DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2023 and 11/25/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 07/18/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 19-20, 23, 25-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 2020/0153581), hereinafter Tsai, in further view of Zeineddine et al. (US 2023/0171623), hereinafter Zeineddine.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource; obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource; and transmitting the channel state information report based at least in part on the interference measurement.
Regarding Claim 1, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); and transmitting the channel state information report: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) based at least in part on the interference measurement: “The channel state information report configuration information includes: information indicating one or more channel state information reference signal resource configurations associated with one or more channel state information reference signal resource sets for channel measurements, interference measurements, or a combination thereof” (Zeineddine ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1.
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 2, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCI state corresponds to a second receive beam, the method further comprising: determining that the UE does not support simultaneous multi-beam reception: “in some scenarios, the group-based beam reporting procedure is not enabled/available. In other scenarios, the report is associated with CSI-RS resources not the same as those resources associated with the group-based report. In some cases, the UE is aware to measure more than one NZP-CSIRS resources but does not know which TCI-state it should follow. In this case, network needs further indication for TCI assumption” (Tsai ¶ 0033); using the first receive beam for the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination; and using the second receive beam for the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCI state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: determining that the UE does not support simultaneous multi-beam reception: “in some scenarios, the group-based beam reporting procedure is not enabled/available. In other scenarios, the report is associated with CSI-RS resources not the same as those resources associated with the group-based report. In some cases, the UE is aware to measure more than one NZP-CSIRS resources but does not know which TCI-state it should follow. In this case, network needs further indication for TCI assumption” (Tsai ¶ 0033); using the first receive beam for the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination; and using the second receive beam for the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCJ state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: determining that the UE supports simultaneous multi-beam reception: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030); and using the first and the second receive beams for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 10, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining an order for the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource, wherein the first and the second receive beams are used for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the order: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039), where the order the first and second receive beams are used would be in order used for the TDM partition.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising determining a relationship between an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the first channel measurement resource and an identifier of a CSI-RS for the second channel measurement resource: “For example, TCI-state-id=1 is further linked to the CMR/IMR for CSI acquisition transmitted by TRP #1, and TCI-state-id=2 is further linked to the CMR/IMR for CSI acquisition transmitted by TRP #2. The UE obtains Rx spatial filter information for CSI acquisition by looking up which Rx spatial filter is suitable to receive the NZP-CSIRS resource or SSB for beam management linked to the TCI-state-id . . . For example, CSI considering inter-stream interference is needed for NCJT. At step 231, UE 203 is configured with NCJT. At step 232, UE 203 determines Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from gNB 201 and gNB 202. In one embodiment, the UE determines the Rx spatial filters based on group-based beam reporting. In another embodiment, the Rx spatial filters are determined by the network. In one embodiment, the network signals the UE of the Rx spatial filters by TCI-state indication. Upon determining the Rx spatial filters, at step 233, UE 203 performs CSI reporting based the determined Rx spatial filters” (Tsai ¶ 0030-0031), wherein the first and the second receive beams are used for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the relationship: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the second channel measurement resource is to refrain from transmitting during the first interference measurement resource: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039) wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCI state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: using the first and the second receive beams for the first interference measurement resource: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs” (Tsai ¶ 0030); and using the first and the second receive beams for the second interference measurement resource: “In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource; obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource; and transmitting the channel state information report based at least in part on the interference measurement.
Regarding Claim 15, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); and transmitting the channel state information: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) based at least in part on the interference measurement: “The channel state information report configuration information includes: information indicating one or more channel state information reference signal resource configurations associated with one or more channel state information reference signal resource sets for channel measurements, interference measurements, or a combination thereof” (Zeineddine ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 16, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCJ state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: using the first receive beam for the first interference measurement resource; and using the second receive beam for measuring during the second interference measurement resource: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 19, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication, comprising: indicating a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: indicating a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource; and receiving a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource, the channel state information report based at least in part on one or more interference measurements obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both.
Regarding Claim 19, Zeineddine teaches: indicating a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); and receiving a channel state information report: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146), the channel state information report based at least in part on one or more interference measurements obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j . . . In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 20, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 19.
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 20, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 23, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 20, further comprising: determining that a transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the second channel measurement resource is to refrain from transmitting during the first interference measurement resource: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039) wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 25, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein the first interference measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource are indicated in a channel state information report configuration message: “a base station may send to a UE 115 a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to one or more resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, the CSI report configuration may be linked to a single resource setting (e.g., a resource setting for CMR), to two resource settings (e.g., a resource setting for CMR and a resource setting for CSI-IM or non-zero-power IMR (NZP-IMR)), or to three resource settings (e.g., a resource setting for CMR, a resource setting for CSI-IM, and a resource setting for NZP-IMR). Each resource setting may have multiple resource sets, one of which may be an active resource set that the UE 115 is to use for CSI measurements” (Tsai ¶ 0093).
Regarding Claim 26, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication, comprising: indicating a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: indicating a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource configured for measuring interference for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource; and receiving a channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource, the channel state information report comprising an interference metric that is based at least in part on a first interference measurement obtained using the first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement obtained using the second interference measurement resource.
Regarding Claim 26, Zeineddine teaches: indicating a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource configured for measuring interference for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); and receiving a channel state information report: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) for the joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146), the channel state information report comprising an interference metric that is based at least in part on a first interference measurement obtained using the first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement obtained using the second interference measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Regarding Claim 27, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 26, further comprising: determining that a user equipment (UE) does not support simultaneous multi-beam reception: “in some scenarios, the group-based beam reporting procedure is not enabled/available. In other scenarios, the report is associated with CSI-RS resources not the same as those resources associated with the group-based report. In some cases, the UE is aware to measure more than one NZP-CSIRS resources but does not know which TCI-state it should follow. In this case, network needs further indication for TCI assumption” (Tsai ¶ 0033), wherein the first interference measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource are indicated based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 29, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 27, further comprising determining that a first transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the first channel measurement resource is scheduled to transmit during the second interference measurement resource and that a second TRP associated with the second channel measurement resource is scheduled to transmit during the first interference measurement resource: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), wherein the first interference measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource are indicated based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Claims 3-4, 14, 17, 21-22, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai and Zeineddine as applied to claims 1, 15, and 20 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2022/0094399), hereinafter Gao.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai and Zeineddine: The method of claim 1.
Tsai does not teach: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis, wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination.
Regarding Claim 3, Gao teaches: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report comprises K single TRP CSIs each associated with one of the K NZP CSI-RS resources and if a certain condition is met, one or more CSIs for NC-JT. In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report further comprises an indicator to indicate whether NC-JT CSI is present in the report” (Gao ¶ 0204), wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination: “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k). The WD 22 may then compare the rank of each single TRP CSI with the rank threshold, R.sub.th, which may be either configured by RRC signaling to the WD 22 or predefined, e.g., in standard specifications. If the rank of any of the K single TRP CSIs exceeds the rank threshold R.sub.th, a decision is made e.g., by the WD 22, that NC-JT CSI is not reported but the CSI for one or more single TRP transmission hypothesis are reported” (Gao ¶ 0229-0230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsai and Zeineddine teach: The method of claim 1.
Tsai and Zeineddine do not teach: determining that the UE is to provide zero channel state information reports for single transmission hypotheses, wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination.
Regarding Claim 4, Gao teaches: determining that the UE is to provide zero channel state information reports for single transmission hypotheses: “Whether CSI for NC-JT is reported in the CSI report is determined by the WD and depends on some conditions. One such condition is related to the estimated ranks of each of the single TRP transmission hypotheses. When the rank of any TRP is greater than a configured threshold (e.g., 2), CSI for NC-JT transmission hypothesis is not reported” (Gao ¶ 0122); the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination: “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k). The WD 22 may then compare the rank of each single TRP CSI with the rank threshold, R.sub.th, which may be either configured by RRC signaling to the WD 22 or predefined, e.g., in standard specifications. If the rank of any of the K single TRP CSIs exceeds the rank threshold R.sub.th, a decision is made e.g., by the WD 22, that NC-JT CSI is not reported but the CSI for one or more single TRP transmission hypothesis are reported” (Gao ¶ 0229-0230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1.
Tsai does not teach: the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource, the method further comprising: receiving an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis; and obtaining an interference measurement using the third interference measurement resource for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 14, Zeineddine teaches: the interference m