DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 19, 20, and 23 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument that prior art of record Zieneddine et al. (US 2023/0171623), hereinafter Zieneddine does not teach the newly added claimed subject matter “Receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource associated with the first single transmission hypothesis, the second interference measurement resource associated with the second single transmission hypothesis, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis” is not persuasive.
Prior art of record Zieneddine teaches: “In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zieneddine ¶ 0146) and “In some embodiments, there may be a hypothesis reduction. Such embodiments may facilitate improving the efficiency of CSI reporting by using CQI information to reduce a size of the aggregation of CSI reports resulting from multi-TRP transmission. . . . due to other considerations on the network side, it may not be in the network's favor that a UE solely selects a best hypothesis. For instance, one approach that may reduce an overall CSI feedback overhead is that a UE only reports CSI feedback related to a subset of the hypotheses. For example, assume that a UE may only report CSI feedback related to single transmission with TRP 1, or joint transmission between TRP 1, 2 or joint transmission between TRP 2, 3 (e.g., a total of 3 hypotheses)” (Zieneddine ¶ 0127), which shows an indication to use the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both for a joint transmission hypothesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10-14, 19-21, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al (US 2020/0153581), hereinafter Tsai, in further view of Zeineddine et al. (US 2023/0171623), hereinafter Zeineddine and Gao et al. (US 2022/0094399), hereinafter Gao.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource; wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both; receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource associated with the first single transmission hypothesis, the second interference measurement resource associated with the second single transmission hypothesis, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis; obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource; wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis; and transmitting the channel state information report based at least in part on the interference measurement.
Regarding Claim 1, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both: “Report 1 is computed under the following hypothesis: Report 1 is computed under the hypothesis H.sub.1: single DCI single PDSCH transmission with TCI codepoint having single TCI state Q.sub.1. With enable_depend_reporting=True, the UE computes reports 2, . . . , N under the hypothesis. Report i (i=2, . . . , N) is computed under the hypothesis H.sub.i” (Zieneddine ¶ 0139); receiving an indication to use the first interference measurement resource associated with the first single transmission hypothesis, the second interference measurement resource associated with the second single transmission hypothesis, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zieneddine ¶ 0146) and “In some embodiments, there may be a hypothesis reduction. Such embodiments may facilitate improving the efficiency of CSI reporting by using CQI information to reduce a size of the aggregation of CSI reports resulting from multi-TRP transmission. . . . due to other considerations on the network side, it may not be in the network's favor that a UE solely selects a best hypothesis. For instance, one approach that may reduce an overall CSI feedback overhead is that a UE only reports CSI feedback related to a subset of the hypotheses. For example, assume that a UE may only report CSI feedback related to single transmission with TRP 1, or joint transmission between TRP 1, 2 or joint transmission between TRP 2, 3 (e.g., a total of 3 hypotheses)” (Zieneddine ¶ 0127); obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis: “In certain embodiments, a UE first computes CSI report 1 under the following transmission hypothesis: single TRP transmission from the TRP with TCI state Q.sub.1 QCLed with the reference signals for the physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) carrying DCI format 0_1. Afterwards, the UE computes the rest of the NCJT transmission hypothesis for TCI codepoints (Q1, Qi, i=2, . . . , N) under varying assumptions of dependency on (r.sub.1, P.sub.1, CQI.sub.1) . In various embodiments, Report 1 (e.g., single TRP Transmission hypothesis) may have the highest priority, followed by reports with decreasing order of spectral efficiency performance possibly overriding another priority ordering” (Zieneddine ¶ 0144); and transmitting the channel state information report: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) based at least in part on the interference measurement: “The channel state information report configuration information includes: information indicating one or more channel state information reference signal resource configurations associated with one or more channel state information reference signal resource sets for channel measurements, interference measurements, or a combination thereof” (Zeineddine ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Zeineddine does not teach: wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both; wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 1, Gao teaches: the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both, the examiner would point to “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k)” (Gao ¶ 0229). This shows Gao teaches the above claim limitation, as each interference measurement (CSI report) is associated with at least a single transmission hypothesis. Gao also teaches the newly added claim limitations of: the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis: “A single CSI report setting is configured for both single TRP transmission and NC-JT transmission hypotheses. For the case of three TRPs configured for the WD, the single TRP transmission hypothesis comprises three single TRP transmissions each from one of the three TRPs, and the NC JT transmission hypothesis comprises three NC-JT transmissions each from one pair of TRPs of the three TRPs” (Gao ¶ 0120). The single TRP transmission hypotheses are shown here as distinct from the NC JT (joint transmission) hypothesis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai and Zeineddine: The method of claim 1.
Tsai does not teach: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis, wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination.
Regarding Claim 3, Gao teaches: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report comprises K single TRP CSIs each associated with one of the K NZP CSI-RS resources and if a certain condition is met, one or more CSIs for NC-JT. In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report further comprises an indicator to indicate whether NC-JT CSI is present in the report” (Gao ¶ 0204), wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination: “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k). The WD 22 may then compare the rank of each single TRP CSI with the rank threshold, R.sub.th, which may be either configured by RRC signaling to the WD 22 or predefined, e.g., in standard specifications. If the rank of any of the K single TRP CSIs exceeds the rank threshold R.sub.th, a decision is made e.g., by the WD 22, that NC-JT CSI is not reported but the CSI for one or more single TRP transmission hypothesis are reported” (Gao ¶ 0229-0230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCI state corresponds to a second receive beam, the method further comprising: determining that the UE does not support simultaneous multi-beam reception: “in some scenarios, the group-based beam reporting procedure is not enabled/available. In other scenarios, the report is associated with CSI-RS resources not the same as those resources associated with the group-based report. In some cases, the UE is aware to measure more than one NZP-CSIRS resources but does not know which TCI-state it should follow. In this case, network needs further indication for TCI assumption” (Tsai ¶ 0033); using the first receive beam for the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination; and using the second receive beam for the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCJ state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: determining that the UE supports simultaneous multi-beam reception: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030); and using the first and the second receive beams for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 10, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining an order for the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource, wherein the first and the second receive beams are used for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the order: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039), where the order the first and second receive beams are used would be in order used for the TDM partition.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 8, further comprising determining a relationship between an identifier of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) for the first channel measurement resource and an identifier of a CSI-RS for the second channel measurement resource: “For example, TCI-state-id=1 is further linked to the CMR/IMR for CSI acquisition transmitted by TRP #1, and TCI-state-id=2 is further linked to the CMR/IMR for CSI acquisition transmitted by TRP #2. The UE obtains Rx spatial filter information for CSI acquisition by looking up which Rx spatial filter is suitable to receive the NZP-CSIRS resource or SSB for beam management linked to the TCI-state-id . . . For example, CSI considering inter-stream interference is needed for NCJT. At step 231, UE 203 is configured with NCJT. At step 232, UE 203 determines Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from gNB 201 and gNB 202. In one embodiment, the UE determines the Rx spatial filters based on group-based beam reporting. In another embodiment, the Rx spatial filters are determined by the network. In one embodiment, the network signals the UE of the Rx spatial filters by TCI-state indication. Upon determining the Rx spatial filters, at step 233, UE 203 performs CSI reporting based the determined Rx spatial filters” (Tsai ¶ 0030-0031), wherein the first and the second receive beams are used for the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the relationship: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the second channel measurement resource is to refrain from transmitting during the first interference measurement resource: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039) wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state corresponds to a first receive beam and the second TCI state corresponds to a second receive beam: “when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs. In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE” (Tsai ¶ 0030), the method further comprising: using the first and the second receive beams for the first interference measurement resource: “In one novel aspect, when the UE performs a NCJT, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters to simultaneously receive CMR/IMR from two TRPs” (Tsai ¶ 0030); and using the first and the second receive beams for the second interference measurement resource: “In one embodiment, the UE determines one or more than one Rx spatial filters based on a group-based beam reporting procedure performed by the UE. In another embodiment, the UE based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network based on signal indication for transmission configuration indication (TCI)-state received from the wireless network” (Tsai ¶ 0030).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsai and Gao teach: The method of claim 1.
Tsai and Gao do not teach: the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource, the method further comprising: receiving an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis; and obtaining an interference measurement using the third interference measurement resource for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 14, Zeineddine teaches: the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource or the second interference measurement resource, the method further comprising: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai and Gao with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Zeineddine does not teach: receiving an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis; and obtaining an interference measurement using the third interference measurement resource for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 14, Gao teaches: receiving an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis: “Assuming CSI feedback for K TRPs is desired, the WD 22 may be higher-layer configured with K NZP CSI-RS resources, {NZP CSI-RS #1, NZP CSI-RS #2, . . . , NZP CSI-RS #K}, for channel measurement and K CSI-IM resources, {CSI-IM #1, CSI-IM #2, . . . , CSI-IM #K}, for interference measurement which are associated with a single CSI report setting, where resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k} is associated with the k:th TRP” (Gao ¶ 0216); and obtaining an interference measurement using the third interference measurement resource for the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis: “The methods of (1) to (6), wherein the CSI for multi-TRP transmission hypotheses comprises one or more of a RI, a PMI, and a CQI associated with each of the K NZP CSI-RS resources” (Gao ¶ 0317).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 19, Tsai teaches: A method for wireless communication, comprising: indicating a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource configured for measuring channel state information reference signals: “A CSI circuit/module 193 acquires CSI information according to a report setting and based on the determined RX spatial filter to measure at least two channel measurement resources (CMRs) and at least one interference measurement resource (IMR), wherein at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0029), the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state: “The UE configures a PDCCH associated with a search space, which is associated with a control resource set (CORSET) comprising multiple control channel elements (CCEs), partitions the CORESET into multiple CCE groups each associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, wherein each TCI-state corresponds to a reference signal transmitted by a source transmission point (TRP)” (Tsai ¶ 0006).
Tsai does not teach: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource; wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both; indicating that a user equipment (UE) is to use the first interference measurement resource associated with the first single transmission hypothesis, the second interference measurement resource associated with the second single transmission hypothesis, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis; obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource; wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis; and transmitting the channel state information report based at least in part on the interference measurement.
Regarding Claim 19, Zeineddine teaches: receiving an indication of a first interference measurement resource and a second interference measurement resource, the first interference measurement resource associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource associated with the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with a first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with a second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both: “Report 1 is computed under the following hypothesis: Report 1 is computed under the hypothesis H.sub.1: single DCI single PDSCH transmission with TCI codepoint having single TCI state Q.sub.1. With enable_depend_reporting=True, the UE computes reports 2, . . . , N under the hypothesis. Report i (i=2, . . . , N) is computed under the hypothesis H.sub.i” (Zieneddine ¶ 0139); indicating that a user equipment (UE) is to use the first interference measurement resource associated with the first single transmission hypothesis, the second interference measurement resource associated with the second single transmission hypothesis, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zieneddine ¶ 0146) and “In some embodiments, there may be a hypothesis reduction. Such embodiments may facilitate improving the efficiency of CSI reporting by using CQI information to reduce a size of the aggregation of CSI reports resulting from multi-TRP transmission. . . . due to other considerations on the network side, it may not be in the network's favor that a UE solely selects a best hypothesis. For instance, one approach that may reduce an overall CSI feedback overhead is that a UE only reports CSI feedback related to a subset of the hypotheses. For example, assume that a UE may only report CSI feedback related to single transmission with TRP 1, or joint transmission between TRP 1, 2 or joint transmission between TRP 2, 3 (e.g., a total of 3 hypotheses)” (Zieneddine ¶ 0127); obtaining an interference measurement using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, for a channel state information report for a joint transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource: “For joint transmission CSI report, sub-CSI-report, and/or a CSI component involving TRPs i and j, channel measurements may be based on CMR for TRP i and j, with interference based on the associated CSI-IM, and/or NZP CSI-RS IMR associated with the TRP i and j. In certain embodiments, a channel CMR of other TRPs (e.g., not including TRP i and j) may be included as additional inter-layer interference. In some embodiments, a number of TRPs for which CSI reports are performed may correspond to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources in a channel measurement CSI resource set. In various embodiments, a number of TRPs in joint transmission hypothesis may be limited to 2” (Zeineddine ¶ 0146); wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis: “In certain embodiments, a UE first computes CSI report 1 under the following transmission hypothesis: single TRP transmission from the TRP with TCI state Q.sub.1 QCLed with the reference signals for the physical downlink control channel (“PDCCH”) carrying DCI format 0_1. Afterwards, the UE computes the rest of the NCJT transmission hypothesis for TCI codepoints (Q1, Qi, i=2, . . . , N) under varying assumptions of dependency on (r.sub.1, P.sub.1, CQI.sub.1) . In various embodiments, Report 1 (e.g., single TRP Transmission hypothesis) may have the highest priority, followed by reports with decreasing order of spectral efficiency performance possibly overriding another priority ordering” (Zieneddine ¶ 0144); and transmitting the channel state information report: “In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes reporting 1006 the set of channel state information reports to the network” (Zeineddine ¶ 0167) based at least in part on the interference measurement: “The channel state information report configuration information includes: information indicating one or more channel state information reference signal resource configurations associated with one or more channel state information reference signal resource sets for channel measurements, interference measurements, or a combination thereof” (Zeineddine ¶ 0004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Zeineddine for the purpose of improving spectral efficiency. According to Zeineddine: “In some embodiments, multiple-input multiple-output (“MIMO”) enhancements in NR may include multi-TRP and multi-panel transmissions. In such embodiments, multi-TRP transmission may improve spectral efficiency, reliability, and/or robustness of a connection, and may be used for both ideal and nonideal backhaul” (Zeineddine ¶ 0058).
Zeineddine does not teach: wherein the first interference measurement resource is associated with the first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with the second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both; wherein the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis.
Regarding Claim 19, Gao teaches: the first interference measurement resource is associated with the first single transmission hypothesis for the first transmission configuration indicator state, the second interference measurement resource is associated with the second single transmission hypothesis for the second transmission configuration indicator state, or both, the examiner would point to “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k)” (Gao ¶ 0229). This shows Gao teaches the above claim limitation, as each interference measurement (CSI report) is associated with at least a single transmission hypothesis. Gao also teaches the newly added claim limitations of: the joint transmission hypothesis is different from the first single transmission hypothesis and the second single transmission hypothesis: “A single CSI report setting is configured for both single TRP transmission and NC-JT transmission hypotheses. For the case of three TRPs configured for the WD, the single TRP transmission hypothesis comprises three single TRP transmissions each from one of the three TRPs, and the NC JT transmission hypothesis comprises three NC-JT transmissions each from one pair of TRPs of the three TRPs” (Gao ¶ 0120). The single TRP transmission hypotheses are shown here as distinct from the NC JT (joint transmission) hypothesis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 21, Tsai and Zeineddine: The method of claim 19.
Tsai does not teach: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis, wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination.
Regarding Claim 21, Gao teaches: determining that no interference measurement resource is configured for the joint transmission hypothesis: “In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report comprises K single TRP CSIs each associated with one of the K NZP CSI-RS resources and if a certain condition is met, one or more CSIs for NC-JT. In some embodiments, the CSI feedback report further comprises an indicator to indicate whether NC-JT CSI is present in the report” (Gao ¶ 0204), wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource, the second interference measurement resource, or both, based at least in part on the determination: “In some embodiments, the WD 22 first measures and estimates the single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI based on each CSI resource pair individually. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is determined based on the resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}. This results in K CSIs, each corresponding to a single TRP transmission hypotheses, {CSI #1, CSI #2, . . . , CSI #K}. Each CSI may include a RI, a PMI and one or two CQI, i.e. CSI #k=(RI #k, PMI #k, CQI #k). The WD 22 may then compare the rank of each single TRP CSI with the rank threshold, R.sub.th, which may be either configured by RRC signaling to the WD 22 or predefined, e.g., in standard specifications. If the rank of any of the K single TRP CSIs exceeds the rank threshold R.sub.th, a decision is made e.g., by the WD 22, that NC-JT CSI is not reported but the CSI for one or more single TRP transmission hypothesis are reported” (Gao ¶ 0229-0230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 23, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 19, further comprising: determining that a transmission reception point (TRP) associated with the second channel measurement resource is to refrain from transmitting during the first interference measurement resource: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols. For PDCCH demodulation, different QCL assumptions are taken for different CCEs/symbols associated with different TRPs. In shared demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH, for a particular TRP, DMRS RE(s) is transmitted only within PRBs belonging to the particular TRP” (Tsai ¶ 0039) wherein the interference measurement is obtained using the first interference measurement resource based at least in part on the determination: “At FR2, it is possible a UE cannot receive signals from two TRPs simultaneously. The TDM partition works for both FR1 and FR2. In FR2, if a UE is not capable to form more than one Rx beams simultaneously, such as, the UE has only one panel, the FDM partitioning should be avoided. In the TMD partition, all the PRBs inside the CORESET at one symbol come from one TRP. The associated TRP is allowed to be different at different OFDM symbols” (Tsai ¶ 0039).
Regarding Claim 24, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 19, further comprising: determining that a user equipment (UE) does not support simultaneous multi-beam reception: “in some scenarios, the group-based beam reporting procedure is not enabled/available. In other scenarios, the report is associated with CSI-RS resources not the same as those resources associated with the group-based report. In some cases, the UE is aware to measure more than one NZP-CSIRS resources but does not know which TCI-state it should follow. In this case, network needs further indication for TCI assumption” (Tsai ¶ 0033).
Tsai and Zeineddine do not teach: transmitting an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis based at least in part on the determination, wherein the channel state information report is based at least in part on an interference measurement obtained using the third interference measurement resource.
Regarding Claim 24, Gao teaches: transmitting an indication of a third interference measurement resource configured for the joint transmission hypothesis based at least in part on the determination, wherein the channel state information report is based at least in part on an interference measurement obtained using the third interference measurement resource: “where resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k} is associated with the kth TRP. The WD 22 may first measure single TRP transmission hypothesis CSI for each resource pair. For the kth TRP, CSI #k is measured based on resource pair {NZP CSI-RS #k, CSI-IM #k}” (Gao ¶ 0263).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Zeineddine with Gao for the purpose of enabling dynamic switching between single TRP transmissions and NC-JT with low CSI feedback overhead. According to Gao: “Some embodiments advantageously provide methods and apparatuses for CSI feedback that allows for dynamic switching between single TRP transmission and NC-JT or URLLC with a low CSI feedback overhead” (Gao ¶ 0068).
Regarding Claim 25, Tsai teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein the first interference measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource are indicated in a channel state information report configuration message: “a base station may send to a UE 115 a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to one or more resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, the CSI report configuration may be linked to a single resource setting (e.g., a resource setting for CMR), to two resource settings (e.g., a resource setting for CMR and a resource setting for CSI-IM or non-zero-power IMR (NZP-IMR)), or to three resource settings (e.g., a resource setting for CMR, a resource setting for CSI-IM, and a resource setting for NZP-IMR). Each resource setting may have multiple resource sets, one of which may be an active resource set that the UE 115 is to use for CSI measurements” (Tsai ¶ 0093).
Claims 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao as applied to claims 5 and 8 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2023/0128138), hereinafter Li.
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao teach: The method of claim 5.
Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao do not teach: the channel state information report comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI), the method further comprising: determining the CQI based at least in part on a sum of interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and interference measured using the second interference measurement resource.
Regarding Claim 6, Li teaches: the channel state information report comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI), the method further comprising: determining the CQI based at least in part on a sum of interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and interference measured using the second interference measurement resource: “the interference measurement part of the CQI of the first codeword is determined based on measurement results of K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources other than the K.sub.2 CSI-RS resources in the K.sub.1 CSI-RS resources, where K.sub.4 is less than or equal to a difference between K.sub.1 and K.sub.2, the interference measurement part is determined based on summation of interference information measured on the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources, and interference information measured on a j.sup.th CSI-RS resource in the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources is determined based on an interference measurement result of the j.sup.th CSI-RS resource, where j=1, 2, . . . , K.sub.4” (Li ¶ 0246).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao with Li for the purpose of improving data transmission performance. According to Li: “The embodiments may provide a communication method and a communications apparatus, to help accurately report a CQI in a joint transmission mechanism, such as a CQI in a CJT mechanism, and improve data transmission performance” (Li ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao teach: The method of claim 5.
Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao do not teach: determining a first metric based at least in part on interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and signal measured using the first channel measurement resource; determining a second metric based at least in part on interference measured using the second interference measurement resource and signal measured using the second channel measurement resource; and including, in the channel state information report, a channel quality indicator (CQI) that is based at least in part on the first metric and the second metric.
Regarding Claim 7, Li teaches: determining a first metric based at least in part on interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and signal measured using the first channel measurement resource: “the interference measurement part of the CQI of the first codeword is determined based on measurement results of K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources other than the K.sub.2 CSI-RS resources in the K.sub.1 CSI-RS resources, where K.sub.4 is less than or equal to a difference between K.sub.1 and K.sub.2” (Li ¶ 0246); determining a second metric based at least in part on interference measured using the second interference measurement resource and signal measured using the second channel measurement resource: “the interference measurement part is determined based on summation of interference information measured on the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources, and interference information measured on a j.sup.th CSI-RS resource in the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources is determined based on an interference measurement result of the j.sup.th CSI-RS resource, where j=1, 2, . . . , K.sub.4” (Li ¶ 0246); and including, in the channel state information report, a channel quality indicator (CQI) that is based at least in part on the first metric and the second metric: “the network device receives the CSI, where the CSI includes a channel quality indicator CQI of a first codeword, a channel measurement part used to calculate the CQI of the first codeword is determined based on channel measurement results of K.sub.2 CSI-RS resources” (Li abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao with Li for the purpose of improving data transmission performance. According to Li: “The embodiments may provide a communication method and a communications apparatus, to help accurately report a CQI in a joint transmission mechanism, such as a CQI in a CJT mechanism, and improve data transmission performance” (Li ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao teach: The method of claim 8.
Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao do not teach: the channel state information report comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI), the method further comprising: determining the CQI based at least in part on interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and interference measured using the second interference measurement resource.
Regarding Claim 9, Li teaches: the channel state information report comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI) : “the network device receives the CSI, where the CSI includes a channel quality indicator CQI of a first codeword, a channel measurement part used to calculate the CQI of the first codeword is determined based on channel measurement results of K.sub.2 CSI-RS resources” (Li abstract), the method further comprising: determining the CQI based at least in part on interference measured using the first interference measurement resource and interference measured using the second interference measurement resource: “in some implementations of the first aspect, the interference measurement part of the CQI of the first codeword is determined based on measurement results of K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources other than the K.sub.2 CSI-RS resources in the K.sub.1 CSI-RS resources, where K.sub.4 is less than or equal to a difference between K.sub.1 and K.sub.2, the interference measurement part is determined based on summation of interference information measured on the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources, and interference information measured on a j.sup.th CSI-RS resource in the K.sub.4 CSI-RS resources is determined based on an interference measurement result of the j.sup.th CSI-RS resource” (Li ¶ 0246).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Zeineddine, and Gao with Li for the purpose of improving data transmission performance. According to Li: “The embodiments may provide a communication method and a communications apparatus, to help accurately report a CQI in a joint transmission mechanism, such as a CQI in a CJT mechanism, and improve data transmission performance” (Li ¶ 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the newly added claimed subject matter of the third interference measurement resource and the fourth interference measurement resource are different from the first interference measurement resource and the second interference measurement resource based at least in part on the user equipment (UE) not supporting simultaneous multi-beam reception within independent claims 15 and 26 has been fully considered and the concept has been searched under the broadest reasonable interpretation. No applicable prior art has been discovered.
Thus, claims 15-16, 18, 26, and 28-29 are allowed.
Conclusion
/B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473