DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claim 19, and SEQ ID NO: 7 for the full immunogen sequence in the reply filed on 04 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-2, 17-18, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 June 2026.
Newly submitted claims 24, 26-27, and 30 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the full immunogen sequence elected was SEQ ID NO: 7, the claims supra read on additional elements and mutations that were not part of the sequence elected.
Accordingly, claims 24, 26-27, and 30 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-2, 17-18, 20, 24, 26-27, and 30 are withdrawn.
Claims 3-16 are canceled.
Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 29 are under consideration.
Priority
4. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 30 June 2026, 04 June 2026, 27 August 2024, and 19 July 2023 were filed before the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
6. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
7. REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
8. Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Figures 74-79 have sequences that refer only to UnitProt IDs.
9. Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
See the inserts of 4 or more amino acids on pages 48-50, 53-54, 65, and 67 of the Instant Specification.
Specification
10. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because there are multiple copies filed on 19 July 2023 and it is unclear which is to be considered. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
11. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http://, www., or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
See page 80 of the Instant Specification, wherein “www.” should be removed.
12. The use of the terms “Quil A” on page 84 and “ExpiCHO” on page 92, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
It is noted that “Bio-Glow” on page 92 appears that it should be “Bio-Glo”, which is a trade name or mark used in commerce.
Note that these are merely examples and all improper uses of trademarks in the specification should be identified by Applicant and properly addressed.
Claim Objections
13. Claims 19, 22-23, 25, and 28-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 19, “when administered to a subject” should be deleted as it is repetitive.
Regarding claim 22, there should be a comma before “and/or”.
Regarding claims 23, 25, and 28-29, each instance of “Fc receptor” should have “HSV2” before it for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
14. The phrase “wherein the HSV2 receptor… when administered to a subject.” in claim 19 is not given patentable weight because it is an intended result and inherent property of the HSV2 Fc receptor and thus does not give additional structure to the claim. The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 283 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a “wherein” clause limited a process claim where the clause gave “meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps”). In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
16. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “related” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relative” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The relatedness of the disease could be only those that are herpesvirus-driven, which would require an active infection of herpesvirus, or it could include herpesvirus-caused diseases and thus not require an active infection of herpesvirus, or also it could be opportunistic secondary infections. The presence of multiple interpretations renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 21-23, 25, and 28-29, which depend on claim 19, are similarly rejected.
The term “functional” in claim 21 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “functional” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One could envision a “functional” cross-reactive immune response being any immune response to a cross-reactive antigen or requiring the production of neutralizing antibodies. Thus, there are multiple structural limitations.
Claim 22, which depends on claim 21, is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 22, it is unclear if each instance of “HSV” includes both HSV1 and HSV2, or just HSV2. Thus, there are multiple structural interpretations.
Regarding claim 28, the claim language “preferably” renders the limitations thereafter to have no patentable weight because it is unclear if the claim specifically requires such limitation(s) or not. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 28, it is unclear what “said use” refers to. The only uses in claim 19 is treating the herpesvirus infection or herpesvirus related disease.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "HSV1 gE1" in step ii). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 28, "(respectively)" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether it is an example or a required limitation due to the parentheses.
See Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008) ("[R]ather than requiring that the claims are insolubly ambiguous, we hold that if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
18. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. All immune responses as required by claim 19 will be functional and so the claim does not further limit its parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form so long as no duplicates are made, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Written Description
20. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims above are drawn to HSV2 Fc receptor or immunogenic fragment or variant thereof. Variants in particular, will read on any and all possible mutations of the receptor. Thus, it is clear that the breadth of the recited peptides in the claims far overreaches Applicant’s contribution as disclosed in the specification and so this rejection is made. One of ordinary skill in this art cannot conclude that Applicant was in possession of any and all variants of the HSV2 Fc receptor that have cross-reactivity. An enormous breadth of HSV2 Fc receptor variants are thus not represented by Applicant at all. Even if the prior art is aware of some variants, the totality of known variants with cross-reactivity would not be representative of the entire genus for the reasons discussed below.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
An applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here in which the peptide inhibitors can have any sequence, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. However, one of skill in this art cannot envision the structure of any other peptides with the required function other than the few species provided by Applicant and the prior art. Therefore, since only a few species are provided to represent the genus, the claims encompassing the same clearly fail the written description requirement.
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”).
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members.
“Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species.” Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010). Since there are only a few presented HSV2 Fc receptors with mutations taught by Applicant (see Table 3 of the Instant Specification) that have cross-reactivity with HSV1, and mutated polypeptides would vary in structure, there is no correlation between structure and function between the members of the recited or any peptide genus. Additional mutated polypeptides could read on any and all combinations of amino acids. Thus, since there is no correlation between structure and peptide function across the entire genus, functional language should not be used to define a peptide genus. Rather, structure should be used, including the core peptide sequence required for said function.
Even when several species are disclosed, these are not necessarily representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species. Since the genus recited in the instant claims is large, it would be very challenging to describe sufficient species to cover the structures of the entire genus.
Overall, at the time the invention was made, the level of skill for preparing peptides and then selecting those peptides with desired functional properties was high. However, even if a selection procedure was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify peptides with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Absent the conserved structure provided by a core inhibitory peptide sequence, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict, a priori, what any peptide with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally.
Since no mutations are taught in the specification of the recited genus above, the instant claims above clearly fail the written description requirement. A representative number of species has not been taught to describe such a massive genus. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe said genus.
Owed to the variation among the peptides of the genus as broadly as currently claimed, it is very difficult to provide adequate representation of the functionally defined peptide genus. There is unlikely to be any structure (subsequence) shared by the entire genus. If there is a subsequence common to all or some of Applicant’s species, then the claims should recite that as part of the peptide genus to provide adequate representation of the actual disclosed/possessed group. Also, the disclosure of one group of highly related peptides does not guide one of skill to the next peptide of the genus with said function. Finding a another said peptide would require mutation and it is well-known in this art that mutation of peptides leads to specific function loss.
The art teaches that protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. For example, replacement of a single “lysine” residue at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by “glutamic acid” led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein (Burgess, 1990, J. Cell Bio., 111: 2129-2138). In transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen (Lazar, 1988, Molecular and Cellular Biology, 8: 1247-1252). As these references illustrate, it is unpredictable that a polypeptide variant of a known target protein binder will also bind said target. It is also unpredictable that they would bind said target in the same way, having the same effect on the target (i.e. inhibit or activate). Ju (1991, PNAS, 88: 2658-2662) teaches that the interleukin 1 receptor (IL-1R) antagonist IL-1ra is a naturally occurring protein with no agonist activity in vitro or in vivo (Abstract). However, substitution of a single amino acid lysine145 to aspartic acid changes the property of this peptide to a partial agonist of IL-1R (Abstract). Thus, even a single substitution can change the biological property of a peptide.
This substitution need not be at a position where said residue would contact the target protein. Baker (2000, Immunity, 13: 475-484) teaches that Tax-peptide is an agonist of the of T cell activity (Abstract). However, mutation of proline at position 6 of this peptide to alanine creates a T cell antagonist (Abstract). Importantly, this residue does not contact the T cell receptor (Abstract).
In summary, these examples teach that the biological function of peptide variants is unpredictable because even a single mutation can abolish activity or give a different function. For example, agonist and antagonist peptides can be interconverted through mutagenesis. Importantly, binding can still occur after mutation, illustrating that a simple show of binding is not predictive of the nature of a peptide’s biological activity. This point is underlined by Montrose-Rafizadeh (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272: 21201-21206) who teaches that receptor binding does not predict agonist or antagonist activity (Page 21205, Column 2, Paragraph, first full, Sentence, first).
Thus, while applicant has described a few species within the genus recited, and the art may provide more, each genus is very large and would encompass peptide structures that cannot be visualized from the prior art or instant disclosure. One of skill in this art cannot determine the peptide structures encompassed by the claimed/recited genus only defined by function. Any future peptide may or may not be encompassed, and if it is, it would not have been represented in Applicant’s disclosed species. Thus, the described species cannot be considered representative of the entire recited genus of peptides. E.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, the claims are rejected here.
As discussed above, an applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613. Therefore, it is recommended that the instant claims be amended to recite that the peptide genus must comprise the core peptide responsible for the recited function as this would define the structure/function relationship of the species Applicant possesses.
21. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 28 recites a TLR4 agonist, which reads on a subgenus of monoclonal antibodies. The specification discloses examples of TLR4 agonists including lipopolysaccharides and GLA and the working examples disclose AS01 as the adjuvant. The specification does not disclose any anti-TLR4 monoclonal antibodies and one of ordinary skill would not have recognized the possession of such an antibody without the disclosure of six CDRs, VH, and VL sequences.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
An applicant may show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 964, 63 USPQ2d at 1613.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here in which TLR4 agonist can encompass a monoclonal antibody, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. However, one of skill in this art cannot envision the structure of any other TLR4 agonist with the required function other than the few species provided by Applicant and the prior art. Therefore, since only a few species are provided to represent the genus, the claims encompassing the same clearly fail the written description requirement.
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”).
Even when several species are disclosed, these are not necessarily representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (“The ’128 and ’485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus.”). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, as here, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species. Since the genus recited in the instant claims is large, it would be very challenging to describe sufficient species to cover the structures of the entire genus.
Therefore, the specification supports examples of non-antibody TLR4 agonists and uses AS01 as the adjuvant in the working examples, but there is insufficient written description support for an anti-TLR4 monoclonal antibody.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – Enablement
22. In making a determination as to whether an application has met the requirements forenablement under 35 U.S.C. 112 ¶ 1, the courts have put forth a series of factors. See, In reWands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, at 1404 (CAFC 1988). The factors considered include: (1) the breadth of the claims, (2) the nature of the invention, (3) the relative skill of those in the art, (4) the presence or absence of working examples, (5) the amount of direction or guidance provided, (6) the state of the prior art, (7) the level of predictability in the art, and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
23. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating HSV1/HSV2 infections and symptoms caused by active HSV1/HSV2 infection in humans, does not reasonably provide enablement for treatment of all herpesviruses and related diseases without an active HSV1/HSV2 infection in any subject other than a human. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims recite a method of treating a herpesvirus infection or related disease in a subject using a HSV2 Fc receptor, immunogenic fragment, or variant thereof.
The nature of the invention is methods of treating a herpesvirus infection or related disease.
The level of skill of one of ordinary skill in this art is high.
The specification states that the subject can be any vertebrate (¶ [0322] of the PGPub) and does not provide a specific definition for “herpes virus infection” or “herpes virus related disease”. The working examples and drawings also only show HSV-1 and HSV-2 neutralization with the HSV-2 Fc receptor in vitro and in mice. However, these mice were challenged with the HSV virus after immunization, rather than actually being infected with the virus.
A search of the art shows that herpesviruses are highly host specific and that there are very few examples of cross-species infection (Tischer, 27 January 2011, Vet. Microbiol., 140(3-4): 266) (Abstract). One of the few human-to-animal transmission examples includes HHV-1 (also known as HSV-1) to other New World primates (Human to animal transmission, ¶ 1). However, this does not support a nexus between any other cross-species herpesvirus infections. Additionally, since the herpesviruses themselves are highly host-specific, one of ordinary skill would predict that the treatments themselves would also be herpesvirus-specific.
Regarding herpesvirus related diseases, Jenks (06 September 2019, Frontiers in Immunology, 10: 2110) teaches that “Herpesvirus infections are a leading cause of neurodevelopmental delay in newborns and end-organ disease in immunocompromised patients. One leading strategy to reduce the disease burden of herpesvirus infections such as herpes simplex virus (HSV) and human cytomegalovirus (HCMV) is to prevent primary acquisition by vaccination” (Page 1, ¶ 1). Furthermore, Jenks teaches “Herpesvirus infections are the leading cause of infectious brain damage in infants and a leading source of morbidity and mortality in immunosuppressed individuals. Neonatal herpes simplex virus (HSV) has 50% mortality in neonates who develop disseminated disease, even among those who receive appropriate antiviral therapy, and congenital human cytomegalovirus (HCMV) is the most common infectious cause of sensorineural hearing loss worldwide. In immunocompromised patients, HSV and HCMV infection can both cause severe end-organ disease. HSV-2 causes severe, sometimes refractory disease including orofacial and genital lesions in patients with HIV/AIDS and other immunocompromising conditions“ (Page 1, ¶ 2). Therefore, it is known in the art to prevent initial infection, rather than treat the resulting complications. It is also known that the resulting diseases may not even be treatable with antivirals. For example, end organ disease can be permanent and thus one of ordinary skill would not treat organ damage with antivirals.
Herpesvirus related diseases can also include cancers, as is the case with Kaposi Sarcoma-associated herpesvirus (KSHV), also known as HHV-8 (Schneider, August 2017, Am. J. Clin. Dermatol., 18(4): 529-539). The vaccine art teaches that compositions comprising some tumor associated antigens are effective in treatment of cancer through generation of immunogenic response to the tumor antigen (see for example, Komenaka (2004, Clinics in Dermatology, 22: 251-265), specifically page 257). However, the tumor-associated antigens in for example, KSHV, would not be a HSV2 Fc receptor as they are two completely different herpesviruses. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would not assume a nexus between a viral receptor (or immunogenic fragment/variant thereof) and the treatment of any associated disease that no longer requires the presence of an active viral infection.
Since the art teaches that herpesviruses are highly host specific and that treatment of related diseases are often preventative rather than treatment of the actual disease, and the specification does not provide ample guidance with respect to treating a subject with any herpesvirus infection or related disease with a HSV2 Fc receptor, one would burdened with undue experimentation to use the methods as claimed.
24. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a defined and tested set of modifications/mutations, does not reasonably provide enablement for any and all possible mutations of the HSV2 Fc receptor. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims are drawn to a methods of treating a herpesvirus infection or related disease with a HSV2 Fc receptor, immunogenic fragment, or variant thereof.
The nature of the invention are methods for treating a herpesvirus infection or related disease with a HSV2 receptor, immunogenic fragment, or variant thereof.
The level of skill of one of ordinary skill in this art is high.
The specification provides examples for HSV2 Fc receptor mutations (Table 3) that induce a cross-reactive immune response against HSV1 (Figure 72A-E), but does not show the cross-reactive functionality of any other mutations/modifications.
The art teaches that protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. For example, conservative replacement of a single “lysine” residue at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by “glutamic acid” led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein (Burgess, 1990, J. Cell Bio., 111: 2129-2138). In transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen (Lazar et al., Mol. Cell. Biol., 1988, 8: 1247-1252). As these references illustrate, it is unpredictable that a polypeptide variant of a known target protein binder will also bind said target. It is also unpredictable that they would bind said target in the same way, having the same effect on the target (i.e. inhibit or activate). Ju (1991, PNAS, 88: 2658-2662) teaches that the interleukin 1 receptor (IL-1R) antagonist IL-1ra is a naturally occurring protein with no agonist activity in vitro or in vivo (Abstract). However, substitution of a single amino acid lysine145 to aspartic acid changes the property of this peptide to a partial agonist of IL-1R (Abstract). Thus, even a single substitution can change the biological property of a peptide.
This substitution need not be at a position where said residue would contact the target protein. Baker (2000, Immunity, 13: 475-484) teaches that Tax-peptide is an agonist of the of T cell activity (Abstract). However, mutation of proline at position 6 of this peptide to alanine creates a T cell antagonist (Abstract). Importantly, this residue does not contact the T cell receptor (Abstract).
In another case, Huang (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272(43): 27155-27159) teaches that conjugation of peptides to other proteins can change their biological properties. They teach that multiple conjugation of the peptide TGFβ1 (residues 41-65) to carrier proteins enhances its antagonist activity but also confers partial agonist activity as well (Abstract). Thus, the chemical context of a biologically active peptide is also important.
Truncation of proteins can also lead to adverse effects on protein structure and thus protein function. Martindale (1998, Nat. Genet., 18: 150-154) teaches that truncation of huntingtin leads to aggregate development which compromises cell viability (Abstract). Nonaka (2009, Hum. Mol. Genet., 18(18): 3353-3364) teaches that truncation of TDP-43 to its C-terminal fragments causes abnormally phosphorylated and ubiquitinated inclusions of the protein (Abstract). Taken together, not just any truncation of a protein will yield a soluble, functional, protein fragment.
In summary, these examples teach that the biological function of peptide variants is unpredictable because even a single mutation can abolish activity or give a different function. For example, agonist and antagonist peptides can be interconverted through conjugation or mutagenesis. Importantly, binding can still occur after mutation or conjugation in the literature examples provided above, illustrating that a simple show of binding is not predictive of the nature of a peptide’s biological activity. This point is underlined by Montrose-Rafizadeh (1997, J. Biol. Chem., 272: 21201-21206) who teaches that receptor binding does not predict agonist or antagonist activity (Page 21205, Column 2, ¶ first full, first sentence).
With respect to the use of peptides in the treatment of a disease such as cancer, the state of the art at the time of filing was such that it was unpredictable whether or not a peptide would function therapeutically. Their functionality depends, in part, on whether or not they reach their intended target in a sufficient quantity as to cause a therapeutic effect. Mendoza (2005, Arch. Immunol. Ther. Exp., 53: 47-60) teaches that peptides derived from larger molecules that are important modulators of apoptosis are frequently becoming leads for the development of anticancer therapeutics (Page 48, Column 2, ¶ first partial). However, they also state that natural peptides have low bioavailability and short half-life in the mammalian circulation system, while synthetic peptides have potential cytotoxicities (Page 57, Column 1, ¶ last full). Due to these characteristics, systematic testing in in vivo as well as in vitro settings must be done rigorously to verify peptide applications in the clinic (Page 57, Column 1, ¶ last full). Taken together, barring experimental evidence, no peptide can merely be assumed to function in the treatment of a disease, for example cancer, in vivo just because it functions as an inhibitor in vitro.
Since the art teaches that it is unpredictable whether or not peptide variants of known inhibitors will function as such and it is also unpredictable that even a known inhibitory peptide that functions in vitro will function in vivo, it would also be unpredictable to that the polypeptide variants will retain their original function or function as desired. Since the specification does nothing to ameliorate these concerns, one would be burdened with undue experimentation to use the products of instant claims as broadly as they are currently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
26. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Day (US 20030165820 A1; Published 04 September 2003).
Regarding claims 19, 21-22, 23, 25, and 28-29, Day teaches SEQ ID NO: 215, which is the full length amino acid sequence for the US8 gene derived from the clinical isolate RW1874 (¶ [0233]). This US8 gene (‘Db’) encodes glycoprotein E, which is also shown by its alignment to SEQ ID NO: 7 (‘Qy’):
Day further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 215, and an immunostimulant (Claims 1 and 12), wherein the immunostimulant can be an adjuvant (¶ [0512]). The pharmaceutical composition can then be used in a method for stimulating an immune response in a patient by administering the composition (Claim 14) and “Any of the polypeptides identified for use in the treatment of patients can be used in conjunction with pharmaceutical agents used to treat herpes infections” (¶ [0013]). It is at once envisioned by the reader that the treated infection is an HSV2 infection since it is the basis of the active ingredient in the prophetic example of Day. This will result in a composition with the same structure as 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 7 and a method with the same steps as claimed. Since Applicant stated that SEQ ID NO: 7 reads on the claims supra in the Response to Restriction/Election filed 04 June 2026, the characteristics in Instant Claims 21-22 and 29 such as the functional cross-reactive immune response and the reduced ability of the Fc receptor to bind to a human antibody Fc domain as well as the cross-reactivity in claim 19, will be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Double Patenting
28. Claims 19, 21-23, 25, and 28-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 22, 26-27, and 38 of copending Application No. 18/262,073 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 22 of ‘073 recites a method of treating a herpesvirus infection or related disease in a subject by administering the HSV2 Fc receptor or immunogenic fragment thereof of claim 1 that induces a cross-reactive immune response against HSV1. Claim 1 of ‘073 recites that the HSV2 Fc receptor or immunogenic fragment thereof is has at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 7, which is a HSV2 gE2 ectodomain and has a 100% match to SEQ ID NO: 7 of the Instant Application:
All immune responses to this HSC2 Fc receptor will be functional. ¶ [0626] of the specification of ‘073 illustrates that the HSV2 Fc receptor will inhibit binding of human IgG to the Fc receptor. Claim 26 of ‘073 recites that the Fc receptor or immunogenic fragment thereof has a reduced or abolished ability to bind a human antibody Fc domain as compared to the native Fc receptor. Claim 27 of ‘073 recites that the use does not comprise administration of a nucleic acid encoding an immunodominant viral antigen to the subject. Claim 38 of ‘073 recites that the Fc receptor or immunogenic fragment thereof is not administered to the subject with the HSV2 gD2 or a fragment thereof comprising immunodominant regions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
29. No claim is allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTINA E LY whose telephone number is (571)272-5169. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm EST.
/KRISTINA E. LY/Examiner, Art Unit 1671 /Michael Allen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671