since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 26, Fech discloses a swirl nozzle (1. Embodiment in Figs. 8a-9b) that is monolithic and configured to (capable of) aerosolize a pharmaceutical drug, the swirl nozzle comprising: an inlet (40, 50, 64) for receiving the pharmaceutical drug to be aerosolized; a swirl chamber (11, 45, 55, 65) having a diameter connected to the inlet and configured to (capable of) aerosolize the pharmaceutical drug provided by the inlet; and an outlet (23) connected to the swirl chamber and configured to (capable of) discharge the aerosolized pharmaceutical drug, the outlet having an inner diameter and an outer diameter, the outer diameter of the outlet being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber.
Fech fails to disclose wherein the swirl nozzle comprises a polymer.
However, Banyasz teaches a method and an associated two-photon 3D printing device using two-photon polymerization (Abstract), wherein the photoactivatable material comprises a polymer (radically polymerisable resin) and wherein the voxels (Page 2, third paragraph under “State of the art”) are selectively activated using two-photon polymerization; and removing non-activated photoactivatable material (by final rinsing step of the monomer residues without undergoing significant distortion. Page 6, eight paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the two-photon polymerization method, as taught by Banyasz, to make Fech’s swirl nozzle, in order to allow the creation of complex miniaturized structure (Page 2, first paragraph under “State of the art;” page 2, last paragraph but one; page 3, eleventh paragraph).
As for the outlet having an inner diameter and an outer diameter, the outer diameter of the outlet being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the outlet having an inner diameter and an outer diameter, the outer diameter of the outlet being equal or larger than the diameter of the swirl chamber, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claims 29 and 30, Fech discloses the monolithic swirl nozzle as in claim 26 except for wherein a volume of a material forming the swirl nozzle is less than 25 mm3 (Claim 29) and wherein a maximum outer width of the swirl nozzle is less than 4 mm (Claim 30).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the volume of a material forming the swirl nozzle is less than 25 mm3 (Claim 29) and wherein a maximum outer width of the swirl nozzle is less than 4 mm since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fech in view of Banyasz and further in view of Melton (US 20150285504).
With respect to claim 14, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz’s method, Fech and Banyasz fail to disclose wherein the forming comprises a first forming stage and a second forming stage, and wherein the first forming stage comprises forming at least part of the swirl nozzle by selectively activating voxels in the photoactivatable material, and the second forming stage comprises an additional curing of the swirl nozzle.
Melton teaches a method (200. Fig. 9) of forming a swirl nozzle (trapped vortex fuel injector 100) that is monolithic, the method comprising: providing a photoactivatable material; and forming the swirl nozzle by selectively activating voxels in the photoactivatable material (206). Melton further teaches wherein the forming comprises a first forming stage (step 204) and a second forming stage (step 206), and wherein the first forming stage comprises forming at least part of the swirl nozzle by selectively activating voxels (using the Direct Metal Laser Sintering (DMLS) process to create the three-dimensional computer model of the component. [0058]) in the photoactivatable material, and the second forming stage comprises an additional curing (time by successively formed 206 by fusing a metallic powder using laser energy. [0059]) of the swirl nozzle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the forming method, as taught by Melton, to Fech’s swirl nozzle, in order to reduce costs and weight of the nozzle ([0056]- [0057]).
With respect to claim 16, Fech’s sintering method modified by Banyasz and Melton’s method, Melton further teaches the method further comprises at least one of forming the swirl nozzle on the holder and fixating the swirl nozzle on a holder (laser sintering machine. [0060]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 13, 2026