DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are cancelled by Applicant.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
• claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831 (WITT-SANSON ET AL).
in view of EP 3 348 622 A1 (WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622) or WITT-SANSON ET AL (US 2020/0377758),
in view of KAPLAN ET AL (US 6,313,234),
in view of MARAL ET AL (US 2018/0142120).
U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831 claims a food and/or beverage container or a monobloc aerosol can which is at least partially coated with a coating derived from a coating composition comprising:
(a) a polyester imide (PEI) polymer having an acid value of ≥10 mg KOH/g;
(b) a crosslinker comprising a hydroxyalkyl amide, a hydroxyalkyl urea and/or a carbodiimide;
wherein the coating composition is substantially free of bisphenol A (BPA), bisphenol F (BPF), bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (BADGE) and bisphenol F diglycidyl ether (BFDGE). Features not explicitly claimed (e.g., OH values of 5 mg KOH/g or less; etc.) are known in or obvious in view of the prior art (see below).
WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 and WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758 each disclose a coating composition comprising
(a) 10-99.9 wt% (e.g., 60-99 wt%, etc.) of a polyester imide (PEI) polymer having:
• an acid value or acid number (AN) of ≥10 mg KOH/g (e.g., 10-150 mg KOH/g; 22-120 mg KOH/g; etc.);
• a hydroxyl value (OHV) which is “any suitable hydroxyl value (OHV)” (e.g., but not limited to, 10 to 300 mg KOH/g);
(b) 1-20 wt% of an acid-reactive crosslinker operable to crosslink the acid functionality on the polyester imide polymer (e.g., hydroxy (alkyl) amide resins, such as β-hydroxy (alkyl) amide resins; hydroxy(alkyl) urea resins; carbodiimide resins; oxazolines; hydroxy-functional silicone resins; etc.);
wherein the coating composition is substantially free of bisphenol A (BPA), bisphenol F (BPF), bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (BADGE) and bisphenol F diglycidyl ether (BFDGE). The coating compositions can be liquid coating compositions applied to substrates (e.g., metals such as steel, tinplate, tin-free steel, aluminum, etc.) to form coated articles or packaging materials (e.g., food and/or beverage cans; containers for aerosol applications, such as monobloc aerosol cans and/or tubes; etc.). (WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 entire document, e.g., paragraph 0002-0005, 0007, 0053, 0057, 0073-0076, 0078-0082, 0086-0088, 0161-0163, 0180, 0187, etc.) (see corresponding portions of WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758)
KAPLAN ET AL ‘234 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize carboxyl-functional polyester-type resins with acid values of 15-100 mg KOH/g and OH values of at most 10 mg KOH/g in combination with hydroxy alkyl amide crosslinking agents in curable coating compositions in order to produce coatings for substrates (e.g., metals, etc.). (line 55, col. 2 to line 2, col. 3; etc.)
MARAL ET AL ‘120 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize polyester-type resins with “any suitable gross hydroxyl value (OHV)” -- e.g., an OH value of about 0 to 20 mg KOH/g -- as the resin component of a curable coating compositions (e.g., solvent-based liquid compositions) which are substantially free of BPA, BPF, BADGE and BFDGE in order to produce coatings for substrates (e.g., metals, etc.) which are safe for food contact and are free of potentially unsafe bisphenol-type compounds, particularly use in food or beverage packaging. (paragraph 0001-0003, 0039, 0076-0080, 0090, etc.)
Regarding claims 1-11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known carboxy-functional PEI resin with: (i) acid values of at least 10 mg KOH/g (e.g., acid values of 15-100 mg KOH/g as suggested in KAPLAN ET AL ‘234); and (ii) OH values which are “any suitable hydroxyl value” (as suggested in WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758), such as very low OH values of less than 10 mg KOH/g (as suggested in KAPLAN ET AL ‘234) and as low as 0 mg KOH/g (as suggested in MARAL ET AL ‘120); as the PEI resin component (a) in the coatings claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831 in order to avoid undesirable and/or competing side-reactions (e.g., etherification, etc.) and/or steric interference (e.g., blocking of acid groups intended to be reactive with acid-reactive crosslinkers, etc.) caused by large amounts of hydroxyl groups in polyester-type resins in curable coatings.
Further regarding claims 4-6, one of ordinary skill would have used: (a) known amounts of PEI resin; (b) known types and amounts of crosslinkers; as disclosed in WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758 in the coating composition claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831.
Regarding claim 7, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized the coating composition claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831 in conventional coating composition formulations (e.g., liquid coating compositions, as suggested in WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758).
Regarding claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the coating composition claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,319,831 to conventional substrates (e.g., metals, as suggested in WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758) used for food and/or beverage packaging or monobloc aerosol cans and/or tubes.
Regarding WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758, Applicant may overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore, not prior art as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• EP 3 348 622 A1 (WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622) or WITT-SANSON ET AL (US 2020/0377758),
in view of KAPLAN ET AL (US 6,313,234),
in view of MARAL ET AL (US 2018/0142120).
WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 and WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758 each disclose a coating composition comprising
(a) 10-99.9 wt% (e.g., 60-99 wt%, etc.) of a polyester imide (PEI) polymer having:
• an acid value or acid number (AN) of ≥10 mg KOH/g (e.g., 10-150 mg KOH/g; 22-120 mg KOH/g; etc.);
• a hydroxyl value (OHV) which is “any suitable hydroxyl value” (e.g., but not limited to, 10 to 300 mg KOH/g);
(b) 1-20 wt% of an acid-reactive crosslinker operable to crosslink the acid functionality on the polyester imide polymer (e.g., hydroxy (alkyl) amide resins, such as β-hydroxy (alkyl) amide resins; hydroxy(alkyl) urea resins; carbodiimide resins; oxazolines; hydroxy-functional silicone resins; etc.);
wherein the coating composition is substantially free of bisphenol A (BPA), bisphenol F (BPF), bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (BADGE) and bisphenol F diglycidyl ether (BFDGE). The coating compositions can be liquid coating compositions, wherein the coating compositions are applied to substrates (e.g., metals such as steel, tinplate, tin-free steel, aluminum, etc.) to form coated articles or packaging materials (e.g., food and/or beverage cans; containers for aerosol applications, such as monobloc aerosol cans and/or tubes; etc.). (WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 entire document, e.g., paragraph 0002-0005, 0007, 0053, 0057, 0073-0076, 0078-0082, 0086-0088, 0161-0163, 0180, 0187, etc.) (see corresponding portions of WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758) However, the reference does not specifically mention polyester-type resin with OH values of 5 mg KOH/g or less.
KAPLAN ET AL ‘234 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize carboxyl-functional polyester-type resins with acid values of 15-100 mg KOH/g and OH values of at most 10 mg KOH/g in combination with hydroxy alkyl amide crosslinking agents in curable coating compositions in order to produce coatings for substrates (e.g., metals, etc.). (line 55, col. 2 to line 2, col. 3; etc.)
MARAL ET AL ‘120 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize polyester-type resins with “any suitable gross hydroxyl value” -- e.g., an OH value of about 0 to 20 mg KOH/g -- as the resin component of a curable coating compositions (e.g., solvent-based liquid compositions) which are substantially free of BPA, BPF, BADGE and BFDGE in order to produce coatings for substrates (e.g., metals, etc.) which are safe for food contact and are free of potentially unsafe bisphenol-type compounds, particularly for use in food or beverage packaging. (paragraph 0001-0003, 0039, 0076-0080, 0090, etc.)
Regarding claims 1-11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize known carboxy-functional PEI resin with: (i) acid values of at least 10 mg KOH/g (e.g., acid values of 15-100 mg KOH/g as suggested in KAPLAN ET AL ‘234); and (ii) OH values which are “any suitable hydroxyl value” (as disclosed in WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758) such as very low OH values of less than 10 mg KOH/g (as suggested in KAPLAN ET AL ‘234) and as low as 0 mg KOH/g (as suggested in MARAL ET AL ‘120); as the PEI resin component (a) used in combination with an acid-reactive crosslinker (b) in the coating compositions of WITT-SANSON - EP ‘622 or WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758 in order to reduce undesirable and/or competing side-reactions (e.g., etherification, etc.) and/or steric interference (e.g., blocking of acid groups intended to be reactive with acid-reactive crosslinkers, etc.) caused by large amounts of hydroxyl groups in polyester-type resins in curable coatings.
Regarding WITT-SANSON ET AL ‘758, Applicant may overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore, not prior art as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HOPPE ET AL (US 5,741,602) disclose curable coatings comprising acid-functional polyester-type resins with low OH values.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
March 7, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787