DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 7/18/2023.
Claims 1-30 are pending for examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/18/2023 and 12/04/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/CN2021/084355 filed on 3/31/2021.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s submission of drawings received on 07/18/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230254023 A1; hereinafter Kim) and further in view of Hindy et al. (US 20220140981 A1; hereinafter Hindy).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource in a channel measurement resource set, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)
[Abstract] The present specification proposes a method for transmitting and receiving CSI in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor. The method performed by a terminal can comprise the steps of: receiving information relating to a CSI-RS resource set, wherein the information relating to the CSI-RS resource set comprises information relating to a resource pair, and the resource pair comprises a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR configured in the same slot as the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS on the basis of the first CMR and second CMR; and transmitting CSI on the basis of the at least one CSI-RS.
[0010] The present disclosure proposes a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system. The method performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving information on CSI-reference signal (RS) resource set, the information on the CSI-RS resource set including information on a resource pair, the resource pair including a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR set in the same slot as that of the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS based on the first CMR and the second CMR; and transmitting the CSI based on the at least one CSI-RS.
[0011] In the method of the present disclosure, the resource pair is a resource unit for calculating the CSI.
[0012] Also, in the method of the present disclosure, the at least one CSI-RS may include a CSI-RS received in the first CMR from a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a CSI-RS received in the second CMR from a second TRP.
[0155] FIG. 8 is a flowchart illustrating an example of a CSI-related procedure.
[0156] Referring to FIG. 8, to perform one of the above purposes of a CSI-RS, a terminal (e.g., a UE) receives CSI related configuration information from a base station (e.g., a general node B (gNB)) through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling(S110).
[0157] The CSI-related configuration information may include at least one of CSI interference management (IM) resource-related information, CSI measurement configuration-related information, CSI resource configuration-related information, CSI-RS resource-related information, or CSI reporting configuration-related information.
[0289] Described as ‘hypothesis’ in the present disclosure may be for convenience of description. And/or, one CSI hypothesis may refer to a unit in which the UE assumes CMR and IMR for CSI calculation. For example, a single TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a combination of a specific CMR/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). And/or, one multi-TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a specific CMR combination/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a combination of specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). For example, in the present disclosure, the (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis or CMR combination may be referred to as a resource pair. And/or, in the present disclosure, a (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis including two CMRs or a combination of two CMRs may be referred to as a resource pair. For example, a CSI hypothesis including the first CMR and the second CMR or a combination of the first CMR and the second CMR may be referred to as a resource pair.
];
determining channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis to be included in a channel state information report, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource; [
(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶150; ¶165-166; ¶216-219; ¶250-251;¶264-291; ¶301-310; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6)
[Abstract] The present specification proposes a method for transmitting and receiving CSI in a wireless communication system, and a device therefor. The method performed by a terminal can comprise the steps of: receiving information relating to a CSI-RS resource set, wherein the information relating to the CSI-RS resource set comprises information relating to a resource pair, and the resource pair comprises a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR configured in the same slot as the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS on the basis of the first CMR and second CMR; and transmitting CSI on the basis of the at least one CSI-RS.
[0010] The present disclosure proposes a method for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system. The method performed by a user equipment (UE) includes receiving information on CSI-reference signal (RS) resource set, the information on the CSI-RS resource set including information on a resource pair, the resource pair including a first channel measurement resource (CMR) and a second CMR set in the same slot as that of the first CMR; receiving at least one CSI-RS based on the first CMR and the second CMR; and transmitting the CSI based on the at least one CSI-RS.
[0011] In the method of the present disclosure, the resource pair is a resource unit for calculating the CSI.
[0012] Also, in the method of the present disclosure, the at least one CSI-RS may include a CSI-RS received in the first CMR from a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a CSI-RS received in the second CMR from a second TRP.
[0150] Meanwhile, the control information which the UE transmits to the eNB through the uplink or the UE receives from the eNB may include a downlink/uplink ACK/NACK signal, a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), a Precoding Matrix Index (PMI), a Rank Indicator (RI), and the like. The UE may transmit the control information such as the CQI/PMI/RI, etc., via the PUSCH and/or PUCCH.
[0217] For CSI reporting, time and frequency resources available for a UE are controlled by a base station.
[0218] CSI may include at least one of channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI), am SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), or L1-RSRP.
[0219] Regarding the CQI, the PMI, the CRI, the SSBRI, the LI, the RI, and the L1-RSRP, the UE may be configured with N≥1 CSI-ReportConfig reporting setting, M≥1 CSI-ResourceConfig resource setting, and a list of one or two trigger states (provided by aperiodicTriggerStateList and semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) by a higher layer. In the aperiodicTriggerStateList, each trigger state includes a channel and a list of associated CSI-ReportConfigs selectively indicative of Resource set IDs for interference. In the semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList, each trigger state includes one associated CSI-ReportConFIG.
[0251] The CoMP (Coordinated Multi Point) technique refers to a method of effectively controlling interference by cooperatively transmitting a terminal by exchanging (using e.g., X2 interface) or utilizing the channel information (e.g., RI/CQI/PMI/LI, etc.) fed back from the terminal. Depending on a method used, it may be divided into joint transmission (JT), coordinated scheduling (CS), coordinated beamforming (CB), DPS (dynamic point selection), and DPB (dynamic point blacking).
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0283] Referring to FIG. 10, it can be seen that IMR0 for an MU situation of TRP #1 and IMR1 for an MU situation of TRP #2 are different from each other.
[0284] Based on the above motivation, IMR based on different NZP (non-zero power) CSI-RS (reference signal) may be set for each CMR, but, in the current standard, when configuring IMR based on NZP CSI-RS, only a single CMR may be sets (in case of not reporting L1-SINR).
[0289] Described as ‘hypothesis’ in the present disclosure may be for convenience of description. And/or, one CSI hypothesis may refer to a unit in which the UE assumes CMR and IMR for CSI calculation. For example, a single TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a combination of a specific CMR/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). And/or, one multi-TRP CSI hypothesis may refer to a specific CMR combination/a specific NZP IMR(s)/a combination of specific ZP IMR(s) (and/or a CSI that may be calculated/reported based on the combination). For example, in the present disclosure, the (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis or CMR combination may be referred to as a resource pair. And/or, in the present disclosure, a (multi-TRP) CSI hypothesis including two CMRs or a combination of two CMRs may be referred to as a resource pair. For example, a CSI hypothesis including the first CMR and the second CMR or a combination of the first CMR and the second CMR may be referred to as a resource pair.
[0301] As an (implicit) method for configuring the ‘MTRP CSI hypothesis’, the following method may be applied. For a specific NZP CSI-RS resource set (for CM/IM) set in the ‘specific reporting setting’, the MTRP CSI hypothesis may be defined based on different resources or a resource set transmitted in the same symbol(s)/slot among NZP CSI-RS resources in the resource set. For example, the first CMR and the second CMR are configured in the same slot, and the UE may calculate/report CSI based on the first CMR and the second CMR.
];
identifying, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators [
(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6)
[0229] A reporting method (e.g., transmitting in order of RI, WB, PMI/CQI, and SB PMI/CQI) by which CSI is divided and reported in a plurality of reporting instances, the method which is applied for PUCCH-based CSI reporting in LTE, is not applied in NR. Instead, NR restricts configuring specific CSI reporting on a short/long PUCCH, and a CSI omission rule is defined. Regarding an AP CSI reporting timing, PUSCH symbol/slot location is dynamically indicated by DCI. In addition, candidate slot offsets are configured by RRC. Regarding CSI reporting, a slot offset(Y) is configured for each reporting setting. Regarding UL-SCH, a slot offset K2 is configured separately.
[0233] The UE may need to calculate CSI parameters (if reported) assuming the following dependencies between CSI parameters (if reported). [0234] LI shall be calculated subject to reported CQI, PMI, RI and CRI. [0235] The CQI shall be calculated subject to the reported PMI, RI and CRI. [0236] The PMI shall be calculated subject to the reported RI and CRI. [0237] The RI shall be calculated subject to the reported CRI.
[0362] In the above example, in order to set a port index for each RI with respect to a CMR combination, a rule for port indexing for a CMR combination may be defined for ports in different CMRs of a specific CMR combination. For example, port indexing may be performed based on a specific order (e.g., ascending/descending order, etc.) from a port within a specific CMR (e.g., CMR of lowest/highest/first/last index, etc.). For example, for {CMR0, CMR1}, if 4 ports are configured in each CMR, (the total number of ports in CMR0)+4 may be applied to ports included in ports 0, 1, 2, 3, from port included in CMR0 to define 4, 5, 6, and 7.
]; and
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that [See Kim ¶170-174; ¶229; Fig. 8; Table 6]
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
identifying, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that includes the ordering.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
identifying, for inclusion in the channel state information report, an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-85; Table 2-6)
[0049] … In various embodiments, the processor 202 identifies a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information reporting setting. The hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point, or multi-point joint transmission from two transmission and reception points. The receiver 212 receives at least one channel state information reference signal resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the channel state information reference signal resource setting. The processor 202 generates a set of at least one channel state information report based on the channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information report includes at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator, a rank indicator, a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, a layer indicator, a channel quality indicator, a synchronization signal block resource indicator, or a combination thereof, each value of the at least one value is associated with a one transmission hypothesis from the set of transmission hypotheses, and channel state information fields in a set of channel state information fields of the at least one channel state information report are: mapped to at least one channel state information subreport within the at least one channel state information report, and each channel state information subreport of the at least one channel state information subreport is mapped with a defined order; mapped in the at least one channel state information report using a priority function that provides a mapping order to each channel state information field of the set of the channel state information fields; or a combination thereof. The transmitter 210 feeds back the set of the at least one channel state information report to the mobile communication network.
[0072] In a third set of embodiments, there may be a mapping order of CSI fields for a CSI report under multi-TRP CSI framework.
[0078] In a first embodiment of the fourth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission for a CSI report with wideband PMI and wideband CQI formats are mapped with respect to the CSI quantity. In a first example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission includes two rank indicators (“RIs”) has the two RIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a second example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two layer index (“LI”) has the two LIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a third example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.1 fields has the two PMI X.sub.1 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a fourth example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.2 fields has the two PMI X.sub.2 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 2.
]
transmitting, to a base station, the channel state information report that includes the ordering.[ (See Hindy ¶130-131; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on a channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 3, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
receiving an implicit indication or an explicit indication of the channel measurement resource ordering. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 4, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators by associating a first indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the first channel measurement resource based on the first channel measurement resource being associated with a first channel measurement resource group and a second indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the second channel measurement resource based on the second channel measurement resource being associated with a second channel measurement resource group, the first channel measurement resource group and the second channel measurement resource group comprising the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on an order of appearance of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource in the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 6, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein identifying the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators comprises:
identifying a first channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the first channel measurement resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the second channel measurement resource; and [(See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
determining the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on respective values of the first channel state information reference signal resource identifier and the second channel state information reference signal resource identifier. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 7, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 6, wherein the channel measurement resource associated with a first indicator has a lesser value than the channel measurement resource associated with a second indicator. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12) ]
]
Regarding Claim 8, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, a capability of the UE to transmit the channel state information report for the joint transmission hypothesis comprising the two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or a combination thereof. [(See Kim ¶229-238; ¶325; ¶371-373)
[0371] When setting/instructing the CMR combination set, the UE may additionally report the best combination (preferred combination). And/or, in cri-ri-cqi, cri may be reused for a combined report or a new field may be introduced, and ri-cqi may follow the existing non-PMI-port indication. In relation to the above operation, the number of (configurable) CMR combinations may be determined based on the capability of the terminal.
]
Regarding Claim 9, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a [(See Kim ¶276-291; Fig. 10)
[0275] When the UE reports multi-TRP CSI (MTRP CSI) to a base station (BS), a configuration for a report value may be defined as follows. For example, whether the report value is configured as Option 1 (e.g., Model) or as Option 2 (e.g., Mode2) may be set/indicated by a higher layer parameter (e.g., csi-ReportMode).
[0276] (1) Option 1: Both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI
[0277] For example, in the case of Option 1, the report value may include both MTRP CSI and STRP CSI. Option 1 may increase a scheduling freedom of the base station, but a feedback overhead increases.
[0278] (2) Option 2: Either MTRP CSI or STRP CSI
[0279] For example, in the case of Option 2, the report value may include MTRP CSI or STRP CSI. Option 2 may reduce feedback overhead, but since the UE may report only preferred CSI, the base station cannot know CSI for the other hypothesis. In addition, in the case of Option 2, feedback overhead may be variable.
[0280] In the case of Option 1, a case in which a scheduling freedom of the base station may be increased is when different multi-user transmission (MU) interference conditions are assumed for each STRP CSI hypothesis estimated by the UE. The situation in which the scheduling freedom of the base station may be increased is a case in which MTRP CSI is excellent in a single user transmission (SU) situation, but STRP CSI is excellent in an MU situation, and here, the US cannot determine an overall performance for the MU situation and the BS may determine the overall performance based on CSIs reported by multiple UEs that may be included in the MU situation.
[0281] Therefore, from the viewpoint of the UE for the above purpose, it should be able to report channel state information (CSI) reflecting MU interference when reporting STRP CSI. At this time, the MU situation may be different depending on the TRP, and different MU interference should be reflected according to the STRP CSI hypothesis that the UE should estimate.
[0282] FIG. 10 shows an example of assumptions of a channel measurement resource (CMR) and an interference measurement resource (IMR) in each hypothesis assumption. Specifically, (a) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR setting for the MTRP CSI hypothesis, (b) of FIG. 10 shows a CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for the STRP CSI hypothesis 1, and (c) of FIG. 10 shows a STRP CMR/IMR (NZP CSI-RS) setting for CSI hypothesis 2.
[0286] In the present disclosure, based on the NZP CSI-RS (or CMR) for CM set in the reporting setting related to the CSI report corresponding to multi-TRP transmission, a method that may set combinations (or MTRP CSI hypotheses) including multiple CMRs and a method of establishing a mapping relationship between CMR/CSI-IM based IMR/NZP CSI-RS based IMR for the specific reporting setting (hereinafter, the first embodiment) is proposed.
[0291] In the present disclosure, for convenience of description, it is assumed that two TRPs (e.g., TRP1/TRP2) operate. However, this assumption does not limit the technical scope of the present disclosure.
]
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information[(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6)]
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information [(See Kim ¶170-174; ¶229; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource;
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information, an ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses; and
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information that includes the ordering.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
receiving a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource; [ (See Hindy ¶69-71)
[0069] In a second set of embodiments, there may be CSI feedback for multi-TRP via CSI sub-reports. In the second set of embodiments, a UE may be configured with a CSI reporting setting CSI-ReportConfig that triggers CSI reporting for one or more transmission hypotheses (e.g., single-TRP transmission hypothesis and NCJT hypothesis). In one example, a single-TRP transmission hypothesis corresponds to CSI reporting based on a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement (e.g., CMR). In another example, an NCJT hypothesis corresponds to CSI reporting based on an NZP CSI-RS resource pair for channel measurement (e.g., CMR pair). Different embodiments for CSI report content are found herein. A setup with a combination of one or more of embodiments herein may be made.
[0070] In a first embodiment of the second set of embodiments, CSI corresponding to one or more transmission hypotheses may be reported within a single CSI report, wherein a CSI report may include: 1) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis; 2) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and one single-TRP transmission hypothesis; 3) CSI corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses; and/or 4) CSI corresponding to a best one transmission hypothesis from a set of one NCJT hypothesis and one or more single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0071] In a second embodiment of the second set of embodiments, a CSI report including CSI corresponding to at least one NCJT hypothesis is decomposed into one or more CSI sub-reports, partitions, fragments, or segments, wherein each CSI sub-report, partition, fragment, or segment, may represent a transmission hypothesis. In one example, a CSI report corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses includes three CSI sub-reports, wherein a first of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to an NCJT hypothesis, a second of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a first of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses, and a third of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a second of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
]
identifying, for inclusion in uplink control information, an ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses; and [ (See Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; Table 2-3 and 5)
[0071] In a second embodiment of the second set of embodiments, a CSI report including CSI corresponding to at least one NCJT hypothesis is decomposed into one or more CSI sub-reports, partitions, fragments, or segments, wherein each CSI sub-report, partition, fragment, or segment, may represent a transmission hypothesis. In one example, a CSI report corresponding to one NCJT hypothesis and two single-TRP transmission hypotheses includes three CSI sub-reports, wherein a first of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to an NCJT hypothesis, a second of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a first of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses, and a third of the three CSI sub-reports corresponds to a second of the two single-TRP transmission hypotheses.
[0074] In a second embodiment of the third set of embodiments, CSI sub-reports in a CSI report are ordered based on the transmission hypothesis. In a first example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis, and then the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses. In a second example, CSI fields of a CSI report corresponding to one joint transmission hypothesis and two single-point transmission hypotheses are mapped in an order of the two CSI sub-reports corresponding to the two single-point transmission hypotheses, and then the CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission hypothesis.
transmitting, to a base station, the uplink control information that includes the ordering. [ (See Hindy ¶130-131; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the identifying of the ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report further comprises:
allocating the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report to a first portion of the uplink control information or allocating the third channel state information report to the first portion of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶276-291; Fig. 10; and Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; Table 2-3 and 5)]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource indicator values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource indicator value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶78-80; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 12, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups for the channel state information reports, wherein the channel state information report associated with the first channel measurement resource group is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶69-84; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 13, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource ID values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource ID value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 14, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
ordering the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report based at least in part on an order of appearance of corresponding channel measurement resources for the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in a channel state information resource set, wherein the channel measurement resource appearing first in the channel state information resource set is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 15, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, further comprising:
identifying a channel state information report omission rule based at least in part on the ordering, wherein the channel state information report omission rule is applied for a second portion of the channel state information reports multiplexed on uplink resources for transmission of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶169-174; ¶ 229; ¶315-316; Table 7; Fig. 8; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶96-109; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6 and 10-16)]
Regarding Claim 16, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the uplink control information overlaps with at least one other uplink control information, the uplink control information multiplexed in accordance with the ordering of the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report. [(See Kim ¶267-268; ¶307-318 and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 17, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the ordering further comprises:
ordering the channel state information reports first based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information, and second based on alternating sub-bands of the channel state information reports. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 18, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 9, wherein the ordering further comprises:
ordering the channel state information reports first based on alternating sub- bands of the channel state information reports and second based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6 and 10-12)]
Regarding Claim 19, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource in a channel measurement resource set, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals by the UE, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource, (See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶150; ¶165-166; ¶170-174; ¶216-238; ¶250-251;¶264-291; ¶301-310; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6)
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource,
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information report comprising channel state information for a joint transmission hypothesis, the channel state information including two rank indicators, two precoding matrix indicators, two layer indicators, or combinations thereof, each indicator of each pair of indicators associated with a respective one of either the first channel measurement resource or the second channel measurement resource, and an ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-85; ¶130-131; Table 2-6; Fig. 10)
[0049] … In various embodiments, the processor 202 identifies a set of transmission hypotheses based on the channel state information reporting setting. The hypotheses include a combination of single-point transmission from at least one transmission and reception point, or multi-point joint transmission from two transmission and reception points. The receiver 212 receives at least one channel state information reference signal resource transmitted from the mobile communication network based on the channel state information reference signal resource setting. The processor 202 generates a set of at least one channel state information report based on the channel state information reporting setting. The at least one channel state information report includes at least one value of a precoder matrix indicator, a rank indicator, a channel state information reference signal resource indicator, a layer indicator, a channel quality indicator, a synchronization signal block resource indicator, or a combination thereof, each value of the at least one value is associated with a one transmission hypothesis from the set of transmission hypotheses, and channel state information fields in a set of channel state information fields of the at least one channel state information report are: mapped to at least one channel state information subreport within the at least one channel state information report, and each channel state information subreport of the at least one channel state information subreport is mapped with a defined order; mapped in the at least one channel state information report using a priority function that provides a mapping order to each channel state information field of the set of the channel state information fields; or a combination thereof. The transmitter 210 feeds back the set of the at least one channel state information report to the mobile communication network.
[0072] In a third set of embodiments, there may be a mapping order of CSI fields for a CSI report under multi-TRP CSI framework.
[0078] In a first embodiment of the fourth set of embodiments, CSI fields of a CSI sub-report corresponding to joint transmission for a CSI report with wideband PMI and wideband CQI formats are mapped with respect to the CSI quantity. In a first example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission includes two rank indicators (“RIs”) has the two RIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a second example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two layer index (“LI”) has the two LIs, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a third example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.1 fields has the two PMI X.sub.1 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. In a fourth example, a CSI sub-report #k corresponding to joint transmission including two PMI X.sub.2 fields has the two PMI X.sub.2 fields, if reported, mapped in consecutive order. An illustration of such mappings is in Table 2.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators is based at least in part on a channel measurement resource ordering of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 21, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
transmitting an implicit indication or an explicit indication of the channel measurement resource ordering. [ (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 22, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in at least one of the pairs of indicators is based on a first indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators associated with the first channel measurement resource of a first channel measurement resource group and a second indicator of the at least one of the pairs of indicators with the second channel measurement resource of a second channel measurement resource group, the first channel measurement resource group and the second channel measurement resource group comprising the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 23, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators is based at least in part on an order of appearance of the first channel measurement resource and the second channel measurement resource in the channel measurement resource set. [ Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 24, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 19, wherein the ordering of each indicator in the at least one of the pairs of indicators based at least in part on respective values of a first channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the first channel measurement resource and a second channel state information reference signal resource identifier associated with the second channel measurement resource. [Hindy discloses multiple embodiments (See Hindy ¶41-49; ¶60-66; ¶71-100; Table 2-12)]
Regarding Claim 25, Kim disclose(s):
A method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first channel measurement resource and a second channel measurement resource, each configured for measuring channel state information reference signals at the UE, the first channel measurement resource associated with a first transmission configuration indicator state and the second channel measurement resource associated with a second transmission configuration indicator state; [(See Kim abstract; ¶10-17; ¶155-157; ¶286-294; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a channel measurement resource and a [(See Kim ¶276-291; Fig. 10)]
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report [(See Kim ¶170-174; ¶229; Fig. 8; Table 6)]
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource;
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report ordered based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses.
However Hindy, analogous art also disclosing CSI reporting configuration, does disclose:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration for measuring channel state information reference signals for a first channel state information report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first channel measurement resource, a second channel state information report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second channel measurement resource, and a third channel state information report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated both a third channel measurement resource and a fourth channel measurement resource; [ (See Hindy ¶69-71)]
receiving, from the UE, uplink control information comprising the first channel state information report, the second channel state information report, and the third channel state information report ordered based at least in part on association of respective channel state information with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses. [ (See Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; ¶130-131; Table 2-3 and 5; Fig. 10)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Kim with that of Hindy to include the ordering of indicators in order to improve efficiency, as per Hindy (¶3-4; ¶53-58), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 26, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 25, wherein receiving the uplink control information further comprises:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in a first portion of the uplink control information or receiving the third channel state information report to the first portion of the uplink control information. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶276-291; Fig. 10; and Hindy ¶69-79; ¶84; Table 2-3 and 5)]
Regarding Claim 27, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource indicator values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource indicator value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶78-80; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 28, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that is based at least in part on corresponding channel measurement resource groups for the channel state information reports, wherein the channel state information report associated with the first channel measurement resource group is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶69-84; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 29, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
receiving the first channel state information report and the second channel state information report in an order that is based at least in part on corresponding channel state information reference signal resource ID values, wherein the channel state information report corresponding to a lowest channel state information reference signal resource ID value is first in the ordering. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Regarding Claim 30, Kim and Hindy disclose(s):
The method of claim 25, further comprising:
receiving the channel state information reports in an order that is first based on an order of the respective transmission hypothesis in the uplink control information, and second based on alternating sub-bands of the channel state information reports. [(See Kim ¶150; ¶229-238; ¶362; Fig. 8 and 10-11; Table 6; and Hindy ¶ 56; ¶69-84; ¶142-144; ¶137; ¶ 158; Tables 2-6, 11, and 12)]
Conclusion
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468