DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on 6/9/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/18/2023, 12/04/2024, and 5/8/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/CN2021/084355 filed on 3/31/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-30 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 3/17/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 9, 12, 19, 20, 25, and 28 have been amended with Claims 1, 9, 19, and 25 being independent, and Claims 3 and 21 cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-20, and 22-30 remain pending for examination.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to the abstract received on 6/9/2026 in order to overcome objections in prior Office Action. These amendments are acceptable and objections listed in previous Office Action to the abstract have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 11-18, filed 6/9/2026, with respect to Claim(s) 1-2, 4-20, and 21-30 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “identifying, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Here, Kim et al. (US 20230254023 A1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Hindy et al. (US 20220140981 A1; hereinafter Hindy) was relied upon to disclose previously presented dependent claim 3 and 21 which have been incorporated into independent Claims 1 and 19, respectively. As provided in the previous office action Kim discloses in ¶286:
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
Further clarifying information can be seen in Kim ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶384-394, and Table 9:
[0322] and, when the terminal is set with a higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication included in the CSI-ReportConfig, r ports are indicated in the layer order for rank r, and in the CSI resource setting, each CSI-RS resource may be linked to the CSI-ReportConfig based on the order of the associated NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceId of the CSI resource setting linked for channel measurement provided by resourcesForChannelMeasurement that is a higher layer parameter. The configured higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication may include a sequence of port indexes p.sub.0.sup.(1), p.sub.0.sup.(2), p.sub.1.sup.(2), p.sub.0.sup.(3), p.sub.1.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), . . . , p.sub.0.sup.(R), p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.R-1.sup.(R). Here, p.sub.0.sup.(v), . . . , p.sub.v-1.sup.(v) may be CSI-RS port indexes associated with rank v and R∈{1, 2, . . . , P}. P∈{1,2,4,8} may be the number of ports of the CSI-RS resource. The UE may have to report only the RI corresponding to the set field of PortIndexFor8Ranks.
[0337] Non-PMI-PortIndication may be used for setting a port index to be applied to the CSI calculation by the UE for each RI value that may be defined within the number of ports set in the NZP CSI-RS resource. Assuming Option 1 above, non-PMI-PortIndication may be set for each NZP CSI-RS resource (for CM) in the current standard, and in this case, when MTRP CSI may be calculated/obtained/reported based on the CMR combination, a (separate) setting/indication that may function as the above parameter is required for the CMR combination. Table 9 shows the definition of non-PMI-PortIndication defined in the current standard.
[0338] For example, non-PMI-PortIndication may be a port indication for RI/CQI calculation. non-PMI-PortIndication may be a port indication for each rank R indicating the R port to be used for each CSI-RS resource of the ResourceConfig linked for channel measurement. And/or, non-PMI-PortIndication may be applicable only to non-PMI feedback (e.g., see 3GPP TS 38.214, Section 5.2.1.4.2).
[0339] For example, a first entry of non-PMI-PortIndication may correspond to the NZP-CSI-RS-Resource indicated by a first entry in nzp-CSI-RS-Resources of NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet indicated by the first entry of nzp-CSI-RS-ResourceSetList. Here, CSI-ResourceConfigId may be indicated in CSI-MeasId together with the above CSI-ReportConfigId.
[0384] The ‘CMR group’ may be explicitly/implicitly configured/indicated to the UE based on L1/L2 signaling, and/or a CMR group may be defined based on a fixed rule.
[0385] An example of an explicit setting is as follows.
[0386] For each CMR, a parameter (e.g., CDM group index) for setting the CMR group may be set. For example, when CMR0/1/2/3 is set in Reporting setting #1, a specific CDM group index may be set for each CMR. When set to CMR0(index0), CMR1(index0), CMR(index1), and CMR(index1), specific CMR may be reported for CMR(s) (e.g., CMR0/1 for index( ) and CMR2/3 for index1) of the same index.
[0387] An example of an implicit setting is as follows.
[0388] CMR with port index setting for Rank1 (i.e., RI=1) (i.e., port index setting for rank1 in non-PMI-PortIndication) and CMR without port index setting for rank1 may be defined as different CMR groups. or example, if CMR0/1/2/3 is set in Reporting setting #1 and there is a port index setting for rank1 in CMR0/1 and there is no port index setting for rank1 in CMR2/3, CMR0/1 and CMR2/3 may be defined as different CMR groups and specific CMRs may be reported within the same CMR group. In the case of MTRP CSI, since CSI calculation/obtaining/reporting for rank1 may not be required, a CMR group for STRP CSI and a CMR group for MTRP CSI may be defined separately based on the above rule.
[0389] And/or, CMR with non-PMI-PortIndication configuration (for port index configuration for each RI) and CMR without non-PMI-PortIndication configuration may be defined as different CMR groups. For example, if CMR0/1/2/3 is set in Reporting setting #1 and there is non-PMI-PortIndication setting in CMR0/1 and there is no non-PMI-PortIndication setting in CMR2/3, CMR0/1 and CMR2/3 may be defined as different CMR groups and specific CMRs may be reported within the same CMR group.
[0390] Considering that non-PMI-PortIndication may be used to set the priority for each port differently for each terminal while simultaneously transmitting CSI-RS to which the same precoding is applied to multiple terminals, the non-PMI-PortIndication setting may be interpreted as considering the MU environment. Meanwhile, since the SU environment will be mainly considered in the MTRP transmission environment, there may not be a non-PMI-PortIndication configuration for the CMR corresponding to the MTRP CSI. Accordingly, a CMR group for STRP CSI and a CMR group for MTRP CSI may be defined based on the above rule, respectively.
[0391] And/or, different CMR groups may be defined based on the number of QCL reference RSs set/indicated/defined in CMR. For example, (in the case of excluding QCL-TypeD) CMR(s) in which a single QCL reference RS is configured may be defined as one CMR group, and CMR(s) in which a plurality of QCL reference RSs are configured may be defined as another CMR group. And/or, when including QCL-TypeD, CMR(s) in which two or less QCL reference RSs are configured may be defined as one CMR group, and CMR(s) in which three or more QCL reference RSs are configured may be defined as another CMR group. The above example may be an example, and it is obvious that different values may be applied to the number of QCL reference RSs serving as a reference to distinguish between different CMR groups.
[0392] In the above proposed method, it is assumed that CMR corresponding to STRP CSI or CMR corresponding to MTRP CSI is determined in units of CMR, and a method of determining STRP CSI and/or MTRP CSI in units of ports (groups) within a single CMR may be applied. For example, for N ports configured in a specific CMR, N_1 ports may be defined as ports for STRP CSI, and N_2 ports may be defined as ports for MTRP CSI. (At this time, it may be defined to satisfy N=N_1+N_2.) The ‘port group’ may be explicitly/implicitly set/instructed to the UE based on L1/L2 signaling, and/or defined based on a fixed rule.
Further, as provided in previous office action, Hindy discloses:
[0130] FIG. 10 is a flow chart diagram illustrating one embodiment of a method 1000 for channel state information report configuration. In some embodiments, the method 1000 is performed by an apparatus, such as the remote unit 102. In certain embodiments, the method 1000 may be performed by a processor executing program code, for example, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a CPU, a GPU, an auxiliary processing unit, a FPGA, or the like.
[0131] In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes receiving 1002 at least one channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information reporting setting includes at least one channel state information reference signal resource setting, and the channel state information reporting setting includes an indication of channel state information feedback reporting for multiple transmission points in a mobile communication network. In some embodiments, the method 1000 includes identifying 1004 a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information reporting setting. The hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point, or multi-point joint transmission from two transmission and reception points. In certain embodiments, the method 1000 includes receiving 1006 at least one channel state information reference signal resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the channel state information reference signal resource setting. In various embodiments, the method 1000 includes generating 1008 a set of at least one channel state information report based on the channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information report includes at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator, a rank indicator, a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, a layer indicator, a channel quality indicator, a synchronization signal block resource indicator, or a combination thereof, each value of the at least one value is associated with a one transmission hypothesis from the set of transmission hypotheses, and channel state information fields in a set of channel state information fields of the at least one channel state information report are: mapped to at least one channel state information subreport within the at least one channel state information report, and each channel state information subreport of the at least one channel state information subreport is mapped with a defined order; mapped in the at least one channel state information report using a priority function that provides a mapping order to each channel state information field of the set of the channel state information fields; or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the method 1000 includes feeding 1010 back the set of the at least one channel state information report to the mobile communication network.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “identifying…an ordering…based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypothesis and based at least in part on channel measurement resource groups,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Here, Kim in view of Hindy was relied upon to disclose previously presented dependent claim 12 which has been incorporated in part in independent claims 9 and 25 . As provided in the previous office action Kim discloses in ¶276-291 and ¶362
[0275] When the UE reports multi-TRP CSI (MTRP CSI) to a base station (BS), a configuration for a report value may be defined as follows. For example, whether the report value is configured as Option 1 (e.g., Model) or as Option 2 (e.g., Mode2) may be set/indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., csi-ReportMode).
[0276] (1) Option 1: Both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI
[0277] For example, in the case of Option 1, the report value may include both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI. Option 1 may increase a scheduling freedom of the base station, but a feedback overhead increases.
[0278] (2) Option 2: Either MTRP CSI or STRP CSI
[0279] For example, in the case of Option 2, the report value may include MTRP CSI or STRP CSI. Option 2 may reduce feedback overhead, but since the UE may report only preferred CSI, the base station cannot know CSI for the other hypothesis. In addition, in the case of Option 2, feedback overhead may be variable.
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
[0289] Described as ‘hypothesis’ in the present disclosure may be for convenience of description. And/or, one CSI hypothesis may refer to a unit in which the UE assumes CMR and IMR for CSI calculation. For example, a single TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a combination of a specific CMR/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). And/or, one multi-TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a specific CMR combination/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a combination of specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). For example, in the present disclosure, the (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis or CMR combination may be referred to as a resource pair. And/or, in the present disclosure, a (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis including two CMRs or a combination of two CMRs may be referred to as a resource pair. For example, a CSI hypothesis including the first CMR and the second CMR or a combination of the first CMR and the second CMR may be referred to as a resource pair.
[0362] In the above example, in order to set a port index for each RI with respect to a CMR combination, a rule for port indexing for a CMR combination may be defined for ports in different CMRs of a specific CMR combination. For example, port indexing may be performed based on a specific order (e.g., ascending/descending order, etc.) from a port within a specific CMR (e.g., CMR of lowest/highest/first/last index, etc.). For example, for {CMR0, CMR1}, if 4 ports are configured in each CMR, (the total number of ports in CMR0)+4 may be applied to ports included in ports 0, 1, 2, 3, from port included in CMR0 to define 4, 5, 6, and 7.
Further clarifying information can be seen in Kim ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶384-394; Fig. 11; and Table 6 and 9:
[0300] Based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in a specific reporting setting, combinations (or MTRP CSI hypothesis) including multiple CMRs may be configured for the UE. For each CMR combination, the CSI-IM may be configured to have a one-to-one mapping relationship for each combination. For example, the reporting setting may be the CSI-ReportConfig IE of Table 6.
[0301] As an (implicit) method for configuring the ‘MTRP CSI hypothesis’, the following method may be applied. For a specific NZP CSI-RS resource set (for CM/IM) set in the ‘specific reporting setting’, the MTRP CSI hypothesis may be defined based on different resources or a resource set transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot among NZP CSI-RS resources in the resource set. For example, the first CMR and the second CMR are configured in the same slot, and the UE may calculate/report CSI based on the first CMR and the second CMR.
[0302] FIG. 11 shows an example of defining the MTRP CSI hypothesis based on different combinations of resources transmitted in the same symbol(s) and/or the same slot. For example, in (a)/(b) of FIG. 11, CMR0/CMR1/CMR2/CMR3 may each be set/included/configured as CDM group 0 and CDM group 1.
[0303] In the example of (a) of FIG. 11, the combination of CMR0/1 and CMR2/3 transmitted in the same symbol(s) may constitute the MTRP CSI hypothesis, respectively. For example, CMR0/1 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 0 and CMR2/3 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 1 may be configured.
[0304] In the example of (b) of FIG. 11, a combination of CMR0/2 and CMR1/3 transmitted in the same slot may constitute each MTRP CSI hypothesis. For example, CMR0/2 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 0 and CMR1/3 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 1 may be configured.
[0305] If n CMRs are transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot and the number of CMRs of the CMR combination constituting a single MTRP CSI hypothesis is m at most, nC2+nC3 . . . +nCm MTRP CSI hypothesis may be performed for symbol(s)/slot where n CMRs are transmitted.
[0321] In the current standard, when the UE is set to CSI-ReportConfig with a higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’,
[0322] and, when the terminal is set with a higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication included in the CSI-ReportConfig, r ports are indicated in the layer order for rank r, and in the CSI resource setting, each CSI-RS resource may be linked to the CSI-ReportConfig based on the order of the associated NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceId of the CSI resource setting linked for channel measurement provided by resourcesForChannelMeasurement that is a higher layer parameter. The configured higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication may include a sequence of port indexes p.sub.0.sup.(1), p.sub.0.sup.(2), p.sub.1.sup.(2), p.sub.0.sup.(3), p.sub.1.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), . . . , p.sub.0.sup.(R), p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.R-1.sup.(R). Here, p.sub.0.sup.(v), . . . , p.sub.v-1.sup.(v) may be CSI-RS port indexes associated with rank v and R∈{1, 2, . . . , P}. P∈{1,2,4,8} may be the number of ports of the CSI-RS resource. The UE may have to report only the RI corresponding to the set field of PortIndexFor8Ranks.
[0342] A port combination for each RI that may be preferred when calculating/obtaining/reporting STRP CSI for a single CMR and a port combination for each RI that may be preferred when calculating/acquiring/reporting MTRP CSI for a CMR combination may be different. For example, when calculating MTRP CSI, inter-CMR (or inter-TRP) interference may occur between different CMRs. Such interference may affect port combinations for each RI. Therefore, when calculation/obtaining/reporting of MTRP CSI is performed for a CMR combination, a method for setting/indicating a port combination for each RI is required.
[0343] And/or, assuming the above Option 2, when reporting both STRP CSI and MTRP CSI preferred from the UE's point of view, it is necessary to distinguish between the CMR corresponding to the STRP CSI and the CMR corresponding to the MTRP CSI. For example, as in the example of FIG. 13, when CMR0/1 is configured for STRP CSI purpose and CMR2 is configured for MTRP CSI purpose in the UE, one CMR among CMR0/1 may be reported for STRP CSI purpose, and CMR2 may be reported for MTRP CSI purposes. To this end, CMR0/1 and CMR2 need to be distinguished as different candidate groups from the viewpoint of the UE. Therefore, there is a need for a method for the UE to distinguish between the CMR corresponding to the STRP CSI and the CMR corresponding to the MTRP CSI.
[0344] Hereinafter, the present disclosure proposes a method for setting/instructing a port combination for each RI when performing MTRP CSI calculation/obtaining/reporting for a CMR combination and a method for the UE to distinguish CMR corresponding to STRP CSI and CMR corresponding to MTRP CSI based on the aforementioned reason and purpose.
Further, as provided in previous office action, Hindy discloses:
[0070] In a first embodiment of the second set of embodiments, CSI corresponding to one or more transmission hypotheses may be reported within a single CSI report, wherein a CSI report may include: 1) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis; 2) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and one single-TRP transmission hypothesis; 3) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses; and/or 4) CSI corresponding to a best one transmission hypothesis from a set of one NCJT hypothesis and one or more single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0071] In a second embodiment of the second set of embodiments, a CSI report including CSI corresponding to at least one NCJT hypothesis is decomposed into one or more CSI sub-reports, partitions, fragments, or segments, wherein each CSI sub-report, partition, fragment, or segment, may represent a transmission hypothesis. In one example, a CSI report corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses includes three CSI sub-reports, wherein a first of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to an NCJT hypothesis, a second of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a first of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses, and a third of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a second of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0074] In a second embodiment of the third set of embodiments, CSI sub-reports in a CSI report are ordered based on the transmission hypothesis. In a first example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis, and then the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses. In a second example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses, and then the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis.
[0084] In a second embodiment of the fifth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a first of two parts of a CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission with sub-band PMI format or sub-band CQI format are mapped with respect to the transmission hypothesis. In a first example, a CSI report comprising three sub-reports has the CSI Part 1 of the CSI report mapped in the order of CSI Part 1 of the first of the three CSI sub-reports, CSI Part 1 of the second of the three CSI sub-reports, and CSI Part 1 of the third of the three CSI sub-reports. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 5.
[0137] In various embodiments, a channel state information subreport corresponding to joint transmission comprises two precoder matrix indicator fields, each precoder matrix indicator field of the two precoder matrix indicator fields is decomposed into a first part X.sub.1 and a second part X.sub.2, and the first part X.sub.1 and the second part X.sub.2 of the same precoder matrix indicator are mapped in a consecutive order. In one embodiment, a channel state information subreport of a channel state information report of the at least one channel state information report corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point transmission with a subband precoder matrix indicator format or a subband channel quality indicator format is decomposed into more than one segment.
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230254023 A1; hereinafter Kim) and further in view of Hindy et al. (US 20220140981 A1; hereinafter Hindy).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource in a channel measurement resource set, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state, wherein a channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource is indicated based at least in part on an implicit or an explicit indication [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; ¶321-322; ¶337-340; ¶384-394; Fig. 8-10; Table 6 and 8-9)
[Abstract] The present specification proposes a method for transmitting and receiving CSI in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor. The method performed by a terminal can comprise the steps of: receiving information relating to a CSI-RS resource set, wherein the information relating to the CSI-RS resource set comprises information relating to a resource pair, and the resource pair comprises a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR configured in the same slot as the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS on the basis of the first CMR and second CMR; and transmitting CSI on the basis of the at least one CSI-RS.
[0010] The present disclosure proposes a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system. The method performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving information on CSI-reference signal (RS) resource set, the information on the CSI-RS resource set including information on a resource pair, the resource pair including a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR set in the same slot as that of the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS based on the first CMR and the second CMR; and transmitting the CSI based on the at least one CSI-RS.
[0011] In the method of the present disclosure, the resource pair is a resource unit for calculating the CSI.
[0012] Also, in the method of the present disclosure, the at least one CSI-RS may include a CSI-RS received in the first CMR from a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a CSI-RS received in the second CMR from a second TRP.
[0155] FIG. 8 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a CSI-related procedure.
[0156] Referring to FIG. 8, to perform one of the above purposes of a CSI-RS, a terminal (e.g., a UE) receives CSI related configuration information from a base station (e.g., a general node B (gNB)) through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling(S110).
[0157] The CSI-related configuration information may include at least one of CSI interference management (IM) resource-related information, CSI measurement configuration-related information, CSI resource configuration-related information, CSI-RS resource-related information, or CSI reporting configuration-related information.
[0289] Described as ‘hypothesis’ in the present disclosure may be for convenience of description. And/or, one CSI hypothesis may refer to a unit in which the UE assumes CMR and IMR for CSI calculation. For example, a single TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a combination of a specific CMR/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). And/or, one multi-TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a specific CMR combination/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a combination of specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). For example, in the present disclosure, the (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis or CMR combination may be referred to as a resource pair. And/or, in the present disclosure, a (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis including two CMRs or a combination of two CMRs may be referred to as a resource pair. For example, a CSI hypothesis including the first CMR and the second CMR or a combination of the first CMR and the second CMR may be referred to as a resource pair.
];
determining channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis to be included in a channel state information report, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource; [
(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶150; ¶165-166; ¶216-219; ¶250-251;¶264-291; ¶301-310; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6)
[Abstract] The present specification proposes a method for transmitting and receiving CSI in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor. The method performed by a terminal can comprise the steps of: receiving information relating to a CSI-RS resource set, wherein the information relating to the CSI-RS resource set comprises information relating to a resource pair, and the resource pair comprises a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR configured in the same slot as the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS on the basis of the first CMR and second CMR; and transmitting CSI on the basis of the at least one CSI-RS.
[0010] The present disclosure proposes a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system. The method performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving information on CSI-reference signal (RS) resource set, the information on the CSI-RS resource set including information on a resource pair, the resource pair including a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR set in the same slot as that of the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS based on the first CMR and the second CMR; and transmitting the CSI based on the at least one CSI-RS.
[0011] In the method of the present disclosure, the resource pair is a resource unit for calculating the CSI.
[0012] Also, in the method of the present disclosure, the at least one CSI-RS may include a CSI-RS received in the first CMR from a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a CSI-RS received in the second CMR from a second TRP.
[0150] Meanwhile, the control information which the UE transmits to the eNB through the uplink or the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. The UE may transmit the control information such as the CQI/PMI/RI, etc., via the PUSCH and/or PUCCH.
[0217] For CSI reporting, time and frequency resources available for a UE are controlled by a base station.
[0218] CSI may include at least one of channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), am SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), or L1-RSRP.
[0219] Regarding the CQI, the PMI, the CRI, the SSBRI, the LI, the RI, and the L1-RSRP, the UE may be configured with N≥1 CSI-ReportConfig reporting setting, M≥1 CSI-ResourceConfig resource setting, and a list of one or two trigger states (provided by aperiodicTriggerStateList and semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) by a higher layer. In the aperiodicTriggerStateList, each trigger state includes a channel and a list of associated CSI-ReportConfigs selectively indicative of Resource set IDs for interference. In the semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList, each trigger state includes one associated CSI-ReportConFIG.
[0251] The CoMP (Coordinated Multi Point) technique refers to a method of effectively controlling interference by cooperatively transmitting a terminal by exchanging (using e.g., X2 interface) or utilizing the channel information (e.g., RI/CQI/PMI/LI, etc.) fed back from the terminal. Depending on a method used, it may be divided into joint transmission (JT), coordinated scheduling (CS), coordinated beamforming (CB), DPS (dynamic point selection), and DPB (dynamic point blacking).
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0283] Referring to FIG. 10, it can be seen that IMR0 for an MU situation of TRP #1 and IMR1 for an MU situation of TRP #2 are different from each other.
[0284] Based on the above motivation, IMR based on different NZP (non-zero power) CSI-RS (reference signal) may be set for each CMR, but, in the current standard, when configuring IMR based on NZP CSI-RS, only a single CMR may be sets (in case of not reporting L1-SINR).
[0289] Described as ‘hypothesis’ in the present disclosure may be for convenience of description. And/or, one CSI hypothesis may refer to a unit in which the UE assumes CMR and IMR for CSI calculation. For example, a single TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a combination of a specific CMR/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). And/or, one multi-TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a specific CMR combination/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a combination of specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). For example, in the present disclosure, the (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis or CMR combination may be referred to as a resource pair. And/or, in the present disclosure, a (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis including two CMRs or a combination of two CMRs may be referred to as a resource pair. For example, a CSI hypothesis including the first CMR and the second CMR or a combination of the first CMR and the second CMR may be referred to as a resource pair.
[0301] As an (implicit) method for configuring the ‘MTRP CSI hypothesis’, the following method may be applied. For a specific NZP CSI-RS resource set (for CM/IM) set in the ‘specific reporting setting’, the MTRP CSI hypothesis may be defined based on different resources or a resource set transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot among NZP CSI-RS resources in the resource set. For example, the first CMR and the second CMR are configured in the same slot, and the UE may calculate/report CSI based on the first CMR and the second CMR.
];
identifying, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators [
(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶286; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9)
[0229] A reporting method (e.g., transmitting in order of RI, WB, PMI/CQI, and SB PMI/CQI) by which CSI is divided and reported in a plurality of reporting instances, the method which is applied for PUCCH-based CSI reporting in LTE, is not applied in NR. Instead, NR restricts configuring specific CSI reporting on a short/long PUCCH, and a CSI omission rule is defined. Regarding an AP CSI reporting timing, PUSCH symbol/slot location is dynamically indicated by DCI. In addition, candidate slot offsets are configured by RRC. Regarding CSI reporting, a slot offset(Y) is configured for each reporting setting. Regarding UL-SCH, a slot offset K2 is configured separately.
[0233] The UE may need to calculate CSI parameters (if reported) assuming the following dependencies between CSI parameters (if reported). [0234] LI shall be calculated subject to reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI. [0235] The CQI shall be calculated subject to the reported PMI, RI and CRI. [0236] The PMI shall be calculated subject to the reported RI and CRI. [0237] The RI shall be calculated subject to the reported CRI.
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
[0322] and, when the terminal is set with a higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication included in the CSI-ReportConfig, r ports are indicated in the layer order for rank r, and in the CSI resource setting, each CSI-RS resource may be linked to the CSI-ReportConfig based on the order of the associated NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceId of the CSI resource setting linked for channel measurement provided by resourcesForChannelMeasurement that is a higher layer parameter. The configured higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication may include a sequence of port indexes p.sub.0.sup.(1), p.sub.0.sup.(2), p.sub.1.sup.(2), p.sub.0.sup.(3), p.sub.1.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), . . . , p.sub.0.sup.(R), p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.R-1.sup.(R). Here, p.sub.0.sup.(v), . . . , p.sub.v-1.sup.(v) may be CSI-RS port indexes associated with rank v and R∈{1, 2, . . . , P}. P∈{1,2,4,8} may be the number of ports of the CSI-RS resource. The UE may have to report only the RI corresponding to the set field of PortIndexFor8Ranks.
[0337] Non-PMI-PortIndication may be used for setting a port index to be applied to the CSI calculation by the UE for each RI value that may be defined within the number of ports set in the NZP CSI-RS resource. Assuming Option 1 above, non-PMI-PortIndication may be set for each NZP CSI-RS resource (for CM) in the current standard, and in this case, when MTRP CSI may be calculated/obtained/reported based on the CMR combination, a (separate) setting/indication that may function as the above parameter is required for the CMR combination. Table 9 shows the definition of non-PMI-PortIndication defined in the current standard.
[0338] For example, non-PMI-PortIndication may be a port indication for RI/CQI calculation. non-PMI-PortIndication may be a port indication for each rank R indicating the R port to be used for each CSI-RS resource of the ResourceConfig linked for channel measurement. And/or, non-PMI-PortIndication may be applicable only to non-PMI feedback (e.g., see 3GPP TS 38.214, Section 5.2.1.4.2).
[0339] For example, a first entry of non-PMI-PortIndication may correspond to the NZP-CSI-RS-Resource indicated by a first entry in nzp-CSI-RS-Resources of NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet indicated by the first entry of nzp-CSI-RS-ResourceSetList. Here, CSI-ResourceConfigId may be indicated in CSI-MeasId together with the above CSI-ReportConfigId.
[0362] In the above example, in order to set a port index for each RI with respect to a CMR combination, a rule for port indexing for a CMR combination may be defined for ports in different CMRs of a specific CMR combination. For example, port indexing may be performed based on a specific order (e.g., ascending/descending order, etc.) from a port within a specific CMR (e.g., CMR of lowest/highest/first/last index, etc.). For example, for {CMR0, CMR1}, if 4 ports are configured in each CMR, (the total number of ports in CMR0)+4 may be applied to ports included in ports 0, 1, 2, 3, from port included in CMR0 to define 4, 5, 6, and 7.
]; and
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that [See Kim ¶170-174; ¶229; Fig. 8; Table 6]
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that includes the ordering.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
identifying, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-85; Table 2-6)
[0049] … In various embodiments, the processor 202 identifies a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information reporting setting. The hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point, or multi-point joint transmission from two transmission and reception points. The receiver 212 receives at least one channel state information reference signal resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the channel state information reference signal resource setting. The processor 202 generates a set of at least one channel state information report based on the channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information report includes at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator, a rank indicator, a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, a layer indicator, a channel quality indicator, a synchronization signal block resource indicator, or a combination thereof, each value of the at least one value is associated with a one transmission hypothesis from the set of transmission hypotheses, and channel state information fields in a set of channel state information fields of the at least one channel state information report are: mapped to at least one channel state information subreport within the at least one channel state information report, and each channel state information subreport of the at least one channel state information subreport is mapped with a defined order; mapped in the at least one channel state information report using a priority function that provides a mapping order to each channel state information field of the set of the channel state information fields; or a combination thereof. The transmitter 210 feeds back the set of the at least one channel state information report to the mobile communication network.
[0072] In a third set of embodiments, there may be a mapping order of CSI fields for a CSI report under multi-TRP CSI framework.
[0078] In a first embodiment of the fourth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission for a CSI report with wideband PMI and wideband CQI formats are mapped with respect to the CSI quantity. In a first example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission includes two rank indicators (“RIs”) has the two RIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a second example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two layer index (“LI”) has the two LIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a third example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.1 fields has the two PMI X.sub.1 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a fourth example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.2 fields has the two PMI X.sub.2 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 2.
]
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that includes the ordering.[ (See Hindy ¶130-131; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Kim ¶229-238; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9) (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; ¶130-131; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 4, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators by associating a first indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the first channel measurement resource based on the first channel measurement resource being associated with a first channel measurement resource group and a second indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the second channel measurement resource based on the second channel measurement resource being associated with a second channel measurement resource group, the first channel measurement resource group and the second channel measurement resource group comprising the channel measurement resource set. [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9); Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; ¶130-131; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on an order of appearance of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource in the channel measurement resource set. [ [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9) and Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 6, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
identifying a first channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the first channel measurement resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the second channel measurement resource; and [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9) (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on respective values of the first channel state information reference signal resource identifier and the second channel state information reference signal resource identifier. [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶321-322, ¶337-340; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9) and Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 7, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 6, wherein the channel measurement resource associated with a first indicator has a lesser value than the channel measurement resource associated with a second indicator. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12) ]
]
Regarding Claim 8, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, a capability of the UE to transmit the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis comprising the two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or a combination thereof. [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶325; ¶371-373)
[0371] When setting/instructing the CMR combination set, the UE may additionally report the best combination (preferred combination). And/or, in cri-ri-cqi, cri may be reused for a combined report or a new field may be introduced, and ri-cqi may follow the existing non-PMI-port indication. In relation to the above operation, the number of (configurable) CMR combinations may be determined based on the capability of the terminal.
]
Regarding Claim 9, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a [(See Kim ¶276-291; Fig. 10)
[0275] When the UE reports multi-TRP CSI (MTRP CSI) to a base station (BS), a configuration for a report value may be defined as follows. For example, whether the report value is configured as Option 1 (e.g., Model) or as Option 2 (e.g., Mode2) may be set/indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., csi-ReportMode).
[0276] (1) Option 1: Both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI
[0277] For example, in the case of Option 1, the report value may include both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI. Option 1 may increase a scheduling freedom of the base station, but a feedback overhead increases.
[0278] (2) Option 2: Either MTRP CSI or STRP CSI
[0279] For example, in the case of Option 2, the report value may include MTRP CSI or STRP CSI. Option 2 may reduce feedback overhead, but since the UE may report only preferred CSI, the base station cannot know CSI for the other hypothesis. In addition, in the case of Option 2, feedback overhead may be variable.
[0280] In the case of Option 1, a case in which a scheduling freedom of the base station may be increased is when different multi-user transmission (MU) interference conditions are assumed for each STRP CSI hypothesis estimated by the UE. The situation in which the scheduling freedom of the base station may be increased is a case in which MTRP CSI is excellent in a single user transmission (SU) situation, but STRP CSI is excellent in an MU situation, and here, the US cannot determine an overall performance for the MU situation and the BS may determine the overall performance based on CSIs reported by multiple UEs that may be included in the MU situation.
[0281] Therefore, from the viewpoint of the UE for the above purpose, it should be able to report channel state information (CSI) reflecting MU interference when reporting STRP CSI. At this time, the MU situation may be different depending on the TRP, and different MU interference should be reflected according to the STRP CSI hypothesis that the UE should estimate.
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
[0291] In the present disclosure, for convenience of description, it is assumed that two TRPs (e.g., TRP1/TRP2) operate. However, this assumption does not limit the technical scope of the present disclosure.
]
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information, an ordering[(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9)
[0275] When the UE reports multi-TRP CSI (MTRP CSI) to a base station (BS), a configuration for a report value may be defined as follows. For example, whether the report value is configured as Option 1 (e.g., Model) or as Option 2 (e.g., Mode2) may be set/indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., csi-ReportMode).
[0276] (1) Option 1: Both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI
[0277] For example, in the case of Option 1, the report value may include both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI. Option 1 may increase a scheduling freedom of the base station, but a feedback overhead increases.
[0278] (2) Option 2: Either MTRP CSI or STRP CSI
[0279] For example, in the case of Option 2, the report value may include MTRP CSI or STRP CSI. Option 2 may reduce feedback overhead, but since the UE may report only preferred CSI, the base station cannot know CSI for the other hypothesis. In addition, in the case of Option 2, feedback overhead may be variable.
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
[0300] Based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in a specific reporting setting, combinations (or MTRP CSI hypothesis) including multiple CMRs may be configured for the UE. For each CMR combination, the CSI-IM may be configured to have a one-to-one mapping relationship for each combination. For example, the reporting setting may be the CSI-ReportConfig IE of Table 6.
[0301] As an (implicit) method for configuring the ‘MTRP CSI hypothesis’, the following method may be applied. For a specific NZP CSI-RS resource set (for CM/IM) set in the ‘specific reporting setting’, the MTRP CSI hypothesis may be defined based on different resources or a resource set transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot among NZP CSI-RS resources in the resource set. For example, the first CMR and the second CMR are configured in the same slot, and the UE may calculate/report CSI based on the first CMR and the second CMR.
[0302] FIG. 11 shows an example of defining the MTRP CSI hypothesis based on different combinations of resources transmitted in the same symbol(s) and/or the same slot. For example, in (a)/(b) of FIG. 11, CMR0/CMR1/CMR2/CMR3 may each be set/included/configured as CDM group 0 and CDM group 1.
[0303] In the example of (a) of FIG. 11, the combination of CMR0/1 and CMR2/3 transmitted in the same symbol(s) may constitute the MTRP CSI hypothesis, respectively. For example, CMR0/1 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 0 and CMR2/3 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 1 may be configured.
[0304] In the example of (b) of FIG. 11, a combination of CMR0/2 and CMR1/3 transmitted in the same slot may constitute each MTRP CSI hypothesis. For example, CMR0/2 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 0 and CMR1/3 for MTRP CSI hypothesis 1 may be configured.
[0305] If n CMRs are transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot and the number of CMRs of the CMR combination constituting a single MTRP CSI hypothesis is m at most, nC2+nC3 . . . +nCm MTRP CSI hypothesis may be performed for symbol(s)/slot where n CMRs are transmitted.
[0321] In the current standard, when the UE is set to CSI-ReportConfig with a higher layer parameter reportQuantity set to ‘cri-RI-CQI’,
[0322] and, when the terminal is set with a higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication included in the CSI-ReportConfig, r ports are indicated in the layer order for rank r, and in the CSI resource setting, each CSI-RS resource may be linked to the CSI-ReportConfig based on the order of the associated NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceId of the CSI resource setting linked for channel measurement provided by resourcesForChannelMeasurement that is a higher layer parameter. The configured higher layer parameter non-PMI-PortIndication may include a sequence of port indexes p.sub.0.sup.(1), p.sub.0.sup.(2), p.sub.1.sup.(2), p.sub.0.sup.(3), p.sub.1.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), p.sub.2.sup.(3), . . . , p.sub.0.sup.(R), p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.1.sup.(R), . . . , p.sub.R-1.sup.(R). Here, p.sub.0.sup.(v), . . . , p.sub.v-1.sup.(v) may be CSI-RS port indexes associated with rank v and R∈{1, 2, . . . , P}. P∈{1,2,4,8} may be the number of ports of the CSI-RS resource. The UE may have to report only the RI corresponding to the set field of PortIndexFor8Ranks.
[0342] A port combination for each RI that may be preferred when calculating/obtaining/reporting STRP CSI for a single CMR and a port combination for each RI that may be preferred when calculating/acquiring/reporting MTRP CSI for a CMR combination may be different. For example, when calculating MTRP CSI, inter-CMR (or inter-TRP) interference may occur between different CMRs. Such interference may affect port combinations for each RI. Therefore, when calculation/obtaining/reporting of MTRP CSI is performed for a CMR combination, a method for setting/indicating a port combination for each RI is required.
[0343] And/or, assuming the above Option 2, when reporting both STRP CSI and MTRP CSI preferred from the UE's point of view, it is necessary to distinguish between the CMR corresponding to the STRP CSI and the CMR corresponding to the MTRP CSI. For example, as in the example of FIG. 13, when CMR0/1 is configured for STRP CSI purpose and CMR2 is configured for MTRP CSI purpose in the UE, one CMR among CMR0/1 may be reported for STRP CSI purpose, and CMR2 may be reported for MTRP CSI purposes. To this end, CMR0/1 and CMR2 need to be distinguished as different candidate groups from the viewpoint of the UE. Therefore, there is a need for a method for the UE to distinguish between the CMR corresponding to the STRP CSI and the CMR corresponding to the MTRP CSI.
[0344] Hereinafter, the present disclosure proposes a method for setting/instructing a port combination for each RI when performing MTRP CSI calculation/obtaining/reporting for a CMR combination and a method for the UE to distinguish CMR corresponding to STRP CSI and CMR corresponding to MTRP CSI based on the aforementioned reason and purpose.
[0362] In the above example, in order to set a port index for each RI with respect to a CMR combination, a rule for port indexing for a CMR combination may be defined for ports in different CMRs of a specific CMR combination. For example, port indexing may be performed based on a specific order (e.g., ascending/descending order, etc.) from a port within a specific CMR (e.g., CMR of lowest/highest/first/last index, etc.). For example, for {CMR0, CMR1}, if 4 ports are configured in each CMR, (the total number of ports in CMR0)+4 may be applied to ports included in ports 0, 1, 2, 3, from port included in CMR0 to define 4, 5, 6, and 7.
]
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information [(See Kim ¶170-174; ¶229; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource;
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information, an ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses and based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups; and
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information that includes the ordering.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource; [ (See Hindy ¶69-71)
[0069] In a second set of embodiments, there may be CSI feedback for multi-TRP via CSI sub-reports. In the second set of embodiments, a UE may be configured with a CSI reporting setting CSI-ReportConfig that triggers CSI reporting for one or more transmission hypotheses (e.g., single-TRP transmission hypothesis and NCJT hypothesis). In one example, a single-TRP transmission hypothesis corresponds to CSI reporting based on a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (e.g., CMR). In another example, an NCJT hypothesis corresponds to CSI reporting based on an NZP CSI-RS resource pair for channel measurement (e.g., CMR pair). Different embodiments for CSI report content are found herein. A setup with a combination of one or more of embodiments herein may be made.
[0070] In a first embodiment of the second set of embodiments, CSI corresponding to one or more transmission hypotheses may be reported within a single CSI report, wherein a CSI report may include: 1) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis; 2) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and one single-TRP transmission hypothesis; 3) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses; and/or 4) CSI corresponding to a best one transmission hypothesis from a set of one NCJT hypothesis and one or more single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0071] In a second embodiment of the second set of embodiments, a CSI report including CSI corresponding to at least one NCJT hypothesis is decomposed into one or more CSI sub-reports, partitions, fragments, or segments, wherein each CSI sub-report, partition, fragment, or segment, may represent a transmission hypothesis. In one example, a CSI report corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses includes three CSI sub-reports, wherein a first of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to an NCJT hypothesis, a second of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a first of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses, and a third of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a second of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
]
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information, an ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses and based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups; and [ (See Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; ¶137; Table 2-3 and 5)
[0070] In a first embodiment of the second set of embodiments, CSI corresponding to one or more transmission hypotheses may be reported within a single CSI report, wherein a CSI report may include: 1) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis; 2) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and one single-TRP transmission hypothesis; 3) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses; and/or 4) CSI corresponding to a best one transmission hypothesis from a set of one NCJT hypothesis and one or more single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0071] In a second embodiment of the second set of embodiments, a CSI report including CSI corresponding to at least one NCJT hypothesis is decomposed into one or more CSI sub-reports, partitions, fragments, or segments, wherein each CSI sub-report, partition, fragment, or segment, may represent a transmission hypothesis. In one example, a CSI report corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses includes three CSI sub-reports, wherein a first of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to an NCJT hypothesis, a second of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a first of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses, and a third of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a second of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0074] In a second embodiment of the third set of embodiments, CSI sub-reports in a CSI report are ordered based on the transmission hypothesis. In a first example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis, and then the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses. In a second example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses, and then the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis.
[0084] In a second embodiment of the fifth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a first of two parts of a CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission with sub-band PMI format or sub-band CQI format are mapped with respect to the transmission hypothesis. In a first example, a CSI report comprising three sub-reports has the CSI Part 1 of the CSI report mapped in the order of CSI Part 1 of the first of the three CSI sub-reports, CSI Part 1 of the second of the three CSI sub-reports, and CSI Part 1 of the third of the three CSI sub-reports. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 5.
[0137] In various embodiments, a channel state information subreport corresponding to joint transmission comprises two precoder matrix indicator fields, each precoder matrix indicator field of the two precoder matrix indicator fields is decomposed into a first part X.sub.1 and a second part X.sub.2, and the first part X.sub.1 and the second part X.sub.2 of the same precoder matrix indicator are mapped in a consecutive order. In one embodiment, a channel state information subreport of a channel state information report of the at least one channel state information report corresponding to multiple transmission and reception point transmission with a subband precoder matrix indicator format or a subband channel quality indicator format is decomposed into more than one segment.
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information that includes the ordering. [ (See Hindy ¶130-131; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the identifying of the ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report further comprises:
allocating the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report to a first portion of the uplink control information or allocating the third channel state information report to the first portion of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶276-291; Fig. 10; and Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; Table 2-3 and 5)]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource indicator values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource indicator value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶78-80; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 12, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on the corresponding channel measurement resource groups for the channel state information reports, wherein the channel state information report associated with the first channel measurement resource group is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶69-84; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 13, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource ID values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource ID value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 14, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on an order of appearance of corresponding channel measurement resources for the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in a channel state information resource set, wherein the channel measurement resource appearing first in the channel state information resource set is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 15, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, further comprising:
identifying a channel state information report omission rule based at least in part on the ordering, wherein the channel state information report omission rule is applied for a second portion of the channel state information reports multiplexed on uplink resources for transmission of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶169-174; ¶ 229; ¶315-316; Table 7; Fig. 8; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶96-109; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6 and 10-16)]
Regarding Claim 16, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the uplink control information overlaps with at least one other uplink control information, the uplink control information multiplexed in accordance with the ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report. [(See Kim ¶267-268; ¶307-318 and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 17, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the ordering further comprises:
ordering the channel state information reports first based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information, and second based on alternating sub-bands of the channel state information reports. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 18, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the ordering further comprises:
ordering the channel state information reports first based on alternating sub- bands of the channel state information reports and second based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6 and 10-12)]
Regarding Claim 19, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource in a channel measurement resource set, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals by the UE, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state, wherein a channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource is indicated based at least in part on an implicit or explicit indication; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; ¶321-322; ¶337-340; ¶384-394; Fig. 8-10; Table 6 and 8-9)]
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource, and an ordering, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering,(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶150; ¶165-166; ¶170-174; ¶216-238; ¶250-251;¶264-291; ¶301-310; ¶337-344 ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 8-9)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource, and an ordering, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering,
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource, and an ordering, based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering, of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-85; ¶130-131; Table 2-6; Fig. 10)
[0049] … In various embodiments, the processor 202 identifies a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information reporting setting. The hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point, or multi-point joint transmission from two transmission and reception points. The receiver 212 receives at least one channel state information reference signal resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the channel state information reference signal resource setting. The processor 202 generates a set of at least one channel state information report based on the channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information report includes at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator, a rank indicator, a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, a layer indicator, a channel quality indicator, a synchronization signal block resource indicator, or a combination thereof, each value of the at least one value is associated with a one transmission hypothesis from the set of transmission hypotheses, and channel state information fields in a set of channel state information fields of the at least one channel state information report are: mapped to at least one channel state information subreport within the at least one channel state information report, and each channel state information subreport of the at least one channel state information subreport is mapped with a defined order; mapped in the at least one channel state information report using a priority function that provides a mapping order to each channel state information field of the set of the channel state information fields; or a combination thereof. The transmitter 210 feeds back the set of the at least one channel state information report to the mobile communication network.
[0072] In a third set of embodiments, there may be a mapping order of CSI fields for a CSI report under multi-TRP CSI framework.
[0078] In a first embodiment of the fourth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission for a CSI report with wideband PMI and wideband CQI formats are mapped with respect to the CSI quantity. In a first example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission includes two rank indicators (“RIs”) has the two RIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a second example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two layer index (“LI”) has the two LIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a third example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.1 fields has the two PMI X.sub.1 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a fourth example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.2 fields has the two PMI X.sub.2 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 2.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators is based at least in part on the channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 22, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators is based on a first indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource of a first channel measurement resource group and a second indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the second channel measurement resource of a second channel measurement resource group, the first channel measurement resource group and the second channel measurement resource group comprising the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 23, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators is based at least in part on an order of appearance of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource in the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 24, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on respective values of a first channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the first channel measurement resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the second channel measurement resource. [Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 25, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals at the UE, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a channel measurement resource and a [(See Kim ¶276-291; Fig. 10)]
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report [See Kim ¶150; ¶170-174; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource;
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report ordered based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses and based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource; [ (See Hindy ¶69-71)]
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report ordered based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses and based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups. [ (See Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; ¶130-131; Table 2-3 and 5; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 26, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 25, wherein receiving the uplink control information further comprises:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in a first portion of the uplink control information or receiving the third channel state information report to the first portion of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶276-291; Fig. 10; and Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; Table 2-3 and 5)]
Regarding Claim 27, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource indicator values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource indicator value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶170-174; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9; and Hindy ¶78-80; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 28, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that is based at least in part on the corresponding channel measurement resource groups for the channel state information reports, wherein the channel state information report associated with the first channel measurement resource group is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶170-174; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9; and Hindy ¶69-84; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 29, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that is based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource ID values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource ID value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶170-174; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 30, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 25, further comprising:
receiving the channel state information reports in an order that is first based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information, and second based on alternating sub-bands of the channel state information reports. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶170-174; ¶229-238; ¶300-305; ¶321-322, ¶337-344; ¶362; ¶384-394; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6 and 9; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468