DETAILED ACTION
Cell
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 (wherein it is noted that Claim 10 is interpreted as depending from Claim 3, as described below, and Claim 13 is interpreted as depending from Claim 3, as also described below) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the plurality of secondary battery cells electrically connected in series and/or parallel." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that initially, Claim 1 recites “a plurality of secondary cells” but does not state that said “a plurality,” and therefore “the plurality,” are electrically connected in series and/or parallel.
Claims 3-10, 13 (wherein it is noted that Claim 10 is interpreted as depending from Claim 3, as described below, and Claim 13 is interpreted as depending from Claim 3, as also described below) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the plurality of secondary battery cells electrically connected in series and/or parallel." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that initially, Claim 3 recites “a plurality of secondary cells” but does not state that said “a plurality,” and therefore “the plurality,” are electrically connected in series and/or parallel.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 states that the lead wire has one end “previously” connected to the battery-side ground terminal (with another end functioning as a free, connectable end). Claim 7 is rendered particularly indefinite insofar as it is unclear how the timing (i.e. “previously”) of the connection of the one end of the lead wire impart structure to the power supply device. Proper clarification is required.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the plurality of secondary battery cells electrically connected in series and/or parallel." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (it is noted that initially, Claim 11 recites “a plurality of secondary cells” but does not state that said “a plurality,” and therefore “the plurality,” are electrically connected in series and/or parallel.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, while Claim 10 is drawn to the power supply device according to Claim 1, Claim 1 is instead drawn to a method of manufacturing a power supply device. However, Claim 3 is drawn to a power supply device. Therefore, and for purposes of examination, Claim 10 will be interpreted as depending from Claim 3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, while Claim 13 is drawn to the power supply device according to Claim 1, Claim 1 is instead drawn to a method of manufacturing a power supply device. However, Claim 3 is drawn to a power supply device. Therefore, and for purposes of examination, Claim 13 will be interpreted as depending from Claim 3. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagaoka et al. (US 2008/0284375).
Regarding Claim 1, Nagaoka teaches a power supply system (“power supply device”) ([0001], [0044]). As illustrated in Figures 2-10, Nagaoka teaches that the power supply system comprises a plurality of secondary cells (10) each of which includes an electrode terminal (“plurality of secondary battery cells each including an electrode terminal”), a “battery holder” (i.e. two holders (11) in combination) holding the plurality of secondary cells, a cell controller (80, also abbreviated as C/C) (“circuit board”) mounted on a surface of the battery holder, the cell controller including printed wirings on surfaces thereof that form a control circuit that is electrically connected to the plurality of secondary cells and configured to control charge and discharge of the plurality of secondary cells (“control circuit mounted on the circuit board”) ([0006], [0037]-[0039], [0046]-[0049], [0064]-[0069]). As illustrated in Figures 2, 9, 10A-10B, Nagaoka teaches that the battery holder comprises a one or more “battery-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of secondary cells (i.e. the terminals connected to groupings of secondary cells indicated as “AB1, AB2…, AB12”), and a “battery-side ground terminal” drawn outside from the battery holder (i.e. terminal “TH3” that is connected to ground terminal “GND”) and functioning as a ground of a total output of the plurality of secondary cells, wherein the plurality of secondary cells are electrically connected in at least series to one another (“connected in series and/or parallel to one another”) ([0071]-[0073], [0082]). As illustrated in Figures 9, 10A-10B, 11, Nagaoka teaches that the cell controller comprises one or more “board-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to the battery-side intermediate terminals (i.e. IC-1A, IC-1B, etc. and their terminals connected to the groupings of the secondary cells), and a “board-side ground terminal” (i.e. ground terminal “GND”) connected to the battery-side ground terminal ([0071], [0082], [0085], [0090]).
Given that the instantly claimed method steps (i.e. the “connecting” of the battery-side ground terminal to the board-side ground terminal, and the “connecting” of the one or more battery-side intermediate terminals to respective one or more board-side intermediate terminals) occur as a consequence of constructing, in the manner illustrated in Figures 2-11 of Nagaoka, the power supply system of Nagaoka (wherein it is noted that, as previously described, the power supply system of Nagaoka comprises all of the structural components of the instantly claimed power supply device), Nagaoka is interpreted as teaching a method of manufacturing the power supply system (“method of manufacturing a power supply device”), wherein the method comprises connecting the battery-side ground terminal disposed
Regarding Claim 3, Nagaoka teaches a power supply system (“power supply device”) ([0001], [0044]). As illustrated in Figures 2-10, Nagaoka teaches that the power supply system comprises a plurality of secondary cells (10) each of which includes an electrode terminal (“plurality of secondary battery cells each including an electrode terminal”), a “battery holder” (i.e. two holders (11) in combination) holding the plurality of secondary cells, a cell controller (80, also abbreviated as C/C) (“circuit board”) mounted on a surface of the battery holder, ([0046]-[0049], [0064]-[0069]). As illustrated in Figures 2, 9, 10A-10B, Nagaoka teaches that the battery holder comprises a one or more “battery-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of secondary cells (i.e. the terminals connected to groupings of secondary cells indicated as “AB1, AB2…, AB12”), and a “battery-side ground terminal” drawn outside from the battery holder (i.e. terminal “TH3” that is connected to ground terminal “GND”) and functioning as a ground of a total output of the plurality of secondary cells, wherein the plurality of secondary cells are electrically connected in at least series to one another (“connected in series and/or parallel to one another”) ([0071]-[0073], [0082]). As illustrated in Figures 9, 10A-10B, 11, Nagaoka teaches that the cell controller comprises one or more “board-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to the battery-side intermediate terminals (i.e. IC-1A, IC-1B, etc. and their terminals connected to the groupings of the secondary cells), and a “board-side ground terminal” (i.e. ground terminal “GND”) connected to the battery-side ground terminal ([0071], [0082], [0085], [0090]).
Regarding Claim 10, Nagaoka teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figures 2, 9, the cell controller has a rectangular shape, and the board-side ground terminal is disposed at an edge of the rectangular shape.
Regarding Claim 13, Nagaoka teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 13, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 10 of Nagaoka, the battery-side ground terminal includes a “battery-side connector” (i.e. the battery-side connector of TH3) which is engaged with a “board-side connector”) (i.e. the board-side connector of “GND”) of the board-side ground terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (US 2008/0284375), and further in view of Emori et al. (JP 2002-170535, using the provided translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 2, Nagaoka teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), the battery-side ground terminal is drawn outside from the battery holder and is connected to the board-side ground terminal.
Nagaoka does not explicitly teach that the battery-side ground terminal is drawn outside from the battery holder via a flexible member.
However, Emori teaches a power supply device comprising lithium secondary batteries ([0001]). As illustrated in Figures 1, 3, 7, Emori teaches that the power supply device comprises a connection terminal which is drawn outside of the power supply device via a flat, flexible harness (106) which is operable to handle electrical communication ([0006], [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would draw the battery-side ground terminal of Nagaoka outside from the battery holder via a flat, flexible harness (“flexible member”), as taught by Emori, given not only because such a harness would enhance the flexibility of the connection to the battery-side ground terminal, but also because it would reduce thickness characteristics of the system by using a connection component which is flat.
Regarding Claim 4, Nagaoka teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), the battery-side ground terminal is drawn outside from the battery holder
Nagaoka does not explicitly teach that the battery-side ground terminal is drawn outside from the battery holder via a flexible member.
However, Emori teaches a power supply device comprising lithium secondary batteries ([0001]). As illustrated in Figures 1, 3, 7, Emori teaches that the power supply device comprises a connection terminal which is drawn outside of the power supply device via a flat, flexible harness (106) which is operable to handle electrical communication ([0006], [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would draw the battery-side ground terminal of Nagaoka outside from the battery holder via a flat, flexible harness (“flexible member”), as taught by Emori, given not only because such a harness would enhance the flexibility of the connection to the battery-side ground terminal, but also because it would reduce thickness characteristics of the system by using a connection component which is flat.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (US 2008/0284375), and further in view of Emori et al. (JP 2002-170535, using the provided translation for citation purposes) and Sun et al. (US 2017/0358832).
Regarding Claim 5, Nagaoka, as modified by Emori, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 4, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3) and as illustrated in Figures 9, 10A-10B, 11, the board-side intermediate terminals include terminals disposed at one or more locations on a side of the cell controller facing the battery hold, wherein each of said locations corresponds to a corresponding battery side intermediate terminals, wherein said board-side intermediate terminals are connected to the battery-side intermediate terminals due to a structure in which the cell controller is mounted on the surface of the batter holder (i.e. cell controller (80) is illustrated as being mounted on the battery holder).
Nagaoka, as modified by Emori, does not explicitly teach that the board-side intermediate terminals include lug terminals.
However, Sun teaches a battery pack (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 11A, 16, 20F Sun teaches that the battery pack comprises a conductor cable (1308) for making electrical connections in the battery pack, wherein the conductor cable comprises flat lug terminals at each end thereof which are held in place by a fastening member (i.e. a screw as in Figure 20F) ([0131]-[0132], [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would ensure that the board-side intermediate terminals of Nagaoka, as modified by Emori, comprises flat lug terminals (“lug terminals”), as taught by Sun, given that such terminals would not only be able to fastened in place by a fastening member (e.g. a screw), but also because such terminals would reduce thickness characteristics of the system by using a connection component which is flat.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (US 2008/0284375), and further in view of Ro (US 2019/0355959).
Regarding Claim 11, Nagaoka teaches a power supply system (“power supply device”) ([0001], [0044]). As illustrated in Figures 2-10, Nagaoka teaches that the power supply system comprises a plurality of secondary cells (10) each of which includes an electrode terminal (“plurality of secondary battery cells each including an electrode terminal”), a “battery holder” (i.e. two holders (11) in combination) holding the plurality of secondary cells, a cell controller (80, also abbreviated as C/C) (“circuit board”) mounted on a surface of the battery holder, ([0046]-[0049], [0064]-[0069]). As illustrated in Figures 2, 9, 10A-10B, Nagaoka teaches that the battery holder comprises a one or more “battery-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of secondary cells (i.e. the terminals connected to groupings of secondary cells indicated as “AB1, AB2…, AB12”), and a “battery-side ground terminal” (i.e. terminal “TH3” that is connected to ground terminal “GND”) functioning as a ground of a total output of the plurality of secondary cells, wherein the plurality of secondary cells are electrically connected in at least series to one another (“connected in series and/or parallel to one another”) ([0071]-[0073], [0082]). As illustrated in Figures 9, 10A-10B, 11, Nagaoka teaches that the cell controller comprises one or more “board-side intermediate terminals” electrically connected to the battery-side intermediate terminals (i.e. IC-1A, IC-1B, etc. and their terminals connected to the groupings of the secondary cells), and a “board-side ground terminal” (i.e. ground terminal “GND”) connected to the battery-side ground terminal ([0071], [0082], [0085], [0090]).
Nagaoka does not explicitly teach that the board-side ground terminal is drawn outside from the circuit board.
However, Ro teaches a battery module (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 3, Ro teaches that in the battery module, electrostatic discharge generated in the vicinity of a connector (210) flows out of a grounding pin, wherein the ground pein is grounded through the circuit board or an external grounding line ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would draw the board-side ground terminal of Nagaoka outside from the circuit board via an external grounding line, as taught by Ro, given that such an external grounding line would help route and ground electrostatic discharge generated in the power supply system away from the cell controller.
Regarding Claim 12, Nagaoka, as modified by Ro, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 11, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 10 of Nagaoka, the battery-side ground terminal includes a “battery-side connector” (i.e. the battery-side connector of TH3) which is engaged with a “board-side connector”) (i.e. the board-side connector of “GND”) of the board-side ground terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 (wherein Claims 7-9 depend from Claim 6) further limits the power supply device of Claim 4 by requiring that the battery holder includes a plurality of lead plates, each of the plurality of lead plates electrically connecting a corresponding pair of electrode terminals of adjacent secondary battery cells out of the plurality of secondary battery cells to each other, a lead plate among the plurality of lead plates is a ground lead plate functioning as a ground of a total output of the plurality of secondary battery cells electrically connected in series and/or parallel to one another, and the battery0side ground terminal is connected to the ground lead plate.
Neither Nagaoka, nor Emori, nor Sun, nor Ro (as previously described in this Office Action), teach or suggest the instantly claimed structural limitations of Claim 6. In particular, said references neither teach nor suggest that the battery holder includes lead plates as instantly claimed, let alone a lead plate among a plurality of lead plates functioning as the instantly claimed ground lead plate connected to the battery-side ground terminal. At best, while Ro discloses a plurality of bus bars (120) in at least Figures 1-2, wherein bus bars function in the manner of lead plates, Ro neither teaches nor suggests that said plurality of bus bars are structured and connected in the manner disclosed in Claim 6.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728