DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: on line 5, “distal end” lacks an identifier to relate it to other distal ends. It is treated as if “the” was placed before it. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 11, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, it is unclear to what “a respective number of wire extending inside the tubular member from the proximal end” is respective. It is treated as if “each of the at least two sections has a respective number of wires...”. Further, it does not seem feasible that “each wire affixed to the distal end of each section” as it would require every wire to affixed to the distal end of every section. The examiner suggests “each wire affixed to the distal end of its respective section”.
Claim 15 is a single claim which claims both an apparatus and a method step. Such is indefinite because it is not directed to the system, but the actions of a user, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. See MPEP 2173.05(p). The claim details the use of the steerable arm with a transmission tube.
In claim 16, Applicant does not have an and/or at the end of their list such that it is unclear if the end effector has to be all of the claimed structures or just one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovac et al (US 6,171,316) in view of Ostrovsky et al (US 8,465,420).
Regarding claim 1, Kovac steerable arm (fig 6) for fitting into the instrument channel of an endoscope (capable of such) for use in endoscopic surgical procedures, comprising: a tubular member having a proximal end and a distal end (fig 1) and at least two sections (including unsegmented proximal length 122 and ribs 124 distal of said length – Col.9 ll 4-6); (the) distal end suitable for being fitted with a surgical end effector (such as 140, fig 6); the tubular member being made of a resilient material (Col.9 ll 55-59); and a wire 78/278 extending inside the tubular member from the proximal end (fig 1); each wire affixed to the distal end of each section (fig 17), the distal end of the most distal section being the distal end of the tubular member (fig 17); each section capable of having a curvature lengthwise of the tubular member (fig 17), such that curvature of each section is changed when the distal end of each section is pulled on by the respective wire (fig 17), wherein the resilience of the material providing the tubular member with a bias such that the curvature change of each section is reversed reverses when the pull on the distal end is released (Col.9 ll 58-59).
While Kovac substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose more than one wire, and thus does teach each section having its own wire attached to the distal end (see how claim is considered indefinite), and thus not a respective number of wires extending inside the tubular member from the proximal end; each wire affixed to the distal end of each section, the distal end of the most distal section being the distal end of the tubular member; each section capable of having a curvature lengthwise of the tubular member, such that curvature of each section is changed when the distal end of each section is pulled on by the respective wire, wherein the resilience of the material providing the tubular member with a bias such that the curvature change of each section is reversed reverses when the pull on the distal end is released; and the change of curvature of each of the at least two sections lies in a different plane.
Ostrovsky discloses a steerable device which embodiments which are only steerable in one plane (fig 2) or alternative embodiments which have two sections (258 and 260) which have their own control wires and which change the curvature in different planes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kovac such that it has a respective number of wires extending inside the tubular member from the proximal end; each wire affixed to the distal end of each section, the distal end of the most distal section being the distal end of the tubular member; each section capable of having a curvature lengthwise of the tubular member, such that curvature of each section is changed when the distal end of each section is pulled on by the respective wire, wherein the resilience of the material providing the tubular member with a bias such that the curvature change of each section is reversed reverses when the pull on the distal end is released; and the change of curvature of each of the at least two sections lies in a different plane as taught by Kovac to allow greater control over the curvature of the distal end of the device.
Regarding claim 11 wherein the tubular member is fabricated from a single piece of material; such that the tubular member is a continuum structure (fig 17).
Regarding claim 15, (see 112 rejection above) wherein the steerable arm is placed at the distal end of a transmission tube (fig 6); the transmission tube containing a channel in which the wire is threaded (fig 1); the proximal end of the wires connected to knobs and/or levers 12/14 for pulling on the wire (fig 1); such that the curvature changes when the distal end of the tubular member is pulled on by the wire at the proximal end of the transmission tube (fig 17).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the surgical end effector is forceps 140 (although shown by reference, claim is mostly intended use).
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovac et al (US 6,171,316) in view of Ostrovsky et al (US 8,465,420) and Besselink (US 2020/0038630).
Regarding claim 2, while Kovac substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wherein the tubular member has a first side and a second side along an axis of the tubular member; the first side being relatively more compressible than the second side; the second side being relatively less compressible compared to the first side; wherein the side of the tubular member that the wire is attached is the first side; and a pull on the wire compresses the first side to change the curvature of the tubular member.
Besselink discloses a steerable device where the tubular member has a first side and a second side along an axis of the tubular member; the first side being relatively more compressible than the second side (figs 5, 6 and 8); the second side being relatively less compressible compared to the first side (fig 8, due to more material); wherein the side of the tubular member that the wire is attached is the first side; and a pull on the wire compresses the first side to change the curvature of the tubular member (¶34). The configuration provides both flexibility and steerability while preserving the structural rigidity necessary to ensure the reliable, repeatable correlation between controlling movement at one elongate end of the device and rotational movement at the opposing end of the device (¶28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kovac such that the tubular member has a first side and a second side along an axis of the tubular member; the first side being relatively more compressible than the second side; the second side being relatively less compressible compared to the first side; wherein the side of the tubular member that the wire is attached is the first side; and a pull on the wire compresses the first side to change the curvature of the tubular member as taught by Besselink to provide both flexibility and steerability while preserving the structural rigidity necessary to ensure the reliable, repeatable correlation between controlling movement at one elongate end of the device and rotational movement at the opposing end of the device
Regarding claim 3, further comprising gaps in the first side to provide the compressibility of the first side; wherein the pull of the wire changes the curvature of the tubular member by bringing gaps closer and bending the second side towards the first side (fig 17 of Kovac, also see combination in claim 3 and figs 5 and 6 of Besselink).
Regarding claim 4, while Kovac substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wire guides inside the tubular member for guiding the translation of the wire.
Ostrovsky discloses wire channels disposed on the inner surface of the sections (Col.6 ll 30-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kovac with wire guides inside the tubular member for guiding the translation of the wire as taught by Ostrovsky to prevent the wire from becoming caught on something.
Regarding claim 5, while Kovac substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wherein the tubular member is curved in a rest state, such that there is a concave side and a convex side to the tubular member; and the convex side of the tubular member being the first side.
Kovac discloses the preselected configured the tube naturally reverts to “such as a relatively straight configuration” (Col.9 ll 49-52), such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider other shapes that re not straight, including the state the device is intended to assume - a concave side and a convex side to the tubular member; and the convex side of the tubular member being the first side as seen in fig 17 of Kovac and fig 6 of Besselink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kovac such that the tubular member is curved in a rest state, such that there is a concave side and a convex side to the tubular member; and the convex side of the tubular member being the first side as suggested by Kovac itself so that it requires less effort to have the device assume its intended shape.
Regarding claim 6-9, while Kovac substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose wherein the tubular member is a tubular coil of spiraling loops providing the two sections; the curvature of the tubular member being such that the edges of the loops on the first side are spaced apart to provide the gaps; and the edge of each of the loops on the second side abutting the edge of each adjacent loop; wherein the first side and the second side are on opposite sides of the tubular member. Nor wherein the loops have different spiral pitches and/or spacing variations along different parts of the steerable arm, in order to provide the different parts with different flexibility, the loops are produced by at least one spiral cut made to a tube, or a slit in the edge of at least one of the loops on the second side.
As discussed in claim 2, Besselink provides an alternative shape with advantages. The alternative shape, in addition to the limitations in claim 2, also has the following features: the tubular member is a tubular coil of spiraling loops providing the two sections; the curvature of the tubular member being such that the edges of the loops on the first side are spaced apart to provide the gaps; and the edge of each of the loops on the second side abutting the edge of each adjacent loop; wherein the first side and the second side are on opposite sides of the tubular member (fig 5). Besselink also teaches wherein the loops have different spiral pitches and/or spacing variations along different parts of the steerable arm, in order to provide the different parts with different flexibility (¶37), the loops are produced by at least one spiral cut made to a tube (fig 5), and a slit in the edge of at least one of the loops on the second side (fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Kovac such that the tubular member is a tubular coil of spiraling loops providing the two sections; the curvature of the tubular member being such that the edges of the loops on the first side are spaced apart to provide the gaps; and the edge of each of the loops on the second side abutting the edge of each adjacent loop; wherein the first side and the second side are on opposite sides of the tubular member; wherein the loops have different spiral pitches and/or spacing variations along different parts of the steerable arm, in order to provide the different parts with different flexibility, the loops are produced by at least one spiral cut made to a tube, and a slit in the edge of at least one of the loops on the second side as taught by Besselink to provide both flexibility and steerability while preserving the structural rigidity necessary to ensure the reliable, repeatable correlation between controlling movement at one elongate end of the device and rotational movement at the opposing end of the device
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783